Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 00:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Lucid Puppy 5.0 - Bug Reports and Bug Fixes
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 19 [285 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
wuwei


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 774
Location: de

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 02:17    Post subject:  

I am running Lucid Puppy 5.0 for a few days now and it presents itself flawlessly. Complements for a job very well done!

Yet...there is one little quirk that most users will not experience and that I have reported on previously.

The pppoe connection is not maintained during reboots!

Most people will have a DSL connection and a router. In that case running the network wizard, establishing AutoDHCP and saving the settings is all one needs to do. The connection is auto-established at the next boot. This is what I get at one of my locations.

At the other location I do not have a router, only a DSL modem which needs to be setup with a pppoe connection. That works fine with Roaring Penguin initially.
In other Puppies, notably ttuuxxx's 432v3 (and 214xRC5), all it takes to retain the connection is to symlink /usr/sbin/pppoe-start_shell to /root/Startup. This procedure is not working in Lupu 5 or any earlier version.

I have created a work around and made a file pppoe.sh in /root/Startup with this content:

Code:
sleep 10
pppoe-stop_shell
/action
sleep 5
pppoe-start_shell
/action


Shorter sleep times didn't seem to work. Plus, during the first 15 seconds any other action by the user will disturb this process. This is no big deal but definitely a bug that should be fixed. A newcomer will probably find this behavior unacceptable and discard an otherwise very well created Puppy.

playdayz, if you don't have pppoe it is understandable that you are reluctant to address this issue. Yet for the few who need it, it's a major stumbling block. I am not versed enough but it seems to me that when ttuuxxx did it right, it should be possible to find out the differences between the two versions of Puppy and apply what works in 432v3 to 5.0. Don't you agree?

Just to make you feel better: Quirky 1.1 (of all versions!) has the same problem. Plus...pppoe disconnects after running for some time. I have to do some more testing, before I can say the latter definitely.

Last edited by wuwei on Tue 18 May 2010, 02:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
KusaNoKaito


Joined: 19 Feb 2010
Posts: 99
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 02:36    Post subject:  

I've been trying to boot to Puppy 5.0 CD but after it loads the system into ram I get:

Switchroot: mount failed:, Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

Is there a way I can fix this?

Thanks

_________________
Puppy Packages
My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 04:06    Post subject:  

KusaNoKaito wrote:
I've been trying to boot to Puppy 5.0 CD but after it loads the system into ram I get:

Switchroot: mount failed:, Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

Is there a way I can fix this?

Thanks
If you created the CD in Windows, verify that no file name contains upper case characters. Depending on the burn program used, this happens.
You do have the lupu-500.sfs on the CD.

Did you check if the md5 sum was correct? A bad burn?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
KusaNoKaito


Joined: 19 Feb 2010
Posts: 99
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 06:18    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
KusaNoKaito wrote:
I've been trying to boot to Puppy 5.0 CD but after it loads the system into ram I get:

Switchroot: mount failed:, Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

Is there a way I can fix this?

Thanks
If you created the CD in Windows, verify that no file name contains upper case characters. Depending on the burn program used, this happens.
You do have the lupu-500.sfs on the CD.

Did you check if the md5 sum was correct? A bad burn?


The whole .ISO was burnt to the CD, I used burnISO2cd, as puppy431 is my primary OS.

It seemed to have burned ok, but it seems to work only if I dump the files from the CD into a ext4 partition. (poor mans install)

_________________
Puppy Packages
My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
drbongo

Joined: 11 May 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 09:31    Post subject: No Xorg session  

Hi Guys, I am trying to boot Puppy 5.0 on a Toshiba Satellite A10 which has no hard drive and always works flawlessly with Puppy, including 4.31. The new version boots, but the screen just goes blank and doesn't get any further so I assume the new xorg commands are not detecting the display properly. I tried to start in console mode which worked - but was unable to run xorgwizard and when I typed startx the same blank screen appeared. Any suggestions?

drbongo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 09:36    Post subject: Re: No Xorg session  

drbongo wrote:
Hi Guys, I am trying to boot Puppy 5.0 on a Toshiba Satellite A10 which has no hard drive and always works flawlessly with Puppy, including 4.31. The new version boots, but the screen just goes blank and doesn't get any further so I assume the new xorg commands are not detecting the display properly. I tried to start in console mode which worked - but was unable to run xorgwizard and when I typed startx the same blank screen appeared. Any suggestions?

drbongo


Maybe this will help:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=419083#419083

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 11:07    Post subject:  

KusaNoKaito wrote:
Béèm wrote:
KusaNoKaito wrote:
I've been trying to boot to Puppy 5.0 CD but after it loads the system into ram I get:

Switchroot: mount failed:, Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

Is there a way I can fix this?

Thanks
If you created the CD in Windows, verify that no file name contains upper case characters. Depending on the burn program used, this happens.
You do have the lupu-500.sfs on the CD.

Did you check if the md5 sum was correct? A bad burn?


The whole .ISO was burnt to the CD, I used burnISO2cd, as puppy431 is my primary OS.

It seemed to have burned ok, but it seems to work only if I dump the files from the CD into a ext4 partition. (poor mans install)
Always be as precise as possible. Tell what did work, what didn't work, detail about your system, partitioning, contents of menu.lst.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 17:13    Post subject:  

Finally got this working, had to make a few compromises along the way. Had to use the old xorg wizard to get a UK keyboard working and accept a 'suspect' video driver, though it seems ok. Had some problems during configuration where the whole system would slow to a crawl, especially setting up printing. Talking of which, it was nice to download and install the HP printer stuff via the package manager from the Lucid repo and have it 'just work'. Went for Opera just to be different and am pleased and surprised by the default configuration.Usually Opera takes an age to set up. Tried Dude 03 but got some strange results from mouse actions, so dropped it for now. Open Office seems to play nicely, essential for me, but in puppy terms, this is a pretty big distro. I guess if I remastered without OO (which I have as sfs) it would approach 200 meg. Doesnt seem to slow it down though, and with Opera configured to not use its cache or security database, the save file is holding at a steady value.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1271

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 19:10    Post subject: Lucid 500 on Phenom II quad processor  

Just installed Lucid Puppy 500 on a friend's monster machine, (with too much RAM (8GB?) and an AMD Phenom II quad-core running at 3 GHz, and Nvidia Quadro NVS graphics) without major problems. The bug in setting the timezone appears to be a matter of updating the displayed timezone, and possibly other variables.

When I left he seemed happy using Firefox and the wired connection set up with simple network setup. I had also installed the OO sfs, and checked that it was working. While I was doing this, I found the same USB flash drive bug just noticed on Quirky 1.1.

Quote:
There may be a minor bug in unmounting USB flash drives. I just moved an sfs file (using a flash drive) to a machine running Quirky. After copying it from there to the internal hard drive, I unmounted the flash drive using the right click option on the drive icon. The blinking light on the flash drive never did want to quit, even though nothing was being written to the flash drive and the copy to the internal drive was complete.

As I suspected it was safe to remove the drive, I rebooted the machine, using the shutdown menu, and, sure enough, the light stopped blinking immediately.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 19:20    Post subject: Re: Chromium bug?  

jemimah wrote:
tubeguy wrote:
I got a "security cert revoked" error when accessing gmail this morning, see attachment. Firefox does not show any problem though.


SSL in chrome does not work unless your timezone and system time are correctly set. I'm guessing that's what your problem is.

You were right, timezone was incorrect. Cool

_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9121
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 20:15    Post subject: Re: Lucid 500 on Phenom II quad processor  

prehistoric wrote:
While I was doing this, I found the same USB flash drive bug just noticed on Quirky 1.1

FWIW, I could not duplicate this problem in Quirky. I tried several flash drives and they all copied large files correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 21:58    Post subject: F2 Boot to RAM yields an err  

This is/may have been reported already.

When I boot Puppy 5.0, it seems to be having troubles when I enter cheatcodes. "puppy pfix=ram"

Puppy message indicates it is searching my HDD for a prior Puppy. Then, errors with a message that it could not find lpup-500.sfs and ends by putting the system in Linux console mode.

But, if I do nothing, that is, boot and do NOT go to F2, the system will boot to RAM and I get a desktop as I expected.

Here's my machine configuration, if needed
Code:

-Computer-
Processor      : Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz
Memory      : 969MB (88MB used)
Operating System      : Puppy Linux 0.50
User Name      : root (root)
Date/Time      : Tue 18 May 2010 09:19:34 PM EDT
-Display-
Resolution      : 1280x1024 pixels
OpenGL Renderer      : Unknown
X11 Vendor      : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter      : ICH - SiS SI7012
Audio Adapter      : USB-Audio - C-Media USB Headphone Set 
-Input Devices-
 MosArt Optical Mouse
   USB Keyboard
   USB Keyboard
 C-Media USB Headphone Set
 Power Button
 Sleep Button
 Power Button
 PC Speaker
-Printers (CUPS)-
CUPS-PDF      : <i>Default</i>
CUPS-PDF@192.168.0.203
CUPS-PDF@192.168.0.209
-SCSI Disks-
ATA WDC WD400EB-00CP
ATA FUJITSU MPF3102A
SAMSUNG CD-R/RW SW-252F


Hope this helps in some small way....

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Minomushi

Joined: 05 May 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 23:27    Post subject: Re: F2 Boot to RAM yields an err  

Hello, gcmartin

Quote:
When I boot Puppy 5.0, it seems to be having troubles when I enter cheatcodes. "puppy pfix=ram"
...

Do when you add "pmedia=scsihd" Question
Therefore, for instance "puppy pfix=ram pmedia=scsihd".

Please teach me the manufacturer and the model name of your PC to make sure.

Puppy Linux Japanese Edition
PC operation results page

Last edited by Minomushi on Wed 19 May 2010, 00:12; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Minomushi

Joined: 05 May 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 23:39    Post subject:  

Hello, KusaNoKaito

Quote:
I've been trying to boot to Puppy 5.0 CD but after it loads the system into ram I get:

Switchroot: mount failed:, Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

The manufacturer and the model name of your PC Question
And, does the connection destination of CD-ROM drive Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ariel


Joined: 03 Jul 2009
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Wed 19 May 2010, 06:01    Post subject: keyboard problems  

I've tried to run in ram lupu on a different laptop 128Mb ram / 500Mhz and I've got a different response than before.

-xorg applied the correct driver in the first boot but was unable to write in xorg.conf the keyboard layout

I think most of the complaints about this issue may be worked around by manually editing /etc/X11/xorg.conf with something like this:

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
Option "XkbLayout" "YOURLOCALE" #xkeymap0
EndSection


meaning by YOURLOCALE us, gb, fr, it or whatever

and then restart X:
menu>shutdown>restart X server


if you try to change the locale keyboard from

setup>configure puppy for your country>chose keyboard layout for your country

without having previously modified xorg.conf the computer hangs, or the screen gets split into a half and you must restart X


-I've found out that JWM configuration that you find in the Desktop menu does weird things when you try to change the background.
try to change to a different wallpaper than the one being used and click apply. then chose another wallpaper and continue clicking on apply or stretched/centre/tile/scale. you will see the wallpaper change on each click.

-the screen is affected by a steady flicker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 19 [285 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1328s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0268s) ][ GZIP on ]