Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 09:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to configure dual-boot of Puppy and Ubuntu?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
RHartman10

Joined: 12 Apr 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 20:24    Post subject: Reopening topic
Subject description: dual boot Puppy & Ubuntu using grub (not grub2)
 

I have installed both Puppy and Ubuntu 9.04 (Jaunty Jackalope) on a USB drive. I allowed Ubuntu to put grub on the USB drive.
Ubuntu is on /dev/sdb5 (hd1,4)
Puppy is on /dev/sdb1 (hd1,0)

note: while Puppy has the lower partition number, I actually installed Ubuntu first.

I used grub in interactive mode to confirm the (hd1,0) and (hd1,4) locations of the Puppy and Ubuntu partitions respectively by using the file completation method described in "Grub from the ground up" at http://www.troubleshooters.com/linux/grub/grub.htm


Under Ubuntu I can edit /boot/grub/menu.lst

I have tried:
title Puppy 4.3.1
root (hd1,0)
kernel /vmlinuz initrd=/initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash pfix=copy nosmp i8042.reset


and I have tried:
title Puppy 4.3.1
root (hd1,0)
kernel /vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash pfix=copy nosmp i8042.reset
initrd /initrd.gz


Most of this had been copied from the line in extlinux.conf that puppy had placed in it's partition (/dev/sdb1). The original was:
default vmlinuz initrd=initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash pfix=copy i8042.reset

I added the "/" to the paths, they should (from what I understand) refer to the root of (hd1,0) after the "root" line in the grub entry.

I changed "default" to "kernel" as seemed to be appropriate from my limited understanding of grub configuration.

the "i8042.reset" kernel option is required by both Ubuntu and Puppy inorder to make the keyboard of a Dell Vostro 1310 work. When booting from the live CD I have to add this to the kernal options otherwise the keyboard does not work.

When I select the "Puppy 4.3.1" option from the grub menu during boot, all I get is:
Error 15: File not found
Press any key to continue...


How do I get grub to boot puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9062
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 21:49    Post subject:  

Here's the problem. GRUB gets its device information from the BIOS. So if you boot off a USB device, GRUB sees it as the first available drive and now denotes it as (hd0,0) instead of (hd1,0).

GRUB's (hd1,0) is now your main hard drive and it can't find the core Puppy files there. Hence the error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RHartman10

Joined: 12 Apr 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jan 2010, 00:52    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Here's the problem. GRUB gets its device information from the BIOS. So if you boot off a USB device, GRUB sees it as the first available drive and now denotes it as (hd0,0) instead of (hd1,0).

GRUB's (hd1,0) is now your main hard drive and it can't find the core Puppy files there. Hence the error message.



So ... even though grub sees it as hd(1,x) when I'm in ubuntu, when I'm booting it should be hd(0,x) ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RHartman10

Joined: 12 Apr 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jan 2010, 01:58    Post subject:  

RHartman10 wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
Here's the problem. GRUB gets its device information from the BIOS. So if you boot off a USB device, GRUB sees it as the first available drive and now denotes it as (hd0,0) instead of (hd1,0).

GRUB's (hd1,0) is now your main hard drive and it can't find the core Puppy files there. Hence the error message.



So ... even though grub sees it as hd(1,x) when I'm in ubuntu, when I'm booting it should be hd(0,x) ?


Yep. That worked. On to the next problem . . .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jan 2010, 08:02    Post subject:  

I am interested in the 'update grub' command here. Does this have to be done from within Ubuntu? It seems that once the various installations are complete, booting from a live CD or USB with Puppy would allow simple editing og the configuration file, but would I then have to boot in to Ubuntu and use the 'update grub' command, or could this somehow be done from within the Puppy live session?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ABNormal

Joined: 29 Jun 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jan 2010, 15:00    Post subject:  

IT WORKS!
thank you
now i have ubuntu, windows, and Dpup (+ turbopup as soon as possible)

now all my tests in puppy world will be easier!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 14:49    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
I am interested in the 'update grub' command here. Does this have to be done from within Ubuntu? It seems that once the various installations are complete, booting from a live CD or USB with Puppy would allow simple editing og the configuration file, but would I then have to boot in to Ubuntu and use the 'update grub' command, or could this somehow be done from within the Puppy live session?


I need to get an answer to this too.

I have Linux Mint KDE CE instead of Ubuntu but both make use of grub2.

I have a full install of mint and will try to add the needed text in the 40 thing or somewhere else

Any suggestion on how one get it going?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 14:59    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
DaveS wrote:
I am interested in the 'update grub' command here. Does this have to be done from within Ubuntu? It seems that once the various installations are complete, booting from a live CD or USB with Puppy would allow simple editing og the configuration file, but would I then have to boot in to Ubuntu and use the 'update grub' command, or could this somehow be done from within the Puppy live session?


I need to get an answer to this too.

I have Linux Mint KDE CE instead of Ubuntu but both make use of grub2.

I have a full install of mint and will try to add the needed text in the 40 thing or somewhere else

Any suggestion on how one get it going?


It does not mater if it is Ubuntu or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 15:37    Post subject:  

But that is not what he asked is it?

I tested to do the update grub thing and it needs to have the puppy files in the right place to work.

And I still fail to know how to move them from the usb to the HDD with the full install.

I guess I need to create a directory under root?
Well I could create a new dir but only in usr and not in root.

It even fails to use puppy to get access to the HDD. Linux Mint has changed the HDD so Puppy fail to mount it.
Neither pmount nor mut could.

Some permission thing.


Very annoying this structure they set up. One need to know very much before one can do simple things. It did not help me gave permission to the directory to be used by actual user I was not allowed to move it from usr home to root.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 17:06    Post subject:  

As I expected. They are more interested in making me do full install of Puppy than to tell me how one move the files.

Frugal install is so alien to them that they don't want me to be able to move the files just to prove that one can dual boot that way. Only full install is ok to do. Then they can tell me how to move things. By telling puppy to install them instead of mint to move them. wow

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jahmbahwahnn

Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:52    Post subject: dual boot ubuntu-puppy
Subject description: grub 2
 

I hope the following would be of any help to users for dualboot ubuntu-puppy:
Summary for users:
Booted ubuntu 9.10
1. Opened terminal and typed "gksudo gedit"
2. In gedit : Opened places/computer/filesystem/etc/grub.d/40_custom
3. Gave the following entries
menuentry "Puppy 431 frugal on sda6" {
set root=(hd0,6)
linux /pl431/vmlinuz psubdir=pl431
initrd /pl431/initrd.gz
}
EOF
4. Saved 40_custom
5. Closed gedit
6. In the terminal which was yet open gave command "sudo update-grub"
7. exit and rebooted the system.

Subsequently i could boot ubuntu, then puppy releases with no problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jahmbahwahnn

Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 20:02    Post subject: dual boot ubuntu-puppy
Subject description: grub 2
 

going through the following links also would help a lot.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1195275
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 11 Mar 2010, 15:43    Post subject:  

davesurrey wrote:
Well I'm not a grub2 expert (who is??) but let's try to help you.

Ubuntu 9.10 uses a new type of grub which is often termed grub2 but I think ubuntu 9.10 actually uses version 1.97. No matter.
Instead of the /boot/grub/menu.lst file which puppy still uses and you may be used to, Ubuntu now uses a /boot/grub/grub.cfg file but you should not edit it. If you do your changes won't persist.

Instead you need to edit file /etc/grub.d/40_custom or add a similar one.
To make it easy we'll just edit the 40_custom file.

In ubuntu go to a terminal and type
Code:
sudo gedit
type in your password and then use gedit to open the 40_custom file.

Add:
Code:
menuentry  "Puppy 431 frugal on sda6"  {
set root=(hd0,6)
linux     /puppy431/vmlinuz   psubdir=puppy431 
initrd   /puppy431/initrd.gz
}
EOF
to the bottom of the file.

Then save the file and go back to the terminal to make the file executable by typing
Code:
sudo chmod +x /etc/grub.d/40_custom

And finally in terminal type
Code:
sudo update-grub


Hopefully when you reboot Ubuntu's grub will show a screen giving you the choice of Ubuntu or Puppy 431.


Note this assumes that you have installed puppy431 to /sda6/puppy431 sub-directory. If you have installed it instead to /sda6/ then change the 40_custom file accordingly.

Tell us how it goes.
HTH
Dave


Dave thanks indeed for this description.

I managed so far to mkdir the pup-431 directory.

instead of (hd0,6) I guessed my root is on (hd0,0) but it cam be (hd0,1) or (hd0,2) because I don't grasp such.

I know one should be able to ask how the grub see them if one managed to do a ctrl F2 or something to get into cli of shell?

Is there no other way to find out.

It goes into freeze when I try the

sudo chmod +x /etc/grub.d/40_custom

I am in mint so maybe the +x should be different?

will it not recognize the 40_custom file after one change it.

I mean is it not read regardless of the chmod command?

Ohh have to add this

When it boot it says

Unknown command EOF

So apparently it does read the 40_custom file at boot up.

so I will try to edit out the end of file chars and see if that helps.

Yes that fixed the error message but I still fail to get the 40_custom file recognized so I have to find a way to do the

chmode +x again. But last time it freezed.

what could have made it freeze?

Edit

all looks ok but it fail to get recognized despite me do the right thing.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 12 Mar 2010, 06:25    Post subject:  

jahmbahwahnn, thanks for all the links.

I have bin able to boot up puppy but have done a cheating and fail to know how to do a proper boot.

one need to make the 40_custom file actualized or something and that fails for me.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d4p


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 406

PostPosted: Thu 25 Mar 2010, 02:06    Post subject:  

Multiboot: Win7, Ubuntu v10.04, Puppy v4.6 frugal install on ubuntu ext4 partition.

I like to use puppy grub. It is simple, small, flexible & fast. I overwrite ubuntu bootloader with puppy grub.

Here is the menu.lst puppy grub to boot ubuntu v10.04

# Other bootable partition config begins
title Ubuntu v10.04 (on /dev/sda2)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/grub/core.img
# Other bootable partition config ends

find in grub.cfg "set timeout=10" and change 10 to 0


Ubuntu v10.04 booting-time is faster than puppy v4.6, unbelievable!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1001s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0099s) ][ GZIP on ]