Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 19:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 113 Bugs, Fixes, and Poll
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 5 [64 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next

Which describes your experience with Lucid Puppy graphics?
I am using the automatic desktop
66%
 66%  [ 14 ]
I am using the desktop created by xorgwizard
33%
 33%  [ 7 ]
I can't get a usable desktop
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 21

Author Message
ecube


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Posts: 88
Location: Västerås, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu 29 Apr 2010, 15:04    Post subject:  

pa_mcclamrock wrote:

What puzzles me is why this and other bugs that don't exist in Puppy 4.3.1, such as drive icon misalignment, are now popping up in the Lucid Puppy pre-releases. Why not just re-use the identical code from 4.3.1 that makes these things work right?

You can realign the icons manually. I assume that only some event controlled activations are missing.

Smile
ecube
lupu113.jpg
 Description   Event Manager
 Filesize   50.64 KB
 Viewed   1035 Time(s)

lupu113.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 29 Apr 2010, 16:36    Post subject: Drive icons.  

I had the drive icons overlapping and even worse at a subsequent boot.
I had to use the redraw function to get the icons properly aligned.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 29 Apr 2010, 16:38    Post subject: Simpel Network Setup  

I reported already earlier.
I have a long list of routers. Normally I drag the list with ALT and left mouse button, but this doesn't work.
I have the same drag problem when I display a pdf file.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 29 Apr 2010, 16:51    Post subject: Printen to cups-pdf  

Altho all seems ok, no pdf file is created.
I tried when printing from my e-mail (wine) application and from a text file in geany.

However when printing from text in geany I get the opton print to file which works, not in my e-mail (wine) client.

EDIT
This solves the problem.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 657
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Thu 29 Apr 2010, 17:09    Post subject:  

ecube wrote:
You can realign the icons manually. I assume that only some event controlled activations are missing.


Correct. To me, a staunch Puppy user for years now, realigning the icons manually is a minor inconvenience. To at least some newer users, I think, it would be a sign that the Puppy developers might not know how to get things done right. But of course it won't really, since the problem will be solved before the final release of Puppy 5! Very Happy

_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds

Visit Pa Penguin's Icebox: http://www.pa-mcclamrock.com/icebox.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
moonguard12

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 29 Apr 2010, 22:05    Post subject: eeepc acpi scripts  

I'm using Lucid Puppy 113. I chose it because it has screen panning and the newer kernel. I thought the EEEpc ACPI scripts were integrated into this kernel, but the hotkeys are not working. I tried installing the deb from http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/pool/main/e/eeepc-acpi-scripts/eeepc-acpi-scripts_1.1.10_all.deb. and rebooted, but still no luck.

I know tempestuous created a patched kernel for these scripts, but I think it is for .25, not .33.

Also, only the Lucid Main remains selected after OK in the package manager. Multiverse and Universe do not remain selected.

Cheers to your hard work.[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 30 Apr 2010, 02:16    Post subject: Desktop drive icons information  

I think I reported it before.
Either here or in a quirky feedback thread.
When going with the mouse cursor over the drive icons on the desktop, normally the file system and size is displayed in a pop-up.

Not in Lucid (nor in quirky). Only the file system is displayed, not the size.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 30 Apr 2010, 02:26    Post subject:  

Béèm

It works for me, did you set your locale yet? Pmount crashes if you don't, maybe that is related?

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 30 Apr 2010, 02:26    Post subject: Time off by 2 hours  

Alltho I did set the timezone to my zone Europe/Brussels the clock is 2 hours ahead.
I went into desktop|set timezone.
I saw the correct timezone Europe/Brussels was displayed, so all I did was push ok and the clock jumped the two hours back to the correct time.

Rebooting this morning I saw the clock was again 2 hours ahead.
I did the same manipulation again resulting to have the clock jump back 2 hours to the correct time.

Kinda annoying.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 30 Apr 2010, 02:41    Post subject: non US keyboard selection.  

Kinda annoying for those having a non-US keyboard.

Now that boot is done to the desktop to eventually do some more setup there is this annoying thing that for selecting the keyboard, when one pushes the button to do so the X command prompt is displayed and xorgwizard has to be typed.

Well try to do this on a non-US keyboard. A real pleasure and puzzle.

So I prefer that at least the keyboard can be selected during the first boot as it was before.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 657
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Fri 30 Apr 2010, 04:38    Post subject: Re: non US keyboard selection.  

Béèm wrote:
I prefer that at least the keyboard can be selected during the first boot as it was before.


I agree, although I've got a US keyboard. The idea of booting directly to the desktop is to make things easier for users. If it turns out to make things harder for a considerable number of users instead, it should be dropped because it's a step in the wrong direction, not the right direction. It appears that booting directly to the desktop does make things harder for a considerable number of users, like those with non-US keyboards and those who don't want or can't use the screen resolution they initially get (about 35%, according to the poll right now).

_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds

Visit Pa Penguin's Icebox: http://www.pa-mcclamrock.com/icebox.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 30 Apr 2010, 06:46    Post subject:  

Ok guys and gals...

I got the swatter out and eliminated one of those nasties..

The dreaded timezone bug Rolling Eyes

It was all but a simple symlink, (which took me an age to find Evil or Very Mad )

Try the attached dot pet and report results please. Pfix=ram is best, but it doesn't matter if you still have the bug in a saved configuration, try it anyway.

Cheers

pet removed.. it was silly

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Fri 30 Apr 2010, 17:49; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 30 Apr 2010, 08:22    Post subject: Desktop drive icons information  

01micko wrote:
Béèm

It works for me, did you set your locale yet? Pmount crashes if you don't, maybe that is related?

Cheers
Hi Micko,
My locale is set as always to nl_BE@euro :Dutch, Belgium.
It started as well in quirky as in Lucid some versions back.
Found back the comments in quirky 10
Pmount works without crash.

Bernard
Lucid-113-drive-icons.png
 Description   
 Filesize   31.58 KB
 Viewed   805 Time(s)

Lucid-113-drive-icons.png


_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tasgarth

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 202
Location: France, Besancon

PostPosted: Fri 30 Apr 2010, 08:24    Post subject:  

01micko wrote :
Quote:
The dreaded timezone bug Rolling Eyes
It was all but a simple symlink, (which took me an age to find Evil or Very Mad )


It's OK and after a reboot it's OK

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 30 Apr 2010, 08:35    Post subject:  

boot to desktop and keyboard issues.
my thoughts: still boot to desktop but enable keyboard to be set in the initial start-up wizard similar to how time zone is set now.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 [64 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0929s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0178s) ][ GZIP on ]