Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 04:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Tricky Network/Wireless connection
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
mjnuss

Joined: 06 Aug 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 06 Aug 2009, 16:27    Post subject:  Tricky Network/Wireless connection
Subject description: I get some sort of connection....but not all
 

Hi all,

I can't connect to the internet by hardwire or via wireless. However, Blinky in my system tray tells me I'm connected to both. I have both sent and received data from either connections. I've gone through Auto DHCP and it claims to be successful (addresses even match up to router numbers) but still no web surfing ability.

Funny thing is that when running a live cd, I was able to connect to wireless right off the bat.

Dell D600
Broadcom BCM 4306
Broadcom BCM 5705M ethernet
DSL 2Wire modem

So please...help me Puppy gurus

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 06 Aug 2009, 18:45    Post subject:  

Hi mjnuss

go to a console and type
Code:
ifconfig

after you've tried to go on the web, i.e. after using network wizard to get connected

what puppy version are you using?

see also

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=42905

Wireless is a whole different thing as there maybe security settings need adding, so let's try wired first, OK?

Edit: This may go a bit further

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=37220

see also tempestuous nov24 08 here

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=251942


Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 413

PostPosted: Thu 06 Aug 2009, 21:45    Post subject:  

please open a console window and ping your router. If that works, please ping 4.2.2.2 If that works, ping google.com.

Please post the results of those tests.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mjnuss

Joined: 06 Aug 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 07 Aug 2009, 17:01    Post subject:  

Thank you for responding!! Here are both requests..Aitch, I'm reading up on the links now and jaf:It seemed like I was able to ping all the way up to google.com and then I had problems.

Code:
# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:43:46:EC:F5 
          inet addr:192.168.1.75  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:976 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:42 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:65033 (63.5 KiB)  TX bytes:3263 (3.1 KiB)
          Interrupt:11

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:48 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:48 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:3488 (3.4 KiB)  TX bytes:3488 (3.4 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0B:7D:17:AD:C5 
          inet addr:192.168.1.74  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2014 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:195 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:104468 (102.0 KiB)  TX bytes:20043 (19.5 KiB)

wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-0B-7D-17-AD-C5-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

# ping 192.168.1.254
PING 192.168.1.254 (192.168.1.254): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=0 ttl=255 time=2.856 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=1 ttl=255 time=4.742 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=2 ttl=255 time=2.122 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=3 ttl=255 time=0.963 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: seq=4 ttl=255 time=1.927 ms
^C
--- 192.168.1.254 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 0.963/2.522/4.742 ms
# ping 4.2.2.2
PING 4.2.2.2 (4.2.2.2): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 4.2.2.2: seq=0 ttl=54 time=31.148 ms
64 bytes from 4.2.2.2: seq=1 ttl=54 time=25.516 ms
64 bytes from 4.2.2.2: seq=2 ttl=54 time=24.649 ms
64 bytes from 4.2.2.2: seq=3 ttl=54 time=25.750 ms
64 bytes from 4.2.2.2: seq=4 ttl=54 time=24.909 ms
64 bytes from 4.2.2.2: seq=5 ttl=54 time=24.063 ms
^C
--- 4.2.2.2 ping statistics ---
6 packets transmitted, 6 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 24.063/26.005/31.148 ms
# ping google.com
ping: bad address 'google.com'
# ping www.google.com
ping: bad address 'www.google.com'
# ping http://www.google.com
ping: invalid number '//www.google.com'
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mjnuss

Joined: 06 Aug 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 17:21    Post subject: ??  

I hate to be pushy but any ideas anyone?

EDIT - Sorry, forgot. I'm using Puppy 4.2.1 So that might be the reason why my wireless isn't working. Doesn't entirely explain the ethernet problem though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8032

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 19:48    Post subject:  

Sounds like that non dns bug lol

Check out the contents of /etc/resolv.conf
something like below where the address is that of the router.
Code:

nameserver 192.168.1.1


mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0622s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]