Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 08:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse Pup 5.00 G 185M
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Wed 26 May 2010, 19:48    Post_subject:  

Hi Tui,
Sorry about your trouble! Have you tried using 'puppy pfix=nocopy' at the bootmenu?

I'm discouraged with the results of testing so far, but happy to have so many quick replies. I wonder if I should just pull the 5.00 stuff off until we can sort this out, no decision yet, just thinking out loud here. I just didn't anticipate the difficulties.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Wed 26 May 2010, 20:14    Post_subject:  

Barburo wrote:
I tried every variation of Probe and Choose - Probe goes black screen and choosing a possible driver (Intel or i740) also goes nowhere. XORG force VESA is the only option that works because of the VESA fallback.

I have previously tried lucid puppy 5.01 which I believe uses the same Kernel (not sure about which version of xorg) and got a the correct screen resolution.
Does lucid use an i810 Intel driver?
B.
Hi Barburo,
Thanks for the feedback. Yes, Lucid Puppy has an alternate i810 driver. LHP 5.00A has a newer Xorg from Slackware that has no i810 driver. Looks like we'll have to roll back to an earlier Xorg, not sure yet. I think Lucid 5.01 still has some problems with Intel graphics even with the auto-detect feature disabled. Have you tried it yet?
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
yarddog


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 187
Location: Great Smoky Mountains, TN USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 May 2010, 20:52    Post_subject:  

problem with gnumeric
when select desktop icon and try to format cells, program closes
when run from console, receive following errors

gnumeric:32009): Gtk-WARNING **: GtkSpinButton: setting an adjustment with non-zero page size is deprecated

(gnumeric:32009): libglade-WARNING **: could not find glade file '/usr/share/goffice/0.6.6/glade/go-rotation-sel.glade'

(gnumeric:32009): libglade-WARNING **: could not find glade file '/usr/share/goffice/0.6.6/glade/go-format-sel.glade'

** (gnumeric:32009): CRITICAL **: go_combo_text_set_text: assertion `IS_GO_COMBO_TEXT (ct)' failed

(gnumeric:32009): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_tree_view_get_selection: assertion `GTK_IS_TREE_VIEW (tree_view)' failed

(gnumeric:32009): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_tree_selection_select_path: assertion `GTK_IS_TREE_SELECTION (selection)' failed

(gnumeric:32009): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: invalid (NULL) pointer instance

(gnumeric:32009): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_signal_handler_block: assertion `G_TYPE_CHECK_INSTANCE (instance)' failed

(gnumeric:32009): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_entry_set_text: assertion `GTK_IS_ENTRY (entry)' failed

(gnumeric:32009): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: invalid (NULL) pointer instance

(gnumeric:32009): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_signal_handler_unblock: assertion `G_TYPE_CHECK_INSTANCE (instance)' failed
Segmentation fault
<root> ~
same problem has appeared in dpup 482 and various versions of quirky
fyi
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
omskates


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 257
Location: TriCities, WA

PostPosted: Thu 27 May 2010, 05:14    Post_subject:  

Blackscreen problem here too. IBM Thinkpad X40 w/ intel video requires force Vesa as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Thu 27 May 2010, 12:28    Post_subject:  

Hi TazOC,
When I first booted Lucid 5.01 it's automatic configurator gave me the correct resolution but the screen icons seemed to me to be a little fuzzy. I could have lived with it but I experimented with xorg and when I disabled the Intel driver I got a Vesa driven screen that was better - it worked at 1360x768 and the icons and text were sharper. Not sure how that worked but it is definitely better.
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 27 May 2010, 17:26    Post_subject:  How to configure KMS in LHP 5.00  

@All,
Thank you for the helpful feedback. From research on KMS I've gleaned some ideas for the display problems we've seen.
From https://publictest6.fedoraproject.org/wiki/Xorg/KMS
Quote:
KMS stands for Kernel ModeSetting. That means the kernel is responsible for switching video modes and managing the video outputs (this was previously handled by Xorg).
KMS enabled hardware

Most AMD/Radeons (from R100 to R500 on Fedora 11). Most Intel hardware as well.
Sometimes allowing the kernel to manage the video outputs causes a boot to blank (black) screen. I thought our kernel 2.6.33.2 (from Quirky) had KMS disabled, but I found a kernel module drm_kms_helper in /lib/modules/2.6.33.2/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/ so I suspect it is still active. (If you want to know what kernel modules your display driver might use, that directory is one place to look. Another is Menu | System | Hardinfo | Kernel Modules.) The kernel 2.6.30.5 in LHP 4.43 does not have drm_kms_helper.

So here's how to disable/configure KMS in LHP 5.00: from the LiveCD boot menu enter:
Code:
puppy pfix=ram xforcevesa nomodeset
(If you are booting from GRUB, simply add a space followed by xforcevesa nomodeset to the end of the kernel line.)

If the above doesn't help try:
Code:
puppy pfix=ram xforcevesa nomodeset acpi=off
or
Intel graphics: instead of nomodeset try: i915.modeset=1 or i915.modeset=0
ATI Radeon: radeon.modeset=0
nVidia: nouveau.modeset=0

Tip: If you know which kernel module your display card is using, you can find the available kernel parms by typing modinfo <kernel_module_name> in a terminal. So for nVidia you'd type modinfo nouveau. (The Xorg driver for nVidia is nv but the kernel module is nouveau. For Intel, the i810 driver is now intel and the kernel modules are i810, i830 and i915.)

If any of this is helpful for Lighthouse 5.00, please let me know specifically what works, and I'll place it on the first post and the web site.

[Edit 2010.06.22: Feedback indicates puppy xforcevesa nomodeset usually works for LHP 5.00. LHP 5.00B and later ISOs include this by default.

According to ICPUG, With Intel855 use the kernel parameter i915.modeset=1 and either auto-configure Xorg (option 1 in xorgwizard) or choose option 2 and select the intel driver.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 May 2010, 20:06    Post_subject:  

Hi tazoc,

Your post above solved my black screen problem.

Since I boot from GRUB, I added a space followed by nomodeset to the end of the kernel line per your suggestion. Then it booted normally, however, I had to use the vesa driver which worked OK. After creating a save file and loading mariner, I then selected "nv" which was the only option for nvidia cards. I tried the nvidia-195 pet for Lucid, but it did not work.

So far everything I've tried works except playing wav files. On wav files, I get audio, but no video.(Message: Fatal error - Error opening/initializing the selected video_out (-vo) device.)

Thank you for another fine distribution,
Jim Very Happy

System: BFG NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS 512MB, Asus P6T Motherboard, Intel core i7-920 (8MB Cache, 2.66 GHz), DDR3 3GB 1333MHz ram, Pioneer DVR-2910 DVD+-RW Dual Layer Burner, Realtek ALC1200 Audio, HP Photosmart 5280 All-in-One
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 27 May 2010, 23:13    Post_subject:  

Hi Jim,
Glad to hear that nomodeset helps! Maybe I will put it into the default isolinux.cfg for the next ISO, so it won't be necessary when booting from the LiveCD.
Jim1911 wrote:
So far everything I've tried works except playing wav files. On wav files, I get audio, but no video.(Message: Fatal error - Error opening/initializing the selected video_out (-vo) device.)
I just tried all the wav files in /usr/share/audio and they played without error. Maybe you've got a wmv file? If so, and MPlayer is giving the error, right-click on MPlayer | Preferences | Video and select a different driver. Or right-click on the wmv file and select Gxine.
Hope that helps,
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jasmac


Joined: 03 Jun 2009
Posts: 62
Location: Canberra, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 28 May 2010, 02:17    Post_subject:  

Hi TazOC,

Well I find myself in a situation where I am no longer going to be able to commit any of my time into helping with this great distro you have created. Life is busy, LHP will always be on my USB and will travel with me. Can I just say that since finding LHP and using it as well as contributing where I was able, it has be a pure joy. Best of luck with the development of your new series, I leave you my final desktop for your perusal. Enjoy life and enjoy LHP.

Cheers

Jason
lhpfinal.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  lhpfinal.png 
Filesize  1.43 MB 
Downloaded  846 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Diggs


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri 28 May 2010, 07:38    Post_subject:  

tazoc wrote:

Sorry about your trouble! Have you tried using 'puppy pfix=nocopy' at the bootmenu?-TazOC


It works, but is this supposeed to be the permanent fix? That we need to catch at the boot screen on every boot and manually enter this to avoid kernel panic?

Also, using an Radeon HD3850 graphics card there is no way I can get Xorg to run and must use vesa unfortunately as I would like to use the hardware acceleration of that card. (And, I haven't found how/where the proprietary ATI drivers are installed.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Diggs


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri 28 May 2010, 07:44    Post_subject: Re: Lighthouse Pup 5.00 A 224M k2.6.33.2
Sub_title: Multi-user IceWM JWM GIMP Gslapt MPlayer Wine | Add-ons: Xfce OO FF Opera VirtualBox
 

tazoc wrote:

2010.05.27 If boot ends with a blank (black) screen, type 'puppy pfix=ram nomodeset' at the boot menu and see How to disable KMS


Actually for me it has to be nomodeset xforcevesa for the boot not to end in a black screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 28 May 2010, 08:31    Post_subject:  

Goodness Tazoc - you are really something.

I've yet to try the new version of LHP but when I saw the video problem reports I got kinda depressed. I have integrated intel855 graphics on my laptop which needed the i810 driver in the past - intel driver does not work in all resolutions.

With lupu, i810 didn't work either and I was stuck with the vesa driver. I presumed this was because of the kernel with KMS support as identified by Barry.

Now you have come up with some totally new info to disable KMS and try kernel parameters to get intel to work again.

Even if I find this doesn't work the effort you have made to resolve the issue is more than anyone else. Thank you. Hopefully, I will find something that will work amongst the new info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 May 2010, 10:49    Post_subject:  

tazoc wrote:
I just tried all the wav files in /usr/share/audio and they played without error. Maybe you've got a wmv file? If so, and MPlayer is giving the error, right-click on MPlayer | Preferences | Video and select a different driver. Or right-click on the wmv file and select Gxine.
You are correct, it is an wmv file that I tried. Embarassed , however, trying to set preferences in MPlayer, it freezes on the Subtitles section as shown in the attached photo and will not respond to the mouse or keyboard. Gzine does play the file fine.

Does Mariner include nv plus other nvidia drivers as in your previous distribution? If so, they aren't being offered as choices.

Thanks,
Jim
mplayer.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  mplayer.png 
Filesize  757.64 KB 
Downloaded  705 Time(s) 

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Fri 28 May 2010, 11:06    Post_subject:  

I echo the comments from ICPUG.
i915.modeset=1 worked for me like a charm. My hardware details are:
Quote:
-Computer-
Processor : 2x Genuine Intel(R) CPU U4100 @ 1.30GHz
Memory : 3046MB (258MB used)
Operating System : Lighthouse Pup 5.00 A
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Fri 28 May 2010 08:00:58 AM PDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1366x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI Mobile Intel® GM45 Express Chipset GEM 20100328 2010Q1 x86/MMX/SSE2
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
I first tried i915.modeset=0 to no avail - blackscreen from probe and selecting Intel as the driver failed to get a working test from Xorg.
i915.modeset=1 probe also returned a blackscreen, but selecting Intel as the driver gave me a sharp, properly configured 1360x768 screen. DRI is active and ant-inspect runs at about 43fps.
Strangely all of the subsequent messages whether console or "boxed" now display at the max resolution so appear quite small on the screen, but quite legible and usable so no problem - just something I have not seen before. A consequence of the i915.modeset=1 parameter I guess.
I opted for an ext3 save file (the default) and I see that fsck is giving me an error. The fsck.err file appears in /home with the text: sda6,ext3,/lhp5a/spupsave-5a.3fs
As I reported earlier my wifi interface wlan0 is recognized and easily configurable but I still have problems with making the settings persist - I have to run the wireless wizard every boot.
Other than that I am now filled with zeal and will continue testing for bugs.
Thanks Taz!
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Fri 28 May 2010, 16:41    Post_subject:  

jasmac wrote:
Hi TazOC,

Well I find myself in a situation where I am no longer going to be able to commit any of my time into helping with this great distro you have created. Life is busy, LHP will always be on my USB and will travel with me. Can I just say that since finding LHP and using it as well as contributing where I was able, it has be a pure joy. Best of luck with the development of your new series, I leave you my final desktop for your perusal. Enjoy life and enjoy LHP.

Cheers

Jason
Hi Jason,
You will be missed and I've very much appreciated your contributions. You have a great talent! I understand other commitments come first and wish you all the best. Smile
Take care,
TazOC
Diggs wrote:
It works, but is this supposeed to be the permanent fix? That we need to catch at the boot screen on every boot and manually enter this to avoid kernel panic
Good point! I'm working on some changes to the init script that disable copy to ram unless puppy pfix=copy or c or fc (fsck and copy) is entered at the boot menu. I don't understand why the copy sometimes fails even though I've checked for available memory in the script and tested dozens of configurations in VirtualBox.
Quote:
Also, using an Radeon HD3850 graphics card there is no way I can get Xorg to run and must use vesa unfortunately as I would like to use the hardware acceleration of that card. (And, I haven't found how/where the proprietary ATI drivers are installed.)
I see. This is a long-shot but try radeon.modeset=1 (without xforcevesa and without vga=) and choose radeon in xorgwizard. If that gives a blank screen, please try choosing radeonhd in xorgwizard if you haven't already. If still no go, go back to nomodeset xforcevesa or the least parms that work, use the Video Reporting Tool in the System Menu and attach /tmp/root/report-video-full.gz to a post for me. I don't know if the proprietary Catalyst driver would work or not. It would need to be re-compiled for the new kernel and I haven't had time to try. (That's why you couldn't find it.)

From Googling that card it appears that it is an RV670, a few of which were AGP instead of PCIe. As CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS is not set in the new kernel from Quirky I don't know if there is a way to get acceleration working if the radeon driver doesn't work. But I'd still like to see the report-video-full on this card as there are some other kernel parms for radeon (modinfo radeon in a terminal) we might try.
Thanks,
TazOC
Jim1911 wrote:
trying to set preferences in MPlayer, it freezes on the Subtitles section as shown in the attached photo and will not respond to the mouse or keyboard. Gzine does play the file fine.
Hmm, what happens when you close the Warning message (see taskbar in screenshot)? If you had to Ctrl+Alt+Backspace or reset the machine, try opening MPlayer from the menu and then changing the video driver before opening the wmv.
Quote:
Does Mariner include nv plus other nvidia drivers as in your previous distribution? If so, they aren't being offered as choices.
No, I haven't tried to compile any proprietary drivers yet--it's on my to do list. Instead, try nouveau.modeset=1 on the kernel line. From modinfo nouveau, there are other parms to try, nouveau.agp=0 or nouveau.accel=1 or nouveau.accel=0
Barburo wrote:
I echo the comments from ICPUG.
i915.modeset=1 worked for me like a charm....
...selecting Intel as the driver gave me a sharp, properly configured 1360x768 screen. DRI is active and ant-inspect runs at about 43fps.
Hey Barburo, that's very good news! To me that says that Intel i915 KMS is working--with hardware acceleration. Your 3D-Demo frame rate is even better than my radeon setup (~40fps).
Quote:
I opted for an ext3 save file (the default) and I see that fsck is giving me an error. The fsck.err file appears in /home with the text: sda6,ext3,/lhp5a/spupsave-5a.3fs
That's normal with the new improper shutdown recovery feature from Quirky. The fsck.err tracking file is created at boot up and removed during a normal shutdown. If it is still there at next boot then e2fsck automatically checks both the host part and the pupsave for errors.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1434s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0259s) ][ GZIP on ]