Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 13:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
SFS Installer GUI Directly for 430 FULL HD INSTALL
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jul 2009, 06:54    Post subject:  SFS Installer GUI Directly for 430 FULL HD INSTALL
Subject description: Can uninstall via petget package manager
 

Hi,

Use this first before you want to install SFS
SFS Compatibility Check

If your SFS is not compatible with your kernel you can use this first:
SFS Converter

NEW - SFS_Installer-1.0-430 - designed for 430, tested in 430prebeta.
1. Install SFS directly (useful for full hd install, but can work for frugal also)
2. Registered with new petget in 430, so can Uninstall from package manager
3. auto detect menu entry



Forum member Dejan555 I think has made a command line sfs installer..

But, I did not base my app really from his (similarity may occur, well that's how to do it! )

Feature:

- Directly install sfs
- Can uninstall from petget (registered with petget/pet package manager) - Doesn"t work with the New Upup - different menu structure

Warnings:
- Long time install for big sfs with slow machine
- Uninstalling can delete shared files/dependencies

Should work properly with 4.xx

Run fixmenus after install and restart window manager, 4.2 users just click refresh menus from start-menu

Inputs are welcome

Thanks
SFS_Installer-1.0-430.pet
Description  NEW for 430 only, please test
pet

 Download 
Filename  SFS_Installer-1.0-430.pet 
Filesize  2.01 KB 
Downloaded  4151 Time(s) 
SFS_Installer-0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  SFS_Installer-0.1.pet 
Filesize  1.7 KB 
Downloaded  2556 Time(s) 
SFS_Installer.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   34.4 KB
 Viewed   11950 Time(s)

SFS_Installer.jpg


_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website

Last edited by trio on Sat 16 Jan 2010, 00:58; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jul 2009, 08:05    Post subject:  

Hurray, I just Installed openoffice-3.0.sfs (big file) in my ancient IBM PIII 500 mghz... I even succeeded uninstall with petget package manager
_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nancy reagan

Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 510

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jul 2009, 17:42    Post subject: Tried it with iso 4.12  

Though you referred to a frugal install it tried it with my 4.12 iso.

You might like to know ?

Results, the pet was installed.

The pet "worked" in that way that with the package manager you could see it was "installed" not to be found in the menu.

Strangely enough, when I wanted to open an html file on my disk it opened with the browser that I installed with your sfs-manager. Apperantly the only thing that is missing is the menu entry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jul 2009, 18:39    Post subject:  

Hi, Nancy

Thanks for reporting.

1. Frugal users can use this sfs installer, but it's better to load sfs rather than install sfs as your used pup_save will increase. For full hd install, very useful
2.Do you mean that the sfs is correctly installed as pet? The package manager list the sfs as installed pet (so you can uninstall it later). So, everything is good then
3.The sfs you installed must have a /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser or /usr/local/bin/defaulthtmlviewer file, so it replaced the old one. Also, for menu entry you could run from terminal, fixmenus, then restart jwm/icewm. If a menu entry is still not there, then the sfs does not have a menu entry.

Regards,

Trio

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jasmac


Joined: 03 Jun 2009
Posts: 62
Location: Canberra, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jul 2009, 04:48    Post subject:  

trio, you are a genius. I grabbed your sfs installer, reinstalled my Lighthouse as a full hdd install, and went ahead and installed the Mariner, KDE, Oxygenofffice sfs', and they all worked without a problem. Next I am going to install the compiz.sfs and then get into you pet creater and have a go at petting up some programs that I like to use and share if they work as planned. Again thanks for all your work.

Cheers

Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jul 2009, 04:54    Post subject:  

Jason,

You are very much welcome... Laughing

I am happy you find it useful...don't forget, the sfs is registered as installed pets when installed, so you can uninstall it later, just like regular pets

Also, you won't need the sfs installer if you already have latest Pet maker 1.5, I replaced the troublesome sfs2pet function (as you experienced & reported) with this sfs installer function...

Regards,

trio

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jul 2009, 06:17    Post subject:  

Hi Users,

SFS installer GUI now is integrated in Pet Maker 1.5 (Click on my signature) - you do not need to have both, but if you only want this app, it's up to you

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nancy reagan

Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 510

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jul 2009, 10:41    Post subject: Fixmenus did it  

trio wrote:
Hi, Nancy

Thanks for reporting.


Trio
out installing where it should be "loading".

Thanks again.

Hi Trio,

"Fixmenus" did it.

Running live cd 4.1.2

As your pet calls itself "install" I talked about "installing"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Thu 06 Aug 2009, 02:32    Post subject:  

NEW - SFS_Installer-1.0-430 - designed for 430, tested in 430prebeta.
1. Install SFS directly (useful for full hd install, but can work for frugal also)
2. Registered with new petget in 430, so can Uninstall from package manager
3. auto detect menu entry

see main post - testers welcome

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 01:07    Post subject: RE: SFS installer  

This app is great! It has an ability to install SFS modules. On the next version SFS installer development. I suggest that it has more features (such as list of installed SFS modules and "remove" button to uninstall the currently installed SFS modules.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sidders

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Bolton, uk

PostPosted: Tue 13 Oct 2009, 17:13    Post subject:  

Thanks Trio. Sticking this in Hansamben, but as its for the completly-uninterested-how-it works-as long-as-the-kids-like-it, i am testing a scrip to see what kind of install it is then kick in the SFS_installer or bootmanager extra sfs.
For pupmode=2 (full install i hope) it will copy the sfs's to /.
When the installer opens it looks at the folder /usr/local/sfs_installer.

1. can i tweak the installer to look in / first of

2. Where do the sfs's have to be to be installed. Something tells me its /, but i cant for the life of me remeber why.

Heres the script thats being tested.
Code:
#!/bin/sh
 grep_output=`grep PUPMODE= /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE`
if [ "$grep_output" == "PUPMODE=12" ]; then  #Mount the cd and copy over the SFS's
#Mount the Live CD on /mnt/cdrom and quit if not found
CDROM="cdrom"
CDLIST=`probedisk | grep cdrom | cut -c 1-8` 
CDFOUND=0
for CD in $CDLIST ; do
  mount -t iso9660 $CD /mnt/$CDROM 2> /dev/null
  if [ $? = 0 ]; then
    CDFOUND=1
    break
  fi
done
if [ $CDFOUND = 0 ]; then
  echo
   xmessage "" -bg "#FFFF00" -center -fn "10x20" -title "SFS Installation " " Please ensure the Live CD is inserted and re run
SFS Installer.  Click Okay to exit" &
  exit
fi
rsync -a  --exclude='hsb_412.sfs' /mnt/$CDROM/ /
cd /usr/bin
umount -t iso9660
cd /usr/local/SFS_Installer/
./SFSINSTALLER
else
bootmanager extrasfs quiet
fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Wed 14 Oct 2009, 10:04    Post subject:  

Sidders,

So sorry, I really don't have time right now...i just started a new job and it comes with loads of works to be done. Can somebody else help please..

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sidders

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Bolton, uk

PostPosted: Wed 14 Oct 2009, 10:17    Post subject:  

No worries Trio. Good luck with the job. I'll look around and work it out.

Just tried it on 421 and it opens in Root. will try again

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James186282


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 127
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 12:16    Post subject:  

I just wanted to post a thanks for a nice gadget! I figured out how to do this from the CLI but this is a great little tool and I'm sure it will help out the new guys (like me) a lot in the future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3365
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 21:22    Post subject:  

I have not tried your sfs installer, but I do have a question.
Does it check to see if the sfs file is in the correct format?
I seem to recall one had to convert ext2 sfs files to ext4 before bootmanager would load them.
Is this the case with your sfs installer?
Or does it even need that capability?
Curious.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0831s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0092s) ][ GZIP on ]