Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 15:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Can ping Google but SeaMonkey can't connect to Google
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
svenson81

Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 06:27    Post subject:  Can ping Google but SeaMonkey can't connect to Google  

Hi Folks,

I am a Linux Newbie, too. And I decided for Puppy Linux. Booting by usb stick everything is fine.

The problem is the connection to the internet.

I tried to connect to a live network.

1. Test eth0 -> Puppy was able to find a live network

2. Auto DHCP -> Network Configuration of eth0 SUCCESSFUL

3. look at my modem setup -> the PC is shown and listed as connected

4. make a ping test -> ping 209.85.129.147 (google) 0% package lost 44.103 average ping time

5. start sea monkey www.google.com -> Address not found

I tried to explain exactly what I've done. But where is my mistake? Why I can't connect to the internet?

Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3402
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 07:45    Post subject:  

Network Cable.

Ethernet 0

Auto DCHP

Network Configuration of Ethernet 0 Successful

Do you want to save this Configuration

Yes

Done

Then click... Enter .........twice in the Firewall.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vEoxRrXl8yw&feature=related

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
svenson81

Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 08:06    Post subject:  

I've done it exactly in that way. but no result. And there are some mysterious news.

A few minutes ago I tried another HD. (Puppy was booted from usb) And there it works.

Could there be a problem with the Hard Drive???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Oakems

Joined: 21 Mar 2009
Posts: 325

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 08:52    Post subject:  

I've had the same problem as you with a frugal install of Puppy. Internet was working fine, then stopped for no reason. Going through the setup wizard again did nothing, and the module seemed to be loading fine anyway, it was there when I checked with
lsmod at boot-up. But, the first time I tried to 'test eth0' it would always fail, on the second test, it would always find it, is this the same for you?

I couldn't find a solution to this so I just deleted my pup_save.file and started again.

What kind of install do you have? For me this problem happened with Puppy 421, how about you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 12:19    Post subject:  

Hi guys

Don't ask me why - timing, I think, but.....

If you go through the network wizard TWICE, 99% of the time, it will work,

....if you have standard hardware

Sometimes you have to manually insert the DNS server IP for your ISP, and sometimes the default gateway IP for a router, in advanced settings, for it to go on the net

HTH

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8178

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 13:29    Post subject:  

Common problem is /etc/resolv.conf (or where its linked to ??) not created properly
Should have something like
Code:
nameserver 192.168.1.1

for the router

A bug perhaps?

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
diogenes1

Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 14:22    Post subject:  

make sure if the router is WEP or any other code protection to enter the key
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 420

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 16:47    Post subject:  

If you can ping by IP address but not by name you have a DNS problem. Edit your /etc/resolv.conf to use 4.2.2.2 as a DNS server and see if that fixes. If so, you need to check the DNS configuration in your DHCP server.

I hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
omskates


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 257
Location: TriCities, WA

PostPosted: Thu 03 Sep 2009, 03:01    Post subject:  

jafadmin, you said "Edit your /etc/resolv.conf to use 4.2.2.2 as a DNS server and see if that fixes."

YES!!!!! Why did I not find this thread about 6 hours ago, thankyou!! I was at the same point and the DNS change has me up & running fine. Now to get the wireless.

Love PuppyLinux by the way on an old Lenovo thinkpad X40 w/ 256mb RAM it is snappy snappy where the UNR distro was painfully sluggish. All the pop up tutorials as you explore applications, downloading with pupzip, puppy packages etc really good, thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
svenson81

Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 06:44    Post subject: Thank you  

Sorry for so long time of no reply. But thanks a lot to jafadmin.

That was the missing point. Connection sucessful....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0593s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]