Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 02:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
HanSamBen-a derivative of Edupup with Gcompris 8.4- Alpha V2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 17 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5009
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 22:50    Post_subject:  

Uploaded a new pupin-edit, beta. 2.
It has a command MU gave me to refresh the desktop, read the post.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=343467#343467
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5009
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun 27 Sep 2009, 15:05    Post_subject:  

### Success !!! New ROX desktop icon manager app. is Beta 3.
I renamed it to: roxDTicon (it just makes more sense than pupin-edit).
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=46875
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sidders

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Bolton, uk

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 17:20    Post_subject:  

Worked out the disable right click (which was giving me sleepless nights)
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=345551#345551

Tried my little scripts with the sfs. You can only load one at a time. Going to study Sunburnts roxDTicon. Could a conf file be made in the sfs for the uttillity?. Just another idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5009
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 18:02    Post_subject:  

sidders; ecomoney asked almost the same thing.
roxDTicon should be part of the main Puppy distro. then all apps. can use it.
However that may not happen so it certainly could be included in every SFS file.

As I`ve stated, a Bash script in SFS files could to do the setup needed.
The SFS Manager would run the script after mounting and then again to cleanup.
The script could have an argument: "-m" for the mount, and "-u" to unmount.
That way it sets thing up and then cleans up after itself.
Desktop icons and menu items are several of the things it could do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sidders

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Bolton, uk

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 06:16    Post_subject:  

I see, put the script in the sfs.

SFS manager. Rather than dig about in initrd, could use something like JRB's load_sfs.pet, and tweak that to look for Surnburnt's roxDTicon.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=339559#339559
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5009
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 15:02    Post_subject:  

Yep... There`s any number of possibilities.
Like jrb, if you modded the Boot Manager, then it can call roxDTicons .

An SFS file will have to have roxDTicon in it, if it`s used by a Puppy that doesn`t have it.
So a script that runs roxDTicon ( and are both in the SFS file ),
that tells roxDTicon to make icons for the apps. in the SFS file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scrbbles

Joined: 30 Sep 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed 30 Sep 2009, 07:54    Post_subject: Saving settings
Sub_title: How do I save settings
 

I am a parent who has installed HanSamBen on an old laptop. I want to be able tto save settings, including network settings, as this will be occasionally shared with an 11 year old.

how can i force it to save settings?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sidders

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Bolton, uk

PostPosted: Wed 30 Sep 2009, 08:59    Post_subject:  

Hello Scribbles.

We're still working on the documentation and other things, however, when you first shut down, you should be asked to
Quote:
Save To File
. It is this file that will save your personal settings for the next time you start.

If you have saved to file, could you please give us some more details on how you run HSB e.g from a disc or installed to the laptop, and how you are connected to the network if the settings are not being saved.

Sidders
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scrbbles

Joined: 30 Sep 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed 30 Sep 2009, 12:23    Post_subject: Laptop loaded
Sub_title: Installed frugal on laptop
 

I'm not new to puppy. I just wanted something more accessible to a 3 year old. I am using the alpha version 3 full and I have two partitions on my laptop. In one partition is puppy 4.11 installed full. The first time I ran it, it asked where and when to save. Therefore, It has a save file. When I used the original hansamben alpha 2, it kept picking up the save file and messing things up. Now wih version 3 it doesn't pick he pup_save file. It also doesn't ask me to save it ever. It just says "session not saved".

This is not good for the laptop because I don't expect my 3 year old to understand how to set up the mouse, keyboard, and video at everyboot.

This is an old laptop (samsumg lifebook with touch screen) running a celeron with 96 M ram; and it runs pretty darn quickly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sidders

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Bolton, uk

PostPosted: Wed 30 Sep 2009, 12:41    Post_subject:  

My apologise, i saw it was your first post and assumed (wrongly).

V3 no longer has a pup_save, it has changed to hsb_save. Never-the-less it keeps saying session not saved, so i will fire it up and look into it.
Has anybody else had this problem?,.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sidders

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Bolton, uk

PostPosted: Thu 01 Oct 2009, 04:25    Post_subject:  

I have taken V3 down, tested, re hashed the sfs, tested and uploaded to the same location with the md5.

It still saves as HSB_save.

Sunburnt - Dont Panic. i will test your script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sidders

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Bolton, uk

PostPosted: Fri 02 Oct 2009, 05:25    Post_subject:  

I have been experimenting with the script in the SFS, and JRB's load_sfs.pet. It works great. The script is dropped into /root/my-aplications/bin. Added IF statement to tghe load_sfs to have a look, if theres one there execute it, which in turn will execute roxDTicon.
I did map out the icons first manually, so they are precoded to load in a line at the right hand side of the screen.
The V3 uploaded above has all the icons shuffled over to the left to accomodate this.[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scrbbles

Joined: 30 Sep 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 16:25    Post_subject: Still says "session not saved"
Sub_title: still a problem saving
 

Hi,

I downloaded your new version. checked the chk sum. It still doesnt let me save. could you possibly provide me with a blank hsb_save file so that i may begin saving the settings?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sidders

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Bolton, uk

PostPosted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 18:24    Post_subject:  

Scribbles- i'm thinking and testing on as many machines i can get my hands on (thats 3). i may post just the rc.shutdown. bear with me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sidders

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Bolton, uk

PostPosted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 14:39    Post_subject:  

Scribbles. I have downloaded and burnt the V3 iso and tested it and in all cases its ok. I then re-read your post
Quote:
In one partition is puppy 4.11 installed full. The first time I ran it, it asked where and when to save. Therefore, It has a save file. When I used the original hansamben alpha 2, it kept picking up the save file and messing things up.


If you are using a full install, then puppy doesnt have a pup_save. With 96mb ram i suspect this is the case, however it is still prompting for the keyboard and mouse. If you do have a pup_save from V2, rename it to hsb_save....2fs, V3 will pick this up.

All. Had a play with the load_sfs.pet. It works but there are problems after rebooting, the icons are still there but showing the exclamation mark and the sfs isnt reloaded. I did move them to another level from mount home to workaround the bootmanager. I'll move them back.

I'm getting a few live cd's out to the mother and toddler group i go to on Wednesdays, ive got access to lightscribe (mother in law) so i will tart it up with the bouncy tux.
I've also got a couple of old PC sprayed painted to jazz them up which will go to a willing volunteer for a week or so to eek out any bugs or flaws.

Rob- you really moving to Scaraborough.

Sully - What can i do with docs, i dont want to plough ahead and find youve already done it. Also the V3 i replaced is not configured to any certain mouse or resolution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0794s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0090s) ][ GZIP on ]