Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 23:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Streamtuner2 SFS and VLC 1.0.6 SFS
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 14:12    Post subject:  Streamtuner2 SFS and VLC 1.0.6 SFS
Subject description: VLC updated for Lupu, Slackpup
 

Streamtuner2 is an internet radio browser. It looks up the categorized music stations from various directory services:
* SHOUTcast
* Xiph.org
* live365
* Jamendo
* basic.ch DJ mixes
* Punkcast
* MyOggRadio (open source stream directory project)
* InternetRadio.org.uk

SFS includes Python 2.6.4, PyGtk, PyGobject

Tested on Lighthouse Pup 5.00 C, Lucid Puppy 3.01, Slackpup 0.40

First run takes longer as channel directories are downloaded. If desired channel directory is empty, close and reopen Streamtuner2.

Streamtuner2-2.0.3a.sfs 15M md5.txt (for Lucid Puppy, Slackpup or Lighthouse Pup)

[2010.07.22 Updated VLC for Lupu and Slackpup]
Vlc-1.0.6-i486b.sfs 38M md5.txt (for Lucid Puppy, Slackpup or Lighthouse Pup 5)
-TazOC
Streamtuner2_VLC.jpg
Description  Screenshot of Streamtuner2 and Vlc in Lighthouse Pup
jpg

 Download 
Filename  Streamtuner2_VLC.jpg 
Filesize  508 KB 
Downloaded  1095 Time(s) 

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02

Last edited by tazoc on Thu 22 Jul 2010, 11:29; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 15:30    Post subject:  

Cheers Tazoc

It is working OK with my Puppy-432 using XMMS as the player.

Lately i have been looking at alternatives to the old Streamtuner,
and came across this: http://sourceforge.net/projects/guayadeque/
It is supposed to be able to play shoutcast radio, i had a bash at getting it going, but failed. Embarassed

Searching the forum i found not one mention of guayadeque, which i found quite surprising really.

Anyway mate, thanks again. Cool
CatDude
.
streamtuner2-in-432.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  streamtuner2-in-432.jpg 
Filesize  283.57 KB 
Downloaded  942 Time(s) 

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 19:38    Post subject:  

Where is the exit button for VLC?
The best I have been able to do is right-click on the VLC window and select QUIT.
Also, when I try to go to a radio station web site and the connection fails, seamonkey does not shut down and I have to restart X to recover so I can use seamonkey.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 21:29    Post subject:  

8-bit wrote:
Where is the exit button for VLC?
The best I have been able to do is right-click on the VLC window and select QUIT.
Also, when I try to go to a radio station web site and the connection fails, seamonkey does not shut down and I have to restart X to recover so I can use seamonkey.
I could not get VLC 1.06 to work properly in Lucid Puppy or Slackpup, only in Lighthouse 5 (which is noted in the first post.)
[2010.07.22 Edit: I updated VLC 1.0.6 in the first post for Lupu and Slackpup. They needed libEGL and for Lupu, libpng14.]

In LHP 5 if you're running VLC 1.06 in skinned mode, you can right-click Interface | Preferences | select Native Interface | Save | right-click | Quit. When re-opening VLC it should have the standard menus and close button.

If SeaMonkey won't close, try killall seamonkey-bin in a terminal.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02

Last edited by tazoc on Thu 22 Jul 2010, 11:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Yogi

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 10:34    Post subject:  

Tazoc,

Thanks for the quick response with Streamtuner2. I downloaded it but can't mount the .sfs at bootup. I'm using Pizza Pup (puppy 2 series) and it doesn't have a menu item for a boot manager. I tried using rxvt with "filemnt" command but it would not mount. Do I need to run a newer version of Puppy just to use Streamtuner2? Also, in light of the new changes at Shoutcast, does this new Streamtuner actually play Shoutcast stations? How about just transplanting the Shoutcast plugin from Streamtuner2 into the old Streamtuner; think that might work?

I don't understand how the new Streamtuner got so bloated? Was all this necessarily caused by the new changes at Shoutcast?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 12:47    Post subject:  

Yogi wrote:
Tazoc,

Thanks for the quick response with Streamtuner2. I downloaded it but can't mount the .sfs at bootup. I'm using Pizza Pup (puppy 2 series) and it doesn't have a menu item for a boot manager. I tried using rxvt with "filemnt" command but it would not mount. Do I need to run a newer version of Puppy just to use Streamtuner2? Also, in light of the new changes at Shoutcast, does this new Streamtuner actually play Shoutcast stations? How about just transplanting the Shoutcast plugin from Streamtuner2 into the old Streamtuner; think that might work?

I don't understand how the new Streamtuner got so bloated? Was all this necessarily caused by the new changes at Shoutcast?

Thanks
Hi Yogi,
Streamtuner2 is a complete rewrite using Python. It's only ~300K. Plugins from Streamtuner2 would not work in Streamtuner 0.99. The size of the SFS is mostly Python 2.6.4, not Streamtuner2 itself.

Yes it can browse all current Shoutcast stations. It launches the external player of your choice, configured in Edit | Preferences | Apps.

First try bootmanager in a terminal. You might need to convert the SFS ver 4 to Squashfs ver 3 for PizzaPup depending on the kernel version. The PizzaPup developer, Pizzasgood might be able to assist you with installing an SFS in PizzaPup and whether Python 2.6.4 will work in PizzaPup.

I suppose we could make the SFS into a PET by booting into Puppy 4.3.1, Lucid Puppy or Slackpup, cd to the directory where the SFS is and type
Code:
unsquashfs4 Streamtuner2-2.0.3a.sfs
mv ./squashfs-root Streamtuner2-2.0.3
dir2pet Streamtuner2-2.0.3
Hope that helps,
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jul 2010, 11:26    Post subject: Updated VLC for Lupu and Slackpup  

I updated VLC 1.0.6 in the first post for Lupu and Slackpup. They needed libEGL and for Lupu, libpng14.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jul 2010, 17:51    Post subject:  

I'm using it right now in Lupu503 and it's excellent.

Any plans re streamripper, will it work with it ?

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Yogi

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jul 2010, 21:57    Post subject:  

Tazoc,

I'm thinking there might be an easier way for my situation. Is there any way you can "open" the Streamtuner2 shoutcast plugin and find the IP
address. The old classic Shoutcast won't connect anymore and I think they may have changed the address. If so maybe I can edit my plugin with the new IP address and be back in business. Just guessing.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 11:33    Post subject:  

tasmod wrote:
I'm using it right now in Lupu503 and it's excellent.

Any plans re streamripper, will it work with it ?
I haven't tried it. If you already have streamripper probably just need to replace x-terminal-emulator with rxvt in Preferences | Apps | Recording.
Yogi wrote:
Tazoc,

I'm thinking there might be an easier way for my situation. Is there any way you can "open" the Streamtuner2 shoutcast plugin and find the IP
address. The old classic Shoutcast won't connect anymore and I think they may have changed the address. If so maybe I can edit my plugin with the new IP address and be back in business. Just guessing.

Thanks
The classic Streamtuner .99 was written in C. I opened the python script in Streamtuner2 and rather than referencing in an IP address, it parses several URLs for Shoutcast:
http://shoutcast.com/
http.ajax("http://shoutcast.com/genre.jsp", {"genre":name, "id":id})
http://www.shoutcast.com/genre-ajax/
http://yp.shoutcast.com/sbin/tunein-station.pls?id=
So I don't know how to make classic Streamtuner work with the new Shoutcast website and platform.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
milki2

Joined: 24 Jul 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jul 2010, 19:55    Post subject: Streamtuner1 shoutcast support via ST2 cli mode  

Just wanted to chime in, as I'm the author of streamtuner2. It's somewhat more difficult to fix the older Streamtuner 0.99.99, because SHOUTcast changed its HTML format in a way which cannot be parsed line-wise anymore. And furthermore, you really need to simulate AJAX requests, else you'd only ever get 20 links per category.

Even if one were to adapt the Streamtuner1 extraction logic, it would fail half the time. Shoutcast.com now often sends varying and ambigious HTML tags. So, it's really not just a matter of changing the URLs and string comparisons.
(And that's why streamtuner2 transitions to HTML parsing with jQuery-like CSS selectors.)

However there is a way to get Streamtuner1 working again. It's just "a little" more work. The next streamtuner2 contains a CLI mode. And I've written two PHP wrapper scripts which can fake the old //yp.shoutcast.com/ layout. So, you put "127.0.0.1 yp.shoutcast.com" in your /etc/hosts. Then install the streamtuner2 CLI server and the two wrapper scripts on a local webserver. So Streamtuner 0.99 always sees the old Shoutcast HTML, but with pre-filtered data from ST2.
I should really get an award for the most silly workaround ever. But haven't thoroughly tested it yet. See 2.0.4.85.tgz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sun 25 Jul 2010, 12:39    Post subject:  

Hi milki2,
Thank you for chiming in with a much better explanation than I could give. Very Happy I like Streamtuner2 both for the features and regular updates. I made some cosmetic changes to the glade interface, switched to an H2O-LHP default theme and adjusted the helper app defaults for Puppy/Lighthouse and use it regularly.

I appreciate your efforts and look forward to future releases. I think adapting St2 CL for the Streamtuner .99 is admirable though, I think that after seeing and using the St2 GUI in action, most would not feel compelled to go back to St .99. The CL workaround you describe and attached appears to have the same dependencies as St2 GUI, e.g, python, which is not in base Puppy but is in the devx.sfs development add-on.

If anyone desires I can make a PET of the St2 SFS, though at 62M uncompressed I think it is better an SFS in Lucid Pup/Slackpup/Lighthouse Pup because it keeps that 62M from being used in the pupsave personal storage file.

Again, milki2 I very much appreciate your efforts and contributions with Streamtuner2. The Linux community is fortunate to have your expertise!
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
milki2

Joined: 24 Jul 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jul 2010, 18:54    Post subject:  

Hi tazoc,

Thanks for the compliment! But really, it's my first Python and/or Gtk application. So the good looks are owed soleley to the progess of the Linux plattform and Pygtk really. (Nice theme, btw!)
And of course, if you programm something for your own needs, it's often useful for many other people too. :]

But let me give some compliments back. I didn't really like Puppy Linux of old. But Lighthouse looks so much more easy on the eyes. I'm seriously eyeing on putting it on my X40 bedbook (where Ubuntu is a bit sluggish). This seems an extremely vibrant community here, and I've already discovered a dozen cool applications I've never ever heard about... I also like the nifty MacOS-like application bundles you build here.

Anyway, made a 2.0.5 release now. But I swear I'll keep the releasing down now for a while, as it was a bit too frequent. And also it's nearing feature completeness, and I'm getting zilch bug reports. (Assuming this is mostly a good sign.)

As for the Streamtuner 0.99 workaround, yes this really isn't a general solution. It doesn't make sense to install ST1 and ST2 at the same time. However, the workaround is meant to be centrally installed as proxy webserver. It's working now, streamtuner1 is functional again (for me at least), and this was one of the original design ideas for ST2. Continuing the idea over at the other discussion...

G!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fishy

Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jul 2010, 09:53    Post subject:  

I have always loved streamtuner but I have a simple question. I would like to be able to change stations without shutting down Amarok and restarting. Right now once a station is selected i.e. Blues it will continue even if I select a classical station. I have looked at the configuration settings of both Amarok (default mediaplayer) and Streamtuner2 but no bright light came on.

Obvious that I am not a multimedia person. Wink

Puppy 4.3.2 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jul 2010, 11:43    Post subject: St2 to Amarok playlist  

Is that Amarok 1.4.10? When playing a new station in St2 > Amarok does the new station queue into the Amarok playlist? If so, you can double click on the new playlist entry to start it w/o restarting Amarok. If not, and the Amarok playlist is visible, then in St2 Preferences | Apps, change the first 3 formats from amarok %m3u to amarok -p %m3u or amarok -l %m3u. If that doesn't help, type amarok --help in a terminal see the options for the version of Amarok you have. Mine (Amarok 2.3.1b) shows -p for play, - l for load, -f next, -a append and --queue but I haven't tried them all.

By default the second format in St2 Apps, audio/ogg ends with %pls but you can experiment with that or %m3u (playlist) or %u (url)
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1058s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0095s) ][ GZIP on ]