Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 04:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Can a poor man's install use a partition instead of pup001?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2006, 04:33    Post subject:  Can a poor man's install use a partition instead of pup001?  

I'm using a Poor Man's install now. Is it possible to have Pup use a partition for the data instead of the pup001 file?

Would I change the pup001blahblahblah line in my wingrub settings to something else maybe? What? How?

The reason is I found a patch for Winblows that let it read/write to a ext2/3 partiton as if it were a native Win format. Nice for cross-compatabilty, no?

Yes, I could use (and have been using) that Explore-ex2 utility on my pup file but that thing is Linux-to-Win only and a pain to use. I'd rather just use the above procedure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintlangton

Joined: 28 May 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2006, 07:51    Post subject:  

A option two install will do this for you. (enable puppy to use the partition for data)

Getting your existing 'poor mans' install to use the partition instead of pup001 should be possible. As I understand it the pup001 file 'pretends' to be a partition so It'd be a case of pointing puppy to the partition instead (and probably telling it to expect a partition instead of a pupfile)

To be honest I don't have much of an idea how to do this - it may be easy, may be darn tricky. The 'magic' is in the bootscripts, they reside in /etc/rc.d. Hope others can be of more use. Good Luck!

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kelewax


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Nigeria

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2006, 08:37    Post subject:  

Quote:
The reason is I found a patch for Winblows that let it read/write to a ext2/3 partiton as if it were a native Win format. Nice for cross-compatabilty, no?


Please could you post the link to where you got the winblows patch?
Also let us know if you were successful with the suggestion above.

_________________
Which of the favours of your Lord can you deny?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2006, 09:22    Post subject:  

My Recommendation?

Here is what I do.

I create a folder /mnt/home/data

I create a link to that under /root

Code:
cd ~
ln -s /mnt/home/data  data


I save all my data to the data folder.

/mnt/home corresponds to the partition where the pup001 file is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10937
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2006, 12:22    Post subject:  

kelewax wrote:
Quote:
The reason is I found a patch for Winblows that let it read/write to a ext2/3 partiton as if it were a native Win format. Nice for cross-compatabilty, no?


Please could you post the link to where you got the winblows patch?
Also let us know if you were successful with the suggestion above.

Yes, please do. It may be especially important since Microsoft's patent on the FAT filesystem has been upheld.

Does anyone know how long a software patent is good for? (Answer: 20 years in the U.S..)

Last edited by Flash on Wed 18 Jan 2006, 00:42; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2006, 16:45    Post subject: oops sorry  

kelewax wrote:
Please could you post the link to where you got the winblows patch?



[Slaps himself alongside the head] Of course. I should have done that automatically.

http://www.fs-driver.org/index.html

Also others here:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=windows+ext2&btnG=Google+Search

Don't know for sure if it works though. Untested on my system. Step one was to be get Pup to use a partiton for his data.

Yes, I know about a Type-2 install but was trying to stay away from that.
The Poor Man's using Wingrub is working so well and is so easy and fast.
-------------------------------------------------
Here's an idea.
I'll make that ext2 partitont and format it. Then have a Puppy script that:
1) Mounts it.
2) Copies all the files from pup001 into it.
3) Unmounts pup001
4) Mounts root on the partiiton instead of the pup001 file.

Then every time I run Pup I can just run a script that does steps 1,3 and 4.

I simply MUST learn Linuxspeak but until then would one of you experts
write those scripts for me please? Thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2006, 20:57    Post subject:  

Quote:
Would I change the pup001blahblahblah line in my wingrub settings to something else maybe?

maybe (or maybe not) all you have to do is leave out the PFILE=pup001-none-262144 part

i think Puppy will use the partition automatically instead of a pup001 file, if you don't set the PFILE parameter ... i remember 1 or 2 people who were getting a lot of individual files on their usb drives because they didn't have PFILE set

maybe something like this:

title = Puppy
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PHOME=hda1
initrd /image.gz

if you want to use hda1 for your Puppy files
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2006, 23:30    Post subject: darn  

Mr Doolie wrote:
kelewax wrote:
Please could you post the link to where you got the winblows patch?



[Slaps himself alongside the head] Of course. I should have done that automatically.

http://www.fs-driver.org/index.html



Well, it doesn't work at all on my system (Win2000). Windows wants to format it every time I boot up. I can't get it mounted using the software either.


Stupid Winblows!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2006, 23:33    Post subject:  

GuestToo wrote:

kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PHOME=hda1

if you want to use hda1 for your Puppy files


hda is my winblows partition.

I made a ext2 partiton (hda2) and mounted in in puppy to test. All OK. Can read/write to it. The changed the entry in wingrub to PHOME=hda2.
Puppy looks for /mnt/home/hda2 and tells me the filesystem is corrupted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2006, 01:18    Post subject:  

maybe you can't do what you want to ... i don't know whether it can or not, i've never tried to do it this way

i have a pup001 file, and put big stuff on other drives, and i can use symlinks in /root to other drives if i want

maybe you can't use PHOME without PFILE
maybe not using PHOME would work (but i don't know what drive Puppy would use to put /root)

at worst, maybe you could mount your partition (on maybe /mnt/hda5), unmount /root, then symlink /root and /usr and /etc to /mnt/hda5/root and /mnt/hda5/usr and /mnt/hda5/etc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0739s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0089s) ][ GZIP on ]