Lucid Puppy 5.0.1 - 24 May 2010

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
puprag
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu 10 Jun 2010, 16:40

#1241 Post by puprag »

playdayz wrote:
Xorg is taking up like 70% of the cpu?
That should not be of course. Can you boot with nothing extra and then use System -> Htop to see what the cpu is doing?
I should have posted this in bugs right? it is only 70% when I am recording with sweep audio editor, and sweep takes the 30% left over?? 100% max out cpu when recording with sweep.

Minomushi
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu 06 May 2010, 00:46

glib package for lupu-501

#1242 Post by Minomushi »

I build glib package for lupu-501.
I worked on Lupu-501.

Build glib package
I installed binutils_2.20.1 and binutils-dev_2.20.1 by Puppy Package Manager.
It was possible to make glib package by this.

configure, make, make install & dir2pet

Code: Select all

# tar jxvf glib-2.24.1.tar.bz2
...
# mkdir glib-2.24.1-p5-i486
# cd glib-2.24.1-p5-i486
# pwd
/mnt/sdb6/DEV/glib-2.24.1-p5-i486
# cd glib-2.24.1
# ./configure --prefix=/usr \
> --sysconfdir=/etc \
> --localstatedir=/var \
> --build=i486-linux-gnu
...
# make
...
# make DESTDIR=/mnt/sdb6/DEV/glib-2.24.1-p5-i486 install
...
# cd ..
# dir2pet glib-2.24.1-p5-i486
...
Download glib package
glib-2.24.1-p5-i486.pet

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#1243 Post by playdayz »

I should have posted this in bugs right? it is only 70% when I am recording with sweep audio editor, and sweep takes the 30% left over?? 100% max out cpu when recording with sweep.
Probably in Bugs--I saw that you did post it somewhere else--there I think. This is the kind of problem where it will be other Lucid puppy users who can help--since it is not the base software. But, can you try recording with another audio editor to see what happens--Audacity is in Quickpet.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I build glib package for lupu-501.
I worked on Lupu-501.

Build glib package
I installed binutils_2.20.1 and binutils-dev_2.20.1 by Puppy Package Manager.
It was possible to make glib package by this.
Thank you minomushi, I will investigate this--we should try to have the same versions as Ubuntu 10.04 unless there is a reason otherwise.

There are at least two programs that we are looking to have compiled versions.

1. Netsurf. The version in Ubuntu 10.04 is 1.4, but there is a 2.5 version released--it looked semi-complicated to compile, but you might be interested.

2. VLC. It needs to be compiled with the option --enable-run-as-root but several of us have tried and not been able to compile it.

bones01
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon 11 Aug 2008, 07:47
Location: Melbourne, Aus

upgrading full install

#1244 Post by bones01 »

Hi all,

I've just tried to upgrade a full install from 4.2.1 to 5.0.1. I know that most of you will laugh and say I should have a frugal, and I might even agree after today. But I don't understand 'grub' so have generally avoided it.

Which leads to my problem.

During the upgrade process from the Universal Installer, I was asked to add some text to menu.lst but the instructions don't tell me where to add them, or if something needs to be deleted first. So I took a chance and put the new code where the ref to 4.2.1 was, and now I can't load anything. :cry:

So while I'm not so much looking for an answer here, I would like to suggest that a clarification in the upgrade instructions would be helpful for a duffer like me who still doesn't understand exactly what grub is for.

Bones
Dell Latitude D630 running Puppy 5.2.8 frugal, Macpup 525 frugal (if I can get it working again. Sadly, I couldn't get it fixed :? )
Precise Puppy 5.4 live DVD
Precise 5.7.3 on USB

User avatar
smokey01
Posts: 2813
Joined: Sat 30 Dec 2006, 23:15
Location: South Australia :-(
Contact:

#1245 Post by smokey01 »

Bones I will try and give you a simple explanation of what GRUB is all about.

When a computer is first turned on it does a number of things. One of those things is to try and start the operating system. Once the computer has done it's normal tests the firmware in the BIOS (Basic Input Output System) instructs the computer to start. In the BIOS you can tell your computer where to look for the operating system. In most cases the boot sequence in the BIOS is set to your primary hard drive. In Windows this would likely be drive C:, in later versions of Puppy it would be sda1. Ok lets not worry too much about naming of the drives for the moment.

Assuming we have told the BIOS to boot from the primary hard drive we now need to put a bootloader on the hard drive so it can boot the operating system. GRUB is a bootloader and it can be configured to boot various operating systems. It can give you a choice to boot Windows, puppy, ubuntu, xandros or many others. In fact I have about 10 different version of puppy on my primary hard drive including windows.

From this point on I will make the assumption you have a formatted hard drive and you have GRUB installed to the primary partition of this hard drive. The puppy universal installer should have put a number of grub files into the directory /boot/grub
In this same directory, some people call them folders, you will see a file called menu.lst. This is the GRUB configuration file.

Below is a cut down version of my GRUB configuration file to show you the difference between a full installation and frugal installation of puppy.

Note the #. GRUB will ignore lines that start with the hash.

# GRUB configuration file '/boot/grub/menu.lst'.
# generated by 'grubconfig'. Mon Feb 15 10:16:48 2010
#
# Start GRUB global section
# timeout 5 gives you five seconds to choose which OS to load.
# After 5 seconds it will load the first OS found in the list below.
timeout 5
# This sets up the colours
color light-gray/blue black/light-gray
# End GRUB global section
# Linux bootable partition config begins
#
# Everything after the word title you will see as a menu entry when grub starts
title 1. Puppy Linux 500 frugal
# (hd0,0) means primary hdd, partition 1.
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
# this tells GRUB where to look in directory /puppy500/ for the files
kernel /puppy500/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=puppy500
# This initializes the ram drive that puppy needs
initrd /puppy500/initrd.gz
#
#
title 2. Windows 7
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
chainloader +1
#
title 3. Puppy Linux 432 full install
root (hd0,6)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda7 pmedia=atahd nosmp acpi=force
#

Note the difference between the three operating systems

Although this was quite brief hopefully it will give you enough information to get started.

Now place your CD in your computer, reboot, when the puppy screen comes up type puppy pfix=ram. This will ensure it doesn't load any save files although you shouldn't have any if you did a full install.

Once you are at the desktop, click on your primary drive icon, goto to /boot/grub/menu.lst and edit the config file as described above, then save it.

Now remove the CD, reboot the computer. If all the GRUB files are in the correct place you should now be able to select your OS.

Good luck

Smokey.

bones01
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon 11 Aug 2008, 07:47
Location: Melbourne, Aus

thanks Smokey

#1246 Post by bones01 »

Thanks for your help Smokey. I eventually threw caution to the wind and re-installed Puppy completely. It meant I lost everything, which is a pain, but now I'm using the computer, so that's pretty good.

Thanks for your explanation too. I was really frustrated that although I was trying to follow the instructions, I had no idea what to do once it said "add this to menu.lst", so I think I panicked, took a rough guess, and destroyed it. Then even when I tried to delete what I had added, I ended up nowhere.

Live and learn.

No doubt you are warmer in Palmerston than I am in Warburton, Vic.

Bones
Dell Latitude D630 running Puppy 5.2.8 frugal, Macpup 525 frugal (if I can get it working again. Sadly, I couldn't get it fixed :? )
Precise Puppy 5.4 live DVD
Precise 5.7.3 on USB

nicholasbuckner
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat 12 Jun 2010, 10:22

#1247 Post by nicholasbuckner »

i got it and i boots 1 in 5 times from cd and when installed to hard in frugal or full, the computers just doesn't see it

User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

aisleriot dependencies

#1248 Post by 8-bit »

For those of you that have had aisleriot solitare fail due to the missing depencency "libgmp.so.3" I have found it in the lupu section of Puppy Package manager.
To save you the trouble of locating, downloading, and installing it, I am attaching it for you.
Extract it to /usr/lib and aisleriot will again run.
Hope this helps.

User avatar
gjuhasz
Posts: 422
Joined: Mon 29 Sep 2008, 14:28

#1249 Post by gjuhasz »

playdayz wrote:Have you had trouble with gxine? This is the replacement we are strongly considering for Lucid Puppy 5.1.
I can use mplayer having the referenced mplayer pets installed. However, gxine refuses playing some streams from this point. For example, when trying to play Sky News, I get the below error message. Downloading wmvdmod.dll and adding it both to /usr/lib/win32 and /usr/lib/codecs does not help.
Note that gxine plays this stream well without the mplayer pets, i.e., before the pets added and after they are removed.
Attachments
a1.jpg
(48.9 KiB) Downloaded 3308 times

gerry
Posts: 986
Joined: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 21:49
Location: England

#1250 Post by gerry »

MISSING LINK- again!

Link from /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb to /opt/samba/bin/smbspool is missing.

This gives you the choice in CUPS to set up a printer connected to a Windows computer.

Barry puts it in, nobody else does.

In the meantime, if you need it,

ln -s /opt/samba/bin/smbspool /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb

gerry

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#1251 Post by playdayz »

Link from /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb to /opt/samba/bin/smbspool is missing.

This gives you the choice in CUPS to set up a printer connected to a Windows computer.

Barry puts it in, nobody else does.
In the meantime, if you need it,

ln -s /opt/samba/bin/smbspool /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb
Thanks gerry. I will add it to luci-204 out in a day or two.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
gjuhasz
Note that gxine plays this stream well without the mplayer pets, i.e., before the pets added and after they are removed.
Wow. It's never easy. Does gnome-mplayer play the files in question?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
8-bit
aisleriot solitare
Since it doesn't install correctly from PPM I should make apet with all deps to add to the new Lucid virtual repo, with all programs tested. Do you have any other recommended programs?

gabuzo
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri 27 Feb 2009, 16:52

syslinux no default or ui configuration directive found

#1252 Post by gabuzo »

Hi,
after downloading the lupu-501.iso i copied the files to my USB stick with syslinux previously installed.
During booting, I get the message from syslinux:
"no default or ui configuration directive found"

I suggest to change the name of file isolinux.cfg to "syslinux.cfg"

User avatar
gjuhasz
Posts: 422
Joined: Mon 29 Sep 2008, 14:28

#1253 Post by gjuhasz »

playdayz wrote:
Wow. It's never easy. Does gnome-mplayer play the files in question?
Yes, mplayer well plays the streams listed in Pstreamvid. I just wanted to compare the performance of gxine against mplayer. Anyway, they are selectable in Pstreamvid, so I suspect that they can coexist in one system.

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#1254 Post by playdayz »

Link from /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb to /opt/samba/bin/smbspool is missing.

This gives you the choice in CUPS to set up a printer connected to a Windows computer.

Barry puts it in, nobody else does.
In the meantime, if you need it,

ln -s /opt/samba/bin/smbspool /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb
@ gerry, I just checked and /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb already exists. I am going to go ahead and do it anyway. Please check it in luci-204. Thanks.

User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

#1255 Post by 8-bit »

I do not know if I have got the latest version of lupu.
I downloaded lupu-501.iso ran a checksum on the file and that checked.
But when I booted it fresh with no lupusave file, it failed to recognize my nvidia card and used the vesa driver.
I then , after setting up an internet network connection, tried to download and install the Nvidia pet package.
The download failed twice and I gave up on that.
I then copied my lupusave-500.2fs file from my lupu500 directory to the new one I had created for lupu501, rebooted and let it do an upgrade of the lupusave file.
That at least got me to a desktop with the nvidia package installed.
But before, without any lupusave file, I tried installing a nvidia pet that had worked fine with a fresh install of lupu 500.
So I assume something got broke in the xorgwizard to the extent that it failed to recognize my video card and also failed to get to a working desktop after an attempted install of the Nvidia pet that had worked with lupu 500.
So currently I am very disappointed and feel that lupu-501.iso is broken and I am going to trash it.

User avatar
jackieflorida
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed 28 May 2008, 17:16
Location: MIAMI

Configuring a working PDF printer in Lucid and 4.2.1

#1256 Post by jackieflorida »

Here is what I did to configure a working PDF printer which for me is an essential feature.

Via menu items: Menu/Setup/CupsPrinterWizard/Administration/FindNewPrinters

Even though there is the native non-working pdf printer, the Wizard will find a new pdf printer. Select that and advance to the next page where you can enter a working pdf ppd file.

I have made a working pdf ppd file available here: http://www.box.net/shared/rqkjsu0tov

It works for me in Lucid and also 4.2.1 where there was no native pdf printer included.

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#1257 Post by playdayz »

8-bit. I am sorry that happened. I have a couple of suggestions. 1) is to try luci-204, the latest development release. In the PPM in luci-204there is a new nvidia pet that 01micko prepared, but it works only with luci-204 and onward. You need to add an update pet that is also linked in that first message. 2) did you download the nvidia pet from Qucikpet in lupu-501? That is the one that Barry made that works with lupu-500 and I though it worked with lupu-501. Going from lupu-500 to lupu-501 is safest without upgrading imho. Yes, I know that upgrading should be fine but remember that this is a new kind of Puppy aand hasn't been refined as much as 4.3.1 for instance. Thank you for your help in bettering it.

luci-204 -> http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=55740 If you use luci-204 then you should use the Nvidia driver that is in PPM, *not* the one in Quickpet.
Last edited by playdayz on Wed 23 Jun 2010, 16:00, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#1258 Post by playdayz »

jackieflorida
Here is what I did to configure a working PDF printer which for me is an essential feature.

Via menu items: Menu/Setup/CupsPrinterWizard/Administration/FindNewPrinters

Even though there is the native non-working pdf printer, the Wizard will find a new pdf printer. Select that and advance to the next page where you can enter a working pdf ppd file.

I have made a working pdf ppd file available here: http://www.box.net/shared/rqkjsu0tov
This is the first report that the pdf-printer is not working. What version of Lucid Puppy are you using please? I have used the pdf printer is most versions. You could help us out by including more details, what version, how does it malfunction, and so forth. Oh yes, one malfunction has been reported, that the pdf printer does not print graphics correctly sometimes in abiword--instead prints a black box. Is that it? You could also try "Print to File" in abiword--that also prints a pdf file and I think it might not have that same problem. Thanks for your help. We will test with the ppd you linked.

User avatar
jackieflorida
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed 28 May 2008, 17:16
Location: MIAMI

#1259 Post by jackieflorida »

Hi playdayz,

Actually when I first found that the native pdf printer was not working in my Lucid 5.0.1 I did a search on http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html using +pdf +lucid as a search criterion and I found a number of already existing posts on this problem.

In my Lucid 5.0.1 I had installed FOXIT via QuickPet prior to my finding the pdf printing problem. It is this exact installation where I found the native pdf printer not working. It shows a printing progress bar but neither shows nor asks for a destination. I looked in the usual default destinations (root, documents) but to no avail.

I then rectified this problem as I have posted above. BTW, I cleaned up my CUPS Printer presentation by deleting the native non-working pdf printer.

The pdf ppd file is one that I had extracted, uploaded and posted some time ago from Puppy 4.1.2 where it was the native pdf ppd file. I originally posted on this when I rectified for the non-existing native pdf printer in 4.2.1. This ppd has been downloaded from my site many times since then.

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#1260 Post by playdayz »

Thanks jackieflorida

So I understand, it is in printing from Foxit that there is the problem? And then installing your ppd allows printing from Foxit? Did you use the Foxit in Quickpet or did you install your own (I have no reason to think the Foxit in Quickpet is any better--I didn't change anything).

Have you tried printing to pdf from abiword at all? Thanks.

btw, that seems like a good site to share files--no ads no hype. Is it free?

We will be announcing luci-205 in a few days which will be the start fo the public testing for Lucid Puppy 5.10, if you would like to test and make sure the pdf printing is right before the release. Thanks again.

Post Reply