Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 01:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Lucid Puppy 5.0 - Bug Reports and Bug Fixes
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 12:30    Post_subject:  Lucid Puppy 5.0 - Bug Reports and Bug Fixes
Sub_title: Report a bug here or Fix a bug for someone else
 

This is the official Bug Reports and Bug Fixes thread for Lucid Puppy 5.0.

Please report a bug with as much detail as possible, and if you can fix a bug for someone else, then more power to you and thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 13:16    Post_subject: Wireless not connecting at start up  

I used the Network wizard and configured my wireless usb connection but after rebooting it is not connecting by default, I have to go to the Internet connection wizard again.

I could solve this problem in other puppy versions by installing Pwirelss2 beta

It is a nice addition to any puppy

Just my point of view ofcourse
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1882
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 14:07    Post_subject:  

2 bugs:
- It looks for some file in /etc, something with "mouse" when X is starting. It doesn't appear in logs or something so I can't paste the message.
- The first boot wizard doesn't refresh its display when choosing a time zone.

Besides that, it looks good, but I'd like to see GPicview as the default image viewer and epdfview in quickpet in future versions Very Happy

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
mave

Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 130
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 15:20    Post_subject:  kernel panic on Notebook with VIA C7-M processor  

got a kernel panic on one of my notebooks, uups. Look at the screen shot.

Any ideas?
2010-05-15 21.03.10.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  2010-05-15 21.03.10.jpg 
Filesize  1.03 MB 
Downloaded  1240 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 17:28    Post_subject:  

mave,

Perhaps try one of the alternate boot parameters, it looks like it is not agreeing with your hardware.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 17:47    Post_subject:  

Black screen crash on 700m, Intel 855gme graphics, just before
xsetup.

Gxine crashes almost instantly on the Dimension pc.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 17:47    Post_subject:  

Sadly, hopeless. Mousepointer barely moves, totally unable to install UK keyboard. Keyboard not working at all in Abiword. At that point gave up. Guess its my hardware, but its just a bog standard three year old Acer laptop Sad
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 18:11    Post_subject: Thinkpad R40, 1e run  

Boot with pfix=ram
After selecting the correct locale, when the desktop came back, the selected and changed locale isn't shown
Same for timezone.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 18:14    Post_subject: R40 lucid 500 rc3, desktop drive icons size 0GB  

After 1e boot, desktop drive icons indicate size.
After setting locale in 1e run, and when the desktop is back, desktop drive icon size is 0GB

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Fishy

Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 18:26    Post_subject: Connection Lost on reboot  

Fresh frugal install went perfectly. Connection wizard got me on-line but will not regain connection on reboot. Worked in earlier Lucid.

Sound issue - not an audio person. Full window on volume control, only PCM slider control will increase the volume. Volume icon has no bearing on output.

Amazing production, congratulations to all involved in development and testing!! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 18:37    Post_subject: R40 lucid 500 rc3 internet connection setup  

Internet connection setup with SNS
Setup not persistent between boots.
However /etc/simple_network_setup/connections contains the correct data.
Apparently not read at boot.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 657
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 19:27    Post_subject: Lucid Puppy Update  

I was pretty sure there would be few or no bugfixes for 5.0 yet, but I wanted to see what would happen if I clicked "Lucid Puppy Update" in Quickpet. All that happened was I got a little "Please Wait" indicator at the top of the screen. Nothing seemed to be happening. After a few minutes I clicked the indicator, and it closed. That's it. Um . . . how does this compare with what was supposed to be happening? To me, it looks like a bug, creeps like a bug, and stinks like a bug. Rolling Eyes
_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds

Visit Pa Penguin's Icebox: http://www.pa-mcclamrock.com/icebox.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5708
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 19:37    Post_subject: Re: Lucid Puppy Update  

pa_mcclamrock wrote:
I was pretty sure there would be few or no bugfixes for 5.0 yet, but I wanted to see what would happen if I clicked "Lucid Puppy Update" in Quickpet. All that happened was I got a little "Please Wait" indicator at the top of the screen. Nothing seemed to be happening. After a few minutes I clicked the indicator, and it closed. That's it. Um . . . how does this compare with what was supposed to be happening? To me, it looks like a bug, creeps like a bug, and stinks like a bug. Rolling Eyes


I just ran "Lucid Puppy Update" and the result is in the screenshot....no problem here.HTH.
lucid-update.png
 Description   
 Filesize   172.85 KB
 Viewed   8148 Time(s)

lucid-update.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 19:57    Post_subject: Re: Lucid Puppy Update  

James C wrote:
pa_mcclamrock wrote:
I was pretty sure there would be few or no bugfixes for 5.0 yet, but I wanted to see what would happen if I clicked "Lucid Puppy Update" in Quickpet. All that happened was I got a little "Please Wait" indicator at the top of the screen. Nothing seemed to be happening. After a few minutes I clicked the indicator, and it closed. That's it. Um . . . how does this compare with what was supposed to be happening? To me, it looks like a bug, creeps like a bug, and stinks like a bug. Rolling Eyes


I just ran "Lucid Puppy Update" and the result is in the screenshot....no problem here.HTH.
Same as James C
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
richwa4sxz

Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Location: Fort Walton Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 19:58    Post_subject: Xorg problem
Sub_title: video problem
 

I have set up Lucid Puppy but found the Xorg drivers will no longer run the Intel Mobile 945GM chipset without problems with screen updating, freezes, tearing (screen break up). The Xvesa driver works ok. Running Toshiba laptop with 2 gig ram. Ubuntu Lucid and Quirky 1.0 both work fine with Xorg.
I was able to install (frugal) to both SDA8 and to SDB1 (1 gig USB flash) without any problems other that above video issue. Sure wish I had APT-GET available though.
Looks good for a .0 release. Thanks for all the hard work.

Rich
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0835s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]