Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 06:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Puppy Upgrade Question
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
nicom

Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 34
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 07 Mar 2006, 22:27    Post_subject:  Puppy Upgrade Question  

I have a question about updating Puppy which Iím sure will show my ignorance of how the system boots.

I currently have 1.0.6 HD installed on an old P133 machine and it works really well. The disk is partitioned so that the main puppy files are on their own small partition and other partitions provide the working area. I plan to upgrade to 1.0.8 and was wondering if I could open the iso file with isobuster and then copy the vmlinuz, image.gz , usr_cram.fs to the appropriate locations (after first backing up the old files). Would GRUB then recognise these new files and boot the new version as though nothing has happened and keep all my settings?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 07 Mar 2006, 23:11    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Would GRUB then recognise these new files and boot the new version as though nothing has happened and keep all my settings?

yes

you don't need isobuster, you can do it from Puppy ... type something like this in an rxvt window:

mount -o loop /tmp/puppy.iso /mnt/data

and you should see the files in /mnt/data ... use the correct name and path to the Puppy iso file, of course

you can copy the files while Puppy is running ... when you are finished, you should unmount the iso file by typing:

umount /mnt/data

that's umount, not unmount
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0420s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]