Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 08:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Webserverpuppy LAMP and XAMPP
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 9 [134 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
dWLkR


Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jul 2009, 01:24    Post subject:  

y should gimp make it into a webserver edition?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jul 2009, 01:42    Post subject:  

dWLkR wrote:
y should gimp make it into a webserver edition?!

yes and maybe a few plugins, they have one that can batch resize, which is very handy for any web-developer.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
myogaeba

Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jul 2009, 03:54    Post subject:  

Hi,

thansk for your excelent job .

what about the security ? is there a firewall ? a control center like webmim (somthing like that) ?

Bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jul 2009, 13:28    Post subject:  

Thanks for creating this.

I was going to ask the same questions - "any firewalls, webmin etc planned"?

Also, if you want to see a test Puppy.org site running with Web server puppy LAMP -> http://puppy.prit.us. This site is a temporary test only and will be taken down soon.

_________________
Macpup - The beauty of linux | Pritlog - Simple blog app
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppymartin


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 207
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jul 2009, 14:45    Post subject:  

myogaeba wrote:
Hi,

thansk for your excelent job .

what about the security ? is there a firewall ? a control center like webmim (somthing like that) ?

Bye


No security! No Firewall.
I use it behind a router firewall and only for testing websites. I don't know anything about firewalls. Is, for example, installing "linux_firewall-2-puppy" in the packet manager enough? Or do we need more?

prit1: your site runs good. About security, what can a hacker do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jul 2009, 14:56    Post subject:  

Thanks puppymartin.

Yeah .. the router firewall can be a reasonable replacement for the Puppy firewall software. But, then sometimes you may need something like Iptables for creating more complex rules for better security.

To find out what a hacker can do, we need to run this setup as a public site for some period of time and the site has to be a pretty popular one.

_________________
Macpup - The beauty of linux | Pritlog - Simple blog app
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2720
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jul 2009, 10:45    Post subject:  

Great distro puppymartin.
Some notes:
When I wanted to connect using pgprs it said one or more pgprs files missing, this happend to me few times when remastered puppy, it's because some files in /etc i think which disapear after remaster,
also note that says that you must create user for using pure-ftpd, well that's if you want to add more users you can already connect with user root passwd woofwoof and have access to all files on system right?

I tested some php apps, did a quick install of phpbb and wordpress, works like charm, really good job! A mini webserver in your pocket Very Happy
When I'm online you can find my home server @ http://daysleeper.puppylinux.eu
or
http://puppy.rootshell.la

Wink

_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
puppymartin


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 207
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jul 2009, 19:27    Post subject:  

dejan555 wrote:
Great distro puppymartin.

you can already connect with user root passwd woofwoof and have access to all files on system right?



gprs: maybe I removed this. Or when it went wrong while remastering, then Browserpuppy must have a gprs-problem too.
ftp: I think I disabled ftp for root. I will look at it later.

(Holiday in France now - More wine and swimming than Puppying)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
chrome307


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 713

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jul 2009, 03:02    Post subject:  

Yes, Browserpuppy has the GPRS problem, I have attempted to use my 3g USB modem with no luck Sad

Enjoy your hols Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keiffee0521

Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Location: London UK

PostPosted: Tue 04 Aug 2009, 18:02    Post subject:  


_________________
Many thanks for you time.

Keith

Smile

Compaq Evo N410c, P3 1.2Ghz, 1Gb RAM, 80Gb, Wireless / Wired NIC. Puppy Linux 5.01
Ubuntu 10.04 LTSP (5 terminals)
Quote:
Anything can be done its just when do you need it by

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
efiguy


Joined: 06 Sep 2006
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Wed 12 Aug 2009, 16:58    Post subject: WebserverPuppy
Subject description: Request for help and advice
 

Hello,

Really Big Thanks to PuppyMartin

Downloaded the 97,388 meg ISO several weeks ago and just burned the CD, which started up perfectly on my NetVista 6280 (used Vesa driver not concerned with local graphics).

However I am such a newbie as to not know how to use it .. Duh!! Apoligize, I know this is a more complex forum, but asked about a webserver months ago an just stopped back by for a search and to see the Puppies Wonderful progress.

A) Would like to load this ISO to a dedicated hard drive so as not to use half of ram,-- Need some advice here

B) Currently have 7 separate site instances (using seven different ports) on an 8G USB stick (running xp on an Aptiva K6 64 meg with Pablo Software Babyweb) and would like to try and convert these operational web sites to this new Puppy derivative if that is possible. Would appreciate a yea or nay here.

C) If (B) is possible, would anyone hazard some instuctions to a fairly new Linux newbie as how to point server to file path and set ports for each site. Or is this a one instance server only ??

D) Almost forgot, the PC needs a static IP number dialed into it on boot

E) A firewall or incomming port ignore table would be great

Appreciate any and all comments
Thank You
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Thu 13 Aug 2009, 01:58    Post subject: Re: WebserverPuppy
Subject description: Request for help and advice
 

efiguy wrote:
Hello,
A) Would like to load this ISO to a dedicated hard drive so as not to use half of ram,-- Need some advice here


You can boot up and do a full or frugal install of this puppy onto the hard drive. This can be done through the install wizard from the menu after you have booted from the cd.

efiguy wrote:

B) Currently have 7 separate site instances (using seven different ports) on an 8G USB stick (running xp on an Aptiva K6 64 meg with Pablo Software Babyweb) and would like to try and convert these operational web sites to this new Puppy derivative if that is possible. Would appreciate a yea or nay here.


Can you give more information of your sites? Do you access them like this: - http://site1.com:80, http://site2.com:81 .. and so on? Also, do they run plain HTML or PHP or something else?

Also, why do you want to serve different websites from different ports? Why can't you use the virtual hosts option provided by the server?

efiguy wrote:

C) If (B) is possible, would anyone hazard some instuctions to a fairly new Linux newbie as how to point server to file path and set ports for each site. Or is this a one instance server only ??

Hiawatha server can be configured to listen on different ports using BindingId (Binding configuration) and RequiredBinding (under Virtualhosts section). If you can state your actual scenario as requested above, we can try to find the best way to do it.

efiguy wrote:

D) Almost forgot, the PC needs a static IP number dialed into it on boot

Are you talking about the internally assigned IP's or the external IP that is seen from outside your network? What kind of internet connection do you have? Do you have a static IP from your ISP?

efiguy wrote:

E) A firewall or incomming port ignore table would be great

The default Puppy has a firewall. You can download the firewall package from the package manager or use a default Puppy release and use the LAMP package available elsewhere on it.

_________________
Macpup - The beauty of linux | Pritlog - Simple blog app
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
efiguy


Joined: 06 Sep 2006
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Thu 13 Aug 2009, 10:59    Post subject:  

Thank you for your post Prit1

Will work on transfering to HD, have managed to dual boot puppy 3 once upon a time, will go back to Newbie forum for instuctions here, thanks for letting me know it is possible and about the Firewall package too - one step at a time

quotes
Also, why do you want to serve different websites from different ports? Why can't you use the virtual hosts option provided by the server?
Hiawatha server can be configured to listen on different ports using BindingId (Binding configuration) and RequiredBinding (under Virtualhosts section). If you can state your actual scenario as requested above, we can try to find the best way to do it.

WoW Apoligize for lack of understanding, as this is a new concept to me.
Conceptually, maybe think I understand,
lets see paraphrase -- Server basically is loaded once, within this main server software - compartmentalization can occurr -- to listen on many ports and sort (unique) the html path to correspond to each of the desired listening ports.

Each website is unrelated to others, and can be start/stopped, or terminated in control panel independantly.
The simple MS DOS / windows based software i'm using does not have a mode like "virtual"


quote
Can you give more information of your sites? Do you access them like this: - http://site1.com:80, http://site2.com:81 .. and so on? Also, do they run plain HTML or PHP or something else?

My sites are mostly simple html with some css and java, but do want to expand and experiment with more complex sites- eventually - if i live long enough ;).
An internal network IP, like 192.168.1.234 is specified for the machine, each website and server resides within a unique directory. A batch file is run to start each directory server with the port number. (each server has an INI file)
The router transfers each server internal IP with port number to the main ISP IP for external access -- 192.168.1.234:2173 > http://qw.ert.yui.sdf:2173 Externally, all that needs to be changed is the port number. http://qw.ert.yui.sdf:2462


Hope this clarifies the action a bit

Thank You
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Thu 13 Aug 2009, 13:21    Post subject:  

efiguy wrote:

Each website is unrelated to others, and can be start/stopped, or terminated in control panel independantly.
The simple MS DOS / windows based software i'm using does not have a mode like "virtual"


If the sites run as virtual hosts, each can serve files from separate directories. There is no control panel for Hiawatha and you would have to change the configuration file to add sites or to remove/disable sites.

Here is a sample skeleton of the Hiawatha configuration for using Virtual Hosts:
Code:

Binding {
    Port = 80
}

# DEFAULT WEBSITE
# It is wise to use your IP address as the hostname of the default website
# and give it a blank webpage. By doing so, automated webscanners won't find
# your possible vulnerable website.
#
Hostname = 127.0.0.1
WebsiteRoot = /var/www/html
StartFile = index.html

# VIRTUAL HOSTS
# Use a VirtualHost section to declare the websites you want to host.
#
VirtualHost {
   Hostname = www.site1.com
   WebsiteRoot = /var/www/site1
   StartFile = index.html
}

VirtualHost {
   Hostname = www.site2.com
   WebsiteRoot = /var/www/site2
   StartFile = index.html
}



As you can see, if someone comes to your IP using www.site1.com, then the files are served from the /var/www/site1 directory. If someone comes for www.site2.com, then the files are served from /var/www/site2. If they come to your IP using a site not defined in your virtual hosts, then they get the default site that is located in /var/www/html. You can change this to add new sites, remove sites as needed. For a full manual of the Hiawatha server configuration, you can check out this link:
http://www.hiawatha-webserver.org/manpages

efiguy wrote:

My sites are mostly simple html with some css and java, but do want to expand and experiment with more complex sites- eventually - if i live long enough Wink.

Are you using Java client side applet or a server side program? I am not sure if Hiawatha can run Java server side.

_________________
Macpup - The beauty of linux | Pritlog - Simple blog app
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
efiguy


Joined: 06 Sep 2006
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Fri 14 Aug 2009, 12:00    Post subject: WebserverPuppy
Subject description: more findings about Hiawatha
 

Hello

Thanks for the config and manual website -
This is exciting!! Believe I can do this --
Hiawatha is a very complex webserver - After I get this running, must figure out how to update to 6.16 as it has an attack recognition capability.
Hiawatha also has CGI support Although all my Java is client based - it may be capable of running server side Java (If not now, most likely in future).

Quote from home page news -
Hiawatha 6.16 has been released. This release contains several bugfixes, so it's definitely worth the update. The main Hiawatha configuration file called httpd.conf has been renamed to hiawatha.conf. With that step, the last resemblance with the webserver-that-must-not-be-named is gone.
27 July 2009 Hugo Leisink <hugo@leisink.net>

http://www.hiawatha-webserver.org/

Thanks to all in the forum for blazing a superb trail that doesn't take a guru BloodHound to follow,

Puppy Rules!!!
efiguy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 9 [134 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1099s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]