Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 05:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
File Open/Save/Select dialog boxes are off center [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
OverDrive

Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 165
Location: Cleveland, OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Mar 2010, 17:15    Post_subject:  

BTW, What resolution are you running. I also have a stock 4.31 desktop at 1280 x 1024 with no problems....
_________________
Instant Puppy Fan!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dingo


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1422
Location: somewhere at the end of rainbow...

PostPosted: Sun 28 Mar 2010, 17:28    Post_subject:  

OverDrive wrote:
BTW, What resolution are you running. I also have a stock 4.31 desktop at 1280 x 1024 with no problems....

1440x900, I have an HANNS-G Widescreen LCD

_________________
replace .co.cc with .info to get access to stuff I posted in forum
dropbox 2GB free
OpenOffice for Puppy Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
OverDrive

Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 165
Location: Cleveland, OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Mar 2010, 17:46    Post_subject:  

Yeah, I'm beginning to wonder if it is a issue only for 16:xx type screens My desktop is the old standard 4:3 format. My laptops are 16:xx types. Maybe that is why there isn't a lot of responses to this thread...

Maybe most people are still on the 4:3 format monitors and not seeing what we are...

FWIW, You can do quirky 10. It has that fixed, But I'm having problems getting online with it. But that may be just me...

_________________
Instant Puppy Fan!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 29 Mar 2010, 03:07    Post_subject:  

Using this everywhichway I can, and I dont THINK I get the screen flashing issue. I DO have a 16:9 display with Intel graphics. Sometimes its hard to be sure if the screen redrew or not, but frankly, if the choice is offset dialogues or stable screen in browser, I will take the dialogue option every time Smile
Tried this with Seamonkey 1 & 2, Firefox 3.5, Opera 10.10.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OverDrive

Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 165
Location: Cleveland, OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Mon 29 Mar 2010, 20:11    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Sometimes its hard to be sure if the screen redrew or not, but frankly, if the choice is offset dialogues or stable screen in browser, I will take the dialogue option every time


Yes, If it is just a redraw and not a white flash then I would put up with that too!

Something else I discovered was that this is *not* a problem in 4.12. I've been doing some A/B testing on a samba/b43 problem I am having, and while I was in 4.12, I tested a few apps and everything was fine.

It uses GTK-2.12.1, an even older version....

So what's that all about?

_________________
Instant Puppy Fan!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dingo


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1422
Location: somewhere at the end of rainbow...

PostPosted: Thu 01 Apr 2010, 12:17    Post_subject:  

Today found and installed

gtk+-2.12.1-bug-fixed.pet
http://mirror.internode.on.net/pub/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/gtk+-2.12.1-bug-fixed.pet

I tried Seamoney and Geany and these are working fine (window now opens in middle of screen finally)

Do you know if there are some conflicts in using gtk+-2.12.1 in Puppy 4.3.1?

at moment all applications I tried seems working normally

_________________
replace .co.cc with .info to get access to stuff I posted in forum
dropbox 2GB free
OpenOffice for Puppy Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
OverDrive

Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 165
Location: Cleveland, OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Thu 01 Apr 2010, 20:40    Post_subject:  

Hmmm, you went from 2.14x *backwards* to 2.12x. And it fixed it?!?!?!

*Brilliant!!!*

Puppy 4.1.2 had 2.12x and *no* problem with dialog boxes. I never would have thought of going backwards,,,,

I don't know of any issues. But you are pioneering here. So let tell us know.....

OverDrive

_________________
Instant Puppy Fan!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OverDrive

Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 165
Location: Cleveland, OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Apr 2010, 08:53    Post_subject:  

Dingo and others,

I finally did find GTK-2.16x and a matching glib at:

http://puppylinux.ca/members/T/444/gtk+-2.16.6-i486.pet

http://puppylinux.ca/members/T/444/glib-2.20.5-i486.pet

I have switched to these with no problems. I also understand Barry went back to 2.16x for quirky so maybe give these a try to see if it fixes the problem and doesn't cause any screen refresh issues....

OverDrive

P.S. Thanks so much to member technosaurus that compiled these.

_________________
Instant Puppy Fan!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dingo


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1422
Location: somewhere at the end of rainbow...

PostPosted: Sun 04 Apr 2010, 14:51    Post_subject:  

Tried today, it is okay

also glib package is needed? It seems installing only gtk+-2.16.6-i486.pet , the bug is solved and apps work regularly

_________________
replace .co.cc with .info to get access to stuff I posted in forum
dropbox 2GB free
OpenOffice for Puppy Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
OverDrive

Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 165
Location: Cleveland, OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Apr 2010, 21:34    Post_subject:  

Dingo, maybe not on the glib. I know when I went to 2.18x, I had to upgrade glib then. In my research, I read it is best to keep them in similar development time-lines. However "it works" is a pretty powerful reason to not upgrade. So your call here...

Me, I went for it and can report no problems....

OverDrive

_________________
Instant Puppy Fan!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 17:23    Post_subject:  

FYI, I think I compiled those before I knew about the solution to the insert key kills seamonkey/firefox bug. (needs a second recompile for just the main gdk and gtk libs with --enable-debug=minimum) no other issues as far as I know (btw the debugging libs add about 500kb at least in 2.14, 2.18 and 2.20)
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 04:25    Post_subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
FYI, I think I compiled those before I knew about the solution to the insert key kills seamonkey/firefox bug. (needs a second recompile for just the main gdk and gtk libs with --enable-debug=minimum) no other issues as far as I know (btw the debugging libs add about 500kb at least in 2.14, 2.18 and 2.20)


How do I replicate this bug please? I would like to try it in SM2............

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OverDrive

Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 165
Location: Cleveland, OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 21:17    Post_subject:  

Yes, Where do I find details please. I've pressed the insert key on my laptop with GTK-2.16x and it had no effect....

OverDrive

_________________
Instant Puppy Fan!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 20 Apr 2010, 08:30    Post_subject:  

This looks like the proper fix but I dont know how to proceed from here:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/current-21-07-gtkfilechooser-position-741855/

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Tue 20 Apr 2010, 11:57    Post_subject:  

Can you press the insert key while typing a response to this message without the browser closing?
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0774s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0098s) ][ GZIP on ]