Default Applications Wizard - version 003

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Iguleder
Posts: 2026
Joined: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 09:36
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert
Contact:

Default Applications Wizard - version 003

#1 Post by Iguleder »

Well ... I think Puppy really needs this thing.

It's not ready, but it works. It needs to be more user friendly and less ugly. Currently it is able to determine and set the default applications, but it needs to be designed better.

It's my first gtkdialog project, but I'm an experienced programmer. Using HTML syntax with a PyGTK-like thing is killing me :)

Any suggestions/comments are welcome.

Changelog:
- 31/5: version 001, an ugly version that does whatever it does and works
- 10/6: 002, detection of installed applications, UI fixes
- 10/6: 003, 6 times faster detection, minor fixes, way more efficient

See the replies for newer versions :idea:
Attachments
pdefaultapps.png
(23.94 KiB) Downloaded 2530 times
pdefaultapps-001.pet
(1.24 KiB) Downloaded 862 times
Last edited by Iguleder on Thu 10 Jun 2010, 17:53, edited 3 times in total.
[url=http://dimakrasner.com/]My homepage[/url]
[url=https://github.com/dimkr]My GitHub profile[/url]

User avatar
tasmod
Posts: 1460
Joined: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 13:53
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK
Contact:

#2 Post by tasmod »

Like this?
Attachments
apppic.jpg
(34.98 KiB) Downloaded 2542 times
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso 8)

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#3 Post by sc0ttman »

Damn!! I was gonna post something very similar in a couple of days.. Oh well..
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

User avatar
tasmod
Posts: 1460
Joined: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 13:53
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK
Contact:

#4 Post by tasmod »

This is really a programmers app.

A 'newbie' would have no idea what mozstart was.

You need to construct a translation/lookup table to determine what apps are available in the iso in easy to understand terms.

i.e. mozstart = SeaMonkey or whatever (Firefox maybe)
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso 8)

User avatar
Iguleder
Posts: 2026
Joined: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 09:36
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert
Contact:

#5 Post by Iguleder »

tasmod, thank you very much for your help!

Yes, I think I'm going to make drop-down lists with available applications or something, I'll do that till Saturday.

Should be cool :)
[url=http://dimakrasner.com/]My homepage[/url]
[url=https://github.com/dimkr]My GitHub profile[/url]

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#6 Post by sc0ttman »

I have a quick question.. Does the function 'set program' support adding parameters to the command to be used as the default?

For example, for a mail client, many people will want to use "seamonkey -mail", but I believe the set_program function will not support such inputs..

Code: Select all

if [ "`which $2`" != "" ]; then

  echo "#!/bin/sh" > /usr/local/bin/$1
  echo "exec $2 \"\$@\"" >> /usr/local/bin/$1
This code is very similar to something I am using, but mine does not support adding parameters... :(
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

User avatar
tasmod
Posts: 1460
Joined: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 13:53
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK
Contact:

#7 Post by tasmod »

This has minor changes to achieve the above gui.

Text spacings formatting and centering of gui onscreen.

Note: -c -p mean centre and program respectively.
Attachments
pdefaultapps-001.pet
(1.34 KiB) Downloaded 738 times
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso 8)

User avatar
Iguleder
Posts: 2026
Joined: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 09:36
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert
Contact:

#8 Post by Iguleder »

sc0ttman wrote:I have a quick question.. Does the function 'set program' support adding parameters to the command to be used as the default?
Yes, it does.

Basically, it writes a simple script.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
exec <what you entered> "$@"
[url=http://dimakrasner.com/]My homepage[/url]
[url=https://github.com/dimkr]My GitHub profile[/url]

User avatar
Iguleder
Posts: 2026
Joined: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 09:36
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert
Contact:

#9 Post by Iguleder »

Here's a new version. Now it finds all the applications you have installed and lists them. Something sc0tt's wizard doesn't do (btw, take it and apply it on yours, I like your wizard enough to let you) :)

TODO: make it auto-select the one you are using right now. Piece of cake, I'll do it within a couple of days. :wink:
Attachments
pdefaultapps-002.gz
(1.14 KiB) Downloaded 683 times
defwiz-002.png
(44.47 KiB) Downloaded 2467 times
[url=http://dimakrasner.com/]My homepage[/url]
[url=https://github.com/dimkr]My GitHub profile[/url]

User avatar
Flash
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 13071
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:04
Location: Arizona USA

#10 Post by Flash »

If I install a program (say, from the .pet list,) will it be automatically added to the drop-down list? If not, how can I add it to the list, so I can choose to make it the default application?

User avatar
Iguleder
Posts: 2026
Joined: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 09:36
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert
Contact:

#11 Post by Iguleder »

If the .desktop file has the right syntax and proper category/description, it should be added automatically :)

Working on a more efficient 003, less usage of "cat".
[url=http://dimakrasner.com/]My homepage[/url]
[url=https://github.com/dimkr]My GitHub profile[/url]

User avatar
Iguleder
Posts: 2026
Joined: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 09:36
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert
Contact:

#12 Post by Iguleder »

Here it is.

Improvements:
- Prevents the user from entering invalid programs
- Starts about 6 times faster, does everything at once instead of repeating the procedure 6 times and running "cat" so many times for nothing
- Way more efficient
- Selects the current default application and puts it on the top of the list

EDIT: reuploaded, 2 typos ... as you can see, Geany is an image editor :oops:
Attachments
pdefaultapps-003.gz
(1.47 KiB) Downloaded 807 times
003.png
(40.64 KiB) Downloaded 2357 times
[url=http://dimakrasner.com/]My homepage[/url]
[url=https://github.com/dimkr]My GitHub profile[/url]

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#13 Post by sc0ttman »

Iguleder wrote:Here it is.

Improvements:
- Prevents the user from entering invalid programs
- Starts about 6 times faster, does everything at once instead of repeating the procedure 6 times and running "cat" so many times for nothing
- Way more efficient
- Selects the current default application and puts it on the top of the list

EDIT: reuploaded, 2 typos ... as you can see, Geany is an image editor :oops:
Nice work.. I like the way you automatically search the .desktop files..

But I just installed your tool and it didn't find my firefox or browser-installer .desktop files (not created by myself)
The reason is that they both seem to use the category "WebBrowser", not the normal "Internet" category..
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

User avatar
Iguleder
Posts: 2026
Joined: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 09:36
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert
Contact:

#14 Post by Iguleder »

Yeah, I need to see how things are arranged in different PETs. I did all tests against vanilla 4.3.1 with only GIMP installed, so it's not perfect.

Gotta add all categories ... the underlying structure is ready and working, so it won't be a problem, just some extra conditions.
[url=http://dimakrasner.com/]My homepage[/url]
[url=https://github.com/dimkr]My GitHub profile[/url]

Post Reply