Can`t get gtkDialog3 version of app. to work. [Solved]

For discussions about programming, programming questions/advice, and projects that don't really have anything to do with Puppy.
Message
Author
User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

#41 Post by 8-bit »

Sunburnt,
Kudos on that checker start.
I can see that it checks vbox and hbox currently but I see also what you mean about the fact that it could be expanded to check action, button, frame, combobox, etc.
The possibilities are there.
I tried it on the /root/my-applications/driveman/driveman file and it worked fine. And showed zero for both hbox and vbox.

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#42 Post by sunburnt »

I`m reworking the settings GUI for driveman and it`s got an "unhelpful" error.

** ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 31, near token '</hbox>': syntax error

There`s only 2 </hbox> tags in the script, line 31 is the bottom tag:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/sh
export SETTINGS="
<window title=\".  DM   Settings\">
<hbox><vbox>
  <frame  Max. Drive List Height ><vbox>
    <text><label>Set Maximum Number of</label></text>
    <text><label>Drives to Show in Drive List.</label></text>
    <hbox>
    <button><label>Increase</label><action>$1/driveman lstHEIGHT up</action>
      <action type=\"clear\">HEIGHT</action><action type=\"refresh\">HEIGHT</action></button>
    <button><label>Decrease</label><action>$1/driveman lstHEIGHT dn</action>
      <action type=\"clear\">HEIGHT</action><action type=\"refresh\">HEIGHT</action></button>
    <entry><variable>HEIGHT</variable><input>cat $1/lstHEIGHT.set</input>
      <width>40</width><height>25</height></entry>
    </hbox></vbox></frame>
  <frame  Bootup Control><vbox>
    <checkbox><label>Run DriveMan at Bootup.</label>
      <variable>DMBOOT</variable><action>$1/driveman dmBOOT</action></checkbox>
    <checkbox><label>Run Auto-Drive at Bootup.</label>
      <variable>AUTOBOOT</variable><action>$1/driveman autoBOOT</action></checkbox>
  </vbox></frame>  
</vbox><vbox>  
  <frame  Auto-Drive Control ><vbox>
    <checkbox><label>Start or Stop Auto-Drive.</label>
      <variable>AUTODRV</variable><action>$1/driveman autoDRV</action></checkbox>
    <checkbox><label>Auto-Drive Pops up ROX.</label>
      <variable>AUTOROX</variable><action>$1/driveman autoROX</action></checkbox>
  </vbox></frame>
    <button><label>Exit</label><action>exit</action></button>
</vbox></hbox>"
gtkdialog3 -p SETTINGS &

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#43 Post by sunburnt »

.
### NOTE: I posted a " revised " gtkDialog tester above that does most of the Tags...

seaside
Posts: 934
Joined: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 00:19

#44 Post by seaside »

potong wrote:sunburnt:
Here's a program written in two ways to show the different options.


Secondly --event-driven=filename

Code: Select all

#!/usr/sbin/gtkdialog3 -e
display(){ echo "Display: ${!1}"; }
...............
Just wanted to add that using the "#!/usr/sbin/gtkdialog3" event form requires that gtkdialog3 is symlinked to gtkdialog, otherwise it errs. I ran into this earlier using the "event driven" form of gtkdialog - no matter from a file or on the command line.

Potong, thanks for supplying all this great information on Gtkdialog. It is immensely helpful.

Regards,
s

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#45 Post by sunburnt »

seaside; Yep, I ran into that problem awhile back using gtkDialog that way.
I had marginal luck with it. But with potong`s help it may bare fruit yet...

potong
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri 06 Mar 2009, 04:01

#46 Post by potong »

sunburnt: You forgot a closing <./window> directive in your gui.

Here are some tips I use when building a gui.

1) Every time you write an opening directive, copy and edit it into closing one. Then go back and continue

Code: Select all

<window>

Code: Select all

<window>
</window>

Code: Select all

<window title="GUI">
 <vbox>
</window>

Code: Select all

<window title="GUI">
 <vbox>
 </vbox>
</window>
etc

2) Use indentation for clarity and self checking. This is your code formated with indentation.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
export SETTINGS="
<window title=\".  DM   Settings\">
 <hbox>
  <vbox>
   <frame  Max. Drive List Height >
    <vbox>
     <text>
      <label>Set Maximum Number of</label>
     </text>
     <text>
      <label>Drives to Show in Drive List.</label>
     </text>
     <hbox>
      <button>
       <label>Increase</label>
       <action>$1/driveman lstHEIGHT up</action>
       <action type=\"clear\">HEIGHT</action>
       <action type=\"refresh\">HEIGHT</action>
      </button>
      <button>
       <label>Decrease</label>
       <action>$1/driveman lstHEIGHT dn</action>
       <action type=\"clear\">HEIGHT</action>
       <action type=\"refresh\">HEIGHT</action>
      </button>
      <entry>
       <variable>HEIGHT</variable>
       <input>cat $1/lstHEIGHT.set</input>
       <width>40</width>
       <height>25</height>
      </entry>
     </hbox>
    </vbox>
   </frame>
   <frame  Bootup Control>
    <vbox>
     <checkbox>
      <label>Run DriveMan at Bootup.</label>
      <variable>DMBOOT</variable>
      <action>$1/driveman dmBOOT</action>
     </checkbox>
     <checkbox>
      <label>Run Auto-Drive at Bootup.</label>
      <variable>AUTOBOOT</variable>
      <action>$1/driveman autoBOOT</action>
     </checkbox>
    </vbox>
   </frame> 
  </vbox>
  <vbox> 
   <frame  Auto-Drive Control >
    <vbox>
     <checkbox>
      <label>Start or Stop Auto-Drive.</label>
      <variable>AUTODRV</variable>
      <action>$1/driveman autoDRV</action>
     </checkbox>
     <checkbox>
      <label>Auto-Drive Pops up ROX.</label>
      <variable>AUTOROX</variable>
      <action>$1/driveman autoROX</action>
     </checkbox>
    </vbox>
   </frame>
   <button>
    <label>Exit</label>
    <action>exit</action>
   </button>
  </vbox>
 </hbox>
</window>
"
gtkdialog3 -d -p SETTINGS
it is long winded, I know but you can shorten it later after everything is working. Notice how every container is aligned, you can run a cursor up and down and check all are closed off. Also you know everyting is in its place when you finish the gui at the column you started.

3) Use the construct GUI=$(cat <<EOV|sed 's/#.*//'...EOV) This allows you to comment your gui and can greatly speed up those tweaks

Code: Select all

GUI=$(cat <<EOV|sed 's/#.*//'
<window title="gui">
 <vbox>
   <text label="Use This></text>
   #<text label="Do Not Use This"></text>
 </vbox>
</window>
EOV)
another side effect of uing the here document (cat <<EOV...EOV) is you don't need to escape your double-quotes (") in the directive tags BUT remember interpolation is a double edged sword and code you intend gtkdialog to pass through to bash will need escaping. This leads on to the fourth tip..

4)KISS I try to divorce the gui from the actions of the gui. By this I mean when you have an action rather than writing the code into your gui, perform a subroutine instead e.g

Code: Select all

<action>display ENTRY</action>
and in the script

Code: Select all

display(){ echo "${!1}"; }
instead of

Code: Select all

<action>echo \$ENTRY</action>
This has several benefits
  • Testing: you can get the gui working without having to worry about your bash code working
    Reuse: You can use a function anywhere, inside another script or even on the command line
    Looks: Funnily enough using functions and variables indirectly as parameters ( ${!1} in a function means use the literal of the first parameter as a variable) fits right in in with the look and feel of the xml(ish) gui
5) Use the debug option in gtkdialog

Code: Select all

gtkdialog3 -d -p GUI
HTH

Potong

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#47 Post by sunburnt »

Thanks again potong; Yep... You`re right, the main GUI had </window> but not the Settings.
Much of what you said is things I learned writing Visual Basic apps., Linux is a whole new bag.

# Writing the Tags in pairs: This is how I setup my GUI builder that makes gtkDialog GUIs.
# Indentation: Always good for readability, except in Python... Then it`s required.!
... How about a " gtkDialog code compressor and decompressor " ? And one for script code too.
# Using the gtkDialog code as a string input makes sense. Or just calling a file with the code (-f).
... So instead of running a script with gtkDialog code, you just run the gtkDialog command.
# And what you say about separating the GUI and the support code I`ve been saying for years.
... It`s sooo much easier to read and maintain it that way. Very long files should be broken up.
... Either the GUI file or the script code file can be replaced, even with another GUI or language!

User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

#48 Post by 8-bit »

I just tried your settings file after adding the missing </window> and I found it would not exit.
If you are just wanting it to exit, delete the action line for the exit button.
The way I used it, I saw in another script.

But I am just a dumb farm boy trying to make sense of this gtkdialog3 scripting language.
Now an old retired one that has had various occupations.

Remember when programming was fun? :)

Just got back with an exit button code from my Floppy Formatter program.
Try this instead.

Code: Select all

   <button>
   <input file icon=\"gtk-quit\"></input>
        <label>EXIT</label>
        <action type=\"exit\">EXIT_NOW</action>
      </button>
It includes an icon and icons can be added to any button.

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#49 Post by sunburnt »

8-bit; Try this: <button><label>Exit</label><action>$appPATH/driveman saveGUI</action><action type=\"exit\">exit</action></button>

I`ve rewritten all of the driveman files and tested all but the Settings GUI.
All 5 separate settings files are now in one file, and the smaller Settings GUI has 4 CheckBoxes.
Attachments
000_DriveMan_+_Settings.png
Both GUIs are smaller, I like that...
(28.24 KiB) Downloaded 531 times

User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

#50 Post by 8-bit »

It looks like it is coming along nicely!
I like the looks of it.

I do not know if the settings window comes up as you have it shown.
But you can have it do so by utilizing the position and size settings from the Driveman window.

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#51 Post by sunburnt »

No, it pops up in an arbitrary position. Usually covers the main GUI which is ok anyway...
I might be getting the hang of gtkDialog3, I got the CheckBox to show it`s setting default.!!!

P.S. Did you try the revised gtkDialog tester I reposted above?

User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

#52 Post by 8-bit »

I tried the gtkdialog script tester and I for one like it and think it would be a valuable inclusion in Zigbert's Gtk tips section!
Great work there!!!

One thing though. When I first ran it, I thought it was broke since when no tags are missing, it returns a window with just the headers for the tags found.
If no tags are found, no tmp file gets written and an alternate message could be displayed as to the file being checked as OK.
Just a thought for the dumb ones like me.

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#53 Post by sunburnt »

LOL............ I had just realized that a little while ago... Not so think as I dumb I am...!!!
I guess I should post it in the Cutting Edge forum for appraisal. ( This forum`s for Q and A )

Post Reply