Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 14:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
KDPUP = KDE 3.5.10 + dpup 484 beta 4
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 16 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
kayan


Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 90
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 09:03    Post_subject: greaaat!!!  

@dejan555

Thanks for KDE WITH Puppy....was searching for my favorite desktop ,I am more than happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Tried LHP but had to download and use lots of separate sfs

This KDPup full fills my needs all in one GO Laughing

Except for shut down ,have to do it manually all the things ROCK

THANKS Smile

kayan

_________________
SAHARA laptop intel celeron M 1.4 GHz/ 768Mb Ram /40GB ,SIS 661 chipset,
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 09:35    Post_subject: Re: greaaat!!!  

kayan wrote:
Except for shut down ,have to do it manually

You could drag one of the scripts in usr/bin to the desktop (symlink it):

wmexit
wmpoweroff
wmreboot

or drag shutdown to the desktop, that's the dpup shutdown window.

_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2689
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 09:39    Post_subject:  

Yeah or locate jwmshutdown it's the shutdown dialog used in dpup.
You can even make button on panel to launch it.

BTW post your PC specs kayan Smile
EDIT: OOPS, it's in your signature!

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 11:43    Post_subject: Pwireless2  

I tried to configure my connection with pwireless2, but the device, eth1, wasn't found.
With the network wizard no problem.

I prefer pwireless2 as it reconnects, in case of a lost connection, to the same access point.
With the network wizard, as I have a lot access points arond me, I did find myself connected to another (non-protected) one after a connection loss.

What can be done to get Pwireless2 working?
When started no access points are displayed and there are at least some 25 around me.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2689
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 12:06    Post_subject:  

No idea sorry I don't use wireless maybe look in pwireless dev thread if there's updated version or something?
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 13:27    Post_subject:  

dejan555 wrote:
No idea sorry I don't use wireless maybe look in pwireless dev thread if there's updated version or something?
I thought you wanted to know what goes wrong in your development and eventually correct it.
As I have an alternative, it's up to you to see if you want to look into a possible correction.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2689
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 13:39    Post_subject:  

Yeah read what I said in first post, you can post bugs but this is just a puplet and I will correct if I know enough to do so otherwise you're on your own. I've never used wireless network or pwireless tool and know nothing about how those protocols function. I know that if ipw module was in dpup it's also in kdpup and if connection worked on dpup you should have same connection as tools are same. Is that other network wizard you talk about also in kdpup?

From first post:

Quote:

NOTE: This is just a puplet, it's not official release nor I plan on extending it or maintaining/further developing at the moment.
Nothing crucial in base libs/modules/configuration is changed so if dpup didn't work for you or had some bug this one won't be exception.
You can post bugs if you find them or even better if you have fix for them but don't hope that I can do something about.

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 15:48    Post_subject:  

The other network wizard is just the network wizard which is for a long time in all the puppies. Nothing extravagant. Just standard.
I use that one now.

Not having access to wireless I can understand it's difficult to diagnose, but me having no skills in development I don't know where and how to start.
I can do tests if instructed. I have done that.

As for the iw2100 driver, I know it's in dpup. I used dpup a lot until there was no movement anymore in the project and I still use it on occasions.

So it boils down to the regular network is seeing my internet device as eth1 with the ipw2100 driver whereas pwireless2 don't. That"s all there is.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 15:50    Post_subject: Windows and openoffice.  

I successfully added a wine sfs and a OpenOffice sfs to my kdpup installation.
All is working ok.
Just to inform about this.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
2lss

Joined: 20 Sep 2009
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 18:43    Post_subject:  

dejan555,
Good job! I did a frugal install on my usb stick and gave it a try. I am very impressed with kde (I never used kde much) and how well puppy package manager works with the debian repos. I can't wait to do some customizing!

One problem though, I tried doing a frugal install on my girlfriends Dell xps m140 (which is running puppy 4.3.1 at the moment) but when booting I get:
Code:
kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown block(8,18)

The message comes immediately after booting from grub, before any of the normal startup messages ("loading drivers", "copying to ram", etc)

I'm not sure what the problem is. The sfs, initrd, and vmlinuz are in /kdepup on partition 3. the puppy 4.3.1 files are in / on partition 3. Do you think 4.3.1 is conflicting with kdpup? Here is a section from menu.list
Code:
  title Puppy Linux 4.3
  root (hd0,2)
  kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda4
  initrd /initrd.gz pmedia=idehd

  title KDEPUP
  root (hd0,2)
  kernel /kdepup/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda4
  append initrd=/kdepup/initrd.gz pmedia=idehd


Anyone see anything that would cause a problem? All of the md5sums check out ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 19:06    Post_subject:  

2lss wrote:
dejan555,
Good job! I did a frugal install on my usb stick and gave it a try. I am very impressed with kde (I never used kde much) and how well puppy package manager works with the debian repos. I can't wait to do some customizing!

One problem though, I tried doing a frugal install on my girlfriends Dell xps m140 (which is running puppy 4.3.1 at the moment) but when booting I get:
Code:
kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown block(8,18)

The message comes immediately after booting from grub, before any of the normal startup messages ("loading drivers", "copying to ram", etc)

I'm not sure what the problem is. The sfs, initrd, and vmlinuz are in /kdepup on partition 3. the puppy 4.3.1 files are in / on partition 3. Do you think 4.3.1 is conflicting with kdpup? Here is a section from menu.list
Code:
  title Puppy Linux 4.3
  root (hd0,2)
  kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda4
  initrd /initrd.gz pmedia=idehd

  title KDEPUP
  root (hd0,2)
  kernel /kdepup/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda4
  append initrd=/kdepup/initrd.gz pmedia=idehd


Anyone see anything that would cause a problem? All of the md5sums check out ok.


Grub, (hd0,2) would have to go with /dev/sda3, if that is where the
partition is.

I don't understand having the 2 puppys on the same partition, or why
the KDEPUP syntax is so different than 4.3.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 635
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 19:12    Post_subject:  

Try:
Code:

title KDEPUP
  root (hd0,2)
  kernel /kdepup/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=kdepup
   initrd /kdepup/initrd.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ElderSnake

Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 19:16    Post_subject:  

I can't wait to try this one, I've been wondering if there was a puppy with KDE and what do you know, there's one on the first page of the Puppy Derivatives section Laughing

I like the fact its KDE 3.5 too..I've generally only used 4x lately and while its fairly cool.. lots of bugs and instability from what I've found. I've heard a lot of people prefer the older and faster 3.5 and it still looks pretty nice from what I can tell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
2lss

Joined: 20 Sep 2009
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 19:45    Post_subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:

I don't understand having the 2 puppys on the same partition, or why
the KDEPUP syntax is so different than 4.3.


Yea I did it in a hurry, just copied the dir from my flash drive into the existing partition. I may go back and make a separate partition if things work out.

keef wrote:

Try:
Code:

title KDEPUP
  root (hd0,2)
  kernel /kdepup/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=kdepup
   initrd /kdepup/initrd.gz



That did the trick, thanks.


Now I'm having a new problem, trying to load xorg or xvesa results in a black screen. The laptop has a 915GM/PM/GMS/910GML chipset which works with 4.3.1. I'm not sure if there are missing drivers or something, I will do some searching.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kayan


Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 90
Location: India

PostPosted: Mon 24 May 2010, 11:36    Post_subject:
Sub_title: shutdown solved ;)
 

@tubeguy wrote

You could drag one of the scripts in usr/bin to the desktop (symlink it):

wmexit
wmpoweroff
wmreboot

or drag shutdown to the desktop, that's the dpup shutdown window.


Problem solved Very Happy dragged shutdown to (linked ) to desktop now i get the DPup shutdown Window Thanks again for the help Very Happy

_________________
SAHARA laptop intel celeron M 1.4 GHz/ 768Mb Ram /40GB ,SIS 661 chipset,
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 16 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1055s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0186s) ][ GZIP on ]