HanSamBen-a derivative of Edupup with Gcompris 8.4- Alpha V2

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
sidders
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 18:47
Location: Bolton, uk

#261 Post by sidders »

@ Scribbles. I am working on this. I have come across a couple of posts, here is one for example:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 0b3b19a9bc

I need to re-read the post and a couple more times.

@ all. Doing some more testing. Just figured out a postinstall script that will grep the pupstate and if everything points to a full install, mount the CD and copy the SFS's to / then kick off the sfsinstaller with icons and bells. Thats it. If the tests go ok, should i go to Pre-release Or just release it and see what happens. I could start a new thread heralding the release, so people do not have to wade through me basically blogging :lol:

Edit. Hoping to recriut some one local to help out. He needs something to do.

@Technosaurus. I looked into Scratch, but the linux version doesnt close, otherwise its fine, so i opted for Etoys. I will look again at Scratch, as i know the missus is teaching it at her school.

sidders
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 18:47
Location: Bolton, uk

#262 Post by sidders »

SFS install\load. I have stopped the bootmanager popup after 1st reboot, instead i will put a menu entry in to install\load SFS addon's (not worled out the exact wording. This will kick off a script

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
 grep_output=`grep PUPMODE= /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE`
if [ "$grep_output" == "PUPMODE=12" ]; then  #Mount the cd and copy over the SFS's
#Mount the Live CD on /mnt/cdrom and quit if not found
CDROM="cdrom"
CDLIST=`probedisk | grep cdrom | cut -c 1-8`  
CDFOUND=0
for CD in $CDLIST ; do
  mount -t iso9660 $CD /mnt/$CDROM 2> /dev/null
  if [ $? = 0 ]; then
    CDFOUND=1
    break
  fi
done
if [ $CDFOUND = 0 ]; then
  echo
   xmessage "" -bg "#FFFF00" -center -fn "10x20" -title "SFS Installation " " Please ensure the Live CD is inserted and re run 
SFS Installer.  Click Okay to exit" &
  exit
fi
rsync -a  --exclude='hsb_412.sfs' /mnt/$CDROM/ /
cd /usr/bin
umount -t iso9660
cd /usr/local/SFS_Installer/
./SFSINSTALLER
else
bootmanager extrasfs quiet
fi
Updated code afer looking at rcrsn51's scripts. Its a lot prettier.
Last edited by sidders on Tue 13 Oct 2009, 21:20, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jamalexa
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed 18 Jul 2007, 21:27
Location: Philadelphia, PA. United States

#263 Post by jamalexa »

sidders wrote:jamalexa . I took my time, but i have tested gcompris on a pc with 64mb ram and it ran ok.

The set up is CPU 600mhz, 64mb ram and 128 swap. Full install.

Can you run gcompris from terminal and see if it throws up any errors.
I just got a chance to go to our other site. I ran gcompris from terminal and got this error message - GCompris wont start because the lock file is less than 30 seconds old.

sidders
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 18:47
Location: Bolton, uk

#264 Post by sidders »

I have had that message before. The lock file is in /root/.gcompris (i think). It was a while ago. I will have a look later and test.

sidders
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 18:47
Location: Bolton, uk

#265 Post by sidders »

jamalexa. Gcompris lock.
Go to /root/.config/.gcompris/ and remove the file gcompris.lock.

The only way i could replicate the problem was to fire up gcompris, shut it down and immediately start it again. Gcompris recreated the lock file and started ok .

I have looked in both the lock files (one i moved and the newly created one) and they had a different string if that is relevant to anybody.

User avatar
jamalexa
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed 18 Jul 2007, 21:27
Location: Philadelphia, PA. United States

#266 Post by jamalexa »

Thanks, Gcompris works. Now I'll work on the Coins game. Do I rename the file and replace it or just drag and drop the extracted file?

sidders
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 18:47
Location: Bolton, uk

#267 Post by sidders »

Sorry for not getting back sooner. We've had chicken pox, swiftly followed by flu, every ones on the mend now though.

Just had a look at the US coins and its not the kit. My fault. I will make a pet of them and re load them. :oops:

The server www.ecomoney,eu that is hosting some of the files is down and it looks like it could be for some time yet.

I am close to pre-release, so will make alternative arrangements.

sidders
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 18:47
Location: Bolton, uk

#268 Post by sidders »

Just rebuilt the whole thing again using the Gcompris from LJFR. There are more stamps for tuxpaint. Put French and Spanish voices in Gcompris. Left out Stickers. Its swollen to 222mb. I cant see this being a major problem but if you think it is i can trim. The docs are done and in Menu- Help.

Just got to test and finish the initial doc on booting from CD, then its going to release. I've lost 3 weeks due to chicken pox, flu and a busted machine already.

A retro version is following and completed a kiosk version based on Lite. Although you can still right click if using a laptop synaptic touch pad.

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#269 Post by technosaurus »

Did anything require gstreamer other than gcompris? If not, that should save a bit of space.
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

sidders
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 18:47
Location: Bolton, uk

#270 Post by sidders »

LJFR has managed to compile Gcompris without Gstreamer, so Gstreamer isnt there at all. This is part of the PM i recieved
-Gstreamer is used in gcompris only from the soundutil part to build a sound pipe, so it seems, no need for most of gst plugins, I just excluded those requiring extra dependencies with ./configure options, you could achieve a smaller size by excluding more plugins (all the video/visualization/network ones for example).
now you don't need: libvisual, libtheora, gconf, esound, libtag, aalib, ..

ljfr
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu 23 Apr 2009, 08:35

No need for gstreamer

#271 Post by ljfr »

Hi sidders,

this PM was related to gcompris version 8.4.12, which still needed gstreamer but I had excluded some plugins and extras dependencies.

For version 8.4.13, there is no need for gstreamer at all, the sound is handled by SDL, I posted here the list of required dependencies/packages:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 0&start=90

note for the last tuxpaint, I have not compiled the configuration module yet...

regards,

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#272 Post by technosaurus »

Note for developers: I will post this here first since a lot of python is used in HSB. When you package a python program for use in a read only SFS or installation as a pet (possibly a RAM drive).... the first time the <whatever>.py is run, it will create .pyc and/or .pyo files (which are compiled bytecode and optimized bytecode respectively) This leads to filling up the RAM drive pretty quickly.

Fortunately you can package the python programs with only the .pyo or .pyc instead of the .py files - Python will find and use them. The only nuance is that you will have to change the startup script to point to the .pyc or .pyo or just leave that one .py (to comply with gpl you should also make the sources "available")

Oh yeah ... and it will start faster too.
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

ljfr
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu 23 Apr 2009, 08:35

packages with pyc and pyo files

#273 Post by ljfr »

Hi, technosaurus, you're right, I should package with pyc and pyo files,
I uploaded amended packages at:
http://ljfr2.perso.neuf.fr/pet_packages-4/general/

for those who installed some Pets I packaged, here is a small script that scan your puppy and if any of this pet:
Python-2.5.4-i486, pysqlite-2.5.5-i486, pygtk-2.12.0-i486, pygobject-2.20.0-i486, pygame-1.8.1-i486, pycairo-1.6.4-i486, numpy-1.3.0-i486, SQLAlchemy-0.5.6-i486, gcompris-8.4.13-i486, pysycache-3.1.0-i486, childsplay-1.4.0-i486
is installed and will compiled pyc, pyo and update the /root/.packages/file for a clean uninstall.

NB:by the way it seems that uninstalling a pets doesn't erase some empty folders.

regards,
Attachments
compilepython.tar.gz
(1.09 KiB) Downloaded 517 times

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#274 Post by technosaurus »

@ljfr - You really only need one or the other of pyc or pyo (and then you can remove the corresponding .py) - typically .pyo are a bit smaller because they are basically the .pyc with some debugging features removed (not usually that much of a difference at the moment) For pets while using a pupsave file its not too big of a deal, but when remastering a puplet you should notice a significant speed boost especially if you want to keep the kids from messing things up by booting with pfix=ram
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

ljfr
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu 23 Apr 2009, 08:35

pyo and pyc

#275 Post by ljfr »

@technosaurus, I agree, if it was just for me I would just use pyc files unless I want to change few things in the code, then would get py files.

For packaging, looking around:
http://www.debian.org/doc/packaging-man ... kages.html
http://en.opensuse.org/Packaging/Python
they go for .py + .pyc + .pyo (in the package directly or with a post install script).

I still want to keep py files for transparency, If size really matters, you can easily tweak the previous script to erase py or pyo or pyc, and modify the /root/.packages/files accordingly...or repackage the pet without them before installing. Your call.

NB: On the Python-2.5.4 packages the difference between py files only and (py + pyc + pyo) files is 6M compressed, 25M uncompressed.
[numpy and SQLAlchemy ~ 1M compressed, for other packages, differences are really small].

sidders
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 18:47
Location: Bolton, uk

#276 Post by sidders »

Could i ask if the 'test' folder in Python is important?. I removed it (when looking to trim some fat) and all seems to be well with gcompris etc.
Or was that a really stupid idea :oops:

I ran the script with a new save file. Could i manually remove the py files from the origonal sfs and copy the new pyc and py files from the save file and recreate the sfs. Basically remastering manually.

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#277 Post by technosaurus »

Yep, That is basically what I did with the last kiosk version that I respun.
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

sidders
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 18:47
Location: Bolton, uk

#278 Post by sidders »

Started a new thread with a pre-release
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=49124

Post Reply