Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 08:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
no A4 printing
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9028
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 08:00    Post_subject:  

Can you print an A4 document correctly from another application, like Abiword?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
konso

Joined: 18 Jun 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 08:59    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Can you print an A4 document correctly from another application, like Abiword?


Nope, exactly the same with Abiword. Page size in Abiword is set to A4, both in page properties and in the Print window.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9028
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 09:14    Post_subject:  

What happens if you actually load some A4 paper into Tray 1 - the multipurpose feeder?

When you bring up the printing dialog in Abiword, there is a Paper tab that lets you set the tray. Did you use this?

There have to be people in this world who use A4 paper on HP printers and get this to work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
differential

Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jun 2009, 18:20    Post_subject: Similar Problems  

I have been using Puppy 4.1.2 on a Compaq Armada M700 and using an HP 4 Plus printer for some time and have had problems getting the printer to stop asking for letter ie LOAD LETTER.

I found an atricle by Mr Toad entitled "At last - the solution for printing to A4 on my Laserjet III" which dealt with this problem and suggested among other things the following:

in a text editor open the file /usr/share/ghostscript/8.51/lib/gs-init.ps
and uncom8.51ment the line % /DEFAULTPAPERSIZE (a4) def - do this by removing /
the % symbol at the beginning *and* the space next to it. This is the
really important change!

It worked for me but does so no longer. All it does now is to stop printing completely. Very frustrating!

This may be of help. I would love a solution to this problem. It has caused me many wasted hours.

Russell
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9028
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jun 2009, 21:29    Post_subject:  

@differential: Mr. Toad's fix sounds the most reasonable. It suggests that ghostscript ignores the A4 setting information provided by the application and formats the print job as Letter size. Since the printer's default setting is A4, it prompts the operator to load some letter paper.

Unfortunately, the fact that this fix stopped working for you leaves it up in the air. Are there any other A4 users out there with old Laserjets that can confirm this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
differential

Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jun 2009, 02:11    Post_subject: Ghostscript and Opera  

I think 4.1.2 uses Ghostscript 815.02 at least when I type gs into the terminal, that's what i get. Not sure why Mr Toad suggested changing the default paper in GS 8.51 and thinking it was possibly a transposition, I experimented with changing the default to A4 in both /usr/share/ghostscript/8.51 and /usr/share/ghostscript/8.15 but in both cases Abiword and Geany would not print until the a4 default was commented out.

Interestingly, Opera seems to print ok. Have just installed it so not much experience but seems ok.

I'm out of my depth at this point and somewhat frustrated. I tried 4.2.1 but it could not find my internal software modem though 4.1.2 can. I have been with Puppy since 1.07 but at the moment Linux Mint is looking very attractive!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0599s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0129s) ][ GZIP on ]