Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 08:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.0.1 - 24 May 2010
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 24 of 87 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 07:45    Post_subject:  

That does help stu90, it looks like the variable is not finding it's value, for some weird reason ... and for some users only...

Ok, will see if I can fix it

Thank you Smile

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
scruffy

Joined: 09 Apr 2010
Posts: 42
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 07:48    Post_subject: Lucid 111
Sub_title: Testing
 

Hi playdayz , I've just tried a Lucid Puppy 111 Frugal Install and I'm impressed!

The installation process worked fine and Locale/Timezone options were easy to set.
Running glxgears worked and everything looks fine except the display was skewed slightly to the right (by about 5mm).

Opera also looks good (and very fast) and flash is now working with it.Also you2pup is
now working.

So far I haven't found anything anything that doesn't work as it should but I just found a few cosmetic issues.

1. Abiword
The menu icon is missing. When I try help from Abiword it doesn't work.
Running from a terminal gives this:
# abiword

** (abiword:22779): WARNING **: Operation not supported

2. Quickpet .
The desktop Quickpet icon is missing. In Lucid 009 the icon could be found here -
user/local/lib/x11/pixmaps/qp-icon.png,but it seems to have disappeared.
Also a small typo in Quickpet -> updates option (refferred should be referred ). To me Quickpet is a big success and I guess a lot of people will be using it.

3.Foxit
When I start Foxit from the menu I get the following message.
Cannot open the file!
The file cannot be found or opened, the file name may be incorrect.
Please verify and try again.
Foxit still works fine though.

4.Drive icons were misaligned on bootup but I followed the advice given earlier
and this cured the problem - thanks James C.

In summary I think all the developers' hard work has paid off. Thanks for the testing
advice given earlier. For example I would never have known to run a program from the
terminal.I need all the help I can get. Smile





AMD Athlon 512MB 1100MHz
Soundcard C-media CMI8738
Graphics Nvidia geforce 4 MX440
Netgear wired DSL
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 07:55    Post_subject:  

Major problem!! No matter what I do, setting uk keyboard still gets me US keyboard.

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 09:32    Post_subject:  

More on keyboard.

setup > change mouse and keyboard > choose k/b layout for country > uk >ok

message says " information is saved in etc/keymap". It is (ie file contains UK), but restarting X or rebooting still leaves me with a US k/b.

How do I get a UK keyboard?

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 10:25    Post_subject:  

@gerry

Try doing this:

Press CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE
Then run xorg-setup from the command line. and choose your normal resolution. This will then create a real /etc/X11/xorg.conf automatically.

Then select your UK keyboard from one of the keyboard configuration routines available from the normal Puppy setup system whose icon is located on the desktop. Experiment and see which one works for you.

Then restart X by typing xwin at the command prompt. If that doesn't do the trick, then try it the other way round. Select the UK keyboard layout from the routine first and then run xorg-setup.

This is only a work-around until a resolution is found for this xorg problem.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 10:50    Post_subject:  

Next.....I need to use Pnethood to connect to the printer and to a share folder on the XP machine. I run Pnethood, and it finds the XP machine, but not the shares. Put in XP username and p/wd, then refresh. It then reports "no servers found".

So I can't print. (Check: I booted good old 431, and that still works.)

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 11:03    Post_subject:  

Lupu011 fresh frugal install. Cups printing with HP Laserjet 1020 now works. I installed Ghostscript, didnt even test it before. Print test page prints empty page only but from apps printing works.

Keyboard settings give me headache also. I created xorg.conf and I added Xkb rows just in case because they were missing.
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
Option "XkbLayout" "fi" #xkeymap0
EndSection


I have now finnish keyboard in X but if I go to console by quitting X, I have us keyboard. And I have finnish keyboard selected in keyboard layout also (many times Smile ) so something is not quite right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 11:11    Post_subject:  

@ darwinevolevd
Quote:
This version simply doesn't boot.


Does it boot to a prompt? Can you run 'xorg-setup' at the prompt?

Does the auto config of X work for anyone? It worked on all 5 of my test computers with openchrome, nv, radeon, savage, drivers. On monitor need me to run xrandr from the gui

I already see a list of changes for 112: ghostscript, cups, keyboard setup. As tronkel said, the keyboard setup gui does not work unless an xorg.conf has been created by running 'xorg-setup'. I will incdlude instructions to that effect.

The Permanent/Session dialog when changing resolutions with xrandr is Barry's. You should Make It Permanent and I will add instructions to that effect.

Even with a good list of things to do for 112 I am discouraged.f I thought 111 was pretty good--with a three way opportunity to get X correct--and X setting up automatically on about 90%. That is why I ask, did X setup automatically for anyone?

I think I might work all day incorporating the changes into 112 just to see if the dang thing is worth pursuing. Thanks.

On the bright side, pemasu is printing again!

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 11:20    Post_subject:  

@Tronkel- thanks, uk k/bd in use now.

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scruffy

Joined: 09 Apr 2010
Posts: 42
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 11:50    Post_subject:  

Hi playdayz,
just thought I should let you know, menu option Setup -> Xorg Video Wizard
doesn't seem to work.

@gerry
Glad you got your Keyboard working properly. Just for your interest I got UK keyboard by putting this at the top of xorg.conf
Code:

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier      "Generic Keyboard"
        Driver          "kbd"
        Option          "CoreKeyboard"
        Option          "XkbRules"      "xorg"
        Option          "XkbModel"      "pc105"
        Option          "XkbLayout"     "gb"
EndSection

then ctrl-alt-backspace
and xwin to restart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 12:03    Post_subject:  

still lupu009 (hint Confused )
Code:
# quickpackage 
/usr/sbin/quickpackage: line 234:  9041 Terminated              gtkdialog3 -p quickpack
# grep: /tmp/docheck: No such file or directory
[1]+  Done                    yaf-splash -font "-misc-dejavu sans-bold-r-normal--16-0-0-0-p-0-iso10646-1" -placement top -outline 0 -timeout 4 -bg lightblue -text "Please wait for your $THEPET download.
   You will then be asked to confirm installation"

timeout message comes.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 12:09    Post_subject:  

OK, I have some ideas. Please look for 112 late tonight US CST.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2117
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 12:25    Post_subject: Lucid Puppy 111 - Alpha Beta - 04/19 Ubuntu + Woof 04/16
Sub_title: devx
 

I installed the lupu devx file and when I tried compiling some apps they would usually fail to compile and give error messages. Htop would compile okay,weechat wouldn't and cmus wouldn't.
I thought I'd start fresh and rebooted the live cd and then used trio's sfs installer to install the wary 019 devx and now all three apps compile and work.

Is this legal? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 12:27    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I thought 111 was pretty good


Worked for me Radeonhd and the gears test worked

The choose keyboard locales is a bit long on the screen
for some res
otherwise OK Smile

Lucid Puppy update worked OK for me too
(everyone else reported it as OK last time)

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 12:29    Post_subject:  

Lupu-111 fails to print. Although, the correct driver is installed, it will not print to my HP5280 Photosmart or to a CUPS-PDF. Since the correct driver has been loaded I have not been checking the printing on previous versions.

One other problem, DuDE-0.2 works great on lupu except for ptray which gives an error message.
Code:
# ptray
(process:2482): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
   Using the fallback 'C' locale.
** ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 225, near token 'string': syntax error
aborting...
I mention this because it worked fine in version 006 and earlier, apparently something has been changed in Gtk.
The auto config of X works great on this system: BFG NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS 512MB, Asus P6T Motherboard, Intel core i7-920 (8MB Cache, 2.66 GHz), DDR3 3GB 1333MHz ram, Pioneer DVR-2910 DVD+-RW Dual Layer Burner, Realtek ALC1200 Audio, HP Photosmart 5280 All-in-One

Cheers,
Jim

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 24 of 87 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1071s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0184s) ][ GZIP on ]