Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 17:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Feedback & Bug-Fix Suggestions for Retro-Puppy 218 alpha
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 4 [47 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4796
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 06:36    Post subject:  Feedback & Bug-Fix Suggestions for Retro-Puppy 218 alpha
Subject description: Please put here your reports about Retro-Puppy 218 alpha
 

Barry has released Retro-Puppy 218 alpha:
http://www.puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=00798

Download from ibiblio:

Using the 2.6.18.8 Kernel (recommended):
ISO and md5sum

Using the original kernel (get this only if you encounter problem with the recommended version):
ISO and md5sum

From the readme:
Quote:
pup2-218.iso
Live-CD. First alpha of the rejuvenated Puppy 2.xx series. The last was 2.17.1 released in 2006. This has the 2.6.18.8 kernel. Has heaps of analog dialup modem drivers, but missing many 3rd-party wireless drivers.

pup2-218-k2.6.18.1.iso
Same as above but has the original kernel used in Puppy 2.1x. You will need to install the pcmcia_cs PET package to get PCMCIA (PCCARD) to work, hopefully.

pup2_devx_218.sfs
Turns your Puppy into a complete C/C++/Vala/Genie compiling environment. Follow links at puppylinux.com for explanation of SFS files.

Last edited by raffy on Wed 10 Jun 2009, 11:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 07:54    Post subject:  

Working fine so far.. IBM k6 400MHz.

I intend to boot this on my 486, which has been running 2.16-fat_free. My biggest hurdle will be resources, the mobo only supports 32M ram Crying or Very sad . Is there a way (well of course there is!) to do a full install from console? Ah.. and how??? I'll have a search it's probably been covered.

This is a bit more fun!

Cheers.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 08:48    Post subject: Printer works
Subject description: must set printer as default
 

Brother HL1440 on parallel port works...however you must manually set default printer in cups it to work in Abiword and Gnumeric. It does not show on their printer list, but will print if printer is set to default.

2) WIFI network found and works.
3) Setting spell check on in Abiword does nothing.. no spell check?
Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 10:24    Post subject:  

Oh dear. When booted from CD on a system with 256MB RAM, the sfs file appears to not have loaded into RAM.
Every time I launch an application I hear the CD spin up and there's a bit of a delay.

During boot up I saw the prompt -
"Loading the 'pup2-218.sfs' main file"
but it was on screen for a suspiciously short time.

This has never happened on any other Pup.

ALSA Master and PCM channels are muted at first boot. Haven't seen that before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 10:29    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Working fine so far.. IBM k6 400MHz.

I intend to boot this on my 486, which has been running 2.16-fat_free. My biggest hurdle will be resources, the mobo only supports 32M ram Crying or Very sad . Is there a way (well of course there is!) to do a full install from console? Ah.. and how??? I'll have a search it's probably been covered.

This is a bit more fun!

Cheers.

01micko,
There is probably something posted on the forum or wiki about full hd install from console.

One way is to physically take the hard drive to another computer, install Puppy to it, then take it back to the original computer.

The new Woof-builds do have differences from earlier puppies, so any instructions about manual hd install may not be 100% correct. One thing that you could do is look in the script /usr/sbin/puppyinstaller, at lines 1107 to 1209.

This section of the script could be extracted as a separate script for a commandline hd full install. You would have to add a bit of code at the top to set all the variables appropriately.

With such a tiny amount of RAM, you will need a swap partititon.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 10:40    Post subject: Re: Printer works
Subject description: must set printer as default
 

Minnesota wrote:
Brother HL1440 on parallel port works...however you must manually set default printer in cups it to work in Abiword and Gnumeric. It does not show on their printer list, but will print if printer is set to default.

2) WIFI network found and works.
3) Setting spell check on in Abiword does nothing.. no spell check?
Smile

I didn't include the spell-check dictionary.

There is a package 'abiword-dictionary-en' in the 'pet_packages-4' directory on ibiblio.org, that would probably work.
...you can't get it with the Puppy Package Manager though, as it only shows the 'puppy2' repo -- ah, no, I think if you click the 'Configure' button you can choose to display the 'puppy4' repo (I can't check, running Upup right now).

Probably in next build, spell-check should be included.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 12:34    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Oh dear. When booted from CD on a system with 256MB RAM, the sfs file appears to not have loaded into RAM.
Every time I launch an application I hear the CD spin up and there's a bit of a delay.

During boot up I saw the prompt -
"Loading the 'pup2-218.sfs' main file"
but it was on screen for a suspiciously short time.

This has never happened on any other Pup.

ALSA Master and PCM channels are muted at first boot. Haven't seen that before.

That is deliberate, the 'init' script has changed the test so that the sfs file only gets copied to ram if it is over 256MB.

The reason was, on a system without swap partition/file, it wasn't really leaving enough space for apps to run.

Then, the normal situation is that at first shutdown a pup-save is created and the pup2-218.sfs gets copied to the hard drive. At next bootup, the sfs file still doesn't get copied to ram but it loads fast and runs fast, and frees up the CD.

There is a 'pfix=copy' boot parameter, but that gets overridden if ram is less than 256MB.

I have only tested on two computers so far, and have got mixed results re that muted problem. On my desktop pc is came up muted. On my laptop it comes up not muted.

It looks like something in /etc/init.d/alsa needs to be tweaked. That's a script I concocted.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OlddogNewtricks

Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 124
Location: U.K.

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 13:00    Post subject:  

No sound at all at boot up. Had to use the wizard, then volume went straight to 77

Pmount didn't show my swap partition, so replaced it with dougal's pmount3. While checking the swap on/off function found clicking 'refresh devices' in gparted caused it to crash.

Also my tray clock works O.K.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 14:28    Post subject: Pup2-218 testing
Subject description: update
 

jury still out on liveCD testing - meanwhile a screenie and disorganized notes
090610, in P218 on 5225
Geez, HotDogStand-retro Wink - Xorg oki but after choosing 1360x768 for the LCDtv it gave a usual 1024x768 (still amazing having Xorg start relatively fuss-free but that's likely having only a single onboard ATI in the old Compaq. Hunh Confused on seeing the CD with a yellowball (could have missed it with the citrus-stand theme), so much to customize - Rox options still at 'fine' Neutral placement of icons and text doesn't have leafpad for default openwith Neutral .. yah Abi is oki and the kerning of linux fonts could be better (nope, that's not a space Virginia and sometimes letters ..).
090611, P218
kernel 2.6.18.8 on the old Compaq 5225 (finally - it went to dead sleep as I should have .. twice) .. Conky-1.7.0 needs a few things and wbar as well - qiv seems to help more than what image s/w is there (xli?) with blackbox wm (nothing new, really extra wm's are optional but I find them helpful sometimes).
Some hours on the Compaq 5225 i586 machine - refuses to save back to multisession (no idea what, it blithers about insufficient memory or a locked app or device .. too bad) so off to the i686 (fine in xvesa (after that screenshot Wink .. maybe if I return the CD to the 5225 with just a do-able not any hwr mods .. especially not sound which alsa never did get right on ess18xx)...
____________
btw (in addition to md5 for pup2-218.iso)
SHA1 is DA6D89A725947D74E472DFD17DEA747A7AC863F0

Last edited by `f00 on Wed 17 Jun 2009, 11:22; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OlddogNewtricks

Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 124
Location: U.K.

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 15:04    Post subject:  

Remaster CD program not working, freezes when asking for files on CD. Only way to get rid of it is restart the X server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elraven

Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 82
Location: wnc-usa

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 15:59    Post subject:  

I'm using puppy2-218 in my compaq presario, 256mb ram. Working good overall except for some minor stuff. pburn starts but then vanishes , consol reveals a gtkdialog 3:4907 : gtk warning ** could not load image : icon, theme not present. But, i just tried it again and it loads but takes it sweet time and only from consol so far. Other than that, seamonkey crashes ,no general sites to blame. Maybe - this is related to the problem with 214X at the moment,or something to do with flash and some back end lib or something. Anyways , i still think its cool beans and am looking forward to using it. Nice work barry Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 16:14    Post subject:  

Thanks Barry for your advice.

I get a seamonkey crash when I right click a bookmark and try to open in a new tab. Firstly, it allowed me to right click the bookmark then crashed when I chose "open in a new tab",, since then it crashes as soon as I right click a bookmark.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 16:59    Post subject: usb  

Usb Belkin wifi dongle not recognized by network setup but it is showing in hardinfo, lan connection ok. This is the same on both kernel releases.
Full hard drive install worked ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ralphv

Joined: 17 Mar 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 20:03    Post subject: Re: Feedback & Bug-Fix Suggestions for Retro-Puppy 218 alpha
Subject description: Please put here your reports about Retro-Puppy 218 alpha
 

The glibc crashes flash 9 when you leave a flash site. This problem also happened in puppies 2.16 and earlier, but not in 2.17 because it had a newer glibc. Any chance of upgrading the glibc?

Ralph
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 00:53    Post subject:  

Tried it on a 64 bit Athlon dual core and a Dell pentium 2 inspiron 3500
laptop - both extremes of the Puppy catchment . . .
Apart from known issues (lack of wi-fi drivers etc)
it booted and worked on both

Tried a full install on the laptop
this failed at the Grub stage
Not sure if the HD is faulty (very likely)
or it did not like the XP filesystem/boot area

So maybe someone else will try an install . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 [47 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0948s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]