Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 08:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Get App. to show on ALL desktops? [ Solved ]
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5016
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 08 Mar 2010, 23:25    Post_subject:  Get App. to show on ALL desktops? [ Solved ]  

I`ve made a mounter-unmounter utility and it should have the option " show on all desktops ".
Anyone know how to accomplish this?

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3195
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Mon 08 Mar 2010, 23:48    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
If it is in a window, right click the title bar and select "stick"... Very Happy
(Sounds too simple, did I miss something???)

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5016
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 09 Mar 2010, 01:16    Post_subject:  

OK... Now I know what " stick " is for... Don`t I ?
Thanks puppyluvr, so simple everything should be that way.
The best part is... I don`t even have to bother to write any code for it !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3195
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Tue 09 Mar 2010, 01:31    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
I assume you could make your gui display automatically on all desktops on startup like conky or xmessages, but IDK how.......yet.. Smile
But I`d bet forum member "Patriot" would..He made the enhanced JWM I used for PAW...
Pwidgets is also desktop universal...Maybe a look at the conky / pwidgets code...Hmmm...

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5016
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 09 Mar 2010, 01:50    Post_subject:  

Hummmm, Good point... ( and yet another Q for the programming forum )
I figured that once the app. set to do it, it would always come up on all DTs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 09 Mar 2010, 03:55    Post_subject:  

AFAIK this is defined in the EWMH-standard http://standards.freedesktop.org/wm-spec/wm-spec-1.3.html#id2494278

maybe this part http://standards.freedesktop.org/wm-spec/wm-spec-1.3.html#id2507080 is the one you're looking for.

how to implement in your code? don't ask me Embarassed maybe patriot or jemimah could be of help...

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Tue 09 Mar 2010, 21:12    Post_subject:  

Quote:
it should have the option " show on all desktops ".
Anyone know how to accomplish this?


add following to JWM -
Code:

<Group>
<Class>mounter-unmounter </Class>
<Option>sticky</Option>
</Group>


Cheers,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5016
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 09 Mar 2010, 23:40    Post_subject:  

Looks good seaside, it took a little while to find that the /root/.jwmrc file had "<Group>" in it...
I looked at it first, but I didn`t look all the way down near the bottom of the file.

A PLUS + ... This means that any of the right-click menu items can be controlled at boot..!

### Is there also a way to run the right-click menu commands from a shell script?

( Minimize, Shade, etc...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5016
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 25 Mar 2010, 02:15    Post_subject:  

seaside; I don`t know the "Class" name to use for the "sticky" tag in the file: /root/.jwmrc
Where do I get the Class name from? I tried my apps. gtkDialog title of " DM ":
Code:
<Group><Class>DM</Class><Option>sticky</Option></Group>

I don`t think the fact that I put it all on one line should be a problem...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 25 Mar 2010, 04:58    Post_subject:  

From: http://joewing.net/programs/jwm/config.shtml#groups

Quote:
Group Settings

Program groups allow one to specify options which apply to a group of programs by their name and/or class. A program group is created with the Group tag. As many program groups can be created as desired. Within the Group tag the following tags are supported.

* Name
The title of a program to match to be in this group. This field is case sensitive. A wild card, "*" may be used.
* Class
The window class for a program to match to be in this group. This field is case sensitive. A wild card, "*" may be used.
* Option
A option for this group. The table below lists possible options.


maybe it's sufficient if you just do

Code:
<Group><Name>DM</Name><Option>sticky</Option></Group>


AFAIK you could use xwininfo to retrieve the class-info.

maybe that helps.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Thu 25 Mar 2010, 19:14    Post_subject:  

aragon wrote:


maybe it's sufficient if you just do

Code:
<Group><Name>DM</Name><Option>sticky</Option></Group>



Yes, Aragon suggestion should work and if you feel like spending time - supposedly Gtkdialog has a "Function: gtk-window-stick" (Method:stick) which can set the "sticky" aspect in the Gtkdialog code itself - but - and maybe it's just me - I can't figure out how to make it work! Grrrrr. Very Happy

Maybe Potong knows?

Cheers,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5016
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 25 Mar 2010, 19:20    Post_subject:  

Thanks aragon and seaside, I`ll give it a try and tell you what I find out.
I didn`t notice if there was a "Name" tag within the "Group" tags.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5016
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 25 Mar 2010, 20:10    Post_subject:  

Sorry guys but no go... I used "xwininfo -name DM" to get the GUIs Class and added this to: /root/.jwmrc
Code:
<Group>
<Class>InputOutput</Class>
<Name>DM</Name>
<Option>sticky</Option>
</Group>

Nothing happens...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Fri 26 Mar 2010, 18:42    Post_subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
Sorry guys but no go... I used "xwininfo -name DM" to get the GUIs Class and added this to: /root/.jwmrc
Code:
<Group>
<Class>InputOutput</Class>
<Name>DM</Name>
<Option>sticky</Option>
</Group>

Nothing happens...


Sunburnt,

I finally discovered how to set the class or name in the Gtkdialog code itself - it's done like this-

Code:
export D='<window title="DM"><vbox>
  <button><label>Exit</label><action type="exit">exit</action></button></vbox></window>'
gtkdialog3 -p D --class=Gaim


The reason why the above works is that there already is a Group sticky option set up for class "Gaim" in the JWM template.

You could set up a separate option group for DM in the JWM template and then pass either (or both) --name --class . If the only option you want is "sticky", then you could just use --class=Gaim as above.

For some odd reason, the window title and class as identified by "xwininfo" does not match.

Hey, maybe we could mark this [FINALLY SOLVED] Very Happy Very Happy

Cheers,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5016
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 29 Mar 2010, 17:57    Post_subject:  

I found the way... Just make up any name to put in the <Class> tags.
And use that same name in the gtkDialog command line. Example = DM
Like this in the /root/.jwmrc file:
Code:
<Group>
<Class>DM</Class>
<Option>sticky</Option>
<Option>nolist</Option>
</Group>

And this in the gtkDialog file:
Code:
gtkdialog3 -p DRIVEMAN --class=DM -G "$2"x"$3"+"$LEFT"+"$TOP" &
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0794s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]