Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 12:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Toshiba Tecra A10
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
ikarus

Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue 31 Mar 2009, 08:11    Post subject:  Toshiba Tecra A10
Subject description: X not working
 

I've had no trouble getting any version of Puppy (live) working well on most pc/laptops but I can't get it to run 'X' on my Toshiba Tecra A10 laptop. I believe it has an Intel video chipset and in other distros I can usually get the screen to display at 1280x800.

Has anybody else managed to get it going on this model? Putting the correct resolution into xorg.conf doesn't seem to work. The test facility gives me a light grey screen with close spaced horizontal lines and I can't really bail out at that point - 'cntrl,alt,backspace' sends me back to the option to re-tweak or edit xorg.conf!

I would appreciate any suggestions and/or Xorg tweaks to get Puppy 4.2 working with the Toshiba Tecra A10.

Regards

ikarus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Tue 14 Apr 2009, 13:23    Post subject: Re: Toshiba Tecra A10
Subject description: X not working
 

ikarus wrote:
I've had no trouble getting any version of Puppy (live) working well on most pc/laptops but I can't get it to run 'X' on my Toshiba Tecra A10 laptop. I believe it has an Intel video chipset and in other distros I can usually get the screen to display at 1280x800.

Has anybody else managed to get it going on this model? Putting the correct resolution into xorg.conf doesn't seem to work. The test facility gives me a light grey screen with close spaced horizontal lines and I can't really bail out at that point - 'cntrl,alt,backspace' sends me back to the option to re-tweak or edit xorg.conf!

I would appreciate any suggestions and/or Xorg tweaks to get Puppy 4.2 working with the Toshiba Tecra A10.

Regards

ikarus


Ikarus, did you get this going? I just got a hand-me-down Toshiba Tecra 9000 that is cruising with 4.2 on it. I picked a 1024x768 screen at 16 though...don't know if that is your solution or not. I didn't have to do any manual editing of xorg either.

I would like to get x11 running on mplayer with this laptop, but I probably should start another thread on it..anyway, post back if I can help with this laptop. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ikarus

Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed 15 Apr 2009, 12:29    Post subject:  

Unfortunately its still no go. I have tried substituting Xorg.conf files which work on this machine and it still gives me nothing. I can only assume that Puppy does not have the correct intel driver for this model. Admittedly its a fairly new machine but most other recent distros seem to work on it.


I'd really like to get it running for serious use on this laptop. Puppy is phenomenally fast, boots from a USB stick and does pretty much everything I need. I've used it on other laptop models without problems.

IK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ikarus

Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 05:04    Post subject:  

Latest alpha designated Puppy version 4.2.7

Video now perfect at 1280 x 800 and is correctly detected by puppy after the initial try which sets it up at 1024 x 768.

Other issues with this release:

correctly detects the intel wifi 5100 hardware but has no module for it

no sound

Keep going - its getting better Smile

ikarus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5283
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jun 2009, 06:54    Post subject:  

ikarus wrote:
Latest alpha designated Puppy version 4.2.7
correctly detects the intel wifi 5100 hardware but has no module for it

Well uPup alpha9 definitely has the iwlwifi/iwlagn modules enabled. Run "lsmod" to see if they are loaded.
Also check to see what the Network Wizard reports as being loaded ... or available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ikarus

Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jun 2009, 06:57    Post subject:  

hi tempestuous

I checked that the module iwlgn is loaded - yes it shows up in lsmod and also the gui configuration tool. The error message is:

ERROR!
Failed to raise interface wlan0
Failed command was
ifconfig SIOCSIFFLAGS: no such file or directory.

confirmed by issuing "ifconfig wlan0 up from the command line.

I don't know what the flags error means - any ideas?

Regards
IK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5283
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jun 2009, 08:56    Post subject:  

It sounds like the iwlagn module failed to load properly. Run this command
Code:
dmesg

and report any/all lines relating to the wifi driver.
Or you could post your entire dmesg output to the forum as an attachment, like this
Code:
dmesg > dmesg.txt
gzip dmesg.txt

Now you will have a file called dmesg.txt.gz which can be attached to the forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ikarus

Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jun 2009, 04:34    Post subject:  

ok - file attached as per your instruction

IK
dmesg.txt.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  dmesg.txt.gz 
Filesize  4.47 KB 
Downloaded  575 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5283
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jun 2009, 05:29    Post subject:  

Code:
iwlagn: iwlwifi-5000-1.ucode firmware file req failed: Reason -2
iwlagn: Could not read microcode: -2

There's your problem: no firmware.

See my comments about obtaining iwl5000 firmware here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=252183#252183

You should report this missing firmware in "Jaunty Puppy Alpha9 feedback"
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=42722
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ikarus

Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jun 2009, 08:40    Post subject:  

OK bear with me:

I simply download "iwlwifi-5000-ucode-8.24.2.12.tgz" , decompress it and copy it to /lib/firmware. Then it all works?

I can probably manage that but if it gets any trickier maybe I should just wait for the full release. Also got issues with no sound and the brightness control not working.

I'll keep you informed - many thanks for the help so far.

IK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5283
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jun 2009, 20:42    Post subject:  

ikarus wrote:
I simply download "iwlwifi-5000-ucode-8.24.2.12.tgz" , decompress it and copy it to /lib/firmware. Then it all works?

After you reboot, yes, in theory. If not, check your dmesg again.

ikarus wrote:
I can probably manage that but if it gets any trickier maybe I should just wait for the full release.

Well the full release won't get it right unless you report the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ikarus

Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jun 2009, 03:51    Post subject:  

OK done but same result unfortunately, even after reboot. ( I was surprised to see the file persisted in the firmware folder after reboot )

Also same output from dmesg.

Could it be that in dmesg it calls for 5000-1.ucode but I am supplying 5000-2.ucode from the intel site?

Just a thought.

Yes I will report to the authorities as soon as I get a spare moment.

Regards
IK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5283
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jun 2009, 04:12    Post subject:  

ikarus wrote:
Could it be that in dmesg it calls for 5000-1.ucode but I am supplying 5000-2.ucode from the intel site?

Yes. At http://www.intellinuxwireless.org/?n=Downloads
click "show older releases" and download
iwlwifi-5000-ucode-5.4.A.11.tar.gz

That older package contains iwlwifi-5000-1.ucode
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ikarus

Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jun 2009, 02:47    Post subject:  

YES ! that did it Very Happy

I'll toddle off to the reporting bureau now and do my duty.

Then off to chase a few other bugs - sound, video res changes after most reboots, and a very strange shut-down error - something like ext2 fs fail (loopback).

I have no idea what effect this has on the system.

Again, many thanks for all your help, tempestuous.

Regards
IK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0751s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]