Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 01:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Coming Soon: Fluppy for netbooks, widescreens, smallscreens
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 27 Oct 2009, 10:44    Post_subject:  

Thanks Tempestuous!

I did have a lot of problems with the eee module crashing the kernel on my 1005HA. Puppeee4.31 will have the asus_eee module which does the same thing as the eee module, but has more error checking. I don't think I will include any fan control software in Pupeee by default since it's relatively easy to cook your processor if you don't know what you are doing with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 27 Oct 2009, 20:19    Post_subject:  

I've posted Puppeee 4.31 Beta-1. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=355502
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 23 Nov 2009, 23:53    Post_subject:  

I've updated the acpid pet I posted earlier. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=352150#352150
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
omskates


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 257
Location: TriCities, WA

PostPosted: Tue 24 Nov 2009, 04:23    Post_subject:  

IMHO I'm excited to see what you do with Fluppy. I hope there's an LXlauncher UI option. I havn't downloaded one "netbook" targeted OS that hasn't been completely annoying e.g.(easypeasy, UNR, Moblin, GOS, etc.) I won't be needing pupeee but still, I'm following the threads out of interest and you seem to do great work. Thanks Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 24 Nov 2009, 11:47    Post_subject:  

Yeah, it's weird most of the netbook distos think a netbook should be more like a smartphone than a laptop.

I'm working right now on making a pet for the window manager. Hopefully it should be done by the end of the week.

Incidentally, I've gotten a report that Puppeee kind of works on the Acer Aspire One. If that's what you have, it might be worth a try just for kicks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 25 Nov 2009, 03:22    Post_subject:  

It's here! To install, click the pet, then Restart X. On some puplets, the Restart X menu option doesn't work. In that case, just reboot.

Edit, I've moved the download to the first post of this thread so you can find it easier

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
omskates


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 257
Location: TriCities, WA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Nov 2009, 17:32    Post_subject:  

Wow, that's awesome! Thanks Very Happy I'll play with this a while.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elraven

Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 82
Location: wnc-usa

PostPosted: Wed 25 Nov 2009, 18:30    Post_subject: fluppy for netobooks, widescreens smallscreens  

hi fellow fluppians Very Happy
during a mixture of bordom and unbridled curiosity , i install fluppy in spup 451. i have a small monitor the old gateway 2000 vivitron. When i rebooted came back to desktop ,there it was fluppy. Now i don't care what it sounds like but i love you man for this . It's just what i need. . well if you'll excuse me . i'm going to go play with it while. catch ya later.
elraven Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 26 Nov 2009, 00:54    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the encouragement! I'll be posting an xbindkeys package with hotkeys for many of the functions as well, so you have a choice of mouse or keyboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 26 Nov 2009, 09:53    Post_subject:  

Hello jemima,
Firstly Happy Thanksgiving.

I just tried out your fluppy.pet on puppy431 and puppy431.1 both frugal installs plus a full install of puppy431. In all cases:

1. after installing the pet I need to reboot as restart X-server doesn't work. shutdown/reboot from the menu doesn't work either.( so have to do ctlr+alt+backspace)
2. when rebooted I see fluppy and first impressions are excellent.
3. change windows manager doesn't work, restart x-server and reboot work
4. after a further reboot fluppy persists
5. un-installing fluppy works but then I can't use reboot nor shut-down from the menu. (need ctlr+alt+backspace again)
6. after rebooting I get back to normal desktop. everything working again.

None of the above is of any major concern to me as they are just install woes but thought you might like to know.

Cheers
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 26 Nov 2009, 11:22    Post_subject:  

Yeah those are inherited bugs from 4.31 that I haven't bothered to fix. I probably should.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Sat 28 Nov 2009, 10:03    Post_subject:  

rox as bar and flwm.. great...

here i reporting un usual thing i had :

1. systray on rox is gone after change windwos manager to jwm. when running jwm there is rox bar still come up but, when go back to flwm tray on rox was gone. the tray was gone when on jwm. ( i think crush when running jwm, because tray is never run dobel)

2. when changging theme for gtk and flwm restart to command prompt. but theme was succesfully when go back to window manager. but i must manualy go back to wm.

( puppy 4.3.1 x server)

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 28 Nov 2009, 13:04    Post_subject:  

Yeah, when rox starts and the jwm panel starts, there can only be one systray, and jwm panel wins. I will fix the next version to start rox panel only if flwm is started. You can put the systray back into rox panel by going to /root/my-roxpanel-applets, and dragging it onto the panel.

If you change your window manager, you need to know that you should run Flwm with the script 'startflwm'. If you just do 'xwin flwm' it will die when you try to change themes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 20:51    Post_subject: acpi plus puppy431.1 with an asus 901  

jemimah,
If I use your acpid-1.0.10-eee and your acpitool-0.5.1-i486 and your synclient-0.1.4.6 pets on my asus 901 with puppy 431.1

I get:
Fn2 toggles wifi and BT on/off
Fn3 and Fn4 adjust Brightness
Fn5 says "VGA not connected"
Fn6 brings up Process Manager
Fn7 doesn't affect mute
Fn8 and Fn9 don't adjust volume
Silver key 1 toggles BT
Silver key 2 says I need to install synclient (it's installed)
Silver key 3 does nothing
Silver key 4 does nothing

I guess Silver 2 is because I have the Elantech pad.

Do you anticipate being able to get the other keys working soon?
Or are there other pets I should be using?

I'm starting to think I might prefer to use Puppy 431.1 plus your scripts rather than puppeee431. Reason is that you have based puppeee on the original 431 but puppy 431.1 from ttuuxxx has firefox and a lot of apps that I prefer over the original puppy 431.
Thanks
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 23:42    Post_subject:  

I've updated the scripts a bit for the latest version of Puppeee. I will update the pet tomorrow probably.

On the 901 you also need to add cpu-freq-utils to that list for power management. Sound on some models of EEE have no master volume on the stock kernel, causing the sound hotkeys not to work. You can check here for a potential solution http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=49055

Originally, I had intended to base Puppeee from Puppies, but the first time Firefox autoupdated itself, I got "bus error" and it no longer worked. Do you know if that's been fixed? I thought it was wiser to stick with a known stable system for testing the new kernel. Once everything's working to my satisfaction, I'll probably rebuild with different apps, and call it Fluppeee. It would not take terribly long to turn any puplet into a Puppeee varieant, but I don't want to mess with that until I'm done with beta testing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0879s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0194s) ][ GZIP on ]