Lucid Puppy 5.1- A Full-Featured Compact Distro

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
abushcrafter
Posts: 1418
Joined: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 16:57
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Doh! moment on customization

#261 Post by abushcrafter »

seaside wrote:Here's a script that I put together to test md5sums.

I use it on a right-click -file - open with -menu. Paste the md5sum in the box and it makes the comparison.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh -a

checksum() { 
	echo "$MDSUM  $1" >/tmp/mdsumtmp
	[ "`md5sum -c /tmp/mdsumtmp`" ]  && yaf-splash -font "12x24" -outline 0 -bg green -bd green -text "Checksum OK -- click on message when finished" || yaf-splash -font "12x24" -outline 0 -bg orange -bd orange -text "Checksum BAD! -- click on message when finished"
 }
 
GUI=$(cat <<EOV|sed "s/#.*//" # enable interpolation and comments
<window title="Check Md5sum">
<frame>
			<hbox>
      			<text>
        			<label>Md5sum digits:</label>
      			</text>
					<entry activates-default="true">
					<default>Paste Md5sum here</default>
					<variable>MDSUM</variable>
					</entry>
				<button can-default="true" has-default="true">
					<input file>"/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/archive24.png"</input>
					<label>Check Sum</label>
					<action>checksum $1</action>
					</button>
				 <button cancel>
				<action type="exit">QUIT</action> 
			</button>
			</hbox>
		</frame>
</window>		
EOV)
CHOICES=`gtkdialog3 -p GUI`
It also could be adapted to run in other ways as well.

Cheers,
s
This is just about what I have wanted for some time.

However please could you add these features:
  1. Quits when Esc is pressed.
  2. When the splash "Checksum BAD!/ok" is shown. I could do with being able to press enter and and the program quits.
Thanks muchly for the work you have done :D.
Last edited by abushcrafter on Thu 17 Jun 2010, 21:57, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#262 Post by 01micko »

abushcrafter wrote:
01micko wrote:I just wonder if we should offer Webkit as a separate download, then browsers like Midori and Arora could be smaller pets. Plus there are a ton of other browser projects out there dependant on webkit.

Thoughts?
Arora uses QTWebKit, so not the same WebKit as Midori.
OK, thanks.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

jwm-492-i18n

#263 Post by shinobar »

i built i18n'ed jwm-492 on Lupu-5.0.1, tested both on Lupu-5.0.1 and Lupu-204.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51847

Jim1911
Posts: 2460
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 20:39
Location: Texas, USA

#264 Post by Jim1911 »

204 is working great. Thanks for the updated numlock.pet. Now I'll have to try DuDE with it.

I did install Mick's great nvidia driver before the ppm update. Nvidia doesn't show up as a choice now that the ppm update has been installed. Is that normal?

Kudos,
Jim :D

User avatar
tubeguy
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sat 29 Aug 2009, 01:04
Location: Park Ridge IL USA
Contact:

#265 Post by tubeguy »

Happy Fun Time with 204 here. I used 01micko's dir2pet script to make a 145meg pet for Open Office. I did it quick-and-dirty, I want to do it again and pay attention to details this time, will post when done. Also got Filezilla 3.3.1 going, and will pet that up as well.
Edit: Just found that there's a Filezilla 3.3.3 pet already. There I go reinventing the wheel...
Attachments
OOon204.jpg
(67.92 KiB) Downloaded 1068 times
Last edited by tubeguy on Fri 18 Jun 2010, 04:23, edited 1 time in total.
[b]Tahr Pup 6 on desktop, Lucid 3HD on lappie[/b]

User avatar
prehistoric
Posts: 1744
Joined: Tue 23 Oct 2007, 17:34

cpu frequency scaling

#266 Post by prehistoric »

playdayz wrote:...Do you happen to recall when it stopped working correctly? I think it is trio's program and I think he is not doing much with Puppy now. Maybe some one will take it over.
It is indeed from trio. I'm looking through older systems to find a change responsible for bugs. At this point, nothing jumps out at me. As I recall, he had difficulty testing on multi-processor machines. It looks like he is launching a copy of his script for each processor.

What I'm guessing, at this point, is that it was working correctly on single-processor machines, or on multi-processor machines booted without smp. It may have worked on some multi-processor machines with smp more or less by accident, then stopped working when a new system changed timings. We can probably get it to work on specific machines just by fiddling with delays. This is not a general solution.

I don't see anything in the code I understand which looks like it is designed to deal with real concurrency. It's working on a netbook which says it has two processors, but this is merely hyperthreading with a single core. There is no physical parallelism.

I've got a considerable learning curve if I'm going to make sense out of what he's done. Younger people will probably get there ahead of me.

Added: I may have been lucky. I just found a difference to the way it works under Stardust13 and Luci204. The start_cpu_freq script in Startup is empty in Luci. When I pasted in this code, inserted by his script under Stardust, it worked.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
modprobe powernow-k8
modprobe cpufreq_ondemand
echo ondemand > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
echo ondemand > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/cpufreq/scaling_governor
echo 1000000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
echo 2600000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq
echo 1000000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
echo 2600000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq
Now, to find out why the script doesn't get written under luci204.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#267 Post by 01micko »

More bones to chew on... well they are the same old bones, freshened up a little..

James and tubeguy..and anyone else having a play with the script, I have altered the debs2pkg script to now have a pause so you can go searching through the newly created directory tree to find the icon you want for the menu entry, and if there is not a suitable one there you can add your own. While you are paused you can edit the dot_desktop file to point to the icon, the way Puppy likes it :wink:

James... I have fixed the browser-default program to find any browser installed, so now arora will show up in the list. What it does is search the .desktop files looking for browsers, even Netsurf shows up now, and Puppy browser doesn't, unless you install it of course.

Jim.. and I'm a good dog now! It's DuDE compliant! But, if you have made changes to your tray the files will overwrite what's there and your tray will be back to the DuDE default plus the browser icon. I haven't tested how well it plays entirely with DuDE if you change tray stuff in PCC, for example the number of desktops, it may be something to check.

Playdayz.. since this app has been a staple from near the start of Lupu-Luci then I gather that the JWM tray file (/root/.jwmrc-tray) has been changed upstream when building from Woof, is that correct? Reason I ask is that the pet attached has the jwm file stored in /tmp and it is transferred to /root by the pinstall.sh script. This is for DuDE compliance, else it breaks the DuDE menus. If not then just replace the script in browser-default-0,8. Jim has to install the DuDE compliant version after installation of DuDE anyway.

Shinobar... I noticed no change using your JWM, which is as it should be for me using my locale :wink: . I did rename the executable back to just "jwm"

Cheers all

EDIT: as a side note shinobar's Realplayer videos play just fine in Seamonkey, not in Chromium
Attachments
browser-default-0.9.pet
(2.33 KiB) Downloaded 305 times
debs2pkg-0.3.tar.gz
(2.06 KiB) Downloaded 293 times
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
tubeguy
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sat 29 Aug 2009, 01:04
Location: Park Ridge IL USA
Contact:

#268 Post by tubeguy »

01micko wrote:James and tubeguy..and anyone else having a play with the script, I have altered the debs2pkg script to now have a pause so you can go searching through the newly created directory tree to find the icon you want for the menu entry, and if there is not a suitable one there you can add your own. While you are paused you can edit the dot_desktop file to point to the icon, the way Puppy likes it :wink:
Sweet!
[b]Tahr Pup 6 on desktop, Lucid 3HD on lappie[/b]

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#269 Post by Lobster »

1n 2.04
Installed the HDradeon with quickpet
it is showing up in the package manager but after a x
restart or even full restart it is not coming up in the
Hardinfo settings - which it did previously
Am I forgetting something?

XaraLX installed nicely from the package manager

8)
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#270 Post by playdayz »

I did install Mick's great nvidia driver before the ppm update. Nvidia doesn't show up as a choice now that the ppm update has been installed. Is that normal?
If it is already installed it won't show up as a choice, but it should show up in the bottom window as installed. But the way I did that update mgiht have confused something.

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#271 Post by playdayz »

Installed the HDradeon with quickpet
it is showing up in the package manager but after a x
restart or even full restart it is not coming up in the
Hardinfo settings - which it did previously
Am I forgetting something?
Radeonhd is Quickpet is not the one that gives hardware acceleration (it is just an alternate to the radeon driver--that gives 16-bit which is the only difference I have seen) For hardware acceleration the one is now the Xorg_Full in PPM.

Got Fotoxx btw. It looks nice.
Last edited by playdayz on Fri 18 Jun 2010, 18:42, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#272 Post by playdayz »

dit: Just found that there's a Filezilla 3.3.3 pet already. There I go reinventing the wheel...
Yes, We need to keep a list somewhere. I guess that would be my job ;-)
How about in the first message of this thread?

Also tubeguy, They say that there is no advantage in splitting up the components of OpenOffice--but I wonder--even a small savings in size might be helpful.

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#273 Post by playdayz »

Please read everyone. It is great to have help making program packages. It is a contribution to a better Lucid Puppy 5.1. Thank you very much.

Please consider this. In making the packages there is a strong preference for using Ubuntu binaries or compiling the program in a version of luci (the testing releases for Lucid Puppy 5.1). The reason for this is that there is a presumption of stability. The Ubuntu binaries are not the same infrastructure as previous or other Puppies. and mix and match would not be a good idea. Only in special cases would we want to use a package that was not made from the Ubuntu binaries or compiled in luci, and that would be only after we tried to build it in those two ways.

I just thought of this additional thing. We should build and test the packages in the latest version of luci. We should be careful *not* to add any libraries, etc., that are already in luci--because when the package would be removed it would take those libraries with it. So if we build and test in luci I think that would take care of itself. Thanks

And also, we should uninstall everything else before building a package, so it is just the base luci-204. If anything else is installed it might provide a dependency that would not always be present.

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#274 Post by James C »

Used the Ubuntu packages and made a pet for XFE file manager.
This Xfe pet includes Xfwrite text editor, Xfimage image viewer,Xfe file manager,Xfview text viewer and Xfpack package manager.

Download link..............2.83 mb Xfe-1.32.1 pet

http://www.datafilehost.com/download-a8eacc95.html

Pet was made from Ubuntu packages in Luci 204 and tested in 204 and Lucid Puppy 501.

Test it ,mirror it and have fun. :)
Attachments
xfe file manager.png
(105.43 KiB) Downloaded 1540 times

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#275 Post by Lobster »

made a pet for XFE file manager
That should be useful - will see if I can delete files from my cameras
SD card which seem ultra protected (a good thing on the whole) 8)
Many thanks. It has no title bar for resizing or dragging?

Tried icewm - reminder that xwin icewm has to be entered
after pressing ctrl+alt + backspace (save open files first)
Can a menu item be entered/included?

Tried Skype
After trying to download from 3 repos - gave up
(yep a typical user response) :oops:

Liked Lucid repo being the only available
download by default in the package manager
Giving access to more does not make them usable
for most users 8)
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#276 Post by James C »

Lobster wrote: It has no title bar for resizing or dragging?
Not that I can find. :)
Had never tried Xfe until I made the pet, perhaps someone more familiar can advise.
Pretty neat though that Xfe has its own text editor, image viewer, text viewer and package manager too.Found a new little app to experiment with. :lol:

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#277 Post by James C »

Luci-204 is working fine on the old P3 test box.Installed my usuall pets with Quickpet (Opera, Pwidgets, etc.) as well as Arora and Xfe and everything is working well.

Installed the Xorg update pet so hardware acceleration works, actually nothing bad to gripe about at all. :)

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#278 Post by 01micko »

ffmpeg-0.6

NOTE Package has been updated, dependencies are included in package for luci-204. If you attempt to use in Puppy 5x you will need extra dependencies.

This is the full enchilada, so I wouldn't expect it in the main iso.. it won't support old machines anyway. It is compiled i686 to enable everything (except ffserver is disabled)

ffplay is enabled, it is the default ffmpeg player, pretty basic.

This supports webm, you can actually convert an mpeg4 or whatever to a webm file! Exciting stuff!

Ok, no more hoo har.. you want it.. right?

Here it is.

ffmpeg http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/ffmpeg- ... -Lucid.pet

checksum: cc8a32a9f3e127ee5961b097e67587bc ffmpeg1-0.6-i686-Lucid.pet

petspecs http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/ffmpeg- ... -0.6.specs



XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
ONLY needed for Puppy 5x, plus this one here

dependencies, packaged as a pet http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/ffmpeg- ... es-0.6.pet

Please use only in Lucid based Puppies

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

_____________________________________________

For devs

http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/ffmpeg- ... -Lucid.pet
http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/ffmpeg- ... -0.6.specs
deps not included but are listed in petspecs, a useful resource..http://packages.ubuntu.com/lucid/libdevel/ but you'll have to find libvpx-dev, it's out there...

_______________________________________________

What do I do with it????

Well, you can convert videos to webm, download videos in webm format and watch them in ffplay. Ok, maybe not so exciting for some, but we now have the technology to ditch
embedded Flash videos on our websites.. and use html5 webm videos instead.. how cool is that?

You can download and watch this video with ffplay

Code: Select all

ffplay video.webm
This is a video I converted from mp4 to webm.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

NOTE: Browser support for Webm is NOT dependant upon this package, you need a capable browser, Chromium-6 is best

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



I figured out how to use the <video> tag in html5, it's the same as <img> tag .. but there's probably more to it than that! :roll:

Here's a test page
http://users.tpg.com.au/01micko//video-test.html

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
  <meta content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1"
 http-equiv="Content-Type">
  <title>video-test</title>
</head>
<body>
this is a test video using html5, right click to play the video, you must use latest Chomium, or Firefox nightly build, or I think Opera-10.60 works<br>
<br>
Does it work for you?<br>
<br>
Report at <a
 href="http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=428349&sid=c10568ca060e03ca9e7134f0cfe1e2e0#428349">Puppy
Forum</a><br>
<br>
<video alt="" title="test video"
 src="http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/webm-test/video.webm"><br>
<br>
<br>
<br>
</body>
</html>
##################################################

Cheers and enjoy 8)
Attachments
screeny.png
screeny of the video playing in the browser, just for the nay sayers!
(80.16 KiB) Downloaded 1900 times
Last edited by 01micko on Sat 19 Jun 2010, 23:38, edited 5 times in total.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#279 Post by Lobster »

Thanks mick
OK further to our conversation
I have uploaded the following code
here
http://tmxxine.com/webm/

If you are in Chrome (nightly webm enabled)
please report if it plays webm
it also uses flash or ogg

if webm is not supported
it will try to download the file rather than play it . . .

:)

Code: Select all

<!-- Lobster modified from Kroc Camen of Camen Design -->
<video width="640" height="360" controls preload="none">
  <source src="big_buck_bunny.mp4"  type="video/mp4"  />
  <source src="big_buck_bunny.webm" type="video/webm" />
  <source src="big_buck_bunny.ogv"  type="video/ogg"  />
	<object width="640" height="384" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="__FLASH__.SWF">
		<param name="movie" value="__FLASH__.SWF" />
		<param name="flashvars" value="image=__POSTER__.JPG&file=big_buck_bunny.mp4" />
		<img src="__VIDEO__.JPG" width="640" height="360" alt="__TITLE__"
		     title="No video playback capabilities, please download the video below" />
	</object>
</video>
<p>	<strong>Download Video:</strong>
	Closed Format:	 <a href="big_buck_bunny.mp4">"MP4"</a>
	Open Format:	 <a href="big_buck_bunny.ogv">"OGG"</a>
	New WebM Format: <a href="big_buck_bunny.webm">"WEBM"</a>
	<br>
	You should see something - perhaps just a picture <br>
	If not supported, webm or other files will attempt <br>
	to download rather than play . . .
</p>
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
tubeguy
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sat 29 Aug 2009, 01:04
Location: Park Ridge IL USA
Contact:

#280 Post by tubeguy »

01micko wrote:tubeguy, do you know how to do this? Might be useful for your site. And the beauty is that if a user doesn't have webm capable kit/software then they can still watch the videos in Flashplayer.
I'm aware of it...thanks for thinking of me, but I'm still trying to figure out how to get the OO pet menus working. :oops:
[b]Tahr Pup 6 on desktop, Lucid 3HD on lappie[/b]

Post Reply