Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 14:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slackpup 0.4 beta
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
wuwei


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 774
Location: de

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul 2010, 13:41    Post_subject:
Sub_title: pppoe in spup
 

Hello Barry,

I did try, unfortunately unsuccessfully.

Here is what I did:

Loaded a fresh spup with pfix=ram from a subdirectory on my Puppy partition. Nouveau driver again worked fine with GeForce 6200 LE.

Then I tried the 4 steps from your post here
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01701

# modprobe pppoe in terminal did not respond.

According to this
http://www.lampdocs.com/home-personal/pppoe-connection/

one would now "need to create a kernel module". This is a bit over my head, at least without spending a lot of time. Guess the entire procedure was now impossible to continue. Still I tried #2 and #3 on your list.

When I got to #4
Quote:
# pppd call myprov


this was the output
Quote:
# pppd call myprov
pppd: error while loading shared libraries: libpcap.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
# whereis pppd
bash: whereis: command not found
#


libpcap.so.1 is not in spup.

Sorry, this is as far as I got tonight.
Off to watch the soccer semi finals, now. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4455
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul 2010, 14:01    Post_subject:  

I had high hopes that a fresh install of SPUP 030 would finally fix the CUPS problem.

CUPS in SPUP 030 cannot handle an Add Printer request.

It cannot find localhost:631 - it generates a "404 Not Found"

Very weird ... Any suggestions, please?

EDIT


I just read some more and have discovered that the CUPS problem may be a carry-forward unresolved problem from SPUP 020.

I even tried upgrading via Puppy Package Manager to CUPS 1.4.3 -- but no joy. Sad

EDIT2

I went back to Wary 030, remembering that I had fixed the shortage of HDD space, and tried CUPS and it worked!

I noticed that CUPS popped up a Username/Password window - it did not do that in SPUP 030 - is it possible that the CUPS failure in SPUP 030 (and 020 before that) is due to a problem with the login to localhost:631?

EDIT3

Here are three proposed solutions to a CUPS localhost:631 failure which may lead to a solution under SPUP:

Quote:
Try /etc/rc.d/rc.cups start


Quote:
maybe http://127.0.0.1:631 will work?


Quote:
Check /usr/local/etc/pam.d/cups -- change it to use pam_unix rather than
pam_unknown. (pam_unknown is, errr..., unknown on FreeBSD...)
Like this:

auth required pam_unix.so nodelay
account required pam_unix.so


EDIT4

THIS opens up the CUPS Administration page:

https://localhost:631/admin

Of course one must plow through a BUNCH of security pop-ups whining about Certificates, etc.

Does the fact that this appears to bypass the 404 ERROR help to ID the problem with CUPS in SPUP 030?

On further investigation while CUPS in Wary 030 will communicate with my HP LaserJet P1006 printer using the fooxxx_r220909-0.0-i486.pet this one will not.

I will try the proprietary HP driver but it seems that if fooxxx_r220909-0.0-i486.pet is effective in CUPS under Wary 030 then it should also be under SPUP 030.

I hate to clutter things with too much probably-conflicting CUPS junk!

EDIT5

I could find no combination of hplite versions and fooxxx_r220909-0.0-i486.pet and etc. that even within the https://localhost:631/admin workaround would result in the ability to use my HP Laserjet P1006 printer.

It is working fine in Wary 030 with just fooxxx_r220909-0.0-i486.pet

Sure would like to be able to use SPUP!

SOLVED!

Upgraded to SPUP 040. Thanks Barry!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy Carolina 1.3 & Lighthouse64-b602

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 02:37    Post_subject:
Sub_title: pppoe in spup
 

wuwei wrote:
Hello Barry,

I did try, unfortunately unsuccessfully.

Here is what I did:

Loaded a fresh spup with pfix=ram from a subdirectory on my Puppy partition. Nouveau driver again worked fine with GeForce 6200 LE.

Then I tried the 4 steps from your post here
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01701

# modprobe pppoe in terminal did not respond.

According to this
http://www.lampdocs.com/home-personal/pppoe-connection/

one would now "need to create a kernel module". This is a bit over my head, at least without spending a lot of time. Guess the entire procedure was now impossible to continue. Still I tried #2 and #3 on your list.

When I got to #4
Quote:
# pppd call myprov


this was the output
Quote:
# pppd call myprov
pppd: error while loading shared libraries: libpcap.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
# whereis pppd
bash: whereis: command not found
#


libpcap.so.1 is not in spup.

Sorry, this is as far as I got tonight.
Off to watch the soccer semi finals, now. Laughing


The pppoe kernel module exists:

Code:
# modinfo pppoe
filename:       /lib/modules/2.6.34/kernel/drivers/net/pppoe.ko
alias:          net-pf-24
license:        GPL
description:    PPP over Ethernet driver
author:         Michal Ostrowski <mostrows@speakeasy.net>
depends:        pppox,ppp_generic
vermagic:       2.6.34 mod_unload 486
#


So, load it:

Code:
# modprobe pppoe
#


...it is now loaded. So, Step 1 works ok.

As for pppd:

Code:
# which pppd
/usr/sbin/pppd
# ldd /usr/sbin/pppd
   linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xffffe000)
   libcrypt.so.1 => /lib/libcrypt.so.1 (0xb76c7000)
   libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0xb76c3000)
   libpcap.so.1 => not found
   libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb7554000)
   /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xb76fb000)
#


Ah, that would also explain why someone reported that dialup with a modem does not work! pppd is broken!

SOLUTION:
Need Internet connection, run Puppy Package Manager, install package 'tcpdump' from the official Slackware repository.
Then you will have libpcap.so.1.

Then you will probably find the the previous pppoe-start works, but I would appreciate if you can test the method I posted also, see if that works.

Thanks for the feedback.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4455
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 12:02    Post_subject:  

I am having an interesting time talking to myself about the CUPS problem in SPUP 030 but it is getting boring.

Has CUPS been abandoned in SPUP?

I know that Barry has elsewhere expressed frustration at CUPS being a chronic nuisance - and I agree for sure!

It would be helpful to flag the lack of CUPS before one downloads, installs, and wastes time fighting to get it working in SPUP if it is both a lost-cause and a non-goal for the development of SPUP.

If CUPS is being abandoned is there a pending-alternative to CUPS planned for SPUP?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy Carolina 1.3 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4455
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 15:08    Post_subject:
Sub_title: BarryK writes: Finally got printing working!
 

Great news!

When he returns to the keyboard I presume there will be a .PET or some other means to upgrade our SPUP 030 installs.

Thanks Barry!

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01707

Quote:
Posted on 9 Jul 2010, 2:04 by BarryK
Printing works
Finally got printing working!

It took awhile, I had to fix foomatic-filters and ghostscript packages.

Local time is after 1.00am, time for a cup of green tea, wind-down the mind for awhile, then bed.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy Carolina 1.3 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 19:50    Post_subject:  

Hmmmm......

libiw.so.29 seems to be missing from spup. It must have gotten lost in the woof translation... it's weird because my wireless is working ok, and the header file is in the devx.. libiw.a.

I installed one from Quirky 1.2 but that of course is not satisfactory.

I went in to /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/lib and did "ls|grep lib" which basically gives me a list of all libs in /usr/lib as they are in the original iso. I did this after a search.

Here's an extract of the out put:
Code:
libiptc.so.0.0.0
libiso9660.so
libiso9660++.so
libiso9660++.so.0
libiso9660++.so.0.0.0
libiso9660.so.5
libiso9660.so.5.1.0
libiso9660.so.7
libjasper.so
libjasper.so.1
libjasper.so.1.0.0
libjpeg.so
libjpeg.so.62
libjpeg.so.62.0.0


No libiw.*

I took the liberty to compile wireless-tools in spup.

Attached is a tarball containing the sources, the lib and tools, the headers and the docs. The whole lot is only 538k.

I compiled like this:
Code:
make clean
make PREFIX=/usr BUILD_STATIC=y
new2dir make install


I then just tarred up the lot.

Thank you aarf for finding this problem.

Cheers
spup-wireless-tools-29.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  spup-wireless-tools-29.tar.gz 
Filesize  537.57 KB 
Downloaded  416 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 22:06    Post_subject:  

I have been fixing bugs in Spup 0.3, quite significant ones.

So, for any newcomers reading this, don't download Spup 0.3, as I will upload 0.4 in a couple of days.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 00:12    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:


I then just tarred up the lot.

Thank you aarf for finding this problem.

Cheers

i am innocent. it wasn't me. it is all misunderstanding. it was micko he did it, i saw him.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4455
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 00:34    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
I have been fixing bugs in Spup 0.3, quite significant ones.

So, for any newcomers reading this, don't download Spup 0.3, as I will upload 0.4 in a couple of days.


In my experience so far it is as solid as any of the others.

Other than CUPS and modems ...

Standing by for 040 ... Smile

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy Carolina 1.3 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 22:19    Post_subject:  

Spup 0.4 has arrived:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01715

You might also find this post on Samba printing to be useful:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=433211#433211

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4455
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 22:50    Post_subject:  

Barry,

You are amazing!

Downloaded ... may be too late in the day here to load it all up but will make a point of it asap and report back.

Thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy Carolina 1.3 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2185
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 23:07    Post_subject: Slackpup 0.4 beta
Sub_title: nvidia
 

I did a frugal install of 040 on this pc which has an nvidia card but the only way I could get x to start on first boot was to choose the neomagic driver.I had downloaded your new nvidia pet earlier and saved it to a flash drive but no luck installing it on this pc, x won't start when I select restart x server after installing the pet.
VGA compatible controller nVidia Corporation C77 [GeForce 8200]
VGA compatible controller nVidia Corporation G98 [GeForce 9300 GE]

I have another pc with an nvidia 8600gt card in it and the nouveau driver causes the screen to have strange lines here and there on the screen.Rebooting and selecting the vesa driver on this computer allowed me to install your nvidia pet and x would start after doing restart x server but no accelerated graphics although the screen is okay otherwise.
I do get accelerated graphics after installing the nvidia pet in quickpet in luci-209 on the pc with the 8600gt but have to start with vesa before installing the nvidia pet on luci-209 as well.

The pwallpaper in /usr/sbin doesn't change the wallpaper, it will come up and you can select different background images but it won't actually change the wallpaper.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 23:21    Post_subject:  

Just did a quick fresh frugal install on the old P3 test box.No problems yet... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
upnorth


Joined: 11 Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Location: Wisconsin UTC-6 (-5 DST)

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 23:42    Post_subject:  

on the 020 version, I installed viewnior and that allowed nathan wallpaper setter
to work.

For now, in 040, I just edit /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin at the top, eg :

<backdrop style="Stretched">/root/towercam.jpg</backdrop>


Otherwise, working great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 00:04    Post_subject:  

Hmmm, yeah, something is amiss with Pwallpaper. I'm running on an old 500MHz PC right now, I started "pwallpaper" in a terminal, chose an image, clicked "Apply" button and got a segmentation fault.

Anyway, I am pleased to report that modem dialup is now working. This old PC has a Pctel analog modem, and it works, using it right now.

I'm paying for a dialup account with Netbay Internet, but hardly ever use it. Still want to keep the account though, for testing purposes.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1146s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]