Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 01:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Make Puppy recover automatically from improper shutdowns
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 6 [80 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Mon 15 Feb 2010, 12:32    Post subject:  

Mr. Green Mr. Green

sory.. i am come back again ........

is the script just for ext2 ? because when using ext3 its not work, and stoped in prompt.

Rolling Eyes

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
SilverPuppy


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue 16 Feb 2010, 19:26    Post subject: EXT3 is fine  

Well, I haven't used this on anything BUT EXT3 recently, and it works fine. Just be sure you've got the partition set properly in the e2fsck line, and are using the correct scripts.

Even if the e2fsck line is messed up, it should still generally work. I'm not sure where you made a wrong turn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1502

PostPosted: Tue 02 Mar 2010, 14:52    Post subject:  

Thanks for this Silverpuppy. I've downloaded these scripts and plan to install them on a computer at my local community centre which has EcoPup and Puppy 4.21 installed on it.
_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy EmSee v2.1, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Legacy OS2 LTS and Puppy Midnight Sun 003.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SilverPuppy


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue 02 Mar 2010, 17:18    Post subject: Great stuff!  

Just be certain to insert my pieces into the 4.21 files so you don't end up with weird behavior because something isn't right.

Search for my username "SilverPuppy" to find the pieces I've added.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jockjunior

Joined: 29 Jan 2008
Posts: 145
Location: Lancashire,U.K.

PostPosted: Wed 03 Mar 2010, 15:20    Post subject:  

Thanks for files Silverpuppy. Just what I needed for 4.3.1

much obliged

Jock Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shariebeth

Joined: 26 Jan 2010
Posts: 271
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed 03 Mar 2010, 23:29    Post subject:  

I tried this and obviously did something wrong.
I can't get back in to put the original files back. It is hanging at the "This script will run X windows for you..." and then goes to the xorgwizard part which keeps telling me to type some variation of xorg, xwin, or restart xorgwizard which won't work either.

At this point, I'm not so concerned about what I did wrong, as how to get back to fix it. Sad
4.3.1 full install

Quote:
Well, if you can't boot, then your first course of action is to boot from a LiveCD and run fsck on the partition that Puppy lives on (probably sda2 in your case, but do verify this)
What does this mean and how do I do that?

Edit: I have found many other threads dealing with this problem, unfortunately none of the other solutions are working, or I don't understand how exactly to follow the instructions (too many people toss commands and "run this or that" at you without remembering a lot of us are newbies). I guess I will venture over to one of those and continue this since it's not on topic in this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 11:25    Post subject:  

It might help to boot the live cd.
Mount your puppy partition.
Copy /etc/rcd from the live cd to the same place on the mounted
partition. Say yes to merge,overwrite. Remove cd, reboot
(do not save).

If that doesn't work, boot the live cd and use the universal
installer to make the full install again; this time use the
"upgrade" option. No need to do the grub install again.

A tip:
Don't experiment with your main install. Put another copy of
that installation on another partition.

Edit:
Copying the rcd from live cd to full install caused a change
of "pupmode" from 2 to 5.
It was necessary to change it back to PUPMODE 2 IN /etc/rcd
PUPSTATE.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs


Last edited by rjbrewer on Thu 04 Mar 2010, 13:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shariebeth

Joined: 26 Jan 2010
Posts: 271
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 11:58    Post subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
It might help to boot the live cd.
Mount your puppy partition.
Copy /etc/rcd from the live cd to the same place on the mounted
partition. Say yes to merge,overwrite. Remove cd, reboot
(do not save).

If that doesn't work, boot the live cd and use the universal
installer to make the full install again; this time use the
"upgrade" option. No need to do the grub install again.

A tip:
Don't experiment with your main install. Put another copy of
that installation on another partition.
Neither worked Sad
(and yeah, this is a second computer which is why I am taking "risks" tinkering with it. I had no idea it would be so painful to lose everything else I (and everyone who helped me) had worked so hard to get working Confused )
I have been posting specifics here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51990
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 13:24    Post subject:  

I see from another post that your tmp file is empty?
(it's a pain having to hunt around trying to keep up with you
on different posts)
If still empty try copying tmp from live cd to full install.
Check my edit to my previous post.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shariebeth

Joined: 26 Jan 2010
Posts: 271
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 13:49    Post subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:

Edit:
Copying the rcd from live cd to full install caused a change
of "pupmode" from 2 to 5.
It was necessary to change it back to PUPMODE 2 IN /etc/rcd
PUPSTATE.
It seems to have kept the 2 for me:
PUPMODE=2
ATADRIVES='sda '
PUP_HOME='/'

Quote:
(it's a pain having to hunt around trying to keep up with you on different posts)
Sorry Sad (I was trying not to derail this thread)

Quote:
If still empty try copying tmp from live cd to full install.
omgosh omgosh omgosh it worked!!!!! Thank you thank you thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 14:30    Post subject:  

Another lucky guess for me. Smile

My best friend, Susan, lives in Vero Beach.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SilverPuppy


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 16:32    Post subject: Wow  

That is definitely NOT an approach I'd have thought to take, but I'm glad it's now working.

AFAIK, the /tmp folder SHOULD be empty at poweroff, but maybe I'm mistaken.

Just glad it's working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Anniekin


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Fri 05 Mar 2010, 02:15    Post subject:  

subscribed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldroy


Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Location: Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 13 Mar 2010, 14:15    Post subject: Permissions  

166 mhz pentium, 64 meg memory, Puppy 4.3.1 full install, ext3 filesystem

SilverPuppy thank you for the zip files. I downloaded them and extracted the ext3 filesystem stuff then replaced the existing rc.sysinit and rc.shutdown files, then chmod 755 rc.sysinit and chmod 755 rc.shutdown.

Rebooted and hung at no permission etc.

Rebooted from live cd and brought up xwin

Highlighted rc.sysinit then left clicked (Left handed mouse!) rc.sysinit and changed permissions to "make executable" . Repeated for rc.shutdown.

Rebooted, worked but some things were still missing.

Left clicked on r.c.sysinit, change permission, "give owner read/write"

Rebooted from the hd and everything works normally again.

Shut the power off then booted from the HD. File checker came on and cleaned up. Impressive. Everything works normally.

One possible improvement: My Debian "Lenny" box runs the test script every 30th time the system is started. I think it may be possible to add that feature to full install Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 16 Mar 2010, 18:32    Post subject:  

Handling of improper shutdown for full hd installations is now officially supported. This will apply to future puppies built from Woof.

I have announced this here:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01434

I plan to build Quirky Puppy 010 in a couple of days, so any of you guys who are interested can give it a try out. I'll announce Quirky 010 on my blog when it is available.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 6 [80 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0828s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]