Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 18:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Penggy Puppy - Dialup program
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [38 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2005, 13:41    Post subject:  Penggy Puppy - Dialup program  

After few attempts, have Penggy running on Puppy 1.0.1. Dials and connects to existing AOL/Compuserve/WalmartConnect account and surfs fine. Trick is to use guile 1.6.0 and the developement libraries for guile 1.6.0. Later versions of guile seem to insist on libc.so.6 'GLIBC_2.3.4' where Puppy has 2.3.2. Knew it would work somehow as Mepis which I got Penggy running via apt-get also only has 2.3.2 but debian versions of guile didnt work on Puppy so couldnt just copy. Oh well, just letting anybody interested know Penggy works on Puppy.

Penggy website is down and may be down for good. Still available as Mandrake rpm. Also available on Debian systems via apt-get.

Last edited by mouldy on Fri 20 May 2005, 15:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JohnMurga
Site Admin


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 586
Location: Far to the east

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2005, 14:37    Post subject:  

Hey

Do you have all the files that you could put together as a tar ?

Cheers
JohnM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2005, 15:11    Post subject:  

Yes I'll email you the files in tarball within couple days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Mon 23 May 2005, 12:10    Post subject:  

Well, who knew, the files needed to make Penggy run on Puppy compress to size I can just upload here. Just as final test I used these files and instructions to put penggy on an old 0.9.6 hardrive install of Puppy and it worked fine. I thus extrapolate that it should work on any reasonably recent version of Puppy. I dont regularly use cd version or type 1 install of puppy and dont know off hand if you can write to some of directories under such. I just put things where they were shown to go under the guile and penggy rpms that I harvested the files from and could do so with my type 2 hardrive install of Puppy. If you change locations of files or directories, you need to make sure Penggy can find them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sazeile

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2006, 01:29    Post subject: Browser Connection to Penggy  

I found that I had to turn the Morizot Firewall off in order for Penggy to work.

Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2006, 15:51    Post subject: penggy and netscape  

hi y'all,

i got the penggy4puppy file, got it installed, i think.

when i run penggy it sayas it can't find the screen name.
netscape doesn't use a screen name, and i can't bypass that part.

does penggy work on netscape? netscape is part of aol, and when i do a trace rout, it shows that i am connected to aol.

and is there a command to bypass the screen name?

thanks for your help.

lostdog Sad

_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sazeile

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2006, 18:12    Post subject:  

In with the Penggy files is a README and an INSTALL file. The README file tells you where to put (and rename) the Penggy files. The INSTALL file tells you where to put your AOL screen name, password, and AOL access number to be dialed out. You can't dial in to AOL without a screen name and password. No free access. My understanding is that AOL is based on MS Internet Explorer not Netscape. When you get connected through Penggy and see the "IP Tunneling" message then you can open Netscape (or Mozilla, or Firefox) and browse from there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jan 2006, 10:45    Post subject:  

sorry. i wasn't clear i guess. i have netscape internet service.

it is owned by aol.

_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sazeile

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jan 2006, 12:48    Post subject:  

OK, I looked at the Netscape ISP web site. It looks like they are a regular ISP. AOL is not a regular ISP. AOL has a special interface that requires users to use special software for access. Penggy is a reverse engineering of that interface for Linux users. The Netscape ISP may not require that special interface. You might try using the regular dial up capability in Puppy to see if you can access them. I expect that you will probably need to have an account already set up with Netscape with a username and password in order to connect. The software that they give out may have a temporary account that allows you to connect until you start paying. Unfortunately, that software appears to be designed to run on Windows and not Linux or Apple.

Good luck,

Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jan 2006, 14:11    Post subject:  

yes i have netscape service, and no the dialers in linux won't do it. i tried that already. that's why i was trying penggy. think i need the dns addresses to log in, but i can't find those. i went to the online help chat and they told me that you can not log onto netscape with linux. but. where there is a will. there is a way.
_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sazeile

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jan 2006, 23:39    Post subject:  

The will assign a dns when you log in.
Do you have a screen name and password?
Can you get penggy to the "IP Tunneling" message?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Tue 24 Jan 2006, 12:33    Post subject:  

Sorry, havent looked at forum in couple weeks. I think though Netscape ISP is owned by AOL, it doesnt use the AOL software. I vaguely remember somebody mentioning that you can DUN it meaning if you get correct username/password, you can connect using regular dialer software. If they dont give you the info needed, you might search around on web for some of the tools we used to use to find the hidden info on the old free isps. These tools were unfortunately designed to run on win9x. It got to be quite a game to avoid using the "required" connection software and all the ads and spyware that such connection software provided.

Ok, little google search and found this message that somebody posted on some forum back in 2003 about netscape isp:

"i managed to logon to the netscape isp using the windows dialer. however, the username has to be in the form of username@netscape.aol.com. initially, i couldn't connect to techbargains or yahoo mail, but it seems to be working now. "

No idea if such works. Only found one other mention of dunning Netscape isp. Guy said worked wonderfully but didnt say how he did it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon 06 Feb 2006, 13:55    Post subject:  

I've seen posts that said they could connect to netscape, but they all refuse to say how.
_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Tue 07 Feb 2006, 10:46    Post subject:  

lostdog wrote:
I've seen posts that said they could connect to netscape, but they all refuse to say how.


I very much doubt that Netscape uses anything more than a weird format for their username/password. At most their software does simple scramble/encoding of your given username/password. The old free isps went through this phase before getting really sophisticated or quitting buisiness and disappearing. The tool I remember is called Raspy. Install and run it, and while its running connect using the required Netscape software. It will capture what the required software sends to log on. You then use what it captures in regular dialer and you can get on without the software. I did quick search for copy of Raspy but couldnt find it. Its out there though. I probably have it on cdr or floppy somewhere but no idea where since I havent used it in years. There are other packet sniffer type software but Raspy was extremely simple and idiot proof. It just handed you what you wanted on a silver platter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Tue 07 Feb 2006, 11:03    Post subject:  

thanks for the info. and yes i do need idiot proof. Laughing i.ll google and see if i can find raspy.

thanks again.

_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [38 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0762s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0093s) ][ GZIP on ]