Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 02 Aug 2014, 00:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Eye Candy
JWM 2.0.1 Enhancements and Fixes
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 16 [235 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
gpnet

Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 51
Location: Ivrea ,Italy

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2009, 16:02    Post subject:  

Hi jakfish,

-update-

I checked file root/.packages/packages.txt and I found the current jwm installed on my machine :

"jwm2-2.0.1-9" "jwm2 2.0.1-9: Joes window manager" on "Desktop +fribidi 200K" \

A doubt. My current version is newer the 2.0.1. My version has a file date of 03-27-2009. Am I wrong ?.

I have downloaded the patches for fixmenus and _root_.template and installed. Now whats the next step to have transparency working ?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 754

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2009, 16:45    Post subject:  

gpnet, I just got to this thread myself, so I'm behind the learning curve in a big way. My post was just asking what was the best way to install the most current jwm?

Did you mistake me for an earlier post-er, perhaps?

All best,
Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2009, 16:47    Post subject:
Subject description: Xorg needed for jwm translucent effect at present
 

@gpnet - welcome to Puppy and enhanced jwm Smile

Unfortunately, transparency (more correct is translucency) is dependent on x or kcompmgr (and thusly needs Xorg rather than Xvesa for it to work as desired). This may change perhaps if development proceeds in not requiring x or kcompmgr for the translucency and/or pseudo-transparency effect as some other wms and apps do (notably the fluxbox and afterstep wms and wbar launcher as well as some console settings, not to mention conky and pwidgets). Pseudo-transparency is not a true translucent effect, it merely 'reveals' the background image rather than give an in-depth mix of layers. If you can change over to Xorg without too much fuss and make the changes in the files Patriot recommends (do make backups, just to be safe Wink ), then various mods are possible with the translucency effect in the /root/.jwm/themes/<themename>-jwmrc file and translucent/opaque switch will work from the rightclick dropmenu on the window titlebar or taskbar button.

Rounded corners, menu modification (with the template), button masks and other niceties will work just fine in Xvesa.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gpnet

Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 51
Location: Ivrea ,Italy

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2009, 17:21    Post subject:  

Thanks Foo,

I have waited for a while , but finally I have had the right and clear replay.

Now I know what I can do.

I like very much puppy but my knowledge is poor. I appreciate people like you that help to understand things with no workaround words.

I tried to configured xorg but it failed. As I said I have puppy in a virtualbox (2.2) and I can not install hardware 3d acceleration because (in VB) it is supported only for kernel from 2.6.27.x on. Now I think this is the cause because puppy Xorg failed. ( to more precise after 3 o 4 minutes of config. waiting it give the only resolution of 800x600 and only one )

If you have any suggestion about let me know.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gulk


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Mon 18 May 2009, 15:36    Post subject: JWM transparency toggle  

I made a small .pet to toggle transparency after installing Patriot's jwm .pet and having followed his directions, especially this:
Patriot wrote:

Q4. How does transparency/translucency works ?
A4. Two things are required: xorg driver with composite support and a
composite manager. Internally, JWM sends a window opacity property
request and the composite manager will handle the rest.

Here are the steps to enable composite (for transparency/translucency):

1. Add the Section/EndSection below to your xorg.conf (at the end of it also works)

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection



The .pet here attached will add a menu entry in the jwmconfig menu (Desktop->JWM Configuration->Toggle transparency). If transparency is enabled, it will be disabled and vice versa. This will use "kcompmgr" per Partiot's recommendations.
Remember that the transparency toggle will only work if you followed step Q4-1 from Patriot's how-to.

Also, please note this is my first experiment with "bash" and "sed" ever. You can take a look at the script /usr/local/jwmconfig2/toggleTransparency.sh and I'd be glad to take any constructive criticism about my scripting skills... Thanks Embarassed

~Gulk~
JWMtransparency-0.0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  JWMtransparency-0.0.1.pet 
Filesize  2.29 KB 
Downloaded  521 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Thu 21 May 2009, 06:44    Post subject:  

Hey there, there are two little things that annoy me about JWM.
    Can't have margins (eg maximised windows leave a 1 pixel margin left and right, so you can just move the mouse to the side of the screen, and scroll to change desktop)

    The Menu flickers, little glitches when you move the mouse around the menu, probably caused by an old computer. But I've always thought that if maybe the submenu's didn't pop up immediately, but after a very small time period it would improve things. It would just make it "smoother".

If anyone isn't sick of coding yet... Smile
Also, personally I prefer the old JWM square style. Not sure why. Good to see some development going on here though. (I had a look at the sourcecode but it's way over my head. So many files!

_________________
An expert is just a beginner with experience.
Shamelessly representing TdeM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gulk


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sat 23 May 2009, 19:43    Post subject:  

bugman wrote:
thanks for this, it's a lot of fun!

i might be missing something, but when i launch apps [such as rxvt] they always launch opaque, and i have to change them

is there a way to get any or all of them to launch transparent?

EDIT - i figured this out, one of my problems was that setting the bg in rxvt to black makes it impossible to be transparent Embarassed

also, this works better:

Code:
   <Group>
      <Name>ROX-Filer</Name>
      <Name>rxvt</Name>
      <Option>translucent</Option>
   </Group>


This is crazy... Bugman makes it sound so easy, but I've spent the last two days trying to get the transparency working for the trays and launch some applications directly "transluent"; now I really do feel terribly dumb. I've even went ahead and rebuilt the svn456 from joe Sad

How did you guys do??? Transparent tray and transparent windows at launch?

Some clues for the good souls who will guide me toward the light:
- I don't see the "transparent" option when right-clicking on a window title
- overall transparency works (see snapshot)
- I installed Patriot's jwm-2.0.1-pe-beta-2.pet and added bugman's <option>transparent</option> in the .jmwrc files

Please, please, help me!!! Smile
mushroom.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  mushroom.jpg 
Filesize  124.96 KB 
Downloaded  560 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Sun 24 May 2009, 23:54    Post subject:  

Hmmm .....

@gulk

Based on your screenshot, I believe XComposite (translucency) is already working on your system.

The next step is to check your JWM theme files (in /root/.jwm/themes). Translucency levels are controlled/specified in individual theme files, they are not globals. Look at my sample themes (ie. Cool-VG-jwmrc) and note where the Opacity token is specified. Opacity level is controlled through three main individual "groups" : WindowStyle, MenuStyle and TrayStyle.

For example, TrayStyle <Opacity> affects all of the tray/task bar. Setting it to 0.55 (ie. 55% opacity) does just that to all on the tray/taskbar. You probably will have to add the necessary changes to all the theme files (as they were originally made for standard JWM release).

The groupings by bugman is a nice example on how certain apps can be launched translucent.

Have fun.

Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gulk


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Mon 25 May 2009, 14:04    Post subject:  

Patriot wrote:

Based on your screenshot, I believe XComposite (translucency) is already working on your system.

Correct... And that made JWM uber attractive!!! Amazingly fast with transparency, resizing from window top, etc... Many many thanks for putting all that effort in bringing JWM to this level (of course Joe is being thanked as well Smile)

Patriot wrote:

The next step is to check your JWM theme files [...]
For example, TrayStyle <Opacity> affects all of the tray/task bar. Setting it to 0.55 (ie. 55% opacity) does just that to all on the tray/taskbar. You probably will have to add the necessary changes to all the theme files (as they were originally made for standard JWM release).

Thanks, that did the trick for the tray transparency! How could I have missed that? Well... Embarassed

Patriot wrote:

The groupings by bugman is a nice example on how certain apps can be launched translucent.

I put the "grouping" options in the "jwmrc-personal" file, and for the most part it works, but unfortunately not for the transluency.
For example:
Code:

<Group>
<Name>ROX-Filer</Name>
<Name>rxvt</Name>
<Option>noborder</Option>
<Option>notitle</Option>
<Option>translucent</Option>
</Group>

Both Rox filer and rxvt launch without border nor title, but start opaque (following bugman's advice, I also starts rxvt without specifying the background color, but to no avail).

I also saw mentioned in this thread that you can specify the opacity from a window menu (right click on the top window border). I don't see an opacity option. Maybe I am missing some .pet or other install which might also explain the fact the <Option>translucent</Option> does not work for me? (please see snapshot attached)

Quote:

Have fun

Trust me, I do!!!!
rxvt_snap.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.59 KB
 Viewed   640 Time(s)

rxvt_snap.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 07:45    Post subject: Enabling Winkey support  

Hmmm .....

I've read that a few people (or was it a lot of people?) wanted to have Winkey function on Puppy (for whatever reason) ... Let me point out that Winkey support must first be "enabled" in X before it makes any difference to JWM. Well, what I meant was that we need to assign the winkey as the Super key first ... Here's how :

1. Add the "XkbOptions" line to your /etx/X11/xorg.conf :

Code:
Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel" "pc102"
   Option      "XkbLayout" "us" #xkeymap0
   Option      "XkbOptions" "altwin:super_win"
EndSection


The last Option line assigns (both left+right) Winkey as the Super key.


2. Now, edit your /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal and add whatever keybinding you want :

Code:
<Key mask="C" key="Escape">root:3</Key>
<Key mask="P" key="D">desktop</Key>
<Key mask="P" key="E">exec:defaultbrowser</Key>
<Key mask="P" key="F">exec:pfind</Key>
<Key mask="P" key="L">exec:Xlock</Key>
<Key mask="P" key="R">exec:gexec</Key>


The keybindings above means:

Ctrl-Esc - Start Menu
Winkey+D - toggle desktop
Winkey+E - run default browser
Winkey+F - run pfind
Winkey+L - run Xlock
Winkey+R - run command

3. Restart JWM.

Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 09:00    Post subject:  

What would be nice is 24x24 icons for all the menu/sub-menus not 16x16. no detail, and looks strange to have 2 different sizes.
Next having the updated blinky I skinned as apart of JWM, same with the clock, freememory, absvolume. Because they always find a way of letting go and flying up to the left corner of the screen, Well really they are 4 main staples of JWM and should really be a part of it, not just a addon and cross your fingers and hope they stay where they should, or get multiple versions, etc. If they were embedded into the code, for once we could say Problem solved.
A right or left click on the clock so that you can change 12/24hr formats and set the time/date would be nice, would have to use a external text file to save the settings, but it would make a lot of users real happy, It doesn't bug me, but I've read that tons of times, "how do you set the clock, etc, or change the format".

Anyways you've been doing most excellent work with JWM, A few years back I really hated it, Now since GTK2 and then what you've done with the rounded corners etc, its really starting to mature very nicely.

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 09:06    Post subject:  

Windows Key + E is used on windows machines to open up windows explorer (not internet explorer), so perhaps would not be so familiar to our Linux Newbies.

Heres a list of shortcut keys unfortunately still used by 9.5/10 of the worlds computer users

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/126449

The less retraining we make for them, the more likely they are to switch though Smile

_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 09:24    Post subject:  

Who uses the keys? All the people I have had, and will have had, as clients use the mouse.

Nobody uses the function keys. Except nerds.

And they can make their own way home as far as Puppy is concerned.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 10:35    Post subject:  

Hmmm ...

@ttuuxxx

After so long you still believe that JWM is directly responsible for those "tiny" menu icons ? All submenus are given (read: hardcoded) a fixed 16pix height during conversion to jwm menus from xdgmenu. (How do you fit a 24x24 icon onto a 16x16 canvas ?) So, you see, JWM can only work with what it is given with ....

The modified xdgmenu binary on page 8 of this thread is a remedy to the above and all you have to do is specify a menu height higher than 24 to see what I mean .....

"A computer only does what you tell it to do ..... not what you want it to do" - Anonymous Programmer et al

Those applet issues are the result of patch-n-play. I don't believe that direct inclusions of applets into the JWM binary should be done. It will/may add unnecessary dependencies. I know that the volume applet is stable. A major rewrite of the required applets based on the volume applet would be best. I'll see how to improve it later ...

I still have a few more stuffs that I wanted to implement into JWM ... just that the current time constraint makes it difficult to focus ...


@ecomoney
Please don't start here. I have no time for this. Look at my first page (of this thread) and read the last section :

What this JWM minor enhancement is not :
...
...
...
- It does not attempt to please everyone
...

I'm a windows user and still is. I'm also a linux user and still is. I use the best of both. For a long time, I no longer care about the linux-vs-windows-crusade nor interested with MS or Linux bashing.


@sikpuppy

Well then, that makes me a nerd .... since I use function keys.

A nerd who's lame with C, I guess ....

Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
big_bass

Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 11:23    Post subject:  

remarks like this quote below and other over burdening comments are not helping developers/development/linux at all

what does help is a thank you
or add a fix to some problem


here's a mental picture you build my house
I sit back and watch sipping ice tea

then make comments that your not working hard enough Laughing

yeah that's how I see it


Quote:
sikpuppy
Who uses the keys? All the people I have had, and will have had, as clients use the mouse.

Nobody uses the function keys. Except nerds.

And they can make their own way home as far as Puppy is concerned.



here are details that have been overlooked
well ....Patriot was responding to a direct request from a forum member
reasonit in the link provided below as a reference

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=316888#316888
reasonit

Posted: Sat 25 Apr 2009, 02:54 Post subject: few niggly wiggly bits
Subject description: tiny tiny things(from windows) that I miss in puppy


Quote:

4. Independent hotkeys: hotkeys are window manager specific.
It would be fantastic to have window manager/desktop environments independent hotkeys. Maybe some app that runs in the background.
I understand how linux works , and know why this isn't easy to implement. Which is why my suggestion : possible to add a windows style default-gui-desktop-thingy 'inside' puppy, that works with all window managers??

5. I really really miss the run command from windows - win+r. There has to a puppy equivalent.



so he responded to that request and posted the answer here
in the correct thread

my question is if you don't like "nerds"
why do you post in development/developer threads?



Joe

Last edited by big_bass on Thu 18 Jun 2009, 11:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 16 [235 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Eye Candy
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1367s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0129s) ][ GZIP on ]