Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 18:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Feedback & Bug-Fix Suggestions for Retro-Puppy 218 alpha
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5867
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 01:40    Post_subject:  

Gave both versions a quick spin on a P3 733 mhz, 256mb ram with 1gb swap. Boot up and shut down was fine with both.

Had the muted sound deal on both versions, no problem getting it going though.All the basics seem to work fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 03:12    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
....

So maybe someone else will try an install . . .


Hi Lobster,

I'm posting now on a frugal install on my K6 400MHz IBM and all is ok. However grub was already installed because I'm running other frugal pups on this box. This one is the fastest Smile .

I'm also using MU's Puppy Browser. Much faster than Seamonkey on this old thing.

I'm also running Pwidgets (gasp!) However you need to make a symlink to libcurl named "libcurl.so.4" for it to work. (note: the standard Pwidgets, NOT the upup version.)

I'll let you know how I get on with my 486. I plan a full install to that on the weekend. I'll use a clean harddisk too, so any grub problems will be noted.

Cheers.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 07:31    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
That is deliberate, the 'init' script has changed the test so that the sfs file only gets copied to ram if it is over 256MB.
The reason was, on a system without swap partition/file, it wasn't really leaving enough space for apps to run.

OK, that's good to know.
I think it's worth throwing in some historical perspective:

I have been following Puppy's development since version 1.02 in 2005. Puppy's technical foundation of copying the compressed filesystem to RAM was unique amongst live CD distributions. DamnSmallLinux could be forced to load into RAM with the "toram" boot option, but this was uncompressed to RAM, not compressed to RAM.
It was clear that the Puppy approach achieved the successful use of the most powerful applications with the least amount of RAM ...
of course back in those days Puppy was 50MB, and 128MB RAM was (just) adequate.

I take the point that in Puppy's current form 256MB RAM is not quite sufficient to run Puppy completely in RAM, but in such cases we now have a significantly different situation where the compressed filesystem is stored on the hard drive or flash drive, not RAM.

To my mind this raises a big question:
In situations where the computer has 256MB RAM or less, does a frugal installation offer any advantage over a full installation? Because in both cases the files are being accessed from hard drive/flash drive, and it seems logical that files would be retrieved faster from an uncompressed filesystem rather than from a compressed filesystem.

Anyone care to comment?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 07:44    Post_subject:  

Snappy or not?
I posted a while ago in ttuuxxx's thread about the general idea of upgrading Puppy 2.x, and how I was concerned that if you upgrade all its libraries it would cease to be Puppy2.

218-alpha seems not as snappy of my Pentium2-350 as the original Puppy 2.12-2.16 series, but I might just be imagining this. If I still had my old Pentium1 laptop the differences would be clearer.

Raffy, or 01micko, or anyone else, what are your opinions about Puppy 2.12-2.16 vs Puppy218 vs ttuuxxx's 214X2?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OlddogNewtricks

Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 124
Location: U.K.

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 09:19    Post_subject:  

tempestuous wrote

what are your opinions about Puppy 2.12-2.16 vs Puppy218 vs ttuuxxx's 214X2?

I feel ttuuxxx's 214X2 is on a par with older pups, & feels perkier than 2.18, It still has features like the seperate ZDRV sfs file which can be dumped once you've set up for your machine & a remastering script that allows you to produce a new pup_xxx.sfs easily. (dougal's work here I believe). I've always frugall installed, so a simple remaster & replacement of the pup_xxx.sfs file is what I love about puppy. I' ve never used a pup save file so I can tinker away knowing a reboot (which literally takes seconds with puppy) brings everything back the way it was. A superb linux learning tool.
My old (3 years!) computer has a 2.5 ghz cpu & 256 ram which I could easily upgrade to 1-2 gb but why should I, that's the microsoft way.
Keep It Small & Simple

Well done Barry & everybody else involved in this tiny marvel.

phew!! thats my 10 pence worth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 635
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 14:03    Post_subject:  

Compaq Armada 3500
PII 300mhz
320mb RAM
2gb CF card in IDE adapter (SanDisk Extreme III - 20MB/s)
No CD, HD or floppy.

Manual frugal install (from pup2-218.iso), booting from GRUB.

Runs quite well - 214X seems a little faster (possibly the best I've tried on this setup), but has been less stable and I've had problems with save files.

Wifi connection works (Netgear WG111T usb) via ndiswrapper. Network Wizard told me it was unable to establish a WPA connection, but I refused to believe it, and running Auto dhcpcd does the trick.
Won't detect a CF card in a PCMCIA adapter (but neither will 214R or 214X and a few others.)
JWM configuration manager: selecting 'apply GTK theme to JWM' results in exiting X. Typing xwin doesn't help, neither does running xorgwizard, so cannot get back to the desktop. Deleting .jwmrc did get me back, but without a taskbar or menus. Not sure what to do next so had to reboot and start again with new savefile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 16:28    Post_subject: rt2860 not presnt on my EeePC901  

Hi Barry

Re my comment on your blog. I tried as you said:
# modinfo rt2860sta
# lsmod
# modprobe rt2860sta

Still no joy. See screen shot attached.
Rgds Mike
no rt2860sta.png
 Description   
 Filesize   140.41 KB
 Viewed   533 Time(s)

no rt2860sta.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 19:41    Post_subject: No wireless device. rt73usb missing.  

I don't get a wireless device on my Medion MD8818
I should have the rt73usb driver loaded, but it's not there.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 22:33    Post_subject:  

Nice package, Older Xorg definitely works better on my Shuttle P4 2.4mhz.

Issues noted so far:
Have to open console and type "fixmenus" and then restart jwm to get menu entries for .pets

Pnethood finds the other computers on my network but doesn't detect the shared folders. Works fine in Puppy412.

Also have gotten this type of message several times trying to run various .pets from the right click menu:
Quote:
Failed to execute child process "/root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/OpenWith/.application_pet/Open With XArchive" (Permission denied)
. Works fine from console.

When I try to open .doc files with abiword on the right click menu it opens, crashes immediately and leaves me with a duplicate file with a ".SAVED" extension. Works fine from console.

Thanks for doing this Barry. I think it will be a hit with the Pll crowd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 23:08    Post_subject:  

Puppy package manager just got confused. It failed to register the last .pet I installed, even though its there in the filesystem, And it has two of the .pets I installed and then uninstalled listed. 7 .pets listed correctly, one missing, two listed incorrectly. I have my pup_save backed up so I'll start over with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 23:54    Post_subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Snappy or not?
I posted a while ago in ttuuxxx's thread about the general idea of upgrading Puppy 2.x, and how I was concerned that if you upgrade all its libraries it would cease to be Puppy2.

218-alpha seems not as snappy of my Pentium2-350 as the original Puppy 2.12-2.16 series, but I might just be imagining this. If I still had my old Pentium1 laptop the differences would be clearer.

Raffy, or 01micko, or anyone else, what are your opinions about Puppy 2.12-2.16 vs Puppy218 vs ttuuxxx's 214X2?


Hi tempestuous,

Just tried ttuuxxx' 214X2 and it seems very similar in speed on the K6 box, takes about 10 seconds for Seamonkey to load. However, rendering seems a little faster in 214X2 than in 218. I'm using the same res in each.

I've got 217 somewhere. I'll give it a spin later.

Cheers.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jun 2009, 18:38    Post_subject: My experience with an Acer Aspire 5100  

Installed the pup2-218.iso as frugal:

My Grub menu.lst is:

Code:
title Pup2-218
rootnoverify (hd0,1)/pup2-218
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PMEDIA=idehd PDEV1=hda2 PUPMODE=12
initrd /initrd.gz


Booted fine.

Ran the network wizard but no wifi inteface found (ath_pci module is missing). So used ndiswrapper with 802bg.zip off a Google search. Re-ran the wizard and wlan0 now present but went through to the end of the wizard (I am using WPA) but failed to connect. So resorted to my own script in the Startup folder to get the interface running with my own wpa_supplicant.conf. Now could ping my router but ip addresses we not being resolved in Seamonkey. So added "nameserver 192.168.1.1" to /etc/resolv.conf and then SM could open Google. But some flash sites kept crashing SM so renamed /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins(nbg) as reported earlier in ttuuxxx's 214x thread. Now all ok with browsing

Rgds Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jun 2009, 01:52    Post_subject:  

Hi i'm interested In 2.18, actually I wouldn't mind making a few releases, but I do have a couple of questions, both version of 2.18 take 700Mb extra compared to 2.14.1X/R releases, my free memory applet says 1.6GB free, where as 2.14.1X it would say 2.3GB free after boot, same with 4 series etc.
When I boot up, Xorg can not detect my screen resolution, Usually from series 3 + it does no problem, I have to use the "Generic" drivers to use Xorg.
Barry dropped gtk1 and tcl and saved around 2MB compressed, but the iso grew 6MB to 99MB, when 2.17.1 was like 93MB, So where did the 8MB go? Is it just due to the newer applications, Sure 2.14.1X grew also about the same, but I added extra bins and libs etc. The reason why I asked is because 8MB is a lot to play with, but when get a 99MB iso and you try to work with it and keep it under 100MB magic number, well it makes it real difficult, plus it was for extra kernel modules so 2 series would be on par with 4 series, then I shouldn't have to use the "Generic" drivers, or maybe some sort xorg wizard update could be made, with the generic drivers in a tickbox on the screen size page, Basically tick "generic drivers" and select the screen size. it would save 2 screen test, about 3 minutes of messing around, plus its a bit complicated for first time users, also on my other tv PC, I always use the Generic drivers because it works with tv-out s-video on my video card.

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Joe J

Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 7
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jun 2009, 14:38    Post_subject: Picpuz  

Picpuz displays an error message when started. I fixed it by changing lines 33 and 34 of picpuz.cpp as follows and compiling:
Code:
char        imagedirk[maxfcc] = "/usr/share/backgrounds";                                        //  image directory
char        clfile[maxfcc] = "default.jpg";

The original source code can be downloaded from http://puppylinux.com/sources/puppy-220plus/. Just replace the picpiz program binary in /usr/local/picpuz with the new picpuz binary.

I also had to modify the .desktop file in /usr/share/applications as follows
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Name=Picpuz Jigsaw Puzzle
Type=Application
Terminal=false
Exec=/usr/local/picpuz/picpuz
Icon=/usr/local/picpuz/icons/picpuz.png
Categories=Game

Then run
Code:
fixmenus
in console and restart JWM (Menu-Shutdown-Restart JWM).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Tue 16 Jun 2009, 23:24    Post_subject:  

Rcrsn51 has written some excellent install scripts that should work from the command line (and also incedently make it very easy to install puppy linux to a hard drive on a dedicated machine)

Download
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=19138

Documentation
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=42660
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=42876

_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1025s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]