Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 20:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Eee Atom CPU control - testing
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 10 [137 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 14:09    Post subject:  

eeecontrol .3 now works for me. I think it would be helpful to somehow specify that this isn't changing the cpu frequency scaling algorithm but rather the fsb speed. Setting it to powersave seems to save about a Watt on my machine. Might be nice to have the tool change both the fsb and the scaling algorithm in the same window.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 16:40    Post subject:  

rhadon wrote:


Edit: Mick, if you have solved your problem and you can laugh again: Hey, my CPU runs faster than yours Laughing


Laughing a whole 2.49MHz! But that just may be the key I need Rolf. Because they are different I can differentiate. Thankyou

Jemimah, thanks for your report.

I'm not out of the woods yet though. Celeron owners, especially 700, 701 owners: I need your output from
Code:
#cat /proc/eee/fsb
and
Code:
#cat /proc/cpuinfo

The first command must be run immediately after you have booted

Going by Rolf's results there maybe 4 cases to cater for, if not more.

(Atom, Celeron in Eee 900, 701, 701SD)

Thanks in anticipation.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Wed 07 Oct 2009, 18:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1291
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 17:36    Post subject:  

Very Happy MHz Mick, Millions of Hz Very Happy
Although I write this with a big smile I don't mean it serious. Wink

~ Rollf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 18:00    Post subject:  

Atom testers,

On the first page of this thread mawebb88 and hokal reported that their Atoms, without any outside help, ie before we started playing with commands to alter the fsb, that their result of running "cat /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/cpufv" were "768". From that, we deduce that the Atoms start from boot in Performance mode. I'd like to see some tests after the gui is installed and the fsb altered to see if the Atoms still boot in Performance mode by default . I suspect this will be the case.

Help please Smile

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 18:02    Post subject:  

rhadon wrote:
Very Happy MHz Mick, Millions of Hz Very Happy
Although I write this with a big smile I don't mean it serious. Wink

~ Rollf


Thanks Rolf! Embarassed Laughing (edited post)

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 18:32    Post subject:  

Made a Eee-widget for Pwidgets. See http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=348837#348837

Cheers
eee-widget.png
 Description   
 Filesize   29.07 KB
 Viewed   887 Time(s)

eee-widget.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 19:30    Post subject:  

dawnsboy wrote:
The chipset in the Eeepc 701SD is in fact the Intel Celeron M 353. The cpu on these models defaults to 900MHz.

Thanks dawnsboy,
That explain's why rhadon's Eee 900 (Celeron M 353) is at 900 MHz at bootup.

dawnsboy wrote:
Users on the forum at eeeuser.com report that they have been unsuccessful in overclocking it with the exception of those who have tried the Super Hybrid Engine (701SD apparently came with it installed) report being able to adjust clock speeds to 630MHz (underclock), 900MHz (default) and 960MHz (overclock).

OK, this confirms that the new 353-Celerons definitely should not be using the "/proc/eee/fsb" method for CPU FSB control.
They should be using the "/sys/devices/platform/eeepc/cpufv" method which is, in fact, SHE (Super Hybrid Engine) control.

Just to be clear here:
rhadon's Eee 900 and 01micko's Eee 701SD both have the new "353"-Celeron.
In theory, the Atom gui is the correct one for them. It uses the /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/cpufv
file for FSB speed.

The question remains: how do we differentiate between the two Celerons to help install the correct gui?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 19:31    Post subject:  

... OK, I just Googled for the output of "cat /proc/cpuinfo" of an Eee 700 (with older Celeron).
We already know that "model name" is the same as the faster Celeron
... but I see a difference:
"stepping : 6"
whereas the 353-Celeron has "stepping : 8"

Of course, Puppy users with older Celerons need to confirm this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 19:45    Post subject:  

As soon as we can confirm the output from
Code:
#cat /proc/cpuinfo
for an older Celeron a new gui will be ready.

A little strange the 2.49MHZ difference between rhadon's and my results but I guess voltages would be slightly different, different draws of current for different hardware and different power supplies.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 19:46    Post subject:  

prehistoric wrote:
The fan control script complains that the proc/eee directory does not exist.

First check that the eee module is installed -
Code:
modinfo eee

If you see no result, go and install eee-0.2-k2.6.30.5.pet again. Be aware that I revised this dotpet on Oct 4 to include the depmod-FULL command at post-installation.

If/when you do see the eee module reported, next check that it's loaded -
Code:
lsmod

If it's not loaded, go ahead and do so -
Code:
modprobe eee

... but check /etc/rc.d/rc.local to see a "modprobe eee" entry, because all gui dotpets in this thread should create that line. It ensures that the eee module loads at bootup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 21:31    Post subject:  

Hmmm..

Did some benchmarking ...

Doesn't look like there is any change..

I'm going to take a look inside Xandros (yuk!) to look for any clues
benchmarkr-results.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  benchmarkr-results.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.55 KB 
Downloaded  240 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dawnsboy


Joined: 03 Dec 2008
Posts: 248
Location: Indiana - Republic of New Canada

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 21:49    Post subject:  

Quote:
Doesn't look like there is any change..


And there will not be a change if you are using an Eeepc 701 SD. Unlike its 701 series counterparts the 701SD is set at 900MHz by default.However you should find the Super Hybrid Engine on the default Xandros that should allow you to underclock to 630MHz, return to the default 900MHz or overclock to 960MHz.

Look for my post near the bottom of the page at this link: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=28443&start=30 for more on this subject. Hopefully it will be of some help to you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 08 Oct 2009, 03:00    Post subject:  

Thanks dawnsboy,

Read all the links you pointed me too and it certainly seems the only way to control the cpu freq on the 701SD is with SHE, (which looks like is owned by ASUS and probably closed source). Sad

The p4-clockmod I suppose then is the stumbling block here? Xandros has a very old kernel, 2.6.1 but SHE does seem to work, no difference from performance to super-performance but powersaving shows a notable difference, however Puppy is faster overall. (No surprise there)

Cheers
xandros-bench.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xandros-bench.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.69 KB 
Downloaded  228 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 08 Oct 2009, 04:12    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
it certainly seems the only way to control the cpu freq on the 701SD is with SHE, (which looks like is owned by ASUS and probably closed source).

No no.
The eeepc-laptop kernel module fully supports the SHE function, and exposes it as /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/cpufv

I started this forum thread with the express purpose of testing this new form of CPU FSB control.

In fact, with earlier versions of the eeepc-laptop module the FSB configuration file was called "she". From kernel 2.6.30 onward it's now called "cpufv".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 08 Oct 2009, 04:19    Post subject:  

Hmmm..... No difference with the benchmark though but it clearly works in xandros. Perplexing. Only probable answer is incompatibility with the p4-clockmod as reported by dawnsboy.

Can you or anyone recommend a good open source cpu benchmarking tool? There are a few, but I don't know where to start.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 10 [137 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1288s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0556s) ][ GZIP on ]