Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 16 Jun 2019, 13:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to configure scanner in Canon Pixma MP250? (SOLVED)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Rattlehead


Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 367

PostPosted: Sat 17 Apr 2010, 16:33    Post subject:  

Sit Heel Speak,

After installing your new front-end I get this Xsane message:

Error - Failed to open device `v4l:/dev/video`: Invalid argument.

And the only option available is "close" Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rattlehead


Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 367

PostPosted: Sat 17 Apr 2010, 16:40    Post subject:  

Npierce,

after updating libraries (thank you for the neat explanation, why isn't that kind of things in the wiki?), I get:

-From pixmapscan -LL: the same error of ever (list of models and "device not found").

-From scangearmp:
Quote:
error while loading shared libraries: libcncpmsui.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


More libraries missing? Shocked

Thanks all you guys this forum is great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sat 17 Apr 2010, 17:41    Post subject:  

Rattlehead wrote:
Error - Failed to open device `v4l:/dev/video`: Invalid argument...and the only option available is "close" Rolling Eyes

Heh...the v4l drivers were the only ones in that whole set which I was unsure of, whether they should be included or not. I included them only because "v4l" brought to mind "video for linux" and, though I have no idea how v4l might interface with a scanner, I guessed that it might be useful.

The Puppy I am running has a node "video" inside /dev, it is actually a symlink to video0. Open /dev and see if you have the video symlink to video0. If not, create it in an rxvt terminal window:
Code:
ln -s /dev/video0 /dev/video
and see if my frontend still gives the error message. If success, then if you are running a frugal install you *might* have to append the ln -s line to the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.local to recreate it upon every boot (--note: I'm not sure how Puppy's layering system in a frugal install handles nodes in /dev, i.e. are they created fresh from scratch at every boot, or are they persistent across boots?).

Anyway, make the symlink if it isn't there and try again.

Also,
Quote:
error while loading shared libraries: libcncpmsui.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Oops. My package contains libcncpmsui.so.1.4.0 but I neglected to create the usual symlinks.

Install my .pet again and then issue
Code:
ln -s /usr/lib/libcncpmsui.so.1.4.0 /usr/lib/libcncpmsui.so.1
ln -s /usr/lib/libcncpmsui.so.1.4.0 /usr/lib/libcncpmsui.so
and try scangearmp again.

Also, what output does it give you from pixmascan -LL?

Are you running any sort of video for linux software/hardware?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rattlehead


Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 367

PostPosted: Mon 19 Apr 2010, 16:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
Open /dev and see if you have the video symlink to video0.

Yes, I have that link. No need to create it. (My installation is Puppy 4.3.1. frugal indeed, btw)


Quote:
Install my .pet again and then issue
Code:
ln -s /usr/lib/libcncpmsui.so.1.4.0 /usr/lib/libcncpmsui.so.1
ln -s /usr/lib/libcncpmsui.so.1.4.0 /usr/lib/libcncpmsui.so
and try scangearmp again.


The second link already exists (not the first one). The front end repeats the "Failed to open device `v41:/dev/video0': Invalid argument" message

scangearmp output:

Quote:

scangearmp: error while loading shared libraries: libgimpconfig-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


(but I have installed gimp, as explained above)

pixmascan -LL output:

Quote:

Supported scanner(s):
Name VID:PID IF DPI
Canon PIXMA MP150 04a9:1709 0 1200x2400
Canon PIXMA MP170 04a9:170a 0 1200x2400
Canon PIXMA MP450 04a9:170b 0 1200x2400
Canon PIXMA MP500 04a9:170c 0 1200x2400
Canon PIXMA MP530 04a9:1712 0 1200x2400
Canon PIXMA MP800 04a9:170d 0 2400x4800
Canon PIXMA MP800R 04a9:170e 0 2400x4800
Canon PIXMA MP830 04a9:1713 0 2400x4800
Canon PIXMA MP160 04a9:1714 0 600x1200
Canon PIXMA MP180 04a9:1715 0 1200x2400
Canon PIXMA MP460 04a9:1716 0 1200x2400
Canon PIXMA MP510 04a9:1717 0 1200x2400
Canon PIXMA MP600 04a9:1718 0 2400x4800
Canon PIXMA MP600R 04a9:1719 0 2400x4800
Canon PIXMA MP140 04a9:172b 0 600x1200
Canon PIXMA MP810 04a9:171a 0 4800x9600
Canon PIXMA MP960 04a9:171b 0 4800x9600
Canon PIXMA MP210 04a9:1721 0 600x1200
Canon PIXMA MP220 04a9:1722 0 1200x2400
Canon PIXMA MP470 04a9:1723 0 2400x4800
Canon PIXMA MP520 04a9:1724 0 2400x4800
Canon PIXMA MP610 04a9:1725 0 4800x9600
Canon PIXMA MX700 04a9:1729 0 2400x4800
Canon PIXMA MX300 04a9:1727 0 600x1200
Canon PIXMA MX310 04a9:1728 0 1200x2400
Canon PIXMA MX700 04a9:1729 0 2400x4800
Canon PIXMA MP970 04a9:1726 0 4800x9600 experimental
Canon PIXMA MP750 04a9:1706 0 2400x4800
Canon PIXMA MP760 04a9:1708 0 2400x4800
Canon PIXMA MP780 04a9:1707 0 2400x4800
Canon SmartBase MP360 04a9:263c 1 1200x1200
Canon SmartBase MP370 04a9:263d 1 1200x1200
Canon SmartBase MP390 04a9:263e 1 1200x1200
Canon MultiPASS MP700 04a9:2630 1 1200x1200
Canon MultiPASS MP710 04a9:264d 1 1200x1200
Canon MultiPASS MP730 04a9:262f 1 1200x1200
Canon MultiPASS MP740 04a9:264c 1 1200x1200

No supported scanner found!
#


Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Tue 20 Apr 2010, 02:37    Post subject:  

I'm transferring everything over to another machine, so it will be a few days before I can look at this again...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Tue 20 Apr 2010, 16:58    Post subject:  

Rattlehead wrote:
scangearmp output:

Quote:

scangearmp: error while loading shared libraries: libgimpconfig-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


(but I have installed gimp, as explained above)


Okay, so it should be there, unless something has overwritten the link since you installed Gimp, or something else went wrong. Last week when it couldn't find libgimp-2.0.so.0, you found it with pfind. It might now be worth trying that for libgimpconfig-2.0.so.0 to see if both the link and the file it points to really exist.

(Assuming that you installed the 2.6.3 version (gimp-2.6.3-i486.pet), I would expect it to be in /usr/local/lib along with libgimp-2.0.so.0 and, since you ran ldconfig, I would think it could find it. But since it can't, a little hunting might give us a clue.)

I wonder what else it can't find. If you execute the following command, do you get a long list?
Code:
ldd /usr/local/bin/scangearmp | grep "not found"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rattlehead


Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 367

PostPosted: Tue 20 Apr 2010, 18:25    Post subject:  

Er... I ran ldconfig again and the error disappeared Embarassed At some point, after installing so many different programs, I got back to a previous, clean pupsave, and then, in further experiments, I maybe skipped that step.

Now scangear opens, the computer communicates with the scanner, victory is close but not yet:

I press "preview" or "scan" (not exact names because my Scangear is in Spanish), and both show the same result:

-Message telling "wait, the scanner is warming up"

-Progress bar with a % that never starts and

-The scanner makes some noises that look quite ugly to me, and then the program freezes.

I remember that some documentation (but I don't remember if it was in this particular program or other) warned that there was a risk of damaging the scanner because the program did not calculate the limit to stop the scanner or something like that. Maybe those noises are normal (I don't have a reference because I just bought the scanner, never used it before), but they sound quite ugly to me and, obviously, I want to ask before making more tests... Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Tue 20 Apr 2010, 20:16    Post subject:  

Okay, sounds like some progress.

Unfortunately, I know next to nothing about SANE (except that whoever came up with the name, "Scanner Access Now Easy", must have had a strange sense of humor). So perhaps you might want to wait for Sit Heel Speak, or someone else who is familiar with this stuff before proceeding. I couldn't tell you if the sounds your scanner was making are worrisome or not.

That said, I am wondering if the old pupsave that you are using was from before the time that you installed the scangearmp-mp250series package from Canon. That package has a bunch of stuff like /usr/lib/bjlib/CNC250.DAT, /usr/lib/bjlib/CNC250P.DAT, and updated libraries which I am guessing might be needed by scangearmp to support your model. I'm not sure if that is a good guess or not, but it seems like a possibility.

But, of course, you should get an answer about the noise from someone who knows about such things before proceeding.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6754
Location: hobart

PostPosted: Wed 21 Apr 2010, 20:13    Post subject:  

Rattlehead,

I should have read the docs first! See here, where it says:

Quote:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Only GIMP can start ScanGear. No other application can start ScanGear.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Place the document face-down on the platen glass.

2. Select [Create] -> [ScanGear MP...] from the [File] menu in GIMP.


So, as the File>Create function doesn't exist in gimp-2.4, then you do need to install gimp-2.6.

Also, mentioned by SHS, I neglected to add the scangearmp common libs, so I've re-uploaded a .pet with them.
gimp01.png
 Description   
 Filesize   15.71 KB
 Viewed   2049 Time(s)

gimp01.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rattlehead


Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 367

PostPosted: Thu 22 Apr 2010, 21:14    Post subject:  

Pretty strange...
I do have Gimp 2.6. (2.6.3. to be precise).
I do have scangearmp-mp250 (without the "series" at the end of the name after the updating of the .pet-is it relevant?)

BUT my Gimp does not have that create -> scangearmp option.

I've tried uninstalling scangear and gimp and then reinstalling. No luck, the option does not appear... how can it be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Fri 23 Apr 2010, 08:57    Post subject:  

Rattlehead wrote:
I do have scangearmp-mp250 (without the "series" at the end of the name after the updating of the .pet-is it relevant?)

I was thinking of the scangearmp-mp250series package that you got from Canon in item 2 of the list of things you tried from your original post. But since you've installed the latest scangearmp-mp250-1.40-1.pet from muggins, which presumably has all of the stuff from the canon package, you should have the files I was wondering about.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rattlehead


Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 367

PostPosted: Tue 27 Apr 2010, 03:19    Post subject:  

Any more suggestions, anybody? I'm starting to see a dual boot with XP in the horizon and God knows I don't want that!!! Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Tue 27 Apr 2010, 20:59    Post subject:  

Hi Rattlehead,

Three items:

1.

Have you found an answer to your concern about the ugly noises the scanner made when it tried to scan? Naturally you are reluctant to try scangear again if you think there is a possibility that it might damage your hardware. Perhaps if you could describe the noise in more detail, someone who has a recent Canon scanner/printer combo will read this and jump in to say if it does or does not make similar noises.

My scanner is a flatbed, not a combo, an HP, not a Canon, and designed in the twentieth century, not the twenty-first. So it is likely a much different animal, and probably doesn't moo, bark, or screech the same as yours. (That said, "screech" is what mine does -- fairly high-pitched but not overly loud.)

Being a brand new machine, have you double-checked to see if you might have missed any packing material that might be interfering with the scan head and causing the "ugly" noises?

Rattlehead wrote:
I remember that some documentation (but I don't remember if it was in this particular program or other) warned that there was a risk of damaging the scanner because the program did not calculate the limit to stop the scanner or something like that. Maybe those noises are normal . . .

If this continues to be a concern, it would be good if you could find that documentation again to see what software this referred to. I wouldn't think that scangear would do this, since it is distributed by Canon themselves. But it would be nice to know for sure.

2.

When it tried to scan, could you tell if the light came on? Was there any paper movement? Did it do anything interesting other than make noises?

3.

Quote:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Only GIMP can start ScanGear. No other application can start ScanGear.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just to be clear, that was from the page titled, "Scanning from an Application".
When Canon says "No other application", I don't think they were talking about bash. In fact, you will notice that the very next page in the manual is titled "Scanning from a Terminal Software".

I'm not familiar with the GIMP-scangear interface, or why it doesn't show up in the GIMP menu. Perhaps GIMP doesn't list it unless it detects the scanner when GIMP is started. Perhaps not. To minimize the number of things that can go wrong, I would suggest leaving GIMP out of the picture for now, and just try scangear from the command line. (Later, when you get the scanner going, you can troubleshoot the GIMP issue, if it still is a problem.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rattlehead


Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 367

PostPosted: Wed 28 Apr 2010, 05:37    Post subject:  

Thanx, Npierce, great points all of them. I was so focused on the missing Gimp option that I did not even remember any more that Scangearmp can be started on its own.

I'm leaving the town for a few days, and thus I'll be far from the scanner; I'll post here when I'm back and after trying all your suggestions. Thanx again. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6754
Location: hobart

PostPosted: Sat 01 May 2010, 20:22    Post subject:  

To have scangearmp appear in the Gimp menu, I just needed to symlink the scangearmp executable to the gimp plugins directory:

Code:
ln -s /usr/bin/scangearmp /usr/local/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0610s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0137s) ][ GZIP on ]