Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 13:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to use Spot restricted user?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
CrazyChick


Joined: 25 Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 25 Dec 2009, 19:18    Post subject:  How to use Spot restricted user?  

Okay I discovered Linux yesterday, Puppy Linux today. So apparently, there's this restricted user named Spot as someone on #irc told me... The ReadMe.txt file of that user in the system (under root/spot) says:

To change from root to user spot, type this:
# su spot
# cd ~
Or, do this:
# su --login spot


My question is - where am I supposed to type this into?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bugman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 2131
Location: buffalo commons

PostPosted: Fri 25 Dec 2009, 22:56    Post subject:  

open a terminal, it's the icon on the top row that looks like a tv

tell us what it's like being spot, most of us just run as root

[we are reckless] Razz

_________________
. . . the machines are clean
and the machines are not corrupted


- lee "scratch" perry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 25 Dec 2009, 23:36    Post subject:  

Depending on how you run Puppy, and how you use it, there may be no advantage to run as user Spot. Do you run Puppy from the CD, or have you installed it on your hard disk drive? Does your computer have a DVD burner? Do you share a computer with other people? Have you been known to bork your computer? Smile If you don't share, and practice safe computing, then there's really little reason to worry about running as root.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2718
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 26 Dec 2009, 04:11    Post subject:  

True, true...

Whenever someone just says "Type this" they think of terminal (aka console / CLI (command line interface) ) Laughing

_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
CrazyChick


Joined: 25 Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 26 Dec 2009, 12:14    Post subject:  

Thanks guys.

I have Puppy installed on my hard drive, my computer does not have a dvd reader let alone burner, and it is not really shared but family can just come in and boot it if they need it and that's the idea (since my main computer is like fort boyard with passwords I don't care to divulge). Also I occasionally surf some shady sites, so it's probably a good idea to at least give spot a go.

Thanks again. I'll report back. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jun 2010, 15:45    Post subject:  

Hope It is ok to ask.

What is good with Spot. What does it do? I have used Puppy now since Dec 2009 and I had not heard of Spot or if I had heard the word I failed to get what it was about.

So what is it?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2718
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jun 2010, 16:12    Post subject:  

It's a limited user which is in puppy by default but most users don't know/care
It can't run X though but you can run any app from terminal as limited user if you change to it first
Code:
su spot


Then anything launched from that terminal session will run as limited user, you can also pass command to run directly to su

Code:
su spot -c defaultbrowser


And browser will run as user "spot" and not "root"
You may have not heard of spot user but you must have noticed directory /root/spot which is spot's home directory so app configurations go there (hidden directories, e.g. /root/spot/.mozilla will be created for seamonkey or firefox)

_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jun 2010, 06:18    Post subject:  

Quote:
It (spot) can't run X though


Aah, to run X is what noobs like me want to do. Sure I use CLI if it is the only way to do something but to run X is more conveniant if one have a poor memory for abbrevations and sequential order of things.

But doing everything in cli can be very effective if one know what one do though. So I am not discouraging those who have the talent for it. I've seen them in action on Unix since 1988

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2718
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jun 2010, 08:33    Post subject:  

Sorry, I didn't explain good.
You can run X apps as spot but you can't log in as spot and run X itself - that's mostly why puppy is not full multiuser.
when you switch to spot user in console you can launch X apps from that console but they will run with spot's priviledges (or non-priviledges Smile )
So spot is not only for running CLI apps but it can't run X itself

_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jun 2010, 13:01    Post subject:  

Would it make me safer if I use spot when I browse the internet?

So I can start any kind of program except the xwin? No desktop or menu only a prompt to write commands in? But would not Rox work as a kind of browser of files?

Hahah I am so chicken that I don't even dare to test because I have a good working version of quirky now so I don't want to screw that one up by accidently change anything being spot.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jun 2010, 16:36    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Would it make me safer if I use spot when I browse the internet?


I think the Golden Age of the Internet was circa 2000

Some say this is Web 2.0 or something like that. If true, when will
they release Web 2.1?

Or for that matter will they release it?

These days, I don't even recommend trusting pirates. I won't
mention device driver sites.

What is the question?

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Wed 23 Apr 2014, 21:22    Post subject:  

hi i want to add this command to the .dektop file to run teh app pidgin as user spot any ideas what exec command i can use. its not easy to find in wikka or forums how to do this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2718
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 01:41    Post subject:  

Try with
Code:
su spot -c pidgin

If it doesn't work from .desktop file then make a script with this command and put path to script in desktop file.

_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 456
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 19:51    Post subject:  

I'm finding that while running Chromium as spot, that it will not allow me to upload from my drives. I understand the download to spot but apparently I can only upload from spot, as well? I can't access the my drives through the browser.

Is that the intention of Spot or is this some sort of unknown issue?

Thanks,

Slavvo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 198

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 01:43    Post subject:  

slavvo67 wrote:
I'm finding that while running Chromium as spot, that it will not allow me to upload from my drives. I understand the download to spot but apparently I can only upload from spot, as well? I can't access the my drives through the browser.

Is that the intention of Spot or is this some sort of unknown issue?
Don't quote me, but I seem to remember that the FatDog64 or LightHouse64 first-time wizard says something similar to what you just said; that when running internet as spot your download and upload are affected, and that you might need to change file permissions in order to be able to upload.
_________________
FatDog64 631|Blue Pup 4|DebianDog+OpenMediaVault stick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0820s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]