Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 31 Aug 2014, 02:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.0.1 - 24 May 2010
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 44 of 87 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5722
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 05 May 2010, 23:57    Post_subject:  

Concerning the drive icons, mine were misaligned after initally using xorgwizard to get my desired resolution on my frugal install.I didn't bother to realign them, merely rebooted and they were then correct and have stayed correct through numerous reboots and restarts of X.

Moved 3 regular icons to make room for Pwidgets and they've stayed correct as well.

Burning a cd as I post and will test graphics on some other equipment in a few. Smile
2010-05-05_02-00-18-thumb.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   31.2 KB
 Viewed   1136 Time(s)

2010-05-05_02-00-18-thumb.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5722
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 01:05    Post_subject:  

Running live on a box with S3 graphics Prosavage.....correct resolution on boot and drive icons were correct.Exited to prompt and ran xorgwizard.....all drive icons still correct.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3426
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 01:26    Post_subject:  

Is it possible to [easily?] update Lupu [say 114 to 115], whilst retaining the lupusave file [on a Flash Drive]?

Up to now, I've been doing afresh with each new release:
Re-installing all my preferred packages, and making configuration tweaks.

It takes a lot of [duplicate] work each time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5722
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 01:44    Post_subject:  

Now running live (pfix=ram) on a box with Intel 82865G graphics.Correct resolution of 1440X900 on initial boot and no problem the drive icons. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3364
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 01:46    Post_subject:  

I wanted to let you know that the Nvidia factory package I initially used when I had problems was wrong. I had used the one I had for my Puppy 431 install.
But lo and behold, the Nvidia site showed a different package for my video card.
I tried it in quirky and it worked and stayed on reboot.
So If you want to install a Nvidia factory package, make sure you have the right one!
The one I used for my Nvidia GeForce 6150SE graphics card that worked was : NVIDIA-Linux-x86-195.36.24.pkg1.run.
It did error on a "depmod -aq" command. But I was able to continue on to finish and before restarting xwin, I typed "depmod -a" followed by typing "modprobe nvidia".
Just thought I would pass that along.

Also, for making PDF files, If one is printing from web content, use print to CUPSPDF. If you are creating a local PDF file with abiword, just use "print to file".
But a word of caution goes with it. Watch the size of the inserted picture!
I inserted a picture and did not resize it and when I went to view the created PDF file, I was prompted for a password.
After going back and reducing the dimensions of the picture, and writing to file again, I was no longer asked for a password.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 01:48    Post_subject:  

@playdayz

A new beta version of Chromium has just been announced that has its own version of flash built-in. It is now supposed to be the fastest browser of them all. Its start-up is virtually instantaneous as well. It's a relatively big download though at 22MB. May not matter too much since it would not be included in the ISO anyway.

As you know this is an open source developer version that eventually ends up as Google Chrome.

see here:

http://googlechromereleases.blogspot.com/2010/05/beta-channel-update.html

I had to install missing libraries from Debian Unstable and from my Seamonkey install to get it to run in Quirky. Probably the same for Lupu I would think. Five or six libraries are missing if I remember correctly.

So any pet would need to include these.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 01:54    Post_subject:  

Maybe.. just maybe the "filthy fix" isn't so bad, James C has a good report.

Now, I have seen when changing screen res in xorgwizard in any Puppy that drive icons go up tthe scrren if you increase the resolution and have unpredictable behaviour if you go down in resolution

Maybe we need to add that flag to call clean_drive_icons to that excon script that Pa uploaded, like so...
Code:
#!/bin/sh
echo "ICONWIPE" > /tmp/pup_event_icon_change_flag
#do this code block if X is running...
mv -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.prev 2>/dev/null
   [ -e /usr/bin/Xvesa ] && ln -sf Xvesa /usr/bin/X
   NEXTWM="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
   echo -n "$NEXTWM" > /etc/windowmanager #this makes change permanent.
   echo -n "$NEXTWM" > /tmp/wmexitmode.txt
   sync
   exec killall X


See at the top I have set the flag, now this does make some sense, the icons must be redrawn once the xorg.conf has been changed.

Thoughts?

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 759
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 02:30    Post_subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Opera Puzzle. But then someone noticed that youtube or hulu would not play in Opera--and the reason was that Opera would not recognize the Flashplayer that was installed in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins (as it should).

BTW, I was really hoping that Opera 10.50 would be official before Lucid Pup was released, so we could include it--in my experience it is noticeably faster than 10.10. .


Maybe Opera looks for flash in /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin. Create this directory if it does not exist and place a symlink within it to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so .

I have been testing Opera 10.53 beta but it is still not rendering fonts as well as Opera 10.10 and there are a number of bugs. My advice: stick with Opera 10.10.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 03:42    Post_subject: Strange tmp directory after boot  

I wanted to inspect the boot log files and went to /tmp.
In the picture the red line indicates the time I booted.
The snapshot of /tmp was taken some 5 minutes after boot.
So the weird thing is that I have quite some files with a date and time from the previous day of which the bootsysinit.log and bootkernel.log

How can that be possible?
As far as I understand, /tmp is emptied on shutdown.

Also there are files which have a time which is some 1:40 hour later than the boot time. Weird also.

I did the exercise for Quirky 018 and the files in /tmp start at the time of boot. But I also have that jump in time with respect to the boot time as indicated by the red line.
tmp-after-boot-quirky018.png
 Description   Red line indicates the jump in time with respect to boot time. The screen shot is taken not more then 5 minutes after boot.
 Filesize   174.3 KB
 Viewed   1038 Time(s)

tmp-after-boot-quirky018.png

tmp-after-boot.png
 Description   Red line indicates boot time.
 Filesize   172.98 KB
 Viewed   1041 Time(s)

tmp-after-boot.png


_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 05:24    Post_subject:  



The above s a Geany thing - we had it before and it cleared up
Can not remember how it was solved.

Tests

Initial setup as expected - fine
When running the Lucid update I was disconcerted by the
wait button (we Puppys think that a 5 second wait is a crash)
it was fine - and I seem to remember you had to put in some pause
deliberately

*Volume control icon is present

yeah baby!
and I did not have to set my sound card - Lucid recognized it

*Graphics setup is complete--automatic with gui tools to personalize

Yes!

*Drive Icon fix is implemented

I only have two partitions - put in USB hd - which appeared as I would expect

* Youtube/Flash videos play full-screen smoothly

Smooth!

* Xogwizard does not crash when run from the menu

you mean xorgwizard?
No xog
no crash - fine

* Quickpet 1.4 is introduced.

eh . . . I have 1.5
am I ahead of time?

Thanks guys looking forward to 116

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 05:55    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:

eh . . . I have 1.5
am I ahead of time?

Thanks guys looking forward to 116


Er.. as always! Laughing (And behind Wink )

Now this fix works! And it is not so filthy but logical. (Same as I posted a few posts ago)
Code:
#!/bin/sh
echo "ICONWIPE" > /tmp/pup_event_icon_change_flag
#do this code block if X is running...
mv -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.prev 2>/dev/null
   [ -e /usr/bin/Xvesa ] && ln -sf Xvesa /usr/bin/X
   NEXTWM="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
   echo -n "$NEXTWM" > /etc/windowmanager #this makes change permanent.
   echo -n "$NEXTWM" > /tmp/wmexitmode.txt
   sync
   exec killall X


Note the first call, the echo to /tmp, that is the important change.

I just tested with my old P3, which incidentally boots just fine to a desktop but it seems a bit narrow compared to a normal first run, and at 1024x768.. I wanted 1200x1024, which the card and monitor support just fine.

Without the fix I run Xorgwizard from the button in the first-run window and I choose my larger resolution and my drive icons are about one third of the screen above the bottom, this has been an age old problem of puppy with changing screen res, not a Lucid Puppy Bug! But it has been brought to the forefront in Lupu, a great thing for Puppy in general.

With the fix my icons redraw perfectly at the new resolution. Smile Smile Very Happy .

For those of us that don't mind playing with code, please test. The file to edit is /sbin/excon, Of course you must have the icon problem/screen problem such that you need to run the xorgwizard.

1) Boot pfix=ram
2)Choose locale and time zone if you want but don't restart X and don't close the first run wizard.
3)locate /sbin/excon and right click>open as text
4)at Line 2, right under the shebang (/bin/sh) add echo "ICONWIPE" > /tmp/pup_event_icon_change_flag
5)Save it, Close Geany
6)now click the exit to prompt icon button in the first run.
7)X will die and keyboard choice will come up, choose yours, then probe or whatever you need to do in xorgwizard and after that is finished your desktop will come up with nicely redrawn icons.
8)report your success!

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 06:20    Post_subject:  

guys just ran the top command because the connection icons are on green but nothing running -
that I know of
So gonna restart x to clear it
. . . might be of interest

Code:
Mem: 552012K used, 1522700K free, 0K shrd, 55488K buff, 405368K cached
CPU:   2% usr   1% sys   0% nic  96% idle   0% io   0% irq   0% sirq
Load average: 0.00 0.00 0.00 1/82 9917
  PID  PPID USER     STAT   VSZ %MEM CPU %CPU COMMAND
26748 26747 root     S <   296m  15%   0   1% X :0 -br -nolisten tcp
10593 10592 root     S    11512   1%   0   0% ffmpeg -i http://lounge-high.rautemusik.fm -ss 0 -f au -
 9842 26852 root     S    20168   1%   0   0% geany
28726 28674 root     S N   4836   0%   0   0% xlock -inwindow -mode ball
26749 26747 root     S     7828   0%   0   0% jwm
26785 26749 root     S     2480   0%   0   0% /bin/ash /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d
 8656  8536 root     R     2380   0%   0   0% top
28674 28659 root     S    21748   1%   0   0% gtkdialog3 --program MAINDIALOG
26852     1 root     S    20000   1%   0   0% /usr/local/apps/ROX-Filer/ROX-Filer -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
27073     1 root     S    17540   1%   0   0% retrovol -hide -bg #4D525B
 7988     1 root     S    15836   1%   0   0% blinky -bg #4D525B
10915     1 haldaemo S    13152   1%   0   0% /usr/sbin/hald --daemon=yes
10852     1 root     S     6672   0%   0   0% /usr/sbin/cupsd -C /etc/cups/cupsd.conf
 8535 26852 root     S     5508   0%   0   0% /usr/bin/urxvt
 7984     1 root     S     4460   0%   0   0% xload -nolabel -bg gray45 -fg red -hl white
 7986     1 root     S     4316   0%   0   0% freememapplet
10592     1 root     S     3496   0%   0   0% /bin/sh /root/.pmusic/tmp/exec
10916 10915 root     S     3452   0%   0   0% hald-runner
 8536  8535 root     S     3232   0%   0   0% bash
27299     1 root     S     3200   0%   0   0% dbus-launch --autolaunch 86b18f270cd1e5ee14e7fd614be13b4e --binary-syntax --close-stderr
28659 26852 root     S     3084   0%   0   0% /bin/sh /usr/local/apps/Xlock/AppRun -configure
10462     1 root     S     3080   0%   0   0% /bin/sh /usr/bin/xwin
26747 10462 root     S     2984   0%   0   0% /usr/bin/xinit /root/.xinitrc -- -br -nolisten tcp
 6119     1 root     S <   2660   0%   0   0% /bin/sh /sbin/pup_event_backend_modprobe_protect --daemon
10899  6119 root     S <   2660   0%   0   0% /bin/sh /sbin/pup_event_backend_modprobe_protect --daemon
10900 10899 root     S <   2660   0%   0   0% /bin/sh /sbin/pup_event_backend_modprobe_protect --daemon
10864     1 messageb S     2156   0%   0   0% /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --system
27300     1 root     S     2156   0%   0   0% /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --fork --print-pid 5 --print-address 7 --session
10463     1 root     S     2100   0%   0   0% /sbin/getty 38400 tty2
10467     1 root     S     2100   0%   0   0% /sbin/getty 38400 tty3
    1     0 root     S     2096   0%   0   0% /bin/busybox init
10718     1 root     S     2096   0%   0   0% syslogd -m 0
10720     1 root     S     2096   0%   0   0% klogd
23529     1 root     S     1864   0%   0   0% dhcpcd -d -I  eth0
 6986  7986 root     S     1804   0%   0   0% /usr/bin/inotifywait -e modify --format %w /tmp/pup_event_sizefreem
 6124     1 root     S <   1764   0%   0   0% /sbin/udevd --daemon
 9917 26785 root     S     1696   0%   0   0% sleep 2
  213     2 root     SW       0   0%   0   0% [aufsd/1]
  212     2 root     SW       0   0%   0   0% [aufsd/0]
    6     2 root     SW       0   0%   0   0% [ksoftirqd/1]
    5     2 root     SW       0   0%   0   0% [migration/1]
    3     2 root     SW       0   0%   0   0% [migration/0]
    4     2 root     SW       0   0%   0   0% [ksoftirqd/0]
    7     2 root     SW       0   0%   0   0% [events/0]
    8     2 root     SW       0   0%   0   0% [events/1]
  710     2 root     SW<      0   0%   0   0% [loop0]

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 06:39    Post_subject:  

Hi Lobster

Nothing too bad I can see in there, your cpu is 96% idle .. a bit of memory being used by X :0 -br -nolisten tcp..

here's my coressponding line..(on my old P3, 256MB RAM, 400MB swap)
Code:
7329  7320 root     S <  66300  26%   0   2% X :0 -br -nolisten tcp


Any slowdowns? System misbehaving?

Cheers

Edit: Siily me... what internet radio program are you running Lobster? It is certainly running.

Quote:
10593 10592 root S 11512 1% 0 0% ffmpeg -i http://lounge-high.rautemusik.fm -ss 0 -f au -

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 07:33    Post_subject:  

It was an online one - so I think we are talking about flash or Firefox memory leakage? Yet again?

one of the ambient stations on this page
http://www.listenlive.eu/chillout.html

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 07:58    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
It was an online one - so I think we are talking about flash or Firefox memory leakage? Yet again?

one of the ambient stations on this page
http://www.listenlive.eu/chillout.html


Phew! It is not likely a flash bug, using ffmpeg, certainly probable a Firefox bug, highly unlikely a Lupu bug, but possibly an ffmpeg bug.. did any of that make any sense???

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 44 of 87 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1378s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0223s) ][ GZIP on ]