Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 03:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Dpup 484beta Testing
Moderators: BarryK, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 44 [656 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 42, 43, 44 Next
Author Message
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 13:23    Post subject:  

We aren't going to migrate the database till Squeeze becomes stable...the system files are Squeeze backports to Lenny....
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Cur Dog

Joined: 22 Dec 2007
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 13:33    Post subject:  

I have installed the control panel patch and still have problem with wireless. before it would start old version of pwireless, after I installed the patch nothing starts.

Note**** I have installed the Pwireless2 pet discussed earlier in the thread, so I am not sure if that could be the problem or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gnz11

Joined: 18 Jun 2008
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 14:09    Post subject: so what is the best method to upgrade to 484?  

i have the 484b1 iso and the patches.
the listing for 484b2 is just a md5sum

should i run the delta and then burn the iso or will the patches do the same thing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 15:20    Post subject:  

Acer backlight problem
My echo should have worked also because there were symlinks.

Code:
echo 7 > /sys/devices/platform/acer-wmi/backlight/acer-wmi/brightness


didnt change brighness and

Code:
echo 1 > /sys/devices/platform/acer-wmi/backlight/acer-wmi/brightness


didnt also, but when I rebooted and did

Code:
modprobe acer-wmi
again I noticed that bluetooth light started !!! So there was indication that acer-wmi has effect.

So could there be some module which inhibits backlight manipulation.

Fn + arrow left or right keys does not change brightness as they should.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 22:27    Post subject:  

484beta2 will be out later today...should we keep the same thread or go for a new one...

One other thing...484beta2 introduces a Sanboxed Dpup SafeBrowser in the Internet Menu. This is an isolated non-root user browser which deletes it's own cache, history and settings, the moment you close it. It's user home directory is /tmp. so when you reboot it, it also tidies up any leftovers....


Cheers
Guy

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 23:29    Post subject:  

Same thread, this one is only 6 pages, it's when they get up over 20 or 30 it is a hassle

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 23:33    Post subject: Re: so what is the best method to upgrade to 484?  

gnz11 wrote:
i have the 484b1 iso and the patches.
the listing for 484b2 is just a md5sum

should i run the delta and then burn the iso or will the patches do the same thing?


just wait, iso is uploading I believe

(you can install patches)

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 01:12    Post subject:  

I'd say that we just continue this same thread, it's still reasonably short and manageable.

So far the only real problem that I'm experiencing is the PPM will not update the package lists.It tries to connect then the window just disappears.

But, Debian packages appear to be installing fine and since Beta 2 is coming soon I'm not too concerned at the moment.Everything else appears to be working fine. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 01:44    Post subject:  

dpup484beta1 plus pets.
there still seems to be a fundamental serious error somewhere in the flashplayer department. previously there have been reports of a crashing firefox. well i have crashed my opera10.10 portable to the extent of blackscreen with with just the off screen lights for power and wifi still on and the screen completely black with a little background light as in the pre-boot period. havent been able to repeat the full crash but can readily just crash opera with the desktop still functioning.
heres how: get Opera version 10.10 portable and customized 33Mb extracted from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=39444
just unpack the tar.gz file somewhere outside the pupsave and click opera and you are running.
opera 10.10 is customized for a different puppy so you have to symlink the Mozilla flashplayer to the old location.
just symlink ALL files in the new firefox plugin directory to the older recent past mozilla plugin directory for good measure.

then open omelette.swf (pfind search it, it is the only .swf file in puppy) in opera and it will play OK


then close opera and the crash manager will appear. close the crash manager without sending and then that is where the total crash will happen if it is going to.
havent had this crash problem with any other puppies playing oper10.10

other past noted issue:
keyboard and timezone selection reappearing at each boot. it stopped reappearing when i chose the default US keyboard. vaguely recall others mentioning this for other puppies in the past.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 02:07    Post subject:  

aarf,

have not had any FF/Flash problems reported for 48x series Dpup at all...I will try the Opera 10.10 you mention to see if i can reproduce crash and report back.

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 02:34    Post subject:  

aarf,

Could not reproduce your crash at all...one thing is obvious though, Opera uses far more resources to play flash than Firefox...the example omelette.swf uses 60-65% cpu under Firefox, but 90-95% under Opera...something amiss in Opera's flash handling...no errors reported though.

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 03:31    Post subject:  

I haven't experienced any flash related problems or crashes on any of the 48x series either. Right now I have Firefox 3.5.7, Opera 10.10, Google Chrome, Dillo 2 and Arora browsers and using Flash 10.0r42 and I try a lot of flash video .....no crashes.
However, I haven't tried Opera Portable.....I use WolfPup's Opera pet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 06:21    Post subject:  

more info on the crashing.
left out perhaps a critical step which is the scan for plugins in opera attached image.
note also that I had another full crash after immediately after saving this screen shot with opera still open and omelette.swf paying in the back ground. only thing I did after the save was to click on the second alternate screen in the bottom tray.

here also is some screen shots of ./opera run from a console with the output from just opera crashing in the first image.
the subsequent crashes as restart opera is a check box in the opera crash handler partially seen in the background of the first shot. if the restart opera is left check in the crash handler, opera cash handler appears repeatedly after opera is closed by clicking the (x) in the top right of the opera window, the second images gives the output in the console of the subsequent continuing crashes.
an opera produced crash report is available if it is of use.

aside : went to upup452 to send this post using the gprs connect and with the same portable opera, and opera still opened with omellete.swf and made a crash report popup when I experimentally closed opera in upup452. no fully crash to black screen in upup452 yet, previously didn't need to scan for plugins in upup452 so only have gxine and shockflash in the plugin list.
opera plugins.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   97.51 KB
 Viewed   402 Time(s)

opera plugins.jpg

operacrash.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   103.85 KB
 Viewed   402 Time(s)

operacrash.jpg

operacrash2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   115.03 KB
 Viewed   408 Time(s)

operacrash2.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 06:53    Post subject:  

aarf,

Kept trying with Opera 10.10 portable but cannot get it to crash on any plugin...your plugin scan is also different to mine....see below
shot.png
 Description   Screeshot
 Filesize   34.33 KB
 Viewed   1175 Time(s)

shot.png


_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 07:21    Post subject:  

aarf

Could you open your opera and just leave it idle and do an Task Manager window like below, and post it...

Thanks
shot.png
 Description   Screenshot
 Filesize   47.09 KB
 Viewed   1363 Time(s)

shot.png


_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 44 [656 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 42, 43, 44 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0897s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0116s) ][ GZIP on ]