Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 09:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse Pup 5.00 G 185M
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 46 [688 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 17:50    Post subject:  

tazoc wrote:
I have not been able to figure out exactly why TC won't work with the Slackware mount except that IIRC TC in Mariner was compiled in Puppy 4.x.
-TazOC


Would it be beneficial for someone (read: me) to compile the latest TC source within LHP5C and then up it for everybody?
I'd just have to undo the CLI thing you listed above to set things back the way they should be and them compile from scratch.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 18:51    Post subject:  

Q5sys wrote:
Would it be beneficial for someone (read: me) to compile the latest TC source within LHP5C and then up it for everybody?
I'd just have to undo the CLI thing you listed above to set things back the way they should be and them compile from scratch.
Sure then I think I could remove /bin/mount-FULL-puppy as I don't think anything else needs it. Probably still need the script /bin/mount though. Might be an interesting exercise, I wonder if the compiler would somehow check /bin/mount and build accordingly? The mount-FULL-slackware in LHP is from /bin/mount in Slackware's util-linux-ng-2.17.1-i486-1. I couldn't find any includes in there except for blkid and uuid.

Would it be OK with you if I make a PET from your new clutter-cairo-Intel archive that would be compatible with the xorgwizard in LHP? As it is I think the intel_drv.so in LHP 5.00C might over-write yours if xorgwizard is run. Maybe then you could test our PET on your Intel graphics and if it works, I could incorporate the packages into the next release.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Stormson5150

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 19:58    Post subject:  

Ok... So far this is what i got...

Not the .hal-mtab file.

In the off chance it had something to do with where I was running from, and since the sucessful test was from a CD, with the clean save, I tried CD with the main system... Not it.

Checked all SFS files, by adding one, then rebooting and testing, one after the other.. Not it, all sfs's check out, including;

5-Mariner-5C_490.sfs alone= Pass
Devx-LHP_490.sfs=pass
Kernel_src-2.6.33.2-LHP.sfs=pass
5-Voyager-5C.sfs=pass
4-KDE-4.4.4-C.sfs=pass
Bibletime-2.7-1a.sfs=pass
GoogleEarth5.1a.sfs=pass
Graphics-3in1-c.sfs=pass
KDE-WebDev-SDK-Tidy-484-b4.sfs=pass
Kompozer-0.8b.sfs=pass
OpenOffice-3.2c.sfs=pass
Opera-10.10-4742F.sfs=pass
Pidgin-2.6.5b.sfs=pass
Stellarium-0.10.4.sfs=pass
Xfce-4.6.1d.sfs=pass

So, ok, good idea taz, as I do have ALLOT of software installed from the slackware repo's... I'll try replacing mount with the one from the original sfs next... Unless you think that could break something else by not being slack's???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Stormson5150

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 20:27    Post subject:  

Taz.... Success!

That is exactly what it was bro... It picked up slackware's /bin/mount somewhere along the line... I renamed that mountBAK and replaced it with the mount script from the original LHP sfs and it worked great, thank you!

Q5sys...

I for one would be interested in taking a look at it... While it is working again, I'm somewhat afraid that the missing slackware /bin/mount may cause issues in the future with other programs, specifically, whatever application included it in the first place... A way to use truecrypt and still retain slack's mount would be ideal IMO...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 20:54    Post subject:  

Stormson5150,
Sweet! Nice work. Very Happy I was replying to suggest renaming your current files e.g., /bin/mount to /bin/mount.save in case you need to restore them... and you read my mind.

Maybe I will ask Barry how to exclude packages like util-linux-ng in PPM. I added it to the PKG_NAME_IGNORE list in /root/.packages/PKGS_MANAGEMENT but PPM still lets me install it!

TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Stormson5150

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 21:23    Post subject:  

Thats a good idea... i ran into an issue awhile back, with lupu, IF I remember correctly, where almost everything I needed to install relied on one or more of the various Xcb* libs.. which in turn promptly broke the desktop.

Having them excluded from the jump would have saved many an "ooppps" moment for me LOL Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3380
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jul 2010, 06:00    Post subject:
Subject description: lhp booting to blank screen
 

First, frugal install on an ext2 partition.
Used the suggested addition to get video set up for xwin.
Installed Nvidia driver pet.
All was well.
Decided to load VirtualBox SFS file using bootloader.
Rebooted and set up 2 virtual machines.
About the third boot after that, I got a blank screen, but the audio "hello" played.
I tried alt-ctrl-bkspace .
Still blank screen, but typing xwin would again get the hello audio file played.
So now, I am stuck back in Puppy 5.00 until I figure out how to cure this.
BTW the version of LHP I installed frugally was the one with all the SFS files included.

AMD Athlon X2 4800 Dualcore, 3 gigs ram, Nvidia GeForce 6150SE graphics.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jul 2010, 12:27    Post subject:
Subject description: lhp booting to blank screen
 

8-bit wrote:
AMD Athlon X2 4800 Dualcore, 3 gigs ram, Nvidia GeForce 6150SE graphics
First, frugal install on an ext2 partition.
Used the suggested addition to get video set up for xwin.
Hi 8-bit,
Are you booting from GRUB or CD or USB Flash? By suggested addition, do you mean xforcevesa nomodeset on kernel line?
Quote:
Installed Nvidia driver pet.
All was well.
Decided to load VirtualBox SFS file using bootloader.
Rebooted and set up 2 virtual machines.
About the third boot after that, I got a blank screen, but the audio "hello" played.
Which NVIDIA driver pet please? Can you add pfix=nox and get to CL? If so, run xorgwizard | Options & Tools | Edit xorg.conf to check that nvidia is next to #card0driver. If so, go back to main menu and switch to nv or vesa. If still blank screen (no CL), make sure you're booting with xforcevesa nomodeset and please post your menu.lst entry if using GRUB. If USB Flash post your syslinux.cfg. And xorg.conf also please.

Maybe nouveau.modeset=0 on kernel line would help? Or video=640x480
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jul 2010, 12:46    Post subject:  

tazoc wrote:
Would it be OK with you if I make a PET from your new clutter-cairo-Intel archive that would be compatible with the xorgwizard in LHP? As it is I think the intel_drv.so in LHP 5.00C might over-write yours if xorgwizard is run. Maybe then you could test our PET on your Intel graphics and if it works, I could incorporate the packages into the next release.
-TazOC


Works for me. Smile

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3380
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 00:38    Post subject:
Subject description: lhp booting to blank screen
 

[quote="tazoc"]
8-bit wrote:
AMD Athlon X2 4800 Dualcore, 3 gigs ram, Nvidia GeForce 6150SE graphics
First, frugal install on an ext2 partition.
Used the suggested addition to get video set up for xwin.
Hi 8-bit,
Are you booting from GRUB or CD or USB Flash? By suggested addition, do you mean xforcevesa nomodeset on kernel line?

I am back after adding the line above to grub menu.lst and then downloading the Nvidia PET you compiled for LHP. I checked to make sure I downloaded the correct version for my Nvidia card and set up VirtualBox again after loading it with Puppy Boot Manager and also Mariner.
So far, it is booting to desktop and I also edited my menu.lst entry to remove the xforcevesa part, but left the nomodeset there.
I hope that part will keep things working with the Nvidia driver.

I will keep you informed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3380
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 11:44    Post subject:
Subject description: Mariner SFS glitch
 

I loaded the Mariner SFS with Puppy Boot Manager and found that when I click on HELP, I am shown the help page for Puppy 4.3.1.
How do I get the correct help page to display?



Also, the utility menu shows no indication that it is scrollable. But moving my mouse pointer to the top of that menu does scroll up to the top giving more apps that are not normally seen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 13:00    Post subject:  

Hi 8-bit,
Glad your GeForce is working again. There are 3 NVIDIA PETS on the LHP site, am I correct then that you're using the NVIDIA 195? I am using it with my NVIDIA GeForce 6200 AGP with xforcevesa nomodeset on the GRUB kernel line. xforcevesa when used with nomodeset seems to be the most reliable method of preventing a black screen at bootup. It has no effect on the nv or nvidia drivers even though it sounds like it would 'force the vesa' driver. If you get a black screen again, please try again with xforcevesa nomodeset. You can verify which driver is active with Menu | System | Video Reporting Tool or report-video in a terminal, or by checking the Driver Section of xorg.conf or by scanning /var/log/Xorg.0.log.

Yes, the help page is outdated--I will either update to the latest from Slackpup or use the Tips page on lhpup.org.

If anyone knows how to improve the IceWM menus layout and lack of scrolling indicators please let me know. I'm leaning toward switching back to JWM as default WM for the next release. So far the focus bugfix in LHP 5.00C update1 PET seems to have fixed the problems I had with ROX desktop in JWM.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 15:23    Post subject:  

Has anyone run into an issue when running XFCE when compiz loads of it giving a completely white screen and X locking up and the system becoming unresponsive? It only happens with XFCE for me. Not sure why.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 19:01    Post subject: Compositing in Xfce  

Q5sys wrote:
Has anyone run into an issue when running XFCE when compiz loads of it giving a completely white screen and X locking up and the system becoming unresponsive? It only happens with XFCE for me. Not sure why.
I just tested Compiz-Fusion in Xfce on two machines, one with the NVIDIA 195 driver and one with ATI 10.6 Catalyst, both proprietary drivers and C-F worked on both in Xfce.

Xfce also has native compositing, for shadows and transparency w/o Compiz (Menu | Setup | Xfce Settings | Window Manager Tweaks | Compositor.)
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 20:13    Post subject: Beta test: LHP_5.00C_cairo_clutter_Intel-2.11.0.pet
Subject description: Intel Display Driver PET for LHP 5.00 C and Mariner SFS
 

Intel 2010Q1 Xorg driver PET for LHP 5.00 C & Mariner SFS

What's included:

- clutter-glx-1.2.8

- cairo-1.9.6

- xf86-video-intel-2.11.0

- updated xorgwizard

Compiled and tested by Q5sys on an Intel 965GM Integrated Graphics Chipset

Supported chipsets: Intel HD Graphics (Arrandale & Clarkdale), GMA 3150 (Pineview), G45, GM45, GM965, 945GM, 945GME, 915GM, 855GM.

(Hardware acceleration requires DRI modules in Mariner SFS)

This is a BETA driver so first backup your pupsave, or test with new pupsave, just in case!

Download: LHP_5.00C_cairo_clutter_Intel-2.11.0.pet 6.7M md5.txt

Screenshot and report-video attached.
-TazOC
Q5sysIntelreport-video-full.gz
Description  X log & config with LHP_5.00C_cairo_clutter_Intel-2.11.0.pet installed
gz

 Download 
Filename  Q5sysIntelreport-video-full.gz 
Filesize  5.96 KB 
Downloaded  369 Time(s) 
Q5sysIntel1.png
Description  Screenshot of 3D-Demo on Intel 965GM
png

 Download 
Filename  Q5sysIntel1.png 
Filesize  1.07 MB 
Downloaded  388 Time(s) 

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 46 [688 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1034s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0105s) ][ GZIP on ]