Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 23:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Puppies 4.31.1 Puppy linux 4.30 Plus fixes and FireFox 3.5.3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 19 [279 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 09:32    Post subject:  Puppies 4.31.1 Puppy linux 4.30 Plus fixes and FireFox 3.5.3  

FIXES
Pcrypt cause JWM setting manager to stop working Install this and restart X-server and it should be fixed
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=22089

Well This is the second release, with tons of updates fixes.
-Fix a slew of Seamonkey/puppybrowser dead links
-Made a new Gui for the Printer wizard and fixed the printing issues we were having Smile
-Removed 4 Calculators and added Galculator
-Added pcrypt
-Fixed SQLite-Manager
-Added Transmission
-Added Streamtuner
-Added 1 small cursor theme (Restart X-Server to see the change)
-Added X-Invaders
-Updated viewnior-0.7
-Added/fixed a lot of MIME-types
-Added the New Updated Intel Drivers that were removed.
-Added a desktop Icon for music
-Added over 10 missing X-server bins
-Added a desktop Quick-Launch for Screenshot
I think most will be Happy with this Update Smile

4.30 Main 4 Series X-Server
http://www.puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/puppies430/puppies-431.1-main-Xserver.iso
http://www.puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/puppies430/main-sfs/

Retro X-Server from 2.14X/R
http://www.puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/puppies430/puppies-431.1.iso
http://www.puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/puppies430/retro-sfs/
Username:puppy
Password:linux

(you'll have to type it twice Smile )

_______________________________________________________________________

First Release notes
I removed Seamonkey and replaced it with Firefox 3.5.3 and the latest flash 10.
To have Firefox working perfectly there had to be some serious changes.
I added dbus, dbus-glib
I removed X-server and replaced it with a better version that uses less resources and enable Firefox to actually work without any scrollbar drag, Just like 2.14X/2.20.
I then hated the fact that gtk had that bug in it when you pressed the "Insert Key" it would crash Seamonkey/Firefox, So I ripped out GTK and replaced it with a newer version compiled with x-inputs that work. Now it doesn't crash, but if you press the insert key you'll get a long list of errors in the /tmp/xerrs.log , but it doesn't crash so thats good and those errors are erased when you restart x-server.
Next I had to edit the cups-shell so that it would work with Firefox.
Also I removed Top and replaced it wit Htop, the reason?? Its so much better and it shows both cpu's working in real time Smile
Then I replace nicoedit with his latest version that doesn't crash when you click Fullscreen.
I replaced all the system mimes with nicer looking ones.
I replaced all the 16x16 mini icons.
I added a couple of wallpapers
Then I noticed there was a serious bug with a Intel modules and read on Barry's blog that they were bad and had to be removed or you'll have a memory leak, So I tossed out those bad boys and remade the sfs without them. So If you need intel 536 or intel 537 your out of luck sorry Confused but as soon as newer ones are available I'll repackage this release and update it. So This release is actually 3 MB smaller Smile
Enjoy

I just noticed in the menu there's a few new apps that depend on gtkmoz/seamonkey and don't work, So I made some quick patches, just install the pet below and everything should work after.
small.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.89 KB
 Viewed   28097 Time(s)

small.jpg

full.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  full.jpg 
Filesize  121.42 KB 
Downloaded  1478 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile


Last edited by ttuuxxx on Tue 29 Sep 2009, 10:55; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 10:05    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx, fast as ever and usefull changes.

one question (forgive me for that): as you've changed a lot of base libs, did you got a new devx or a dev.pet?

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 10:15    Post subject:  

aragon wrote:
ttuuxxx, fast as ever and usefull changes.

one question (forgive me for that): as you've changed a lot of base libs, did you got a new devx or a dev.pet?

aragon


I'm working on the devx, I'll post it up tomorrow Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 10:48    Post subject:  

My gosh Ttuuxxx I was (jokingly) berating our developers over being slow about creating a wooflet. In one day we have our first puplet

A Firefox base with fixes! Great work. Cool
added wiki link
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Firefox

Your skills will be in heavy demand for 4.4CE
I hope you are up for it - first 4.3.1 though Smile

Gonna give the 4.3 small another bash - to see if config details are being saved.

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 10:58    Post subject:  

I just noticed the sqlite database manager, its a plugin for seamonkey, well I just found it for firefox also and made a package that will fix the menu it and it should work after its installed
ttuuxxx
SQLite-Manager-Firefox.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  SQLite-Manager-Firefox.pet 
Filesize  95.1 KB 
Downloaded  1334 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 11:00    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
My gosh Ttuuxxx I was (jokingly) berating our developers over being slow about creating a wooflet. In one day we have our first puplet

A Firefox base with fixes! Great work. Cool
added wiki link
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Firefox

Your skills will be in heavy demand for 4.4CE
I hope you are up for it - first 4.3.1 though Smile

Gonna give the 4.3 small another bash - to see if config details are being saved.


Don't forget about 2.20 sure its alpha1 state, but its 100% built with woof Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2593
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 11:16    Post subject:  

Already? o.O
ttuuxxx you rock man!

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1641
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 12:03    Post subject: CUPS Problem  

CUPS does not bring up the intro page...but appears to load in the drivers. When the printer drivers stop loading, the CUPS web Interface does not appear.

If you manually browse to localhost:631 you can go through the steps of adding an HP LaaserJet 1012 printer on USB,,,,,but at the last step there is and error:

error server-error-internal error.

This does not occur with other versions of 430.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 12:09    Post subject:  

thanks tlchost I'll have a look at it, damn thing shouldn't be acting like that, cups is always a bad curse.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1641
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 12:22    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
thanks tlchost I'll have a look at it, damn thing shouldn't be acting like that, cups is always a bad curse.
ttuuxxx


I'd appreciate it....your version boots up just fine on my ACER laptop...which is a show-stopper for a lot of puppies.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 12:33    Post subject:  

tlchost wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:
thanks tlchost I'll have a look at it, damn thing shouldn't be acting like that, cups is always a bad curse.
ttuuxxx


I'd appreciate it....your version boots up just fine on my ACER laptop...which is a show-stopper for a lot of puppies.

Thom


Make sure you install the first update pet I made, that gets cups working from the menu, under "new printer"
it works all the to then end and theres an error, when I read the log file located at /var/cups/log/error_log
It states
I [19/Sep/2009:02:27:13 +0800] Setting canon device-uri to "usb://Canon/iP5200" (was "file:/dev/null".)
I [19/Sep/2009:02:27:13 +0800] Setting canon printer-is-accepting-jobs to 1 (was 0.)
I [19/Sep/2009:02:27:13 +0800] Setting canon printer-state to 3 (was 5.)
E [19/Sep/2009:02:27:13 +0800] add_printer: Unable to copy PPD file from /usr/share/cups/model/gutenprint/5.2/stp-bjc-PIXMA-iP5200.5.2.ppd.gz to /etc/cups/ppd/canon.ppd - No such file or directory!
I [19/Sep/2009:02:27:45 +0800] Started "/usr/lib/cups/cgi-bin/admin.cgi" (pid=20746)
I [19/Sep/2009:02:27:45 +0800] Setting canon device-uri to "usb://Canon/iP5200" (was "usb://Canon/iP5200".)
I [19/Sep/2009:02:27:45 +0800] Setting canon printer-is-accepting-jobs to 1 (was 1.)
I [19/Sep/2009:02:27:45 +0800] Setting canon printer-state to 3 (was 3.)
E [19/Sep/2009:02:27:45 +0800] add_printer: Unable to copy PPD file from /usr/share/cups/model/gutenprint/5.2/stp-bjc-PIXMA-iP5200.5.2.ppd.gz to /etc/cups/ppd/canon.ppd - No such file or directory!
I [19/Sep/2009:02:27:50 +0800] Started "/usr/lib/cups/cgi-bin/admin.cgi" (pid=20780)
I [19/Sep/2009:02:27:50 +0800] Setting canon device-uri to "usb://Canon/iP5200" (was "usb://Canon/iP5200".)
I [19/Sep/2009:02:27:50 +0800] Setting canon printer-is-accepting-jobs to 1 (was 1.)
I [19/Sep/2009:02:27:50 +0800] Setting canon printer-state to 3 (was 3.)
E [19/Sep/2009:02:27:50 +0800] add_printer: Unable to copy PPD file from /usr/share/cups/model/gutenprint/5.2/stp-bjc-PIXMA-iP5200.5.2.ppd.gz to /etc/cups/ppd/canon.ppd - No such file or directory!

Basically it looks like you have to manually move the ppd file and it should work, I'll try to figure out why.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5446
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 12:52    Post subject:  

Downloading right now.

Busy,busy,busy........... Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 7197

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 13:07    Post subject:  

Quote:
I then hated the fact that gtk had that bug in it when you pressed the "Insert Key" it would crash Seamonkey/Firefox, So I ripped out GTK and replaced it with a newer version compiled with x-inputs that work.

Are you saying that this gtk2 bug has not actually been fixed in official puppy releases yet!!!...that would explain the all the continuation of 'why does my browser crash' reports.

The puppy scenerio..
1...Windows user here's about linux and is interested in puppy as it seems more aproachable than most.
2. downloads , burns cd and boots it up...
ooops...it won't boot...some give up.
3.. it boots but cannot browse the internet...dchpd setup bug perhaps
oops...some more give up.
4...Internet connected but the browser crashes frequently on their favourite site..
oops.. more give up
5...Persistant or lucky user gets past that and decides to intall it
oops...windows no longer boots...more give up and reinstall windows.

Forum is pretty quiet...must be holiday season.

At least ttuuxxx you know that problems do not go away by simply ignoring them.....nice work and general appreciation for continuing to try and get linux and puppy out there Very Happy

regards

mike

ps...I thought only commercial companies work to deadlines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 13:20    Post subject:  

Yes mike that "insert key" bug is in still in the main release, I mentioned it twice in 3.5.3 beta build but I guess it was too late for a major change, The worst part is that same gtk package is also used in woof, So its probably in upup as well, spreading to series 5 Shocked , lol
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1641
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 13:24    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:

Make sure you install the first update pet I made, that gets cups working from the menu, under "new printer"
.........
Basically it looks like you have to manually move the ppd file and it should work, I'll try to figure out why.


Hmmmm, I'm so technical, it's like handinga guy a chainsaw and he asks which end should he hold.

Which pet and copy the ppd from where to where?

thanks
Thom
typing is hard with all the bandages and blood
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 19 [279 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0844s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]