Puppy Stardust 009

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
abushcrafter
Posts: 1418
Joined: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 16:57
Location: England
Contact:

#61 Post by abushcrafter »

Please can I have back the biggest modem drivers and the many fixed fonts.

User avatar
davids45
Posts: 1326
Joined: Sun 26 Nov 2006, 23:33
Location: Chatswood, NSW

#62 Post by davids45 »

G'day again,

About the drive icons - I think "misplaced" describes the problem.

I have 28 hard-drive partitions, 2 optical drives, and space for at least six USB drives. So the icons won't fit on just one line across the bottom of my monitor.

Most other Pups now can form these up in two lines on first booting. Stardust is OK if I move those in the right-corner pile one-at-a-time to elsewhere on the display. It is just the first boot that is messy and could upset some people with similar multi-harddrive multi-partition computers.

David S.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#63 Post by 01micko »

Hi Sigmund

If "focus" is set to sloppy then in my little Stardust gtk-slideshow there is no problem.

Perhaps our friend Patriot could have another look at the JWM source such that it works ok with click to focus, then we could have a useful slideshow with no dependencies 8)

Here are the latest scripts, including a "Stop" script if anyone wants to try, files are well commented to give you a hand. All suggestions welcome :)

Main script

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
#01micko
###############################################
#####    BE WARNED.... EXPERIMENTAL!!!   ######
###############################################
##IF YOU WANT TO TRY THIS (everything is in Stardust from 007)
#copy this text and paste in a text editor, save as 'gtk-slideshow' in /root for now.
#make a dir called '/root/.gtk-slideshow'
#make a dir called '/root/images' and put any jpg or png images you like in it  ## you could use '/usr/share/backgrounds'.. but this is Stardust!!!
#make a dir called '/root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp'
#DON'T use too many images because it will take an age to kill! (er must fix that)##Have fixed with new script :), so now use as many images as you like.
#please... hack, improve, post!!!

#one problem.. always wants mouse focus!!##WORK-AROUND.. use sloppy focus in JWM.. see ziggy's control panel

#X=1180 #future stuff
#Y=585
#export X
#export Y
#Below in the gtkdialog code is for my screen res, "--geometry +1180+585 &", change to suit your self.

#essential to start
rm -f $HOME/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/stop

#show background
export BG='
<window width-request="136" height-request="105">
<text><label>""</label></text>
</window>'
gtkdialog3 --class=jwm-applet -p BG -G +1180+585 &

##ziggy's stuff from pwidgets 'Slideshow'###hmmmmm... we need a mechanism to detect if this is all done already OR if you want a to use a new image dir.
IMAGE_DIRECTORY=/root/images  
SCALED_DIR=/root/.gtk-slideshow/misc/scaledimages
	mkdir $SCALED_DIR 2> /dev/null
	rm -f $SCALED_DIR/* 2> /dev/null
				
	#build resized images in a temporary storage
	ls -1 "$IMAGE_DIRECTORY" > /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/piccies-tmp
			COUNT=0
			while read I; do
				COUNT=`expr $COUNT + 1`
				[ `echo "$COUNT" | wc -c` = 2 ] && COUNT=`echo "0$COUNT"` #ensure 2 digits
				TMP=`basename "$I" | cut -d '.' -f 1`
				resizepng "$IMAGE_DIRECTORY"/"$I" "$SCALED_DIR"/"$COUNT".png 126 95 100
				done < /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/piccies-tmp
#build exec file for slideshow		#my stuff		
echo "#!/bin/sh" > /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/slideshow		
export SCALED_DIR
PICCIES=`ls /root/.gtk-slideshow/misc/scaledimages`
for i in $PICCIES; do
export i
NUMBER=`echo $i | cut -d "." -f1`

echo "export PIC${NUMBER}='
<window>
<pixmap><input file>/root/.gtk-slideshow/misc/scaledimages/$i</input></pixmap>
</window>'
gtkdialog3 --class=jwm-applet -p PIC${NUMBER} --geometry +1180+585 & 
sleep 5
kill \`ps | grep PIC${NUMBER} | awk '{print \$1}'\` 2> /dev/null" >> /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/slideshow
done
chmod 755 /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/slideshow
sleep 1
#loop the exec file ##to kill the slideshow type 'echo "" >/root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/stop' in terminal (or kill the term where you started it from ;) )
# to restart type 'rm -f /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/stop', then './gtk-slideshow' in dir where you saved
until [ -e /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/stop ]; do eval /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/slideshow
done
break
Stop script.. name it "slide-stop" or something and save in /root

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
echo "" >/root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/stop
kill `ps | grep BG | awk '{print $1}'` 2> /dev/null
kill `ps | grep "gtk-slideshow" | awk '{print $1}'` 2> /dev/null
kill `ps | grep PIC | awk '{print $1}'` 2> /dev/null
Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

Re: drive icons pile-up

#64 Post by aragon »

zigbert wrote:
davids45 wrote:However, my reason to post is to ask if you can include in Stardust the drive-icon-placement-in-rows improvement that is now in most other Puolets, even in base Puppies such as 4.3.2. My second drive partitions, my usb and optical drive icons pile up in the bottom right of the screen on first starting.
Is there no icons, or are they misplaced?
sigmund,

i think it's this problem and solution:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 749#355749

aragon

User avatar
DC
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun 30 Apr 2006, 15:07
Location: Maidenhead, England

#65 Post by DC »

Hi Zigbert,
Thanks for Stardust its coming along very nicely.

a small request
could you put a version file in your stardust directory as I loose track of which version I've fully installed.

DC

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#66 Post by zigbert »

aragon
Thanks for the link.

DC
Version file is on its way.


Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#67 Post by zigbert »

Do you feel wild.......global themes are coming

Image

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#68 Post by 01micko »

:shock: A theme like that would be enough to entice WhoDo... :D
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
trio
Posts: 2076
Joined: Sun 21 Dec 2008, 15:50
Location: अनà¥￾मोदना

#69 Post by trio »

hmmm...delicious .... but does this mean the mood button is out? and can we keep global theme profiles and load it anytime?

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#70 Post by zigbert »

WhoDo........WhoDo.........Blingy boy, where are you?


Oh well, he is back (and probably reading this). That is the most important.
Both WhoDo and HairyWill is frequently seen. That makes me happy :D

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#71 Post by zigbert »

trio wrote:hmmm...delicious .... but does this mean the mood button is out? and can we keep global theme profiles and load it anytime?
Mood buttons is nothing else that 'ptheme -p THEME', so these will live as before. They are just too cool to be gone. BUT. I have not solved how to include user defined global themes into a mood-button .....only the 4 prebuilt.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#72 Post by 01micko »

without any further ado...

Here is Stardust Slideshow

NOTES

-experimental, use at own risk. It is really just a demonstration of how far we can bend gtk-dialog :)
- NO dependencies, everything is in Stardust since 007, it will run in standard puppy with the necessary tweaks to '/root/.jwmrc', so it is very cheap bling
-limited to 30 pics, no matter how many you dump in your desired image folder
-works on as low as a p3 coppermine 600 with 256 ram, the full 30 images.
-may use some cpu first up, but if you get edgy, leave the configuration gui running so you can easy kill it (with "Stop" button)
-very configurable
-NOT integrated with Pwidgets, it is stand alone. It probably isn't worth including because it probably will never be perfect
-ISSUES: You must change JWM focus to "Sloppy", or it is crappy, you may get flickering when something else is open full screen
-it's just a bit of fun, but I'll fix bugs if you like

Have fun
Attachments
Stardust-slideshow-0.1.pet
(3.79 KiB) Downloaded 435 times
stardust-slide.jpg
(28.19 KiB) Downloaded 1160 times
Last edited by 01micko on Sun 14 Mar 2010, 07:38, edited 1 time in total.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
trio
Posts: 2076
Joined: Sun 21 Dec 2008, 15:50
Location: अनà¥￾मोदना

#73 Post by trio »

Bro Mick,

I dunno if you maybe want this for the custom color box?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=45477

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#74 Post by 01micko »

trio wrote:Bro Mick,

I dunno if you maybe want this for the custom color box?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=45477
Nah, no go, ziggy took out the colour wheel. There's colours in mtpaint. You can type "green" or "blue" or whatever and it still works.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
DaveS
Posts: 3685
Joined: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 16:01
Location: UK

#75 Post by DaveS »

Zigbert, please include pshutdown. It is such a frustration saver for touchpad users. If you dont want to change .jwmrc, launch it from a pinboard icon?
.Pet here is for the basic files and does not change .jwmrc, in case you lost them..............
Attachments
shutdown.pet
(1.56 KiB) Downloaded 422 times
pshutdown.png
(44.69 KiB) Downloaded 936 times
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

Would you like to shutdown Stardust and power off computer?

#76 Post by bigpup »

This would be a nice feature for Stardust

Push computer power button and Stardust does normal shutdown and powers off computer!

This would be a nice feature for people that put Stardust on laptops.

Here is the pet package to add to Stardust and make this happen.

Thanks to Patriot:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=38173

User avatar
abushcrafter
Posts: 1418
Joined: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 16:57
Location: England
Contact:

#77 Post by abushcrafter »

bigpup, I love your profile pic :D.

User avatar
DaveS
Posts: 3685
Joined: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 16:01
Location: UK

Re: Would you like to shutdown Stardust and power off computer?

#78 Post by DaveS »

bigpup wrote:This would be a nice feature for Stardust

Push computer power button and Stardust does normal shutdown and powers off computer!

This would be a nice feature for people that put Stardust on laptops.

Here is the pet package to add to Stardust and make this happen.

Thanks to Patriot:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=38173
Thanks so much for this link bigpup. Been searching for this ever since 4.3.*
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#79 Post by zigbert »

DaveS
I'll consider Pshutdown for Stardust 011

bigpup
Are we talking acpi-1.0.8-3 or acpi-1.0.10?


Sigmund

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

Puppy Stardust Shut Down With Power Button

#80 Post by bigpup »

Zigbert,
bigpup
Are we talking acpi-1.0.8-3 or acpi-1.0.10?
I used acpid- 1.0.10-i486.pet. It worked for me.

I have a power button that will not kill power unless you press and hold for 4 or 5 seconds. With this added to Stardust, I press the power button for 1 or 2 seconds and Puppy Stardust does the normal shutdown and then the computer powers off.

Post Reply