Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 08:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Eee Atom CPU control - testing
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 10 [137 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sun 27 Sep 2009, 18:10    Post subject:  

I don't have an eee, but am tinkering with a Mini-9 with N270 Atom. Found something yesterday, which may be of interest:

At http://cvs.fedora.redhat.com/viewvc/F-11/mingw32-gcc/

file: gcc-atom.patch

A patch to enable gcc to use -march=atom -mtune=atom

Written by a trio of Intel engineers in merrie olde Cathay.

There is a large hunk in the middle --maybe a thousand lines, text-search the patch on "i386.c" (in Geany) to find the beginning of the vast sea of green-- which will not apply cleanly to the gcc 4.4.1 source if you use the patch command. Perhaps because too big?

So I have applied this big hunk by hand-editing i386.c, in the gcc-4.4.1 source. Then, after deleting this large hunk from the patch, the rest of it applies cleanly to the rest of the gcc source.

Here is the gcc 4.4.1 i386.c, patched by hand, in case anyone with an Atom feels 90% as ambitious as yours truly. I plan to compile a kernel and OpenBox using the patched gcc, in the next few days, in my project to custom-fit the Mini-9 with a Puppy. If anyone comes up with meebo-less Skype for the Atom, please convey it to me.
i386.c.gz
Description  gcc 4.4.1 i386.c (not really gzip'ped, just added .gz so the forum would accept it) with the march=atom mtune=atom patch applied
gz

 Download 
Filename  i386.c.gz 
Filesize  948.79 KB 
Downloaded  318 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Sun 27 Sep 2009, 18:47    Post subject: Testing  

01micko wrote:
Ok, maybe we can snag some more testers with this little gui I knocked up such that you can change the status of your performance without going near the command line.
You will see the status in a splash screen about 5 seconds after clicking your choice. Start it from Menu>>System>>Eee Performance.

Warning: Only for eee pcs. Use at own risk. I have tested it but only on a Celeron, no unusual behaviour. If you Atom guys experience your cpu getting warm or something unusual in 'Top' shut down and uninstall the pet.

Cheers and many thanks tempestuous for your work with eee pcs.

Update: Version 0.1.1 shows a tool tip. eg:"Powersave should show a value of '770'". Only so we know what we are doing.

Of course you should familiarise yourself with the commands in the main post so you know what is happening.


Thanks for gui. It seems though not to work correctly for me on my eee901. Not sure exactly but it seems necessary to click another button to get the first one to change the green box value.

Rgds Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 27 Sep 2009, 20:56    Post subject:  

Well the question now becomes: do you want a manual CPU FSB control,
or do you want an automatic control, so that the CPU FSB goes into Powersave mode whenever the laptop is on batteries?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 27 Sep 2009, 20:57    Post subject:  

Now moving on to the fan.
I have already compiled the third-party "eee" kernel module for this purpose, and jakfish reports that it works OK, but it would probably be better to use the fan control functions of the new "eeepc-laptop" module now that Puppy 4.3 contains this module.

Some testing is needed -
normally the fan speed is controlled by bios. Running this command should set the fan control to manual -
Code:
echo 1 > /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm1_enable

To check success, run this command -
Code:
cat /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm1_enable

where the result should be "1" (manual control enabled)
but if the result is "0" then manual control is disabled, and the bios still has control.

Now that you're in manual mode, do this to set a fan speed -
Code:
echo x > /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm1

where x is a value between 0 (fan off) to 255 (full speed, 12V).

Of course, you need to keep an eye on temperature! I haven't been able to Google the exact information, but could users please look in /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0 and you should see some file relating to temperature.
EDIT: I think it's "temp1_input". If true, you would do this to check temperature
Code:
cat /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input


EDIT: I was just advised by PM of the correct location of the fan/temp state files.
I have edited the information above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 02:33    Post subject: My vote  

tempestuous wrote:
Well the question now becomes: do you want a manual CPU FSB control,
or do you want an automatic control, so that the CPU FSB goes into Powersave mode whenever the laptop is on batteries?


Automatic sounds good to me.

Rgds Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 02:49    Post subject: Re: My vote  

mawebb88 wrote:
tempestuous wrote:
Well the question now becomes: do you want a manual CPU FSB control,
or do you want an automatic control, so that the CPU FSB goes into Powersave mode whenever the laptop is on batteries?


Automatic sounds good to me.

Rgds Mike


Automatic with manual override Smile . What if you want 'Performance'?

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 03:03    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Now moving on to the fan.
I have already compiled the third-party "eee" kernel module for this purpose, and jakfish reports that it works OK, but it would probably be better to use the fan control functions of the new "eeepc-laptop" module now that Puppy 4.3 contains this module.

Some testing is needed -
normally the fan speed is controlled by bios. Running this command should set the fan control to manual -
Code:
echo 1 > /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm1_enable

To check success, run this command -
Code:
cat /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm1_enable

where the result should be "1" (manual control enabled)
but if the result is "0" then manual control is disabled, and the bios still has control.

Now that you're in manual mode, do this to set a fan speed -
Code:
echo x > /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm1

where x is a value between 0 (fan off) to 255 (full speed, 12V).

Of course, you need to keep an eye on temperature! I haven't been able to Google the exact information, but could users please look in /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0 and you should see some file relating to temperature.
EDIT: I think it's "temp1_input". If true, you would do this to check temperature
Code:
cat /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input


EDIT: I was just advised by PM of the correct location of the fan/temp state files.
I have edited the information above.


tempestuous,

Now, I understand 'jakfish' is using a Celeron... (from main post), so, I will test the appropriate commands and report.

mawebb88,

Perhaps I should have written in the 'tool tip' to wait 5 seconds. If you wait 5 seconds does it work?

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 03:16    Post subject: Fan tests  

tempestuous wrote:
Now moving on to the fan.
I have already compiled the third-party "eee" kernel module for this purpose, and jakfish reports that it works OK, but it would probably be better to use the fan control functions of the new "eeepc-laptop" module now that Puppy 4.3 contains this module.

Some testing is needed -
normally the fan speed is controlled by bios. Running this command should set the fan control to manual -
Code:
echo 1 > /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm1_enable

To check success, run this command -
Code:
cat /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm1_enable

where the result should be "1" (manual control enabled)
but if the result is "0" then manual control is disabled, and the bios still has control.

Mike: I get 1

Now that you're in manual mode, do this to set a fan speed -
Code:
echo x > /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm1

where x is a value between 0 (fan off) to 255 (full speed, 12V).

Mike: echo 255 > /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/pwm1 works. I can hear the fan roar! Tried 0 and yes the fan stops. Tried intermediate values 100 and 150 and both give the corresponding fan roar.

Of course, you need to keep an eye on temperature! I haven't been able to Google the exact information, but could users please look in /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0 and you should see some file relating to temperature.
EDIT: I think it's "temp1_input". If true, you would do this to check temperature
Code:
cat /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input


Mike: This returns "no such file or drectory" for me. ls

BTW /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0 is a syslink to /sys/devices/virtual/hwmon/hwmon0/

In there is:

fan1_input
name
power (a directory)
pwm1
pwm1_enable
subsystem (a syslink)
uevent

I tried to Pfind temp1_input but it did not find any files




EDIT: I was just advised by PM of the correct location of the fan/temp state files.
I have edited the information above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 07:17    Post subject:  

Hello tempestuous and all else.

The fan commands all work as expected for me on the 701sd. However, the temperature command does not work for me, I get the same result as Mike above.

I normally use conky/Pwidgets to monitor temperature but there is another command I found that returns the correct temperature.
Code:
#cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/TZ00/temperature

You will get output in the form:
Code:
temperature:              50 C

(um, no more gui building until this is complete!)

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
downsouth

Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 41
Location: S.E. Australia (from 1/1/10 to become 'ozsouth')

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 08:00    Post subject: Tests eeepc  

Sorry to be late - watching Geelong win again.
pup430-small 2.6.30.5 eeepc901 (atom 1.6):
changed mode from performance to normal; temp 51C using 01micko method; fan matching cpu mode automatically sounds good.
also changed fan to manual - speed 123 then 167 then 123 - could hear speed changes, but no temp change (51C).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 19:46    Post subject:  

Thanks for the results. For the eeepc-laptop module to read temperature it appears that the "lm-sensors" utilities might be needed ... or maybe the i2c-dev kernel module ... but it's getting too difficult.
Dougal's fan control script is based on the "eee" kernel module, so it makes sense to use that module, even though it needs to be installed separately.
I should have a package available shortly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 21:36    Post subject:  

Code:
# cat /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input
cat: /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input: No such file or directory
#
no fans.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   4.97 KB
 Viewed   1431 Time(s)

no fans.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1293
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 03:34    Post subject:  

Hi,

with EeePc900 (Celeron, 900Mhz), frugal, booting from sd-card:

fan works as expected, temperature depending from fan speed during test 49C -56C.

No luck with cpu speed.
Everytime the answer is 512, no matter the question was Smile (sorry meaning no matter I use 0, 1 or 2 from console or the GUI from 01micko. If I use GUI and choose "Normal", cursor freezes, can't kill X and must poweroff.

Although the thread is titled "Eee Atom CPU control - testing" I hope this is of interest.

~ Rolf
Edit: For displaying temperature I use the command from 01micko
Code:
cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/TZ00/temperature

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 04:46    Post subject:  

Code:
# cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/TZ00/temperature
temperature:             57 C
#

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 30 Sep 2009, 12:33    Post subject:  

Here is a rough gtkdialog gui for CPU/fan control. I intend that it will be launched by the Fn+F6 hotkey combination.
For testing purposes you can launch it from the terminal -
Code:
eeecontrol


Don't try the fan control button. It's not finished.

I'm not good at bash and gtkdialog. The gui correctly displays the CPU mode when launched, but I don't know how to refresh the gui when the mode is changed. It would be great if someone could refine the script - /usr/bin/eeecontrol
eee-atom-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   17.87 KB
 Viewed   1420 Time(s)

eee-atom-1.jpg

eeecontrol-test01.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  eeecontrol-test01.pet 
Filesize  987 Bytes 
Downloaded  302 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 10 [137 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1089s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]