Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 10:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppeee 4.3X
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 129 of 176 [2633 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 127, 128, 129, 130, 131, ..., 174, 175, 176 Next
Author Message
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 14 May 2010, 07:06    Post subject:  

using portable opera10.54 i have to paste to geany then to terminal, straight from opera to terminal fails ,
the shutdown problems of 431 are still evident in puppee rc1 . halts at white rectangles on black screen. hard-off required.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1255

PostPosted: Fri 14 May 2010, 09:54    Post subject: Re: 1001P how many cores?  

jemimah wrote:
...All Atom processors have this - it's called hyperthreading. That's why the kernel needs SMP support.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyper-threading
This leaves the question of the difference in reported clock speeds, but, no, please don't tell me. I not sure I could take it in my debilitated state.

I knew Hyperthreading(Tm) was a new name for multiple register sets, but didn't realize it showed up as a phantom processor. I suppose we must all resign ourselves to such coming techno-linguistic attractions as hype-or-ventilation, (cooling being a big issue.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
songzi

Joined: 22 Jan 2010
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri 14 May 2010, 10:10    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
using portable opera10.54 i have to paste to geany then to terminal, straight from opera to terminal fails ,
the shutdown problems of 431 are still evident in puppee rc1 . halts at white rectangles on black screen. hard-off required.


I had the same shutdown problem with RC1, too (my machine is EEEPC 900, the puppeee rc1 is on a 4GB SD card). When rebooting and prompted to choose xorg or vesa, I chose vesa, instead of xorg. This time the shutdown returned to normal.

_________________
Puppy Linux | Arch | antiX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 14 May 2010, 10:58    Post subject: Re: Installation in Desktop PC
Subject description: Compatiable
 

rameshiyer wrote:
Madam

Is it possible to install Puppeee 4.3 in Desktop PC having IntelQ6600 CPU (quad core), Q35 Intel chipset Motherboard.


Probably not - it has drivers for the EeePC only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 14 May 2010, 11:03    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
using portable opera10.54 i have to paste to geany then to terminal, straight from opera to terminal fails ,
the shutdown problems of 431 are still evident in puppee rc1 . halts at white rectangles on black screen. hard-off required.


Tell me more about the shutdown problem. Every time? Often? Once in a while? Can you reproduce it consistently?

There is a problem with the Intel driver (and what version of the intel driver does not have problems?). I can't upgrade it without breaking MESA. If you don't care about 3D, Patriot has posted a couple newer Intel packages that you can test.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 14 May 2010, 14:44    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:

Tell me more about the shutdown problem. Every time? Often? Once in a while? Can you reproduce it consistently?
.

covered extensively b4 in the after release of 430/431
lets say often and can be reproduce fairly consistently when converting the original pupsave to the image below. do all the changes at once and you will have to do them all at next reboot because the pupsave will fail to save.
so did them 1 at a time with a click of save to be sure,
other than that they still come seemingly randomly .
note the no fans in pwidgets and the battery widget (over puppee logo) also fails.
peeer.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   23.79 KB
 Viewed   1081 Time(s)

peeer.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 14 May 2010, 16:23    Post subject:  

after disconnect from wireless networks is chosen by right click on the connect icon, reboot is necessary before wifi connection can be reestablished.
previously had a wifi down button which worked effectively at going down and was just a simple ordinary reconnect to connect again.

Code:
#!/bin/bash
ifconfig wlan0 down

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 14 May 2010, 18:50    Post subject:  

ok aarf,

Try this patch for fan in the Temp widget (attached)

jemimah

I haven't been around this thread much lately, busy busy with lupu stuff, but I have to say that this is great!

I'll see if I can knock over the battery bug in pwidgets too.

Cheers
pwidgets-fan-patch-1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pwidgets-fan-patch-1.pet 
Filesize  1.17 KB 
Downloaded  402 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 14 May 2010, 20:14    Post subject:  

pwidgets-fan-patch-1.pet: even on reboot, no noticeable change. i was reluctant to post this bug when i know how busy you are on lucid.
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 14 May 2010, 20:17    Post subject:  

pwidgets battery patch... I can only test on the eee701SD with Celeron kernel, so I need feedback to see if it works on other celerons and atoms.

There is a possible conflict with vattery, though I haven't seen it...it was there before I patched.. we'll see I guess.

Cheers

woops, no attachment!
pwidgets-bat-patch-1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pwidgets-bat-patch-1.pet 
Filesize  1.65 KB 
Downloaded  407 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Fri 14 May 2010, 20:22; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 14 May 2010, 20:21    Post subject:  

aarf

try this

remove the temp widget and replace with any other widget. Apply. Now remove your temporary widget and put back in the Temp_cpu widget... (same procedure for battery). No need for a reboot.

It may work because Pwidgets keeps the same file until the widget is actually removed.

Cheers
widgets-ok.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   45.05 KB
 Viewed   1090 Time(s)

widgets-ok.jpg


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 14 May 2010, 20:40    Post subject:  

The Skype sfs I posted in the Additional pets and stuff|Internet forum works out of the box on Puppeee Cool Very Happy

Running great.. no problems so far.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 00:50    Post subject:  

Thanks Micko, you saved me the trouble of figuring out how you fixed it in boxpuppeee.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 03:43    Post subject:  

Thanks micko. Fans started displaying after the battery pet instalation also, and now both fans and battery widgets are operational
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1255

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 09:55    Post subject: Catch 22 for RC 1 installation from Windoze, and suggestion  

While attempting to spread wisdom to the unenlightened last night, I ran into a feature which will cause problems for people who want to install and try Puppeee from Windows 7. (This was with W7 starter.)

It is convenient to download a single package, but W7 doesn't know what to do with *.tar.gz archives. Except that it offers links to a selection of commercial products -- generally in the $30 range -- which will allow one to get past this point so you can run that batch file to install from W7 to an SD card.

I had no problem making an end run on this roadblock by booting Puppy and unpacking. However, someone with a new netbook, and little experience, will conclude they have to spend money simply to find out if they want to use Puppeee. For Windoze victims without Puppy or open source experience, I think there should be a self-extracting *.exe archive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 129 of 176 [2633 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 127, 128, 129, 130, 131, ..., 174, 175, 176 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1134s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0390s) ][ GZIP on ]