Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 23:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Eee Atom CPU control - testing
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1293
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 07:56    Post_subject:  

@ 01micko

Sorry Mick, your 3 button GUI doesn't work for me. As I posted here , at Powersave mode I get the small message 'setting mode to Powersave' but nothing happens (tested with 'cat /proc/eee/fsb' , always '100 24 1' ) and at Normal mode the system freezes. With
Code:
 cat /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/cpufv
I always get 512. Perhaps this has something to do with it?

~ Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 07:59    Post_subject:  

Hmmm, Thanks Rolf, ok so you must need the 2 button gui.

Version 5 will be soon. (sorry about that)

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 08:30    Post_subject:  

Ok testers,

Here is 0.5
Changelog
-changed "OK" button to close
-added a splash which shows up for a few seconds letting the user know something is happening
-reverted the pinstall script to detect "Celeron"and will install the appropriate invoking script to /usr/bin


To Do
-fix detection of 701SD (done 11Oct2009)

SEE newer post

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 08:59    Post_subject: eee-cpucontrol-0.5.pet
Sub_title: testing
 

Just got back from a hol so catching up with this topic.

I unstalled any previous eee-cpucontrol and installed eee-cpucontrol-0.5.pet (is this for both the Atom and Cerelon?)

Looks good to me. But I have a problem with the fan control. I am trying to run the fan speed at 60 and the gui reports this a 60 but

Code:
cat /proc/eee/fan_speed


always give 40 as the answer.

BTW I have installed the other required eee specials i.e.
xbacklight-1.1
eee-0.2-k2.6.30.5
acpid-1.0.10-Eee

Rgds Mike

EDIT: just tried echo 150 > /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm1 and that is reflected when I do cat /proc/eee/fan_speed giving 58

another test 200 gives 78
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 20:06    Post_subject:  

Testers,

I've made a minor update to the post install script which detects the specific case of a 701SD. For that case the Atom GUI is installed. For all other Celerons the Celeron gui is installed. For all Atoms the Atom gui is installed.

For newcomers, the Celeron gui has 2 radio buttons and the Atom gui has 3 radio buttons.

This will overwrite V's 0.1 to 0.5, but it is good practice to uninstall old versions.

Cheers and thanks.
eee-cpucontrol-0.6.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  eee-cpucontrol-0.6.pet 
Filesize  12.86 KB 
Downloaded  878 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1293
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 14:35    Post_subject:  

@01micko

works as expected with 2 buttons Very Happy

@ mawebb88

changing fan speed takes only effect by rebooting or temp goes lower than min. temp in GUI than higher. Maybe that's the problem?

Btw. if I change the value in /proc/eee/fanspeed and save, than fan speed changes directly. Maybe such a command can be integrated in the GUI? Just a thought without much knowledge Embarassed

~ Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 17:48    Post_subject:  

So I wasted several hours trying to get the eee module working on my custom kernel before I tried your module with the standard kernel. Turns out, the eee module just doesn't work on the 1005ha and possibly other 10inch eees. You may want to consider using a newer module called asus_eee that has some error checking and doesn't crash the kernel when calls to i2c fail.

Read about the problem here: http://forum.eeebuntu.org/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=3391&start=0
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 18:07    Post_subject: Eee Atom CPU control - testing  

rhadon wrote:
@01micko

works as expected with 2 buttons Very Happy

@ mawebb88

changing fan speed takes only effect by rebooting or temp goes lower than min. temp in GUI than higher. Maybe that's the problem?

Could be but using echo x /sys/class/hwmon/pmw1 changes the speed immediately. Mike

Btw. if I change the value in /proc/eee/fanspeed and save, than fan speed changes directly. Maybe such a command can be integrated in the GUI? Just a thought without much knowledge Embarassed

~ Rolf
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1293
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 13 Oct 2009, 03:24    Post_subject:  

mawebb88 wrote:
but using echo x /sys/class/hwmon/pmw1 changes the speed immediately. Mike
Yes, but as you told, you doesn't get the same values in /proc/eee/fan_speed (should be between 0-100).
~ Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 26 Oct 2009, 22:39    Post_subject:  

As a postscript to this exercise, it's worth explaining the final outcome:

- Celeron-based Eee models, except the 701SD, use the third party eee kernel module to control CPU speed and fan speed.

- Atom-based Eee models plus the 701SD use the standard eeepc-laptop kernel module to control the CPU speed.
The eee module is still used to control fan speed ... but only because Dougal's fan control daemon was written that way.
Since fan control on Atom-based models doesn't actually require the eee module, it would be an elegant solution to rewrite Dougal's fan control daemon in this situation to use these mechanisms (enabled by the eeepc-laptop module) instead:
to set manual fan speed control
Code:
echo 1 > /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm1_enable

to adjust fan speed control
Code:
echo x > /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm1

where x is a value between 0 (fan off) to 255 (full speed, 12V).
to read CPU temperature
Code:
cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/TZ00/temperature
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 27 Oct 2009, 03:29    Post_subject:  

Hmmmm,

I guess I could have a go at that, looking for a little side project so I will start work soon.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 11:03    Post_subject:  

I was doing a little research because I'm having problems with this stuff on Puppeee. I found a problem with your normalclock script.

Code:

#! /bin/sh
echo 95 24 1 > /proc/eee/fsb
echo 90 24 1 > /proc/eee/fsb
echo 85 24 1 > /proc/eee/fsb
echo 80 24 1 > /proc/eee/fsb
echo 75 24 1 > /proc/eee/fsb
echo 70 24 1 > /proc/eee/fsb
echo "FSB to 70MHz"


It needs one more line at the end:

Code:

#! /bin/sh
echo 95 24 1 > /proc/eee/fsb
echo 90 24 1 > /proc/eee/fsb
echo 85 24 1 > /proc/eee/fsb
echo 80 24 1 > /proc/eee/fsb
echo 75 24 1 > /proc/eee/fsb
echo 70 24 1 > /proc/eee/fsb
echo 70 24 0 > /proc/eee/fsb
echo "FSB to 70MHz"


Otherwise it never drops the voltage back to the powersaving level that the EEE boots up with, and the computer stays lap-cooking hot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Fri 05 Feb 2010, 18:19    Post_subject: Best Laptop for Puppy  

If you were buying a new laptop what processor works best with Puppy/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 05 Feb 2010, 20:03    Post_subject:  

Are you asking about the Eee in particular, or in general? I'm going to assume the former.

If you are shopping for an Eee, you'll find Atom processors have a lot more in the way of power-saving features. Celerons don't have frequency scaling, and it's hit or miss whether changing the front side bus speed will cause crashes or not.

What you should also be asking, is which graphics card and network card works best on Puppy.

Any Eee 10 inches or smaller can use the i915 graphics driver which works fine on Puppy unless you want OpenGL acceleration - the default Xorg_Full package for 4.3.1 crashes on the Eee. I've fixed it in Puppeee however, by upgrading Mesa to a newer version.

What you really want to avoid is the 1101HA with the Intel GMA500 (Poulso) chip. From what I read getting that card to work at all on Linux takes serious dedication. Some of the very latest models of Eee have Nvidia or Ati graphics cards, which I'm unsure how well supported they are. But as a general rule, you should avoid buying hardware that's too new, or you will have to wait for the Linux kernel to catch up which means it could take many months before Linux distros will work correctly out of the box.

About network cards.

Celeron-based Eees (except the 701SD) use the ath5k driver. This driver works well on Puppy. The 701SD needs the rtl8187se driver, which also works, except it may crash if you use the hotkey to toggle the wireless. I don't think it had this problem on kernel 2.6.30, but it does on 2.6.31.

Most Atom-based Eees use either the ath9k or the rt2860sta driver. Ath9k is a more stable and problem-free driver, though rt2860sta works fairly well on kernel 2.6.31. Rt2860sta has problems under 2.6.30, especially with wpa connections.

If you're confused by now, consult this handy chart.
http://wiki.debian.org/DebianEeePC/Models

If you want a specific recommendation, I'd say go with an 1005HA. They're very popular, well designed, and they've been out for long enough to be have good Linux support. It does need a driver fix for the ethernet on kernel 2.6.30, but the proprietary driver does work correctly.

If you're in the US, don't buy from BestBuy, as the ones they sell have special substandard batteries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Fri 05 Feb 2010, 20:28    Post_subject: Confused  

jemimah wrote:
Are you asking about the Eee in particular, or in general? I'm going to assume the former.


Hi Jeremiah:

I was asked to recommend and set up puppy on a laptop by a doctor I sell insurance to . He is only interested in the net so puppy will take care of all his needs. I am not sure what you mean by the numbers {1005HA.} you recommended but I will look at the list and choose one from there. The oldest machine still on the market will be plenty fast for his purposes.
It would be nice if it was wireless friendly .
It has been a long time since I shopped for laptops and assume the eees are the notebook machines. If he wants a bigger laptop do you still recommend the atom processor? I always have preferred AMD over Intel.

Thanks

I
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0914s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]