Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 14:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Fluppy 013
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 133 [1983 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Author Message
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4438
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jun 2010, 16:45    Post subject:  

Me again...(I hear you saying: "Shucks...") Laughing

I noticed that if you change the size of the drive icons at the bottom in /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps, they will change for the duration of the session if you restart with xwin from console, but they won't stick for the next session, at least not from booting from a CD / DVD. True or false : this is a quirky problem, not a Fluppy problem? (I think I remember that Puppy 4.0 had the same bug.)

BFN.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jun 2010, 16:48    Post subject:  

About half the times I boot Fluppy I get an X in the tray and a little
window in upper left of screen.
The only way to close it is by restarting X.
What is that thing?

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 960
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jun 2010, 18:47    Post subject:  

Where does flwm get it's menu from? I want to add an app to the menu, but I can't find the flwm menu anywhere.
(And it didn't add itself, not being a pet or installed from the repo.)

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 11:45    Post subject:  

gerry wrote:
It's great. EXCEPT- no icons! Should there be some? All I have are the drive icons along the bottom.

gerry


Just switch the icon theme using the Rox Icon Switcher on the desktop menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 11:50    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:


Upon second reading, a light-bulb lit over my head! Cool

So ROX would have
1) an "annoying panel auto-hide feature"
2) "that doesn't work if your panels have stuff in them"

Kindly explain...

In other words, does this mean that ROX has by default hidden panels that "unhide" when you put stuff in them? And I thought my brain was ok. Laughing Strrrrraaannggge...


If you uncheck "Do not cover Panel" (which only works in EWMH compliant WMs), Rox will raise the panel, if and only if you hover over a blank part of the panel. That's not the annoying part though - the annoying part is that it lowers the panel when you move the mouse away, making it impossible to drag things to the panel that has windows behind it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 11:52    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hello again, jemimah.

Almost got stuck in flwm (hehe), until I followed your tracks back to /etc/wm, and placed "openbox-session" there. My fault, I tried to introduce good old wmx in Fluppy. And now I've put your wm chooser out of commission

So you're not using the usual Puppy .xinitrc, eh?
Second question: how do I integrate another wm than the three you suggest ?

I'm not criticizing -- you really did a fabulous job with Fluppy. Very Happy I like it a lot.
It's just me being curious, and trying to get back to my old groove!

Many thanks in advance.


You need to add the new window manager to the /usr/bin/change-wm script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 11:56    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
jemimah?

Two more questions, if I may:

How would I give a separate function to each of the mouse buttons in FLWM?
At present, they all display whatever is in /.wmx

How would I reinstate desktop icons on the FLWM desktop? Change or copy PuppyPin manually?

Again, thanks in advance.
And have a great day!


Flwm is not very configurable besides modifying the source code. What functions do you want?

You can copy /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin.orig over /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 11:57    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Me again...(I hear you saying: "Shucks...") Laughing

I noticed that if you change the size of the drive icons at the bottom in /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps, they will change for the duration of the session if you restart with xwin from console, but they won't stick for the next session, at least not from booting from a CD / DVD. True or false : this is a quirky problem, not a Fluppy problem? (I think I remember that Puppy 4.0 had the same bug.)

BFN.


Why not just increase the size of the Panel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 11:59    Post subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
About half the times I boot Fluppy I get an X in the tray and a little
window in upper left of screen.
The only way to close it is by restarting X.
What is that thing?


This happens when the tray apps start before the icewm tray has completely loaded. I thought the delay was long enough, but I guess not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 12:00    Post subject:  

gerry wrote:
Where does flwm get it's menu from? I want to add an app to the menu, but I can't find the flwm menu anywhere.
(And it didn't add itself, not being a pet or installed from the repo.)

gerry


The Flwm menu is configured by adding scripts and directories to /root/.wmx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4438
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 12:10    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
musher0 wrote:
Hello again, jemimah.

Almost got stuck in flwm (hehe), until I followed your tracks back to /etc/wm, and placed "openbox-session" there. My fault, I tried to introduce good old wmx in Fluppy. And now I've put your wm chooser out of commission

So you're not using the usual Puppy .xinitrc, eh?
Second question: how do I integrate another wm than the three you suggest ?

I'm not criticizing -- you really did a fabulous job with Fluppy. Very Happy I like it a lot.
It's just me being curious, and trying to get back to my old groove!

Many thanks in advance.


You need to add the new window manager to the /usr/bin/change-wm script.


I tried (see lines 22 and ff.), but I probably did something wrong... Please edit! Cool

Code:



#! /bin/bash
set -x

WM=`cat /etc/windowmanager`
if [[ $WM == startflwm ]] ; then
   FLWM='<default>true</default>'
else
   FLWM='<default>false</default>'
fi
if [[ $WM == icewm-session ]] ; then
   ICEWM='<default>true</default>'
else
   ICEWM='<default>false</default>'
fi
if [[ $WM == openbox-session ]] ; then
   OPENB='<default>true</default>'
else
   OPENB='<default>false</default>'
fi
if [[ $WM == wmx ]] ; then
   OPENB='<default>true</default>'
else
   OPENB='<default>false</default>'
fi

export MAIN_DIALOG="
<window title=\"Change Window Manager\">
<vbox>
<frame Choose a Window Manager>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>Flwm</label>
   $FLWM
   <action>if true echo startflwm > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>Icewm</label>
   $ICEWM
   <action>if true echo icewm-session > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>OpenBox</label>
   $OPENB
   <action>if true echo openbox-session > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>
       <label>wmx</label>
   $WMX
   <action>if true echo wmx > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>

</frame>
<text><label>Changes will be applied when you restart Xwindows</label></text>
<hbox>
  <button tooltip-text=\"Exit\">
     <input file stock=\"gtk-quit\"></input>
     <label>Exit</label>
     <action type=\"exit\">Exit-NOW</action>
    </button>
</hbox>
</vbox>
</window>"
gtkdialog3 --program=MAIN_DIALOG --center


Thanks in advance.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4438
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 12:18    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
musher0 wrote:
jemimah?

Two more questions, if I may:

How would I give a separate function to each of the mouse buttons in FLWM?
At present, they all display whatever is in /.wmx

How would I reinstate desktop icons on the FLWM desktop? Change or copy PuppyPin manually?

Again, thanks in advance.
And have a great day!


Flwm is not very configurable besides modifying the source code. What functions do you want?

You can copy /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin.orig over /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin.


> Flwm is not very configurable besides modifying the source code.
I see. Somewhat like wmx, eh? You can do wonders with wmx, but only if you know where the parameters are in the source.

> What functions do you want?
It would be nice to have the regular puppy menu appear on screen with a right click of the mouse.

> You can copy /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin.orig over /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin.
Ah. Thanks.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 12:19    Post subject:  

Try this:
Code:



#! /bin/bash
set -x

WM=`cat /etc/windowmanager`
if [[ $WM == startflwm ]] ; then
   FLWM='<default>true</default>'
else
   FLWM='<default>false</default>'
fi
if [[ $WM == icewm-session ]] ; then
   ICEWM='<default>true</default>'
else
   ICEWM='<default>false</default>'
fi
if [[ $WM == openbox-session ]] ; then
   OPENB='<default>true</default>'
else
   OPENB='<default>false</default>'
fi
if [[ $WM == wmx ]] ; then
   WMX='<default>true</default>'
else
   WMX='<default>false</default>'
fi

export MAIN_DIALOG="
<window title=\"Change Window Manager\">
<vbox>
<frame Choose a Window Manager>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>Flwm</label>
   $FLWM
   <action>if true echo startflwm > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>Icewm</label>
   $ICEWM
   <action>if true echo icewm-session > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>OpenBox</label>
   $OPENB
   <action>if true echo openbox-session > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>
<radiobutton>
       <label>Wmx</label>
   $WMX
   <action>if true echo wmx > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>
       
</frame>
<text><label>Changes will be applied when you restart Xwindows</label></text>
<hbox>
  <button tooltip-text=\"Exit\">
     <input file stock=\"gtk-quit\"></input>
     <label>Exit</label>
     <action type=\"exit\">Exit-NOW</action>
    </button>
</hbox>
</vbox>
</window>"
gtkdialog3 --program=MAIN_DIALOG --center
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 12:29    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:


> What functions do you want?
It would be nice to have the regular puppy menu appear on screen with a right click of the mouse.


There is a script, flwm-menu that will build the menu like that. But it depended on jwm and I haven't updated it for icewm. The ultimate problem with having multiple window managers is the time it takes to generate all the menus.

The icewm menu is not bad because it's only one file. But if you're generating a new file for each menu entry for Rox-Menu, Flwm-menu, and also creating a RoxApp for all the menu entries - well this requires some thought. The snap-merge script that saves your stuff in Pupmode 13 is really slow, and that becomes very obvious when you're trying to copy down all those files generated by the menu scripts.

I'll think about it some more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4438
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 12:31    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
musher0 wrote:
Me again...(I hear you saying: "Shucks...") Laughing

I noticed that if you change the size of the drive icons at the bottom in /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps, they will change for the duration of the session if you restart with xwin from console, but they won't stick for the next session, at least not from booting from a CD / DVD. True or false : this is a quirky problem, not a Fluppy problem? (I think I remember that Puppy 4.0 had the same bug.)

BFN.


Why not just increase the size of the Panel?


Like in the panel that appears with FLWM? That's an idea, although I try not to have the ROX-panel "slide", 'cause it can get confusing, or you may forget what's in the off-screen section.

I finally decided to use "force" Rolling Eyes , by introducing this at line 146 of the Fluppy .xinitrc:

Code:

cp -f /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/dsq32x/* /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps


(The dsq32x sub-directory is where I created 32x disk icons under fake "*48.png" names. I saved the original icons under a dsq48x sub-dir for reference.)

Introduces a half-second delay in the boot-up of X, but other than that, works fine.

Here's the result, in real size:
cp-force-dsq32x-result.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   23.3 KB
 Viewed   306 Time(s)

cp-force-dsq32x-result.jpg


_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 133 [1983 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1276s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0215s) ][ GZIP on ]