Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 09:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
I cannot, for the love of me, figure out how to install wbar
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
ObviousCat

Joined: 05 Oct 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 05 Oct 2009, 23:10    Post_subject:  I cannot, for the love of me, figure out how to install wbar  

Somehow I managed to get Firefox 3.5.3 & Java installed with relative ease, but I can't figure out wbar. First off, all the threads on installing it might as well be written in Russian because I can't understand what the hell any of them are talking about. Secondly, I can't find where to even download it!

Can someone either give me a non-dead link to a PET file for installing wbar, or just a tar file along with installation instructions? Thanks a bunch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1467
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 06 Oct 2009, 08:46    Post_subject:  

Hello ObviousCat

Welcome to the kennels.

ObviousCat wrote:
...First off, all the threads on installing it might as well be written in Russian because I can't understand what the hell any of them are talking about. Secondly, I can't find where to even download it!

It isn't that difficult really.
Download BOTH of these .pets:
imlib2-1.4.0.pet
patched-wbar-1.3.3.pet
Then install them simply by single clicking on them (Left mouse button),
install imlib2-1.4.0.pet first, then patched-wbar-1.3.3.pet

When installing the second .pet, a browser window will open Wbar Instructions & Tips,
you will need to close this window to allow the install to continue.
You can open that window again at any time by navigating to: /usr/doc/wbar/Wbar_Install_Readme.html,
there are a couple of other files to read in the same directory.

When the install of both .pets is complete, you will need to edit this file: /root/.xinitrc
please note that this is a hidden file so you need to click on the "Eye" icon in ROX-Filer.
Right click on /root/.xinitrc and select: Open As Text,
now scroll to the bottom of the file and find the part that looks something like this:
Code:

#exec $CURRENTWM
#v2.11 GuestToo suggested this improvement...
which $CURRENTWM && exec $CURRENTWM
[ -x $CURRENTWM ] && exec $CURRENTWM
exec jwm

###END###

You now need to add your wbar "Launch Command" Immediately above where it say's: #exec $CURRENTWM

Exactly what command you enter here will depend how you want to run your wbar,
i will give you an example for you to start with, just change things to suit your own needs. (refer to the files in /usr/doc/wbar)

Code:

# Start wbar application launcher
sleep 3 && wbar -above-desk -jumpf 1 -pos bottom -offset 30 -nanim 3 -zoomf 1.8 -idist 10 -isize 38 -bpress -balfa 0 -falfa 100 &

Note that this is for running the wbar at the BOTTOM of the screen, if you want it at the top,
change -pos bottom to -pos top
The -offset 30 is the distance (in pixels)
that the wbar will be offset from either the top or bottom of the screen.
You may also need to increase the sleep period from 3 seconds,
that is more trial & error until you find what works.


So now the bottom of your /root/.xinitrc file
will look like this:
Code:

# Start wbar application launcher
sleep 3 && wbar -above-desk -jumpf 1 -pos bottom -offset 30 -nanim 3 -zoomf 1.8 -idist 10 -isize 38 -bpress -balfa 0 -falfa 100 &

#exec $CURRENTWM
#v2.11 GuestToo suggested this improvement...
which $CURRENTWM && exec $CURRENTWM
[ -x $CURRENTWM ] && exec $CURRENTWM
exec jwm

###END###

The reason we put this "Launch Command" in this file, is so that wbar gets launched automatically at each bootup.


The actual wbar configuration file is at: /root/.wbar (another hidden file),
again right click and select: Open As Text

At the top you will see this block
Code:

#i: /usr/share/wbar/wbar.icons/osxbarback.png
#c:
#t: /usr/share/wbar/wbar.icons/Starcraft Normal.ttf/12

you can ignore that, as i left it there to quickly change font.

It is the rest of the file down that is important.
This first block:
Code:

i: /usr/share/wbar/wbar.icons/osxbarback.png
c:
t: /usr/share/wbar/wbar.icons/Creampuff.ttf/16

is where you set the wbar background image
and font & font size.

I included 3 fonts in this directory: /usr/share/wbar/wbar.icons
Starcraft Normal.ttf
Creampuff.ttf
VeraBd.ttf

But you can use whatever font you desire.
That directory also contains the icons, but you can use any icons you like.

All of the other blocks below that one are for each launcher on the wbar,
they all have the same configuration
Code:

i:/usr/share/wbar/wbar.icons/kennel.png
c:/usr/local/bin/rox
t:Home

i: = the path to the icon to be used.
c: = the command to run, or path to executable file.
t: = the text that is displayed beneath the icon

    EDIT 1:
    If you happen to be running wine,
    you can launch windows apps with something like the following:
    Code:

    i: /usr/share/wbar/wbar.icons/good/photogenetics.png
    c: wine "/root/Wine/drive_c/Program Files/PhotoGenetics/PhotoGenetics.exe"
    t: PhotGen

    The important part is to surround the path to the .exe file with double quotes.

So now all that is left, is to get the wbar fired up,
you need to restart the X server (from the Shutdown section in the Menu)

Please note:

Any changes that you make to the configuration file,
will require you to restart the X server in order to see those changes.

    EDIT 2:
    If you are using JWM (default in Puppy) then the wbar may open in a window (see attached image)
    you will notice this window in the taskbar.
    That is not the behaviour that you want, so to stop it doing this you need to edit the /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc file. (Thanks to Kal for the reminder)

    Right click on that file and select: Open As Text
    Scroll down a bit, and you will see this lot (or something very similar)

    Code:

    <Group>
    <Class>Gaim</Class>
    <Option>sticky</Option>
    </Group>

    <Group>
    <Class>xmms</Class>
    <Option>icon:xmms.xpm</Option>
    </Group>

    <Group>
    <Class>absvolume</Class>
    <Name>absvolume</Name>
    <Option>nolist</Option>
    </Group>

    <Group>
    <Name>xmessage</Name>
    <!-- <Option>icon:info16.xpm</Option> -->
    <Option>notitle</Option>
    <Option>nolist</Option>
    </Group>


    Copy and Paste this:

    Code:

    <Group>
    <Class>wbar</Class>
    <Name>wbar</Name>
    <Option>nolist</Option>
    </Group>


    after the last one in the block shown above.
    Save your changes then open a Console/Terminal
    and enter the following command:
    Code:
    fixmenus

    Some of the newer Puppies have a Menu entry for fixmenus
    if yours does, just use that instead of the above command.

    Now Restart X server, from the Menu: Shutdown > Restart X server

    wbar should now start without being in a window.

Hope this helps
CatDude
.
wbar-on-430.png
 Description   
 Filesize   56.66 KB
 Viewed   758 Time(s)

wbar-on-430.png


_________________


Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
fsabatino

Joined: 23 Sep 2009
Posts: 46
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

PostPosted: Tue 06 Oct 2009, 14:41    Post_subject:  

This is so clear I could almost weep!
Thanks for this!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1467
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 06 Oct 2009, 15:16    Post_subject:  

Hello fsabatino

fsabatino wrote:
This is so clear I could almost weep!

Please feel free Laughing

No seriously, i am glad that you find it easy to follow.
I have added an EDIT to the above, concerning wine apps.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 06 Oct 2009, 23:03    Post_subject:  

After finishing blubbering, started adding post to this wiki page Smile

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/WbarInstall

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sprangalang


Joined: 09 Sep 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri 09 Oct 2009, 12:57    Post_subject:  

Thanks for this great post, CatDude.
It made it so much easier, but I'm still struggling. Embarassed
I have done everything as noted, I am running Puppy 4.30 frugal, on a Pentium2 machine with 512ram, 5G HD.
I have a strange problem. When I edit .xinitrc to invoke wbar, the desktop comes up looking ok, but the mouse pointer remains an 'x', new windows come up without the top menu bar; cannot be moved, and no desktop menus appear.
I am able to edit out the 2 wbar lines in .xinitrc, and everything is ok again.
It is possible to run wbar in rxvt, but when wbar is called in .xinitrc, it seems that it breaks the JWM windows.
Any ideas?
Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1467
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 09 Oct 2009, 13:44    Post_subject:  

Hello sprangalang

sprangalang wrote:

I have a strange problem. When I edit .xinitrc to invoke wbar, the desktop comes up looking ok, but the mouse pointer remains an 'x', new windows come up without the top menu bar; cannot be moved, and no desktop menus appear.

That is indeed strange.
I can't say that i have ever experienced such myself,
have you tried increasing the sleep time from 3 seconds ? maybe that might help.
You may need to experiment with different sleep times until it works correctly.

CatDude
.

P.S
Please note that i have added another EDIT to my main post above.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sprangalang


Joined: 09 Sep 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 13:37    Post_subject:  

Hi CatDude,
Yes, I tried changing sleep, it had the same result. But, I found out it is possible to invoke the wbar by putting the same call in the startup folder, as a script. Wahoo, I figured out how to do that all by myself! The only disadvantage to that, that I can see, is that it has an entry in the bar, but I have that auto-hid anyway.
Thanks for you help, I am loving wbar, and have been playing with it. I wanted to keep a basic pup 4.30, because it runs so nice on this old lappy. This makes me happy! Smile
Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1467
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 13:47    Post_subject:  

Hello sprangalang

sprangalang wrote:

The only disadvantage to that, that I can see, is that it has an entry in the bar, but I have that auto-hid anyway.

See EDIT 2 in my first post above (i am assuming that you are using JWM)

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Kal

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 624
Location: California, High Desert

PostPosted: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 14:26    Post_subject:  

CatDude

This is just as a reminder:

IMPORTANT, ONLY EDIT /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc

If you have XDG running, anything you edit in /root/.jwmrc will be lost when fixmenus runs, in the newer Puppies.

Kal
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1467
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 15:02    Post_subject:  

Hello Kal

Kal wrote:
CatDude

This is just as a reminder:

IMPORTANT, ONLY EDIT /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc

If you have XDG running, anything you edit in /root/.jwmrc will be lost when fixmenus runs, in the newer Puppies.

Thanks, i forgot about that Rolling Eyes
anyways, i have edited the above post to reflect that IMPORTANT notice Laughing
Thanks again.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ObviousCat

Joined: 05 Oct 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 15 Oct 2009, 18:57    Post_subject:  

Thanks a TON, CatDude! Very Happy Now I'm off to the documentation to figure out how to get it to behave like the OSX/Win7 docs (i.e. minimizing/restoring windows to wbar instead of the taskbar)...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sullysat


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 364
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Thu 15 Oct 2009, 23:16    Post_subject:    

My special trick to installing wbar is to use Macpup.


Laughing

Sorry, couldn't resist
Sully

_________________
Puppy Files Mirror - http://www.wisdom-seekers.com/puppy.html
Classic Puppy Page - http://www.wisdom-seekers.com/puppy214x.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0981s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]