Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 20:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Problem Booting v1.0.8 (P133, 32 MB RAM)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
nicom

Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 34
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar 2006, 04:19    Post subject:  Problem Booting v1.0.8 (P133, 32 MB RAM)  

I currently have 1.0.6 working well on my old machine (P133, 32 MB). I am trying to upgrade to 1.0.8r1 and I intend to install it onto another partition of one of my drives. When I try to live boot (with the aid of a floppy) the boot process freezes. I checked the image with md5sum and it was OK. I can also boot successfully with the dsik onto more modern computers but not on my dinosaur.

The boot process successfully gets as far as
Mouning tmpfs... Done

I then get the messages such as
Quote:
__alloc_pages: 0-order alocation failed (gfp=0x1d2/0)
VM: killing process cp
Killed

or
Quote:
__alloc_pages: 0-order alocation failed (gfp=0x1d2/0)
VM:killing process init
Killed


It then freezes or times out for 60 seconds. I assume it's a hardware issue but why is it different to 1.0.6 live boot which still works.

Does anyone have any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jmarsden


Joined: 31 Dec 2005
Posts: 263
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar 2006, 04:31    Post subject:  

Looks a bit like it is running short of RAM? Do you have a swap parttion in place? Is Puppy using it by the time it gives this error message?

If not... maybe your RAM is going bad? Run memtest86+ overnight or something, to rule this out, if you can.

Jonathan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nicom

Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 34
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar 2006, 04:52    Post subject:  

Thanks Jonathan,

From your suggestion I am running memtest at the moment but I doubt I will find anything. As I said I can run version 1.0.6 from either the HD or the CD. The HD version definately has the swap file turned on but with the live 1.0.8 version I don't get far enough into the boot process to turn on the swap partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nicom

Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 34
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar 2006, 19:27    Post subject:  

memtest did not produce any errors.

Does anyone have another suggestion, or do I need to travel down the rocky road of manual HD install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0427s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]