Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 00:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Macpup Foxy 3.0
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 15 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1521

PostPosted: Wed 02 Dec 2009, 17:05    Post_subject:  

runtt21 wrote:
One thing I forgot to do is to turn the edge bindings off. If you hang a app off the edge or slam the pointer into the edge it will change desktops. Alot of times when you dont want it to. To fix this go to menu-settings-settings panel. In the app that opens on the top go to input then select edge bindings. In the next window select delete all then apply and close. You can also change the binding to do other stuff....


Thanks, I'll give this a try soon.

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running PuppEX 14.1, New Year's Pup 02, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy X-Precise 2.4, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1521

PostPosted: Wed 02 Dec 2009, 17:07    Post_subject:  

runtt21 wrote:
One thing I forgot to do is to turn the edge bindings off. If you hang a app off the edge or slam the pointer into the edge it will change desktops. Alot of times when you dont want it to. To fix this go to menu-settings-settings panel. In the app that opens on the top go to input then select edge bindings. In the next window select delete all then apply and close. You can also change the binding to do other stuff....


Thanks, I'll give this a try soon.

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running PuppEX 14.1, New Year's Pup 02, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy X-Precise 2.4, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Wed 02 Dec 2009, 18:15    Post_subject:  

@ Pri XFCE in puppy is Gray's project not ours. We do e17 .

Everyone else please download for our wed site , Please don't use the direct link. Thank you !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Wed 02 Dec 2009, 19:23    Post_subject:    

Quote:
@ Pri XFCE in puppy is Gray's project not ours. We do e17 .


whose tooking xfce?

@runtt21 : do you not get.

look again to the pic i upload , i was change the pic, so u can get what i mean.

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Wed 02 Dec 2009, 21:17    Post_subject:  

If you want to have icons all over the top of your desktop be my guest. Everything anyone needs to run a Macpup is on the ibar. It doesn't need anything else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Mr. A

Joined: 26 Jul 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed 02 Dec 2009, 23:54    Post_subject:  

I'm having a problem booting this with my usual frugal setup. My Dell Latitude C400 doesn't have a CD drive and can't boot to USB, so I put the frugal files for Puppy installs in the root of my only partition (ntfs for running Windows XP). Grub4DOS lets me set up my grub menu in windows, and this method works fine for Puppy 4.21, Puppy 4.3, and Macpup Opera 061. Not so for Macpup Foxy 3.0 though. Here's my Grub menu.lst and the resulting error:

menu.lst entry
Code:
title Macpup Foxy 3 frugal

rootnoverify (hd0,0)

kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd

initrd (hd0,0)/initrd.gz


Grub error
Code:

Error 13: Invalid or unsupported executable format


I found this description of the error:
Quote:
This error is returned if the kernel image being loaded is not recognized as Multiboot or one of the supported native formats (Linux zImage or bzImage, FreeBSD, or NetBSD).


Anybody have any idea what's up with that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Thu 03 Dec 2009, 01:14    Post_subject: icon partition or flashdisk on macpup  

ok i give up Sad

but i think there is macpup user who need this think, so i made pet for it.

here is link :
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=368293#368293

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
ragaman

Joined: 14 Jan 2007
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Thu 03 Dec 2009, 07:12    Post_subject:  

How about using the module called "Places" for this. It's even better than the one you posted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Thu 03 Dec 2009, 07:49    Post_subject:  

ragaman wrote:
How about using the module called "Places" for this. It's even better than the one you posted.


places? sure! why not (i have hear it now) if its was better why not ( we on this forum make puppy beter, right?).

from begining i was ask what was hapend when i instaled xfce on macpup, so i am asked, how if on desktop there are a partition or flashdisk icon, so user willbe helpful by that (i am as user)

so how to use this places thing ? Very Happy

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
ragaman

Joined: 14 Jan 2007
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Thu 03 Dec 2009, 09:55    Post_subject:  

I'm not so sure how to install the places modules (or any module) on e17. The places module came preloaded on the MoonOS I'm using. Maybe runtt can help us install this useful e17 module?

I tried copying the places modules from usr/lib/enlightenment/modules of MoonOS. The places showed up at the module loader but coughed up an error (missing file) when I loaded it.


Here's a screenshot of the places module.
places.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   52.36 KB
 Viewed   815 Time(s)

places.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Thu 03 Dec 2009, 18:10    Post_subject:  

"Places" is one of the e17 extra modules.Please look at the 12 post on the first page of this thread. When I update e17 I will try and include as many of the extra modules that will work without crashing e17.

Sorry I dont know what version of e17 moonos is using.

Mr. A I have never used Grub4DOS . I dont know anything about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Thu 03 Dec 2009, 19:04    Post_subject:  

Pri I understand what you are saying . But in all of the macpup's going all the way back to the first one Prit built we have had a Usb icon on wbar and now a usb icon on the ibar to launch pmount.All of your drives and partitions are accessible from there.


I have uploaded another theme .pet called Fox-2 . It will give you two animated backgrounds and two themes. Imago-macpup.edj and Megan-Foz3.edj This will give you the Blue/Black look from macpup foxy 2.0 and Foxy e17 . Both of those themes are based on themes By ZaZoOo from :

http://exchange.enlightenment.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Thu 03 Dec 2009, 19:10    Post_subject:  

Today is a big day for the Macpup project!! Very Happy Macpup Opera got as high as #6 at DW. The highest I saw Puppylinux get was #2. Today Fox-3 made it to #4 Very Happy
foxday3a.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   29.24 KB
 Viewed   2289 Time(s)

foxday3a.jpg


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Mr. A

Joined: 26 Jul 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu 03 Dec 2009, 20:23    Post_subject:  

Mr. A wrote:
I'm having a problem booting this with my usual frugal setup. My Dell Latitude C400 doesn't have a CD drive and can't boot to USB, so I put the frugal files for Puppy installs in the root of my only partition (ntfs for running Windows XP). Grub4DOS lets me set up my grub menu in windows, and this method works fine for Puppy 4.21, Puppy 4.3, and Macpup Opera 061. Not so for Macpup Foxy 3.0 though.


Never mind, I fixed it. My original download of the iso must've been corrupted. That'll teach me to check the checksum in the future!

Looks great! I love the Macpup look and feel!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ragaman

Joined: 14 Jan 2007
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Thu 03 Dec 2009, 22:28    Post_subject:  

Awesome! Congratulations Macpup/runtt & co. for bringing Puppy to greater heights!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 15 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0808s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]