Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 10:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
How to connect XBOX 360 to internet via Puppy? [Solved]
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
top_score

Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu 15 Apr 2010, 10:45    Post subject:  How to connect XBOX 360 to internet via Puppy? [Solved]  

Puppy 4.3.1

Internet connection:
Wireless dongle using pupdial:
ppp0
device interface: /dev/ttyUSB0

XBOX to PC: eth0

I've been trying unsuccessfully to get my XBOX online. I've read a few posts about getting Puppy to share internet connections with other pc's but i have failed with the XBOX, any help getting me online would be appreciated.

Due to my efforts I've probably screwed up my firewall and other settings so will need help resetting them also. Don't think I've messed them up too bad as I am still online with my PC.

Thanks,

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10958
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 15 Apr 2010, 15:31    Post subject:  

Well, which is it? Is your problem solved or not?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
top_score

Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu 15 Apr 2010, 15:51    Post subject:  

Hmm, don't know how but the original title has been changed.

It was originally asking "Help need connecting XBOX ......."

I managed to sort it out myself eventually, so I added the "[SOLVED]" at the end to save anybody wasting anytime in replying to the thread with help.

So yes, it is solved thanks.

I am presently trying to "undo" everything I did to make it possible so the XBOX won't connect anymore then edit my thread again to give step by step instruction on how I achieved it, as using the forum search function revealed nothing XBOX 360 specific.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10958
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 15 Apr 2010, 23:43    Post subject:  

top_score wrote:
Hmm, don't know how but the original title has been changed.

I did that, so people could get a better idea of what the post was about without having to load the thread. You're welcome to change it if you can think of a better title. Just try to make it reflect the contents of your post.

Quote:
... I am presently trying to "undo" everything I did to make it possible so the XBOX won't connect anymore then edit my thread again to give step by step instruction on how I achieved it, as using the forum search function revealed nothing XBOX 360 specific.

Please do, and put it in the How-to section. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nkossuth8

Joined: 15 Feb 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 15 Feb 2011, 17:42    Post subject:  

Hi, did you ever figure out how you did it? I'm having the same problem now, I can't connect my Xbox 360 to the internet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
uabassguy

Joined: 19 Jan 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jan 2012, 02:06    Post subject:  

I too am having the same issue. I got the 360 online using ShareInternet pup, all I did was plug in the ethernet cable directly, connected to my wifi, started shareinternet and it recognized both connections and set the passthrough and I was able to connect to Live, however, I can't seem to set this up for my original xbox (non 360) and I'd really like to use this to update my media catalog from the internet. I've tried manually inputting a static IP for the eth0 (pc to xbox) but that only seems to break the internet connection on eth1. I suspect because it tries to look for a gateway on eth0 after setting the static IP, rather than finding the IP of my wifi router. Then when I ifconfig eth0 down and reset my wifi it works fine again from the pc.

Current output from ifconfig:
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:39:28:48:2E
inet addr:192.168.2.1 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:2D:23:28:8C
inet addr:192.168.2.100 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:646 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:740 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:701809 (685.3 KiB) TX bytes:136778 (133.5 KiB)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xd100

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:240 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:240 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:18336 (17.9 KiB) TX bytes:18336 (17.9 KiB)

Am I setting the wrong range? I tried configuring the pc like a router when assigning it to 192.168.2.1 and the internet is connected on 192.168.2.100
Any help is much appreciated. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0657s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0148s) ][ GZIP on ]