Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 21:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Startmount-0.5.5 Drive automount and program starter
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 11 [152 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
DemostiX

Joined: 24 Apr 2009
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jan 2010, 17:22    Post subject:  

I boot from a frugal installation of 4.31 on a partitioned USB memory stick. Startmount fails to mount the second, FAT32, partition on that memory stick, nor sda1, though I've checked both.

Is there otherwise a way to mount a partition w/o opening a display of directories and files on the partition? (Not that 2 extra clicks is real work.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jan 2010, 20:25    Post subject:  

DemostiX

USB is still in an experimental stage, thanks for reporting. Should work ok if you only want to use usb drive as one of the partitions to mount.We will look into your issue as many people boot from usb and may want automatic access to other partitions at startup.

________

davesurrey and Dejan

We are addressing 214X issues as they crop up. We envisage that in next version these issues will be fixed.

Also, Dejan, support for MS extended partitions will be added for the next version.
________

vovchik

Have looked into better support for 3 series, but too much is missing of what we need to obtain drive information. A rewrite especially for 3 series would be time consuming and add bloat to the app and since our main focus is on 4 series and later full support for 3 series is unlikely, however the basic functionality of the app should still work if there is a working ~/Startup directory.

Your other issue with many drives will be supported, we are experimenting with different ideas on the best way to handle such situations while maintaining an intuitive interface.

_________

Thankyou for supporting Startmount and keep the comments, good and bad, coming.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jan 2010, 21:00    Post subject:  

Rob:
Something interesting. I never use Full installs anymore so what I reported as the output of Appinfo.xml was for my frugal install to HDD. ie sda and sdb only are shown. Just folders per drive not partition.

However I just looked at a Puppy 431 Full install and saw that /root/.pup_event had folders for each partition.

Then I realised that the folders in /root/.pup_event depend on how the desktop drive icon manager is set. That must explain why I got a different output to yours for AppInfo.xml.

01micko
Thanks for the input. I'll await whatever you have planned.

Thanks for all you and Rob are doing so far.

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jan 2010, 22:06    Post subject:  

davesurrey wrote:

Something interesting. I never use Full installs anymore so what I reported as the output of Appinfo.xml was for my frugal install to HDD. ie sda and sdb only are shown. Just folders per drive not partition.

[snip]

Dave


Dave, that would suggest to me that in 4311 you do not get the tooltips displayed when you hover the cursor over the drive icon on the desktop. It is dependent on those xml files and we use exactly the same information to display drive info in the Startmount gui. This may be a minor bug in 4311. Since it is based on 431 it would stand to reason that the files would be there, however they may have been removed for some other reason. Perhaps a question of ttuuxxx.

Do you get those tooltips? if you do then the information must be sourced from elsewhere.

This is also a difference in 214X, which we are working around. I am testing in 214X-RC2 at the moment.

As always, thanks for report.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jan 2010, 06:30    Post subject:  

Hi Dave,
Thanks for looking at those.

It's not possible we can test every situation as you can imagine, so we are relying on reports such as yours to help us cover all situations.

One more favour, can you look in sbin in 4311 and see if there is a file called 'probepart'

Work is continuing in background, but as we are 12,000 miles apart and a day time apart it's tricky.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jan 2010, 08:47    Post subject:  

Rob,
Yes, you and 01micko are 12k apart but we are but a few counties (plus a heap of snow) apart!! Smile
Yes there is a nice probepart file in sbin on tuuxxx's 4311.

Rob and 01micko
I hope no-one is confused here. It all seems to be working the same in ttuuxxx's 4311 frugal as in puppy 431 full.

BUT...I don't get any filesystem info unless I have selected Desktop Drive Icon Switcher to "tick box for an icon for each partition". If I just select "tick box for drive icons on desktop" which gives me an icon for sda and one for sdb only then I don't get any filesystem info in your app.

As far as tooltips are concerned I always get this info on mousing over the desktop icons but of course only partition info if individual partitions are selected. If only individual drive icons are displayed it gives me info for the whole drive.

HTH
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jan 2010, 08:55    Post subject:  

OK Dave, great info.

To make sure we give info regardless of drive icon status or tooltip info, we intend to use 'probepart' which is common to 4 series and 214

--

Snowing like mad here, dropped 2 inches in two hours and still going.
Can't work as it is outdoor work at moment. Bet when it clears up I'll be inside again Confused

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jan 2010, 09:21    Post subject:  

Thanks Rob. Glad to be of some little help.

The Sun is shining brightly here in Sunny Berkshire (I moved from Surrey a while ago). What do they say about it shining on the righteous?? Smile
But I guess ours is on its way.

Cheers
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 07:23    Post subject:  

Ver 0.0.2 in first post.
_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 15:23    Post subject:  

Dear 01micko and tasmod,

Thanks. Ver 02, in Puppy 3.01, now gives me the partition type information (ntfs, vfat, ext3) and size that ver. 01 did not, so whatever you did, I like it. Now, the only outstanding issue is displaying a preponderance of partitions .... like on my 1.5 TB USB drive (where I have 13).

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bubblopup

Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 16:01    Post subject: can I have version 0.0.1?  

Hi, this is just the thing I wanted. You have great fu.
Alas I was too late and am stuck with 0.0.2 and the splash-screen.
I always want a second drive mounted so the splash is superfluous for me.
Can you either post 0.0.1 or include a splash-screen disable in 0.0.3 please?

Isn't it nice to know you had it right the first time around.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 20:19    Post subject:  

I had to rebuild my test PC today Sad so just got around to testing v-0.0.2
I gave it a good testing in 214X RC2 and have to say that it's just perfect.

214X now shows the drive/partition info corrrectly and without the home drive.

It does this whatever I have set the drive icons to be on the desktop.

I really appreciate the "Previous specified drives" info.

Also that it comes with a reminder at boot-up.

Excellent work guys.

Another one you can be proud of.

Many thanks
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 21:00    Post subject:  

Thanks Dave, glad it works out.

Both Mick and I downloaded 214X to test it out and to look for common ground.

vovchik,
we are addressing the issue of more partitions in version 3 and the readout in the gui. Hope you will be pleased when it comes out.

bubblopup,
That feature is in hand for ver3 too. I also want a particular drive mounting on start all the time, without the nag screen. So we intend to include a checkbutton to select nag/nonag on boot.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 21:06    Post subject:  

Rob has said it all Smile

Glad it is working for you Dave and you too vovchik.

bublopup, we didn'd quite have it right the first time.. Laughing , did you fail to keep the ver 1 pet? Anyway as Rob said that issue will be addressed in ver3

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 21:51    Post subject:  

Hope no-one minds but if bubblopup really wants version 0.0.1 then here it is again.
Cheers
Dave
Startmount-0.0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Startmount-0.0.1.pet 
Filesize  2.62 KB 
Downloaded  705 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 11 [152 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0817s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0164s) ][ GZIP on ]