Puppy Stardust 009

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#41 Post by zigbert »

01micko wrote:Ok... so this is NOT slideshow or anything too fancy at all, the actual code used to generate this image is only 155B.. so what is it??? :twisted:

(hmmm... the possibilities...)
That is pure gtkdialog using the -jwm-applet class :D Good to see some use of it...... Be aware that resizepng is included in Stardust to auto-resize it.


Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#42 Post by zigbert »

trio wrote:you2pup is missing a symlink in /usr/local/bin
Fixed

Thank you
Sigmund

User avatar
prehistoric
Posts: 1744
Joined: Tue 23 Oct 2007, 17:34

finding missing executable links

#43 Post by prehistoric »

trio wrote:Another one, you2pup is missing a symlink in /usr/local/bin

I have no idea how many of these kinds of apps (by me, mick or tasmod especially) that don't have a bin in usual :lol:
Here's a one-line, quick-and-dirty check I used to find programs in /usr/share/stardust/bin with no links in $PATH. You can add checks to see if it really is executable, plus an outer loop to go through other favorite hiding places.

Code: Select all

# for P in *; do if [ ! `which $P` ];  then echo $P; fi; done
check_deps.sh
cups
default-wizard
firewall
pkg_chooser.sh
podcast_grabber
root
sqlitemanager
start.sh
Xlock
you2pup
#

Ivansampa
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat 04 Oct 2008, 17:24

#44 Post by Ivansampa »


User avatar
prehistoric
Posts: 1744
Joined: Tue 23 Oct 2007, 17:34

active linking

#45 Post by prehistoric »

Hi Ivansampa,

I suspect you wanted a link like this.
Ivansampa wrote:Little video in youtube
:) :D
You can use the quote button to see the exact text I used. I just paste the URL, select the text, hit the URL button, then insert the = and right bracket where appropriate.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#46 Post by zigbert »

I have fixed the fixmenus script to use the exact execution command for .desktop file. - Doesn't matter if program is in $PATH or not. - But it is of course nice to have it inside $PATH for easy terminal access and (error) output.


Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#47 Post by zigbert »

Ivansampa wrote:Little video in youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lCAHbIpBYQ
:) :D
Nice :D

dalderton
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun 22 Apr 2007, 08:33

#48 Post by dalderton »

Zigbert As a matter of interest 009 boot time is back to 25sec .
Also a strange thing happened when I went to install the iso after burning it to CD, My CDrom would not work with it and just kept running indefinately. I put the disk in the dvd /cd and it installed as a live disk ok but when I tried to do a hard disk install the installer wanted the disk in the SR1 CDrom which just ran on with no install. I finished up copying the iso file from another puppy partition and mounting it and doing the hard disk install from that. I thought that the CDrom might have been faulty but when I tried my 007 iso disk it worked fine. I dont know if anything has been changed in that area but it sure is odd.
Regards Dennis.
EDIT: OOPS DUD CDs !!!!!!!!
Last edited by dalderton on Thu 11 Feb 2010, 07:56, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#49 Post by 01micko »

I have a gtk-dialog slideshow working!

At the moment it is only looping through the scaled images but soon I will have it endlessly looping... oh, and it is not yet integrated in pwidgets, it is stand alone, but that will come once I have it up and running successfully.

Of course I need to clean up the code so that each pid is killed before the next image is displayed or soon the cpu will be overloaded!!

_________________

How is relevant to Stardust?

Well, zigbert has now the applet option working with gtk-dialog and JWM, so this (at this stage) will be unique to Stardust. If you saw my earlier screeny of my dog you will see there is a grey frame, that can be controlled with a gtkrc file, and changed in a setup window, as will be the dir you choose to display.

__________________

A sneak peek at what I have so far... more tomorrow..

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

X=1180
Y=585
export X
export Y
IMAGE_DIRECTORY=/root/images
SCALED_DIR=/root/.gtk-slideshow/misc/scaledimages
				mkdir $SCALED_DIR 2> /dev/null
				rm -f $SCALED_DIR/* 2> /dev/null
				
				#build resized images in a temporary storage
				ls -1 "$IMAGE_DIRECTORY" > /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/piccies-tmp
				COUNT=0
				while read I; do
					COUNT=`expr $COUNT + 1`
					[ `echo "$COUNT" | wc -c` = 2 ] && COUNT=`echo "0$COUNT"` #ensure 2 digits
					TMP=`basename "$I" | cut -d '.' -f 1`
					resizepng "$IMAGE_DIRECTORY"/"$I" "$SCALED_DIR"/"$COUNT".png 126 95 100
				done < /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/piccies-tmp
echo "#!/bin/sh" > /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/slideshow				
export SCALED_DIR
PICCIES=`ls /root/.gtk-slideshow/misc/scaledimages`
for i in $PICCIES; do
export i
echo "export PIC='
<window>
<pixmap><input file>/root/.gtk-slideshow/misc/scaledimages/$i</input></pixmap>
</window>'
gtkdialog3 --class=jwm-applet -p PIC --geometry +1180+585 & 
sleep 5" >> /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/slideshow
done
chmod 755 /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/slideshow
sleep 1
exec /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/slideshow
It is hard coded for the moment, but of course the vars will be operational when I make a release.

Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
davids45
Posts: 1326
Joined: Sun 26 Nov 2006, 23:33
Location: Chatswood, NSW

drive icons pile-up

#50 Post by davids45 »

G'day ziggy,

Enjoying Stardust so thank you for sharing.

I too find a long (~10secs) blank-screen delay before Xorg starts with 009, shut down too is a little long (in Puppy terms). Frugal install so far, will do a full later to cross-check.

However, my reason to post is to ask if you can include in Stardust the drive-icon-placement-in-rows improvement that is now in most other Puolets, even in base Puppies such as 4.3.2. My second drive partitions, my usb and optical drive icons pile up in the bottom right of the screen on first starting.

Thanks,
David S.

Puppyt
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri 09 May 2008, 23:37
Location: Moorooka, Queensland
Contact:

#51 Post by Puppyt »

Ivansampa wrote:Little video in youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lCAHbIpBYQ
:) :D
...and I love the reflected attention to detail in your clip, Ivansampa -
"...Ziggybert played the guitar-aaaar".
Or should that be "Siggy"? :)

Doh! That's the 'Stardust' reference. Rock on, Siggy!

Downloading now...

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#52 Post by 01micko »

Ok, an update on Stardust Slideshow ...

You can try it if you like, follow the comments.. it works! Not much cpu usage either, less than Xli Slideshow (on my system).

It now loops fully and kills the process. Be warned though, it is experimental, use at own risk. (That's why code only is posted :wink: )

Have fun :)

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
#01micko
###############################################
#####    BE WARNED.... EXPERIMENTAL!!!   ######
###############################################
##IF YOU WANT TO TRY THIS (everything is in Stardust from 007)
#copy this text and paste in a text editor, save as 'gtk-slideshow' in /root for now.
#make a dir called '/root/.gtk-slideshow'
#make a dir called '/root/images' and put any jpg or png images you like in it  ## you could use '/usr/share/backgrounds'.. but this is Stardust!!!
#make a dir called '/root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp'
#DON'T use too many images because it will take an age to kill! (er must fix that)
#please... hack, improve, post!!!



#one problem.. always wants mouse focus!!

#X=1180 #future stuff
#Y=585
#export X
#export Y
#Below in the gtkdialog code is for my screen res, "--geometry +1180+585 &", change to suit your self.

##ziggy's stuff from pwidgets 'Slideshow'
IMAGE_DIRECTORY=/root/images  
SCALED_DIR=/root/.gtk-slideshow/misc/scaledimages
	mkdir $SCALED_DIR 2> /dev/null
	rm -f $SCALED_DIR/* 2> /dev/null
				
	#build resized images in a temporary storage
	ls -1 "$IMAGE_DIRECTORY" > /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/piccies-tmp
			COUNT=0
			while read I; do
				COUNT=`expr $COUNT + 1`
				[ `echo "$COUNT" | wc -c` = 2 ] && COUNT=`echo "0$COUNT"` #ensure 2 digits
				TMP=`basename "$I" | cut -d '.' -f 1`
				resizepng "$IMAGE_DIRECTORY"/"$I" "$SCALED_DIR"/"$COUNT".png 126 95 100
				done < /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/piccies-tmp
#build exec file for slideshow		#my stuff		
echo "#!/bin/sh" > /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/slideshow				
export SCALED_DIR
PICCIES=`ls /root/.gtk-slideshow/misc/scaledimages`
for i in $PICCIES; do
export i
NUMBER=`echo $i | cut -d "." -f1`

echo "export PIC${NUMBER}='
<window>
<pixmap><input file>/root/.gtk-slideshow/misc/scaledimages/$i</input></pixmap>
</window>'
gtkdialog3 --class=jwm-applet -p PIC${NUMBER} --geometry +1180+585 & 
sleep 5
kill \`ps | grep PIC${NUMBER} | awk '{print \$1}'\` 2> /dev/null" >> /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/slideshow
done
chmod 755 /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/slideshow
sleep 1
#loop the exec file ##to kill the slideshow type 'echo "" >/root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/stop' in terminal (or kill the term where you started it from ;) )
# to restart type 'rm -f /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/stop', then './gtk-slideshow' in dir where you saved
until [ -e /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/stop ]; do eval /root/.gtk-slideshow/tmp/slideshow
done
break
ADDENDUM: We all have different ways of thinking. I am completely obsessed with slideshows [ :lol: ]. Trio and tasmod will no doubt have a different way of using the new functionality of gtk-dialog, as does ziggy probably has his own ideas. All ideas are welcome!
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#53 Post by zigbert »

All ideas are welcome!
Well, since you invite..... :D

Building a background first, slideshow doesn't flicker that much when changing pic. I have not solved the mouse-focus-bug??????

Code: Select all

#X=1180 #future stuff
#Y=585
#export X
#export Y
#Below in the gtkdialog code is for my screen res, "--geometry +1180+585 &", change to suit your self.

#show background
export BG='
<window width-request="136" height-request="105">
<text><label>""</label></text>
</window>'
gtkdialog3 --class=jwm-applet -p BG -G +1080+585 &

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

Re: drive icons pile-up

#54 Post by zigbert »

davids45 wrote:However, my reason to post is to ask if you can include in Stardust the drive-icon-placement-in-rows improvement that is now in most other Puolets, even in base Puppies such as 4.3.2. My second drive partitions, my usb and optical drive icons pile up in the bottom right of the screen on first starting.
Is there no icons, or are they misplaced?


Sigmund

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#55 Post by 01micko »

Yes, like I said, the slideshow is very experimental!

Flickering is still a problem (even with the fix, some systems may differ) . However I think the mouse focus issue is the big bug...

Rome wasn't built in a day!

:lol:
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#56 Post by nooby »

I guess I have worn out one 2GB usb bootable mem stick. A 1GB worked just fine so not something with stardust. Sorry
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

hokal
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 12:27
Location: Kempen, Germany, dutch border

#57 Post by hokal »

Great work! :D PHANTASTIC!

Installation of Stardust9 on my wife's Fujitsu-Siemens P70 notebook took me a few minutes only. With stardust8 I almost had a nervous break down after hours of trials. :oops:

Is there still something to improve with number 10 ??? 8)

User avatar
abushcrafter
Posts: 1418
Joined: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 16:57
Location: England
Contact:

#58 Post by abushcrafter »

I can't get moc 2.4.4 (pet off the forums) to play mp3 and wav files. Don't know wherever they do in the default puppy? I have installed all the libs it what'd.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#59 Post by zigbert »

abushcrafter wrote:I can't get moc 2.4.4 (pet off the forums) to play mp3 and wav files. Don't know wherever they do in the default puppy? I have installed all the libs it what'd.
Be aware that Stardust misses libmad, madplay, libsndfile. These were dependencies of aqualung (the default player in Puppy 4.3.1. Pmusic in Stardust has only alsa and ffmpeg as dependencies.


Sigmund

User avatar
abushcrafter
Posts: 1418
Joined: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 16:57
Location: England
Contact:

#60 Post by abushcrafter »

I know I installed those.

Post Reply