Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 15:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Booting a Puppy 4.31 CD with a 4.12 save file
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 21 Oct 2009, 11:21    Post subject:  Booting a Puppy 4.31 CD with a 4.12 save file
Subject description: Everything works, but the desktop icons are not pretty
 

I run Puppy live cd. As an experiment, I booted Puppy 431 with a Puppy 412 save file. It works!

The advantages are:
No set-up required.
Seamonkey has my favourites list.
The drivers and libraries for my printer are there.
The printer is connected to a Windows computer, and cups/smb configuration still works.
Abiword still has the links to recent documents.
And the seagull is still flying.

I've saved a lot of time and effort, as well as the headscratching.

Except for one thing: desktop ikons. They are all a sort of generic "link-to-a-script" ikon. Help! what do I do to get some pretty ikons?

EDIT: found where the icons live, and restored them. (Actually, I deleted the ones that I never/rarely use- I like a clean desktop.)

Notes: you need to make a copy of your 412 save file, and rename it without the underscore. And the applications are the 4.3.1 apps.

I'll update this if I find any real snags.

Gerry
Using Puppy 412431
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 02:57    Post subject:  

gparted won't work. I expect there will be other things... oh for a rolling-upgrade Puppy......

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 09:36    Post subject:  

Quote:
gparted won't work


hmm....each puppy tends to be on its own cosy planet which although there are upgrade options the recommended way is to start from scratch.

Try running gparted from a terminal for more debug info

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 13:23    Post subject:  

Found the problem, I think, but no fix.

Puppy 412 has gparted 0.3.3, and looks for hda.

Puppy 431 has gparted 0.4.5 and looks for sda.

I've created a hybrid- gparted 0.4.5 that looks for hda. Or at least, won't recognise sda when it sees it.

I re-installed gparted 0.4.5 from the repo, but still the same.

I'll put this experiment down as a failure. But interesting...

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 13:31    Post subject:  

Hmmm the retro 4.12 uses hda...anything with a newer kernel is sda.

launching from the terminal would be say
gparted /dev/sda

I'm not sure how gparted versions relate to the 128/256 inode difference on ext3 either which can affect booting with certain grub versions...don't yer just love linux Very Happy

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 14:19    Post subject:  

@Mikeb- I tried launching from terminal and got:

could not stat /dev/sda - no such file or directory

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 20:11    Post subject:  

I assume that device exists....eg run
fdisk -l
or
fdisk /dev/sda

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 21:09    Post subject:  

mikeb

Not sure if it applies in this case; but here is one of a couple
posts I made regarding gparted problems in the new puppy.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=352549#352549

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 21:19    Post subject:  

Gparted is a mixed blessing.
Today the version on puppy 2 showed my hard drive as one large vfat partition ....it has 4...1 vfat, 2x ext2 and 1 swap.
It does not see the second partition on a flash stick. So in other words an older version is not to be relied on .
fdisk and cfdisk on the other hand...they do not lie Very Happy

mike

oh and the windows 2000 installer says the mbr is corrupted after gparted set it up...its fun all the way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 22:41    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:

fdisk and cfdisk on the other hand...they do not lie


Oh ? Tried cfdisk and had exact same problem.

BUT!! and it's a really big butt; Smile

Ran tune2fs and the damn partition setup is making 256 inodes.

This is really a mess.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 23:44    Post subject:  

Quote:
This is really a mess.


erm...not just me that thinks this may be so then

I have totally lost track of what to use

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 25 Oct 2009, 00:54    Post subject:  

This is how weird the situation is:

1. I have 411 on sda 3 and used its gparted to make a partition,
sda4, for 431. Installed 431 full from cd and it works fine.

2. Used gparted or cfdisk on the 431 cd to partition sdb1; tried
ext 2 and 3, four times. Always got "error 2 bad file or directory"
after installing and trying to boot.

3. Looking at sdb1 with gparted in 411, it only shows a red
warning triangle and info says invalid block.......no partition.

4. If I look at it from the good 431 install or 431 live cd, the
partition is there.

5. Not only is the partition there, it shows almost 1.3gb used.
That's the accumulated size of the four attempted installs,
even though those partitions had been deleted after each
failed attempt.

6. It is still possible to repartition that drive with 411 and
make it work; but the only way to have the drive show no
partitions or errors using 411 and 431 gparted is to nuke it
with "Dariks".

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 25 Oct 2009, 02:56    Post subject:  

Solution for the 4.3 gparted 256 inode problem.

Example:

I use 4.3.1 live cd gparted (or cfdisk) and create an ext 2
partition on sdb1.

Open console >type:

mke2fs -j -I 128 /dev/sdb1......( -I is capital i )

Converts ext 2 partition to ext 3 with 128 inode count.

Thanks to these fine folks:

http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/gparted.html#mozTocId857236

Edit:

rcrsn51 had posted the solution months ago....I forgot where it was.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=262324#262324

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs


Last edited by rjbrewer on Sun 25 Oct 2009, 11:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Sun 25 Oct 2009, 06:04    Post subject:  

Quote:
Open console >type:

mke2fs -j -I 128 /dev/sdb1......( -I is capital i )


handy....
I do feel that using (c)fdisk and manual formatting would be a more reliable approach....could even have a simple gui to support that.
gparted is large and quirky but looks like its the business from its smart interface

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 25 Oct 2009, 13:10    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Quote:
Open console >type:

mke2fs -j -I 128 /dev/sdb1......( -I is capital i )


handy....
I do feel that using (c)fdisk and manual formatting would be a more reliable approach....could even have a simple gui to support that.
gparted is large and quirky but looks like its the business from its smart interface

mike


What are you saying?

Using fdisk or cfdisk has nothing to do with solving the 256-128
inode confusion.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0818s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0121s) ][ GZIP on ]